Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Truly disturbing scenes 18+

• 23-03-2006 10:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭

Both myself and Mrs. Hagar enjoy horror movies. I don't think there has been a mainstream horror out for years that we haven't watched. recently we were talking about the scariest most disturbing scenes in various movies. Helga's nomination,the original Texas Chain Saw Massacre, is edge of the seat for her but does nothing for me. Not scary or disturbing at all. My most cringeworthy scene doesn't come from a horror movie at all but from Dune. The scene where the baddie pulls out the servant's "heart plug" and watches him die is the worst for me. Imagine the horror of living with a heart plug and your life being at someone's whim! Now that is horror.

Not confined by any means to the most graphic. What scenes/movies would scare you most?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Any scene in Cannibal Holocaust where the cannibals dismember the film crew in graphic detail. Sometimes it looks so real it's actually hard to believe its not real! :eek:

There are loads of gorier films out there but only a very select few that genuinely disturb me....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

That last graphical film I saw was Final Destination 3

The sunbeds... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

The "Baby wants to ****! Baby wants to **** Blue Velvet!" scene in Blue Velvet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

The video-taped children scene in Lady Vengeance was pretty intense. Didn't really 'disturb' me as such, but definately one of the most recent examples.
    The tree-rape scene in Evil Dead was, er...bizarre........Apparently people were up in arms over that at the time it was released.

As for pure gore, still waiting for Hostel. Then I'll probably post in this thread again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

hmm I don't really get disturbed from seeing that kind of stuff, But I was just watching From Dusk till Dawn earlier and that was very gory. Pretty good film imo, just very fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Laurence Olivier's head as he asks Dustin Hoffman 'Is it safe?'...:eek:
    Linda Blair's first conversation with the priest in The Exorcist...:eek:
    Some scenes from the original Hellraiser (before seeing the OTT sequels, after which I found Pinhead quite endearing...) :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Juggalo

The rape scene in the tunnel in Irreversibile, and also the gay night club scene.

The chisel to the teeth in Last house on the Left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

the guy being made bite the kerb and Ed Norton stamping on his head in American History X. You can just about hear is teeth scraping on the concrete. that noise really gets to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

BrenC wrote:
    hmm I don't really get disturbed from seeing that kind of stuff, But I was just watching From Dusk till Dawn earlier and that was very gory. Pretty good film imo, just very fun.
    thats a class film,is it still banned in ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Robocop when Murphy gets killed. I just can't watch that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

county wrote:

It was on TV recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,032 ✭✭✭✭Basq

county wrote:
    Nope.. available in your local HMV. But get the 2 disc-er DVD with the brillant documentary 'Full Tilt Boogie' (especially the opening which is just fantastic)

As for truly disturbing scenes: what springs to mind right now is the fire extinguisher scene in 'Irreversible', the final few scenes in 'Society' and in 'Hostel' (SPOILERS)..
    eye hanging / being cut out of it's socket, and the slicing of achilles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Sm0ke

Stekelly wrote:
    the guy being made bite the kerb and Ed Norton stamping on his head in American History X. You can just about hear is teeth scraping on the concrete. that noise really gets to me.
    good choice

id have to say the seen in "day of the dead" near the end where they rip some guys chest open from his ribcage and then tear his head off, u can hear his vocal chord tear, makes me shudder thinking about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

basquille wrote:
    Nope.. available in your local HMV. But get the 2 disc-er DVD with the brillant documentary 'Full Tilt Boogie' (especially the opening which is just fantastic)

As for truly disturbing scenes: what springs to mind right now is the fire extinguisher scene in 'Irreversible', the final few scenes in 'Society' and in 'Hostel' (SPOILERS)..
    eye hanging / being cut out of it's socket, and the slicing of achilles

Also features George Clooney talking about Waterford Crystal. (Not sure why that's relevant but hey)

fade2black wrote:
    Also features George Clooney talking about Waterford Crystal. (Not sure why that's relevant but hey)
    Yep, remember that also.. but that opening is just so worth seeing!

Here it is on YouTube (almost 3 minutes long but very cool!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Downfall, when Magda Goebbels puts the kids, 'to sleep'. Very disturbing. The sound of the glass breaking under the tongue.. I felt quite queasy after seeing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 The Equalizer

AKA Switchblade Romance!! The climax of this twisted little gem shocked the beejesus outta me!! What an angle..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭cyrus the virus

Braindead and Bad Taste (Both by Peter Jackson) were good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Hostel is actually the only horror movie I've seen in quite a number of years that I've squirmed at some parts, and didn't laugh at, at all.

As for Final Destination 3, I would have laughed through the entire movie, but I was in the cinema, so I didn't. Dusk till Dawn, I laughed at a good few bits, the Land of the Dead was funny, and I don't know which is funnier: the Excorcist, or Scary Movie, tbh.

Oh, and I had to pause Bas Taste, as my sides were starting to hurt from laughing so much (aside from the bit where
    the little dude pukes green stuff into a bowl which everyone then drinks from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

There was a scene in SAW with a clockwork head-vice that either (i don't recall which) blows your head up or rips your skull and jaw apart if you don't deactivate it in time. Now they didn't actually show it in action on the prisoner but the build up was to it was quite disturbing I thought.

Otherwise there was nothing of note in that film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

yeah switchblade romance had a good few squeemish moments
    the mothers throat being cut & especially the angle grinder "moment"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Lindaloo

Stekelly wrote:

I can't watch it, have to turn it off for that scene or look away with hands over my ears, this and the scene from Platoon where Kevin Dillon smashes the Vietnamese guys head with the butt of his gun.

Two of my fav movies but 2 of the worst scenes in all of the movies I've ever seen.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

In addition to ones already mentioned, gotta add that injection scene in "Requiem for a Dream". You could just see everyone squirming in their seats in the cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fishfoodie

From end to end one scene after another.

The fact that unlike hannibal this guy actually existed makes it all the more disturbing.

All this plus being Stephen Rea's best role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Joeface

Not a Horror , but Casino ...where Joe Pesci bother gets beat in to death in front of him ...found that quite disturbing I have to say

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Wolf Creek has some gory scenes (
    'head on a stick' is bad
    ), but the film is very disturbing when taken as a whole.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭shroomfox

What does George Clooney say about Waterford Crystal? I'm in work and can't listen to stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I wouldn't call Hostel a horror, its not an edge of your seat movie. The violence is very graphic, but there's not really anything that makes you jump out of shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

Wrong Turn - Its a classic i think..some very grusome scenes in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

The eye gouging(sp?) scene from thriller(they call her one eye). The guy uses a real corpse(although this is disputed im not buying for a second that its prostethic) it is sick.

Pesci murder scene in casino is incredibly disturbing

The scene in downfall where the german soldier(Not sure what his name is now) pulls the grenade pins under the table.

In the original night of the living dead where the *spoiler* child kills her mother with the trowel.

The rape scene or the abortion scene from cannibal holocaust

All those scenes were immensely disturbing for me but without doubt the most disturbing scene I have ever saw is the pressure chamber scene from tf mous men behind the sun.*Spoiler* basically a guy is put into a pressure chamber and the pressure is turned up until the he ****s his guts out. You see his intestines coming out through his anus along with a copious amount of excretia. It is very graphic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 jdwals

I laugh at it now because I think the little Alien running across the table looks so funny but when I saw it first the chestbuster scene from Alien was very scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 The Equalizer

Then of course there's always "that" scene in Carpenter's re-make of The Thing!! Y'know the one?.. I gotta say,although it's dated now,I first saw The Blair Witch Project at about 1 in the morning in Virgin cinema a month or so b4 it was released and not much was known about it! I worked there at the time and they held staff screenings for us!! I went with my good friend Mary Jane and it got me and shredded my nerves and stayed in my head for ages,but unfortunately it really has dated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I have to agree with two of the previous posts here:

From Stekelly, "BITE THE KERB" will always haunt me!

and from Lindaloo, that scene in Platoon is still hard for me to watch.

It's weird actually that the actually horror movies that are trying to be gory just don't bother me. Hostel is very gory, but I still just thought it was pap, and it had no effect on me. But scenes like the one in Platoon really mess me up.

I'd ad myself, the scene in Apocalypse Now where a real bull or buffalo of some other cow like creature, is macheted to death. It's horrific, yet you can't stop watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Amalgam wrote:
    Downfall, when Magda Goebbels puts the kids, 'to sleep'. Very disturbing. The sound of the glass breaking under the tongue.. I felt quite queasy after seeing it.
    That really got me too... i felt sick watching that. Powerful movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The only other movie that was "creepy" was the one which was set in WW2, on the German side, within some bunker. Was a bit freaky. Forget the name, but in the end I think
    only 2 got out, one of which commited suicide by running at the enemy(I think)

Wasn't that 'The Bunker'... or was it 'Deathwatch'?

I remember both being somewhat similar.. think you're referring to 'Deathwatch' though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Some scenes in Oldboy, or some of the plot devices weirded me out.

And some in Total Recall! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

This one is kind of freaky only because it was Robin Williams playing a creepy photo clerk in One Hour Photo, where he was dreaming and blood flowing out his eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I recently watched Men Behind the Sun and there were a few bits in it that really made me squirm.

1) The cat being torn apart by the rats. I hate cats with a passion but that scene was brutal.

2) The rats that ate the cat being set on fire and running down the corridor. The screeching and the fact that the film makers had set fire to a load of real rats freaked me out.

3) The bit outside when the woman's new born baby is thrown onto the ground and the guard kicks snow over it, killing it. That was grim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

jomanji wrote:
    It's weird actually that the actually horror movies that are trying to be gory just don't bother me. Hostel is very gory, but I still just thought it was pap, and it had no effect on me. But scenes like the one in Platoon really mess me up.

Couldn't agree more. A lot of the time, gory blood 'n' guts scenes that are trying to shock are really just silly. Subtle horror, real-life situations and political stuff are always far, far more disturbing. The sex show part at the end of Requiem for a Dream will stay with me forever. As someone else mentioned, Lawrence Olivier, the ageing Nazi, torturing Dustin Hoffman with dental instruments in Marathon Man *shiver*. Christiane F features probably the most disturbing overdose/withdrawal scene of all heroin films. Unwatchable. Threads, the nuclear holocaust movie - terrifying. Check out threads on heroin movies and Threads on this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

i only saw it once when it was released, but there's a scene in Saving Private Ryan where two soldiers were fighting and the were both struggling with a knife, in the end one of them died slowly as the other stuck the knife slowly into his throat, as i said i only saw it once so it's very vague.....

In trainspotting where the baby dies in the cot and the camera slowly moves to angle where you can see the baby, i couldn't look the first time i saw it.

Oldboy - pulling teeth is not something i want to see!

The eye gouging scene in 28 Days Later

Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer - pretty much every ****ing scene, easily the most depressing ****ed up film i've seen, and something i hopefully will never see again!. The fact that it's based on a real person is even more disturbing:(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

The "Kerbing" scene in American History X turned my stomach... As for Hostel.. Some disgusting scenes but over all I thought it was a load of sh*te.. More soft porn than anything else, if I wanted to see porn I could have stayed home on gone online and saved myself 20 quid :rolleyes:

The crow attack in the Omen II is well scary with the tunes blaring

Shivers has a lot of crazy moments

A scene in southern comfort where their gutting a real pig when its alive and all the intestines are falling out when the pig is squealing

The Crying game when he realises yer one is a bloke!

and the very last scene in planet of the apes (original) scary in a different way because its true and perhaps imminent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Sunn

I'm useless at watching high gore levels in films..

in day of the dead where they have to cut the guys arm off and burn it to stop the bleeding..

i can barely watch the trailer for "switch blade romance" without squirming in my seat..

in fact i'm all weak and squirmy thinking about it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Yeah the death-struggle scene in SPR is very, very disturbing. I think the thing with horror films is that because they send so much time trying to be scary, you are less able to suspend your disbelief when the scary parts come, hence making them less realistic and less scary. The SPR scene was so damn horrific in part because of the realism and factual nature of much of the film. If films opted for a less-is-more approach and tried to craft just a few or one momumentally terrifying or disturbing moment (a lá Don't Look Now), they could be a lot more effective and ultimately; watchable.
    It's a vicious cycle; films try to up the ante re: gore and fear for today's "de-sensitized" viewers, but defeat their own end in doing so.
    I haven't seen Hostel and don't really plan on doing so.

Sunn wrote:
    i can barely watch the trailer for "switch blade romance" without squirming in my seat..
    Gave that to my girlfriend to watch.. she said she got about 4 seconds into it and the music scared her..

.. i then realised she was listening to the music for the film studio that produced it! :D

Oh, how i laughed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

The scene in the omen where your wan hangs herself - something always disturbs the crap out of me in that bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Can't believe no one mentioned Audition. That and Irreversible for me. The rape and fire extinguisher scene..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

What about the scene in "What lies beneath" Michelle Pffeiffer(sp) is being drowned in a bathtub, paralysed but fully concious? Shudder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

daveg wrote:
    Can't believe no one mentioned Audition. That and Irreversible for me. The rape and fire extinguisher scene..
    I remember the first time I saw the fire extinguisher scene from Irréversible. My friend just found the clip on some site and we both though it was real footage of some fight in a club...My friend (normally a filthy purveyor of all things sick and disturbed) was so shocked and disturbed that he refused to even go back to that site for weeks. It was pretty horrifying. Later we found out it was from a film though...then I bought the film :D