RTE Announce FTA Saorsat service - Page 196 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
26-09-2014, 22:38   #2926
zg3409
Registered User
 
zg3409's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurston? View Post
Free-to-air & 'blocked' at the same time? No, just like all the other times this question was asked.
In the future there may be newer KA satellites at 28 east, and so an unencrypted spot beam could be used for Ireland only coverage, and theoretically a new LNB could receive both older and new KA signals, but it would at the very least require a new LNB on the dish, and of course a new satellite launched.
zg3409 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
29-09-2014, 15:59   #2927
TAFKAlawhec
Registered User
 
TAFKAlawhec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by zg3409 View Post
In the future there may be newer KA satellites at 28 east, and so an unencrypted spot beam could be used for Ireland only coverage, and theoretically a new LNB could receive both older and new KA signals, but it would at the very least require a new LNB on the dish, and of course a new satellite launched.
Astra 2E & 2F do have Ka Band beams, but in comparison to Eutelsat's Ka-Sat at 9 East it has each a single wider beam aimed primarily towards central Europe, presumably for two-way internet use, certainly neither of the two has an Ireland-only spot beam even vaguely close to what Ka-Sat has.
TAFKAlawhec is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet