Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vote United Left Alliance joe higgins Today

• 25-02-2011 4:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Vote joe higgins & united left alliance

these are the only party that is completely against bailing out the banks ,

United Left Alliance TDs will campaign in the Dáil against stealth taxes including water charges and property taxes if they were elected, Socialist Party MEP Joe Higgins said.
    He said "mainstream media commentators" were predicting that the alliance could win at least six seats in the next Dáil and that would mean "the possibility of a very significant new development in Irish politics".

If they had a "good result" in the general election they would establish a new political party of the left, he said.

Mr Higgins was speaking as some of the alliance's 20 candidates held their final rally at the statue of union leader James Larkin on O'Connell Street in Dublin.

People Before Profit councillor Joan Collins said she knew she'd be "battling for the last seat in Dublin South Central" and the choice was between herself and Fianna Fáil's Michael Mulcahy.

"It would be absolutely brilliant to be in the Dáil with six or seven other TDs who will provide principled opposition," she said.

Cllr Richard Boyd Barrett of People Before Profit said he believed the alliance could win between six and 10 seats. A candidate in Dún Laoghaire, he said they planned to provide "a real opposition to the agenda of cuts".

The alliance planned to campaign against stealth taxes including water charges and property taxes, which he claimed the new coalition would begin to implement during its term of office. "These are just new ways of robbing people to pay off the speculators' debts," Mr Higgins said. "With a good result the United Left Alliance will be in position to launch a new political movement of the left, a new political party of the left that is an alternative to the entire establishment".

He said the six potential seats for the alliance were himself in Dublin West; Cllr Mick Barry in Cork North Central; Cllr Boyd Barrett in Dún Laoghaire; Cllr Joan Collins in Dublin South Central; former TD Seamus Healy of the Unemployed Action Group in Tipperary South and the Socialist Party's Clare Daly in Dublin North.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Yes, vote ULA so that, once in power, they can forcibly seize private property in the name of socialism...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

My local People Against Profit guy is an unemployed carpenter and he wants to fight for all the unemployed construction workers. One of the same ones who would have been looking for a grand just to say hello three years ago. While I'm sorry he's unemployed I'd have to be forced at gunpoint to vote for him.

I have no issue with socialism but the ULA is basically anti-capitalist. When it comes to replacing FF I couldn't think of anyone worse to vote for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 newtadis

Einhard wrote: »
    Yes, vote ULA so that, once in power, they can forcibly seize private property in the name of socialism...

were ya getting this from is there any evidence or is it just your opinion

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

newtadis wrote: »
    were ya getting this from is there any evidence or is it just your opinion

Nope, not just my opinion. I asked the local ULA candidate's daughter about their policies when she canvassed me, and she informed me that the ULA had a policy of nationalising private businesses. In the common good of course.

Now, either she didn't know what she was talking about, or you're looking for a support for a party when you don't know its policies. Either way, not exactly gonna convince waverers when the ULA can't even get their own policies sorted...

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭Ray Burkes Pension

meglome wrote: »
    My local People Against Profit guy is an unemployed carpenter and he wants to fight for all the unemployed construction workers. One of the same ones who would have been looking for a grand just to say hello three years ago. While I'm sorry he's unemployed I'd have to be forced at gunpoint to vote for him.

I have no issue with socialism but the ULA is basically anti-capitalist. When it comes to replacing FF I couldn't think of anyone worse to vote for.

I wouldn't worry. The 3 of them elected will have no power in opposition anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I wouldn't worry. The 3 of them elected will have no power in opposition anyway.

True. Though as others have said there's a part of me which would love these guys to get into power to show up all their lies and anti-capitalist nonsense for what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 newtadis

ive just voted for joe higgins hes the only one who makes sense to me

• Registered Users Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I hope higgins is elected because I think he is honourable man, but I hope he is the loan socialist voice in the next Dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Timulus Package

They are not the only ones against the bail outs. First line in the OP is wrong, where to go from there?

The ULA are a mix match of lefties who agree on one thing. How are they goping to last a Dail term?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭3DataModem

I hope higgins is elected because I think he is honourable man, but I hope he is the loan socialist voice in the next Dail.

Honourable? Biggest attention - seeker of the lot. He went to jail protesting the bin tax. What a waste of time.... basically arguing against a relatively tiny part of the tax take for the average worker. Where was he when income tax / USC was introduced for low-paid (making a much bigger dent in the workers take home pay)?

He was nowhere, because it gets him no TV time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭3DataModem

newtadis wrote: »

these are the only party that is completely against bailing out the banks

No such party.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Joe is a good guy - if he was in my area I would vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 DragonsFire

ebbsy wrote: »
    Joe is a good guy - if he was in my area I would vote for him.

I completely agree

• Registered Users Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

If he gets elected what happens to his MEP seat? Will he keep both or resign?

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭niallers1

I would vote for him too...Strangely enough I thought he was a nut job in the good times..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

What is Joe Higgins stance on terrorist groups like Hamas and Hezbollah?

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭chalkitdown

Pauleta wrote: »

FYI both of those parties are directly elected.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 LittleTimmae

Joe is the man. He got my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

FYI both of those parties are directly elected.

Ok so what is his stance on elected terrorist groups hamas and hezbollah?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Well, to the posters who gave Joe a vote, thanks a lot. A man who wants to significantly raise the corporation tax, which Dublin West is completely dependent on for the vast majority of our jobs, that won't harm us a bit. Once eBay and IBM realise Joe is an honourable man and will go to jail for a stupid bin tag, they will surely stay in D15 if Joe Higgins got his wish to raise the corporation tax.

So well done lads! You have done us proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

What a bizarre and highly irrelevant question. Does a politician running in the Irish General Election need to have any particular stance on Hamas or Hezbollah (which, incidentally, isn't actually recognised by Ireland as a terrorist group)? The disproportionate importance you've attached to this non-issue is only marginally less mental than the importance some fringe groups have given to Labour's alleged pro-choice stance.
    Well, to the posters who gave Joe a vote, thanks a lot. A man who wants to significantly raise the corporation tax, which Dublin West is completely dependent on for the vast majority of our jobs, that won't harm us a bit. Once eBay and IBM realise Joe is an honourable man and will go to jail for a stupid bin tag, they will surely stay in D15 if Joe Higgins got his wish to raise the corporation tax.

Well, yes - because when Higgins inevitably becomes Taoiseach in the coming weeks, the first thing he'll do is raise the corporation tax rate.

Right-wingers really are quite a strange, angry bunch. You do realise that, by the end of the weekend, there's a good chance that you'll all be able to **** yourselves silly at the prospect of a single-party Fine Gael government. Your disgust at the possible election of a handful of left-leaning candidates only serves to highlight your utter contempt for democracy.

RayM wrote: »

Well, yes - because when Higgins inevitably becomes Taoiseach in the coming weeks, the first thing he'll do is raise the corporation tax rate.

Right-wingers really are quite a strange, angry bunch. You do realise that, by the end of the weekend, there's a good chance that you'll all be able to **** yourselves silly at the prospect of a single-party Fine Gael government. Your disgust at the possible election of a handful of left-leaning candidates only serves to highlight your utter contempt for democracy.

If any candidate, left or right, wished to raise corporation tax, I would be angry and it is pretty shocking that for people in D15 to complain about the lack of jobs, and then vote in Higgins, who's job strategy would kill employment in our area, it is bizarre. I voted for the TDs who I want to see in Government. I don't vote for TDs to be in opposition and have stupid crazy ideas.

Ah, but to be a champagne socialist, it must be a dream. They must have gotten some funny reactions when they knocked on Polish and Russian peoples houses here looking for votes and reminiscing about the good old USSR. :pac:

If any candidate, left or right, wished to raise corporation tax, I would be angry and it is pretty shocking that for people in D15 to complain about the lack of jobs, and then vote in Higgins, who's job strategy would kill employment in our area, it is bizarre. I voted for the TDs who I want to see in Government. I don't vote for TDs to be in opposition and have stupid crazy ideas.

Not content with merely not voting for a candidate whose policies don't appeal to you, you're actually 'angry' and 'shocked' that others should have the temerity to choose him (over the mainstream parties, whose economic ideology has obviously proven so successful over the last couple of years). It must be terrible to go around in such a perpetual state of indignant fury.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 LittleTimmae

I am one of "those dependents" who you say to "thanks a lot" if Joe raises the CT. eBay and IBM? I have been with a company that shed around 1000 jobs when joe wasn't in. So what are you saying???

BTW, I would be against CT, but Joe won't change that, but he will be a thorn in the side of the bull****.

If i didn't vote for Joe who should i vote for??? [insert opinion]

Remember, "No matter who you vote for Government wins" [Not a 70's punk opinion :) ]

Always remember, Opinion is what it is, an OPINION...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

meglome wrote: »

Funny my local ULA candidate is unemployed too, wouldn't surprise me if they all were tbh

Joe for taoiseach..

A foregone conclusion, if some of the "REDS UNDER TEH BED!" posts on here are anything to go by.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Monotype wrote: »
    If he gets elected what happens to his MEP seat? Will he keep both or resign?
    If Joe Higgins is elected a TD he will resign as MEP and will be replaced by a substitute from the Socialist Party's substitute list.
    The Socialist Party opposes Hamas and Hezbollah. They are right-wing fundementalist groups who do not represent the interests of the Palestinian and Lebanonese working classes.
    Ok so what is his stance on elected terrorist groups hamas and hezbollah?
    The Socialist Party supports the right of the Palestinian and and Lebanonese masses to defend themselves - the Socialist Party opposes the tactics of Hamas and Hezbollah as counter-productive.
    The policies of FF have led to half a million out of work - FG / LP will continue the exact same policies and will increase unemployment levels in this country and will lead to tens of thousands emigrating.

The purpose of raising corporation tax is not to drive out multi-nationals - but to provide additional investment for job creation. Any multi-national that threatens to pull out because they are asked to pay more tax (on profits remember) should have their assets siezed and their accounts frozen. Multi-nationals have made billions out of this country and they should not be simply let walk away tossing people on the dole. Any industry in that situation should be taken into public ownership and democratically run to provide jobs and much needed product for working class people in this country.

Ah, but to be a champagne socialist, it must be a dream. They must have gotten some funny reactions when they knocked on Polish and Russian peoples houses here looking for votes and reminiscing about the good old USSR. :pac:
    Polish and Russian immigrants are not entitled to vote - but on several occasions when I knocked on the door of immigrant workers they took our material to distribute it among their fellow workers and Irish friends.

I am one of "those dependents" who you say to "thanks a lot" if Joe raises the CT. eBay and IBM? I have been with a company that shed around 1000 jobs when joe wasn't in. So what are you saying???

BTW, I would be against CT, but Joe won't change that, but he will be a thorn in the side of the bull****.

If i didn't vote for Joe who should i vote for??? [insert opinion]

Remember, "No matter who you vote for Government wins" [Not a 70's punk opinion :) ]

Always remember, Opinion is what it is, an OPINION...

I am saying that a huge percentage of employment in West Dublin comes from multinationals who are really only here because of CT, if we start electing TDs who want to raise it, along with the pressure from Europe, it is a very real possibility that is could increase and off go our jobs to another low tax country. I am not talking short-term politics to gain a few votes but the long term.

It is not for me to say who you vote for. If all you want is someone to be a thorn in governments side, then go for Joe. I and most people I know have other needs like family, health, jobs, education etc., so we try to vote for people who have the best ability to increase the standards and get these targets. Noone is perfect, but with FG/Lab/FF, they reached full employment, one of the best standards of living in the world and a very highly educated workforce, the recession bursted that bubble, but it can be done again, but if ya like thorns, go for Joe.

Ah punk, sure most of those lads do advertising now for butter or insurance, great integrity there. ;)

The policies of FF have led to half a million out of work - FG / LP will continue the exact same policies and will increase unemployment levels in this country and will lead to tens of thousands emigrating.

The purpose of raising corporation tax is not to drive out multi-nationals - but to provide additional investment for job creation. Any multi-national that threatens to pull out because they are asked to pay more tax (on profits remember) should have their assets siezed and their accounts frozen. Multi-nationals have made billions out of this country and they should not be simply let walk away tossing people on the dole. Any industry in that situation should be taken into public ownership and democratically run to provide jobs and much needed product for working class people in this country.

Polish and Russian immigrants are not entitled to vote - but on several occasions when I knocked on the door of immigrant workers they took our material to distribute it among their fellow workers and Irish friends.

No offense, but the policies of FF/FG/LAB created full emploment and one of the best standards of living in the world during the boom times. The recession has reduced that significantly, but they achieved it and showed it was possible. All you guys will achieve is some bizarre attempt to be the USSR. What do you think people will pick?

Okay, it's hard not to sound bad, but that is not an answer. There is zero possibility of Ireland seizing Microsoft or Google or eBays assets and freezing their accounts, end of discussion. Oh yeah can really see the public service running payPal and Google :P Seriously, do you guys think that is a real answer? It's cuckoo stuff. It has zero credibility.