Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
26-06-2012, 20:50   #16
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: D14
Posts: 12,838
Linux 1 Windows Nil
ED E is offline  
Advertisement
26-06-2012, 22:03   #17
I Kill You Scum!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,167
I would keep an eye on the drive because I am suspicious about the health of it. Certainly run at least one full diagnostic to break in the drive and make sure every sector is readable.

Seagate are quite unreliable lately so also in future make sure any important data is not stored just on the Seagate.
I Kill You Scum! is offline  
Thanks from:
27-06-2012, 12:00   #18
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,613
I would certainly run a hard disk diagnostics on the drive (such as Vivard) to check if it has any bad sectors. I've never encountered any issues formatting drives from within Windows os, and I've done it quite a bit!

Nick
yoyo is offline  
27-06-2012, 19:47   #19
Zascar
Moderator
 
Zascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 10,241
Thanks - yes that does sounds like a good idea.

I just downloaded Vivard but it just says "No Floppy drives found" and nothing I do can get me past that screen. Any suggestions?

Going to give the Ultimate boot cd a go I think its on there.
Zascar is offline  
27-06-2012, 20:39   #20
I Kill You Scum!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,167
If you ever need to RMA the drive then you'll need Seatools for Windows to give you the error code. So might as well install it now.

Its got some standard diagnostic tools, drive self-test etc. Just be aware that the long test will take hours for a 2TB drive.

Personally before running any diagnostics I would write 0s to the entire drive, if there are any problems it helps them to show up quicker.

You can do that from within Windows using something like CCleaner. If you've already copied some data on, then use the 'Free space only' option in CCleaner, it will write to every sector except the bits with data. Will take hours of course.

If everything is healthy, I would also check for firmware updates before copying data to the drive. Firmware updates should be relatively safe but on the off-chance it bricks the drive it'd be better to do it now rather than later when it's got a tonne of stuff on it.

Last edited by I Kill You Scum!; 27-06-2012 at 20:41.
I Kill You Scum! is offline  
Advertisement
28-06-2012, 00:57   #21
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zascar View Post
Thanks - yes that does sounds like a good idea.

I just downloaded Vivard but it just says "No Floppy drives found" and nothing I do can get me past that screen. Any suggestions?

Going to give the Ultimate boot cd a go I think its on there.
Yeah I use it from UBCD, never ran it another way, Seatools for DOS is decent aswell (for any brand)

Nick
yoyo is offline  
01-07-2012, 10:49   #22
Zascar
Moderator
 
Zascar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dublin
Posts: 10,241
So, quick update, I did loads of scans but everything came up fine - but I was still getting loads and loads of problems. I got another small spare hard drive, installed Windows 7 - and all these problems have gone away. It's been perfect. Just in case, I formatted the new 2TB drive again, but I was able to copy everything over perfectly, no issues whatsoever. Not sure why but even on two different clean installs of xp it was hanging and begin weird, not liking drives etc. I'm going to stick with 7 for the moment. So so glad I have all these problems fixed now.

However, there is only one problem remaining. While copying over my many directories to my new hard drive, all but one copied fine. One of them had a subdirectory which was working a few days ago, but it gave a copy error, and now when I go into it, the directory seems to be there but none of the files. Hmmm

Is there any program that I can point to this directory that can try to get it to recover the files? Annoyingly they are some photos that are not that critical but sentimentally important and I'd love to get them back...

Last edited by Zascar; 01-07-2012 at 10:55.
Zascar is offline  
02-07-2012, 00:13   #23
unkel
Seņor Fring
 
unkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lucan
Posts: 26,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zascar View Post
Is there any program that I can point to this directory that can try to get it to recover the files? Annoyingly they are some photos that are not that critical but sentimentally important and I'd love to get them back...
Try PhotoRec

It's free, easy to use and it works out quite well some of the time...
unkel is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet