Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wheeler Dealers TV show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

jayo26 wrote: »
    Oh and another high recomendation i completely forgot about the other day but if any of ye are into a real engineeering car build i have been following bad obsession motorsport on youtube the past couple of years they are building an old mini with a gt four engine and running gear its a must watch.

https://youtu.be/7hCPODjJO7s
    where is episode 11 i want it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Tigger wrote: »
    where is episode 11 i want it now

Have you watched them mate yeh? A brilliant series of budget tv :) love the sense of humour of the guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Have you watched them mate yeh? A brilliant series of budget tv :) love the sense of humour of the guys.

Cardboard aided design

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    The RX7 is the only car on wheeler dealers that I didnt like at the end.

The R33 Skyline wasn't much better either was the Impreza. Not a good track record with the Japs :rolleyes:

Just watched the Mk2 Escort episode last night. Car was well put together and interesting, probably moreso to anyone not big into them. It did get a lot more than listed in the program but sure can't fit it all into 45 mins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Noble M12 tonight looking forward to this episode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

liam7831 wrote: »
    Noble M12 tonight looking forward to this episode
    they don't seem to have the best of times with the Japs,as was pointed out,impreza,skyline,rx7.it'll be interesting to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

They did a fairly excellent job on the S2000 so that may be proof :D

they faked reselling it to the man they bought it from though,if you look back through the thread there's a link to ebay which shows it in WD HQ and advertised for 7500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

KC161 wrote: »
    they faked reselling it to the man they bought it from though,if you look back through the thread there's a link to ebay which shows it in WD HQ and advertised for 7500

It would have been filmed months ago so would it not be possible that the original owner DID buy it at the time and decided to sell it again?

he started his search in april,how long did it take to source the car,do all the relevant work then sell it on???i agree you could well be right but it only appeared on ebay the day after the show aired I think,also the amount of stuff done to it off screen such as the Honda technician for example,not sure that colour would be for me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

Oh and another high recomendation i completely forgot about the other day but if any of ye are into a real engineeering car build i have been following bad obsession motorsport on youtube the past couple of years they are building an old mini with a gt four engine and running gear its a must watch.

https://youtu.be/7hCPODjJO7s

Thats top class work, I'd forgot about it shamefully.

As for episode 11, dont expect it soon as 10 was only put up couple months ago and think its been going on for some 18 months/2 tears project wise.
    Might be up come xmas/January at a guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,462 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

edburg wrote: »
    Thats top class work, I'd forgot about it shamefully.

As for episode 11, dont expect it soon as 10 was only put up couple months ago and think its been going on for some 18 months/2 tears project wise.
    Might be up come xmas/January at a guess.

Project binky.
    Its excellent. Very funny together with extreme levels of detail and engineering.

mickdw wrote: »
    Project binky.
    Its excellent. Very funny together with extreme levels of detail and engineering.

Yhh i find them pretty hilarious nick is great considering camera isnt his full time job.

The engineering skills and problem solving are top notch they put ed chinas welding bolts together to shame.

KC161 wrote: »
    they don't seem to have the best of times with the Japs,as was pointed out,impreza,skyline,rx7.it'll be interesting to watch

Um aint noble a brittish car manufacturer :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Tonight's Noble M12 was a cracking car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

When they started to spend 7-8k on cars I missed the older shows where they had a budget of 2k... They are now spending 20-30k on cars. In reality the noble needed little or no work apart from turbo recon... It's all about the 'added value' now

Um aint noble a brittish car manufacturer :)
    we all make mistakes :o

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,954 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Tonight's Noble M12 was a cracking car.

Sure was, would love one :)

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

And no travel/shipping expenses factored into his crappy profit? Also cutting crossmembers and putting in some bodged together "removable" piece seem a bit much to me. Lets add boost (without going into any detail about the mapping) and cut the chassis, perfect logic.

Another episode light on fixes heavy on bullspit.

And no travel/shipping expenses factored into his crappy profit? Also cutting crossmembers and putting in some bodged together "removable" piece seem a bit much to me. Lets add boost (without going into any detail about the mapping) and cut the chassis, perfect logic.

Another episode light on fixes heavy on bullspit.

Yes I wouldnt agree with the removal of piece of cross member. While much of the stresses would be direct push pull through the member that was cut, a single pinned connection at each end is far from sufficient in my opinion.
    If he had created a much larger overlap with at least double connections each end it would have been a more suitable repair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,548 ✭✭✭✭L1011

And no travel/shipping expenses factored into his crappy profit?

Episodes where the car comes from abroad usually have an unsourced round figure (usually £1,000) for travel and shipping, one single episode I remember being higher due to extreme costs - a non-driving Lamborghini.

I don't think anyone believes the figures anymore.

Yeah i do remember in previous episodes when he brought cars in from the states there was about a 2500ish import and regestration fee, now i know that car was a original uk spec but still flying to italy and driving back hardly happened for free.
    Im just finding its shying away from two lads trying to make a few bucks fixing up old bangers that should be off the road, and they are trying to get Mike to be as annoying as possible and heavily editing ed in case people dont know what hes talking about, and he now has cutaways to explain how things work like hes explaining it to a 6yr old.

Im all about bringing the show to the masses and sometimes they have to adapt to survive but its not working for me much anymore. Mind you i still have to watch the s2000 and escort episodes so im holding onto hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

L1011 wrote: »
    Episodes where the car comes from abroad usually have an unsourced round figure (usually £1,000) for travel and shipping, one single episode I remember being higher due to extreme costs - a non-driving Lamborghini.

I don't think anyone believes the figures anymore.

In the early seasons when they were dealing only with bangers, there was probably some truth to the figures, but given the success of the show the all important "profit" is just there as a plot device these days.
    The fella who put the S2000 back up on ebay said a tonne of work had been done to it which wasnt shown on tv at all.
    Im just finding its shying away from two lads trying to make a few bucks fixing up old bangers that should be off the road, and they are trying to get Mike to be as annoying as possible and heavily editing ed in case people dont know what hes talking about, and he now has cutaways to explain how things work like hes explaining it to a 6yr old.

Im all about bringing the show to the masses and sometimes they have to adapt to survive but its not working for me much anymore. Mind you i still have to watch the s2000 and escort episodes so im holding onto hope.

I just hope it doesnt go down the road of Car SOS and completely gloss over the actual restoration/repair of the car in favour of just concentrating on fluff. They are handing over more specialist jobs to offscreen work but in many cases thats because its been shown before on WD. (Like the ECU remap for the Noble, that been covered with an Impreza i think)
    But like you say, they have to strike a balance now. If they want to get more viewers it wont be by sticking to the niche car repair show format.

Yeah unfortunately its the actual fixing of the car that gets cut, but that seller could be telling fibs too..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

mickdw wrote: »
    Yes I wouldnt agree with the removal of piece of cross member. While much of the stresses would be direct push pull through the member that was cut, a single pinned connection at each end is far from sufficient in my opinion.
    If he had created a much larger overlap with at least double connections each end it would have been a more suitable repair.

That part of the car is just bracing though and has no real structural importance. I'd be more than happy with the quality of work on this.

I dont get the noble yh its a nice car but not a super car, it has a mondeo engine mondeo lights at the back, it has Fiesta steering column and them dash switches are definitely off a mk1 mondeo too,

The hubs were only four stud too so bets are they are only mondeo suspension parts too, its would be a fun car to own but id be embarrassed to call it a supercar.

That part of the car is just bracing though and has no real structural importance. I'd be more than happy with the quality of work on this.

I'm aware that its a brace. A brace by nature is of structural importance and in my opinion, the cut section which was refitted with a pinned connection at either end does not adequately replicate the original design.
    As I mentioned previously, Greater overlap with 2 fixings either end would have resulted in a brace that would be much closer to original design in terms of support.
    Now its possible that the original brace was complete overkill and if this is the case, it would be an acceptable repair but in a lightweight track focused car, I'd be of the opinion that all bracing is very much needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I dont get the noble yh its a nice car but not a super car, it has a mondeo engine mondeo lights at the back, it has Fiesta steering column and them dash switches are definitely off a mk1 mondeo too,

The hubs were only four stud too so bets are they are only mondeo suspension parts too, its would be a fun car to own but id be embarrassed to call it a supercar.

0-100 kmh in 3.5 secs, 298 kmh top speed and a second slower around the Top Gear track than a Koeniggsegg makes it a supercar in my book.

Bit off topic for the thread but I know some of ye haven been watching project binky on youtube the guys have just uploaded the latest episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

My favourite one on Quest today at 2pm restoring the Morris Minor Traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

New series starting next Monday I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,429 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

First car is a 1988 Mustang...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Mustang_%28third_generation%29

Other cars featured for the series will be...
    Volvo PV444/544, Honda Civic (first generation), Mercedes-Benz C126 SEC, Chevrolet LUV and Sunbeam Alpine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

My favourite one on Quest today at 2pm restoring the Morris Minor Traveller.

They showed the one where they did up the E39 M5 this evening as well.

Fantastic episode and what a powerful reminder of what that M badge used to stand for: naturally aspirated engine, rear wheel drive and of course, a manual gearbox. Now they'll stick an M badge on any old yoke, sure the next generation M5 won't even be available with a manual gearbox for the US market (our American friends were able to buy the E60 and F10 M5 with one) and the non-SUV rubbish will also be available with four wheel drive in time to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I thought the M badge always just meant fast BMW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭vandriver

Bit off topic for the thread but I know some of ye haven been watching project binky on youtube the guys have just uploaded the latest episode.
    I'd never heard of this.I've now watched all 12 episodes .Excellent show.

vandriver wrote: »
    I'd never heard of this.I've now watched all 12 episodes .Excellent show.

Yes it's extremely good. You have probably watched the last show that was added last week ;) its going on for years lol.

Patww79 wrote: »
    Is it likely they'll ever pull them or is it worth starting?

Im lost??

That they'll pull the episodes from YouTube (project blinky), or have them pulled, as I wouldn't want to start watching and not be able to finish.

Oh no they actually Post them to youtube its definitely worth watching if you enjoy the real mechanical end of cars its great to see how they solve problems and the detail they go to get things perfect one of my favorite shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Tonight's car is a 1987 Mercedes 560 SL.
    Really looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Didn't they do something similar before, a LHD that they bought in Germany?

hi5 wrote: »
    Didn't they do something similar before, a LHD that they bought in Germany?
    They did. It was an early 80's 380SL if I remember correctly.

Just finished number 12 (all in less than 24 hours :D). Brilliant stuff altogether.

Yeh it sure is the only problem is that it's slow moving so it will be another 4 months before you will see another episode. Id love to see them paid to di something a bit more full time.

Where are the new episodes shown? Turbo or Quest?

Discover channel 520 on sky at 9 tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,429 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Discovery Channel, 9pm tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

samih wrote: »
    They did. It was an early 80's 380SL if I remember correctly.

Close enough. :-) That one is on Quest tomorrow at 10am. 1983 280 SL.