Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why do people willingly go on Jeremy Kyle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

It's a television version of them Dublin radio shows on at night, Ray Kennedy ? Or Chris Barry ? Either way there there all cringe worthy, I know a girl who goes asleep listening to Chris Barry at night , aaah hereeeeer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Jeremy Kyle infiltrates the ranks of the disenfranchised and not too bright for its shows. People who would never get heard in every day life due to being under-privileged and under-educated get to feel important for a day. Jeremy Kyle and shows of its ilk exploit this need.

Robsweezie wrote: »
    I would ask the same of embarrassing bodies. they must get a paycheck, or they just have a narcissistic desire to be on tv.

I hate that show.

Interestly, you might not be far wrong with the bolded bit. I recall a good while back, it emerged that a Big Brother contestant had appeared on Embarrassing Bodies before BB. Absolutely desperate to be on TV but with no discernible skill to get herself there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Robsweezie wrote: »
    I would ask the same of embarrassing bodies. they must get a paycheck, or they just have a narcissistic desire to be on tv.

''my whole family and friends need to know about my genital warts, better get dr pixie to check it out''

In fairness a lot of the people on EB have long-term chronic and/or largely baffling ailments that countless doctors failed to diagnose or treat correctly over decades.

If you're offered top notch treatment and free surgery and medication after years of suffering with something that seriously impinges on your quality of life, I'd say 30 seconds flashing your private parts on telly doesn't seem like the worst thing in the world.

beks101 wrote: »
    In fairness a lot of the people on EB have long-term chronic and/or largely baffling ailments that countless doctors failed to diagnose or treat correctly over decades.

If you're offered top notch treatment and free surgery and medication after years of suffering with something that seriously impinges on your quality of life, I'd say 30 seconds flashing your private parts on telly doesn't seem like the worst thing in the world.

Eh... wut? A television doc is no more qualified to solve the problem. Actually, I'd argue that a doctor who ends up doing this kind of tripe probably isn't at the top of their game. So, you're making your health problems public and exposing parts of your body on TV for no benefit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Eh... wut? A television doc is no more qualified to solve the problem. Actually, I'd argue that a doctor who ends up doing this kind of tripe probably isn't at the top of their game. So, you're making your health problems public and exposing parts of your body on TV for no benefit.

Apparently your man Christian is very good in his trade but I agree with the thrust of your post. They have the NHS over there so can get nearly everything you'll see on thay programme sorted for free and although I was joking in my last post many of them do actually say that they're too embarrassed to see their GP!

Some people are spurred to talk to them just by the fact that they're there and asking "do you have any medical problems you'd like help with?" but plenty of them have to be just dying to get on the screen come hell or high water. I can't even get in that head space. Ringing your gran like "quick gran, turn on channel 4 I'm about to be on it! Yeah, about the growth on me cock. Make sure you record it to show the neighbours." Wtf like.

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Apparently your man Christian is very good in his trade but I agree with the thrust of your post. They have the NHS over there so can get nearly everything you'll see on thay programme sorted for free and although I was joking in my last post many of them do actually say that they're too embarrassed to see their GP!

Some people are spurred to talk to them just by the fact that they're there and asking "do you have any medical problems you'd like help with?" but plenty of them have to be just dying to get on the screen come hell or high water. I can't even get in that head space. Ringing your gran like "quick gran, turn on channel 4 I'm about to be on it! Yeah, about the growth on me cock. Make sure you record it to show the neighbours." Wtf like.

Pixie is probably very good too, but if I had a baffling and troublesome health problem, I'd be looking for the best doctors in the country and I doubt the two best doctors in the country have just happened to end up on a television show together.

And absolutely some people do just go on it out of a desperate desire to be on telly, like the Big Brother contestant I mentioned up-thread.

I don't understand the desperate desire to appear on telly either, but I went to school with a girl who is always looking for ways to be on the box and it honestly wouldn't surprise me to see her turn up on EB. She's already been on a silly TV show where she had to reveal very personal stuff about her relationship, including information on her sex life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

"They round up the audience for that show by firing tranqulizer darts into Primark" - Frankie Boyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

they get a free bar,

Where do I sign??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

MetalDog wrote: »
    "They round up the audience for that show by firing tranqulizer darts into Primark" - Frankie Boyle

Sure thats insulting to people who shop in primark :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Jeremy Kyle infiltrates the ranks of the disenfranchised and not too bright for its shows. People who would never get heard in every day life due to being under-privileged and under-educated get to feel important for a day. Jeremy Kyle and shows of its ilk exploit this need.

yea he plays as if he is trying to help but he must know that it does not help at all.

Apparently with guest Mick Philpott (who stupidly set his house on fire which killed his children) the show was of no benefit but actually reinforced his lifestyle and the infamy of appearing on the show at the time gave him local celebrity status.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

People with lower intelligence (and I don't mean that in a condescending way) often don't know or understand when someone is being really offensive or an extremely nasty plank like Jeremy Kyle. They just see him as another "teacher", someone who is trying to talk sense or giving out to them. Stupid people tend to listen to people of authority, and this one part isn't their fault. If they realized how full of **** he really is they wouldn't go on the show, of course a very large amount of them are pretty nasty themselves.

A lot of people in that type of society tend to be angry and aggressive, confrontational and hostile... Kyle would fit right in, he's basically one of them.

Something that always annoys me on are the "lie detector" test. They are such horse **** and are known to be wrong almost as much as they're right. Yet the producers on the show and Kyle himself act like they're the gold standard of truthfulness, not even ever admitting they might be wrong. Someone should really complain about it, it's painful to watch.

Except for the benefit of preferential and fast-track treatment where you could otherwise be waiting for years.

The whole premise of the programme is that every patient gets their ailment diagnosed and treated - so that they can come back with the 'follow up' and show how much the patient has improved at the end of the show.

This can mean anything from coveted appointments with the UK's top specialists to expensive surgeries and/or medication that the NHS would never cover. Cosmetic and dentistry being prime examples. Pretty common procedures on the show.

A lot of them will tell the hosts they've seen countless doctors over countless years with no answers or they've been on a 5-year waiting list for a referral and all the while they're in excruciating pain or discomfort. Doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out the appeal of getting their bits out on national TV for a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I think I was told before that the Jeremy Kyle guests get put up in a Travelodge by the show.

To most of them that's the height of sophistication and worth going on the show for.

mailforkev wrote: »
    I think I was told before that the Jeremy Kyle guests get put up in a Travelodge by the show.

To most of them that's the height of sophistication and worth going on the show for.

Yeah but they probably get free food, nice bar, expenses, etc.

Doesn't explain why you'd do it to me mind. Like either that, or just to get on tv hardly seems worth it to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

mailforkev wrote: »

Actually, I was staying in Jury's Inn Manchester once (was pissed off as work usually put me up in the Malmaison :P). Was checking out the next morning and there was a couple in front of me who didn't quite fit in, definitely looked out of place in what was essentially a business hotel. If I had to describe them, they were Chavtastic.

Once they checked out, they left with two men who had Jeremy Kyle logos on their jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Yeah but they probably get free food, nice bar, expenses, etc.

Doesn't explain why you'd do it to me mind. Like either that, or just to get on tv hardly seems worth it to me.

Well if you think about it, say for example Facebook. Some people post very personal stuff on it and sometimes you think "why would they do that".

I'm sure we've all seen one of those passive aggressive posts someone puts up where they are trying to make a dig at someone but don't say the persons name. Anyway most people wouldn't do this but the problem is that when someone puts up a post like that, then very often they are rewarded with attention on Facebook with "likes" and "comments" or whatever.

So similar with Jeremy Kyle guests where they go on the show and people from the area give them attention for it and they like it even though the reality is, they have really damaged their own reputation.

Apparently with guest Mick Philpott (who stupidly set his house on fire which killed his children) the show was of no benefit but actually reinforced his lifestyle and the infamy of appearing on the show at the time gave him local celebrity status.

God yeah, that absolute lowlife. :( Being on TV just fanned the flames.

I know it's been shown that people in the past have faked stories to appear on Judge Judy. They get their travel paid for, accommodation provided for, and also some money out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

thinly veiled "i have too much time on my hands and should get out more thread":D

i think they should give thinly veiled people a slot on jeremy kyle.

Doesn't take a scientist to work out the appeal of getting their bits out on national TV for a few minutes.

You make it sound as prosaic as doing the shopping or cooking dinner. :confused:

Like, you really think that an everyday, logical solution for dealing with a persistent medical issue is giving up your privacy and dignity for a voyeuristic, low-rent TV show? Only for a very small, most likely attention-seeking cohort would this seem like a good idea.

So yes indeed, it doesn't take a scientist to figure out the kind of person that would actually go on a show like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I know it's been shown that people in the past have faked stories to appear on Judge Judy. They get their travel paid for, accommodation provided for, and also some money out of it.

I haven't heard of outright faking on it, but as far as I understand it there's a lot of scamming going on behind the scenes in that show. For some bizarre reason, the loser gets everything paid. In some court shows like The People's Court (which I actually don't like and never watch) it's different because they also all get paid but there's a fund, with the loser of the case losing out on the fund. That makes vastly more sense. Some guy has a website about it called "Judge Judy is a scam", he talks about how he was offered an incentive under the table as a final inducement to come on the show and how it was all phony. So this explains why on Judge Judy you have people coming in owing someone some large amount of money with no defence. As with most bad behaviour in the world, the out-and-out scams are relatively rare, while the wheeling and dealing with money going places and abuse of technicalities are rampant. http://judgejudyisascam.blogspot.ie/

After a lot of thinking about it, I don't agree that it's all a scam, but it really is really bad and you have to take Judge Judy and these shows, even Jeremy Kyle with a heavy grain of salt until you know exactly what's going on. Consumer regulations apparently couldn't give a **** about standards and not completely misleading people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'd like to know how they are found in the first place - do they just e-mail in with a grievance or summat?

They scour the local dole queues. There has never been an employed person on the show, just jobless bums with bad teeth, ugly boyfriend/girlfriends and dysfunctional families.

Well you can apply to be on it isn't there. Theres also a separate bit for Irish people to apply to be on. Or if its an especially interesting story, maybe they get approached by the producers.

You make it sound as prosaic as doing the shopping or cooking dinner. :confused:

Like, you really think that an everyday, logical solution for dealing with a persistent medical issue is giving up your privacy and dignity for a voyeuristic, low-rent TV show?

If the pain is that chronic and the diagnosis and correct treatment isn't forthcoming for long enough, then yes.

Hardly low rent either, it's one of Channel Four's Most Watched TV shows with audiences in their tens of millions and a massive budget to boot.

Step outside of your own prejudices for a second. I'm not saying it's right or it's wrong, but some people engage with the show as a Final Straw in what has been a medical problem that has inhibited their lives for too long.

Why do people willingly watch Jeremy Kyle

Hardly low rent either, it's one of Channel Four's Most Watched TV shows with audiences in their tens of millions and a massive budget to boot.

Since when was something being popular a marker of its quality? This show is in the lowest common denominator bracket, of course it gets good ratings. And good ratings then lead onto a bigger budget.

Not liking something does not make it low rent.
    Nor does refusing to engage in some critical thought make your own judgements true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Nor does refusing to engage in some critical thought make your own judgements true.

Are you actually trying to claim the jeremy kyle show is a quality piece of entertainment?

Its bottom of the barrel junk feeding of the worst voyeuristic traits of humanity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭tomthetank

VinLieger wrote: »
    Are you actually trying to claim the jeremy kyle show is a quality piece of entertainment?

Its bottom of the barrel junk feeding of the worst voyeuristic traits of humanity

HAHAHA Nah think that poster was talking abour EMbarrassing Bodies. Thanks for the laugh though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I was watching Jeremy Kyle there, and I was wondering why anyone would willingly go on there. Kyle is a nob of the highest order, he's regularly rude and offensive to everyone, and I can't possibly fathom why anyone would choose to go on a terrible tv show to be booed and humiliated and called a scumbag. Apparently they don't even get paid for it really, so thats not an explaination, then by googling around, I found this

So I don't know, I don't get it.
    Why do people willingly watch Jeremy Kyle?

You are taking someone not liking this show very to heart. It's very odd.

Disliking a show like this is quite reasonable. I watched a few episodes of this show. It's execrable rubbish. I'm quite happy with my abilities when it comes to critical thought.
    VinLieger wrote: »

No, 'Embarrassing Bodies'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I don't watch it myself but it always amazes me that people get so insensed at what complete strangers choose to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I don't watch it myself but it always amazes me that people get so insensed at what complete strangers choose to watch
    Not when it's brain rotting stuff ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Because the more people that watch it the more screwed the human race is

Or not watch! :pac: I should point out I have no issues with people watching EB or Jeremy Kyle. I'm just very vocal about thinking they are shíte myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

They must be paid or something. There must be incentives of some sort. If free bar, transport, accommodation are offered - some (disadvantaged) would see that as a decent deal.

These shows take advantage of poor/vulnerable/addicted people, put them on TV for people to laugh, jeer and goad at - Not nice!

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

I remember reading an article somewhere in on the Web a while back(may have been cracked, not sure though, so no link) but it was about this type of show.

They were talking to a former researcher from the UK who had to screen the applicants for one of these shows. After getting the gist of their grievance with whoever, she would ask about their mental health history and whether they were on many medication.

In general, most had some history of problems, and quite a good few were currently on mens to help deal with them.

She said after a while, she could generally tell who would be suitable to bring on the show based on what Meds they were taking (prozac was okay, some other heavier duty gear wasnt) and mental health history(schizophrenia was out, depression, anger issues and of course drug abuse were all in) in her own word, she had to weed out the "mentally unstable", the "people who think too clear and rationally" and find "the right amount of crazy" for the show to have the "entertainment value the show looked for".

They had a very clear demographic that they were looking for, and yes she did say that she hated the job, it made her feel down and left as soon as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭The Masculinist

Well you can apply to be on it isn't there. Theres also a separate bit for Irish people to apply to be on. Or if its an especially interesting story, maybe they get approached by the producers.

http://www.itv.com/jeremykyle/be-a-guest