Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money problems

• 28-02-2008 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Ello im Margaret, Sophie's siister. im 25!
    i graduated commerce in ucd 2 yrs ago and since then havent known where to look for a career. i dont know what area id like to work in.
    the problem with me is money related. i am completely financially dependant upon a temporary agency called "julia ross"
    as this agency only occasionaly finds me work, i find miself stuck for money alot of the time. for the last 2 months, ive been inside constantly, dont even have enogh to go to the theathre.
    i live with my parents but neither of them will support me in any way. i was just curious what u people think. what age do people move out at by the norm? also, do any of u get weekly allowances from parents or are u totally on ur own like myself?

come summertime, i think id like to go into some kind of post study course. id love to do sum further study... but have no idea what courses i cud do as most are too expensive 10 grand which i dont have....

feel very lost in life dont know what career to go into or where to look.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I moved out from home when 18 and starting college. I supported myself through a degree and PhD, with only the odd bail-out from my parents. It's called self-sufficiency and you need to learn about it. At 25 I was working a full-time job, a part-time job, and completing a PhD.

You are not reliant on the agency and to use that as an excuse is laziness on your part. There are plenty other agencies and jobs out there that you can approach or apply to. The only thing stopping you is you.

I completely understand not knowing what career you want. That's perfectly understandable. But you do need to start being responsible and adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Why are you continuing with temp work? Surely you could apply for a permanent role? At 25 you should seriously think about standing up on your own two feet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

I don't want to sound patronising but you sound like you need to grow up... your 25 !! You say you've no support from your parents...but you live in their home.
    I am now 35, at 14 got a job and contributed to the home from then, I left home at 18,bought a house at 22, got married at 23 , went to college after that as a mature student.
    Sorry , but you sound ungrateful , I'm sure your parents have supported you financially up to now , but , you've got your degree..... move out , stand on your own two feet ...... your 25 !!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

i graduated commerce in ucd 2 yrs ago and since then havent known where to look for a career. i dont know what area id like to work in.
    the problem with me is money related. i am completely financially dependant upon a temporary agency called "julia ross"
    as this agency only occasionaly finds me work, i find miself stuck for money alot of the time. for the last 2 months, ive been inside constantly, dont even have enogh to go to the theathre.
    i live with my parents but neither of them will support me in any way. i was just curious what u people think. what age do people move out at by the norm? also, do any of u get weekly allowances from parents or are u totally on ur own like myself?

come summertime, i think id like to go into some kind of post study course. id love to do sum further study... but have no idea what courses i cud do as most are too expensive 10 grand which i dont have....

feel very lost in life dont know what career to go into or where to look.also, do any of u get weekly allowances from parents or are u totally on ur own like myself?

There's nothing to stop you getting a job of any description except yourself. It does not have to be a job in commerce if it is a means to supporting yourself. While you are working and supporting yourself you can think about what you want to do as a career.

I don't see why your parents should have to support you at 25. I'm assuming you were supported by them through college.

I worked part-time in the college when I did my postgrad and I'm currently doing another degree and paying college fees while working fulltime and a mortgage. I'm sure there are plenty more out there like me.

also, do any of u get weekly allowances from parents or are u totally on ur own like myself?

A weekly allowance? Get a full time job, you're not 15 anymore. You're making it sound like it's complete hardship not to get a weekly allowance. It's time you stood on your own two feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

dudara wrote: »
    You are not reliant on the agency and to use that as an excuse is laziness on your part... The only thing stopping you is you... You need to start being responsible and adult.

That's the solution to your problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

feel very lost in life dont know what career to go into or where to look.

This just reeks of the D4 chick - still expecting an allowance - and having to actually ask as to whether people are on their own at 25......what did you expect the answer to be? Ya were all getting cash off mom and dad at 25.

Heres your life as i see it, nice school (prob with fees), nice normal house that makes you feel wealthy because of the over value on property in Dublin pity you cannot cash in that eh?, in reality your parents are'nt that well off apart from their house - as they wont help you ( and they are right not to) college cost you little or nothing at all and now here you are - wondering why your in a mess woking with a poxy agency who give you little or no work. I have to laugh at the Dubs who never had to pay rent in their lives some of us ie who dont live in Dublin/ near a Uni had to put a little personal effort in to get through college things like paying bills and rent and even when this was with parents money it at least prepare s you for the real world, the most you did was drive from some estate on the south side to UCD and then drive home in the evening.

You are just like these wannabe posh guys and girls working in poxy retail shops who have an education because they cannot be bothered growing up - and why should they ? Live at home no expense blah blah, us from the country have to fork out 600 or 700 a month on rent and bills - we could nt even imagine having a crap job.

You're so lucky rant over........./edit i hope everything works out for you im sure your a nice girl really

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Electric

Perhaps you would know what area you would like to work in if you actually bothered to get off your arse and get a proper job instead of pissing about temping and sponging off your parents!

I don't know anyone who is 25 and still lives at home! And as for an allowance...aren't you a little old for pocket money?!

Grow up get a job, any job, start paying rent to your parents, save enough money for a deposit and MOVE OUT! Continue to save and when you can afford to then go back and do a postgrad. Count yourself lucky that your parents haven't cut you off completely

I worked all the way through college with occasional bail outs from my parents. When I graduated I got a job it wasn't in an area that I wanted to work in, but the pay was good and I needed the experience.

I moved out at 22 and for the last two years I've sent my parents on holidays as a thank you for all the help that they have given me.

I suggest that you cop onto yourself and grow up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

You have a commerce degree yet you feel completely reliant on one particular temping agency? Why did you bother going to university at all? You may not know what exact area you'd like to work in, but commerce gives you an absolute wealth of scope - just think of all the different types of financial service organisations there are. My god, with a commerce degree, finding work is piss easy. I actually can't believe your post. Surely there's at least one aspect of your degree that stood out as being particularly interesting to you? If so, why not aim for working in that area?
    Otherwise, get a job in a bank or insurance or assurance or an investment company or whatever. Do an ECDL part-time to increase your skills. Set up a savings account. Do a postgrad. Although really, I wonder why I'm posting such obvious advice. You really need to stop looking for spoonfeeding and start asserting yourself.
    And why on earth is it only that particular agency that you can go to? Have you been blacklisted by all the others or something?

And 25? My god, between your attitude and the textspeak, you come across as a 15-year-old.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

I got my first summer job when i was 15 and the longest I have every been out of work is 3 months, my parents were good enough to let me stay with them, I had money and offered it to them towards my dinners, I cooked every meal that was eaten in the house while I was there, and cleaned up after, it was the least i could do for them. Every now and then, dad used to give me €20, it was not pocket money, it was for doing work in the garden or whatever.
    At the age of 25, living at home with your parents, get a grip would you, do you have any friends? what do they do? does the fact that they have money for going out and buying make-up and clothes (which sounds like all that you are into) not give you the incentive and motivation to get up and go out to get a job, any job, might not be commerce related. Are you waiting for someone to come knock on the door and say, "hello there, would you like a job?"
    get out there and get more skills, there's plenty of work out there for those that want it.
    Expecting an allowance from you parents, cop on, its not california, get a job and stop watching american tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭cork1

im 18 and already have 2 years of full time employment under my belt,live at home and pay rent (as everybody should),saving as much as possible every week,paying a car loan and if i ask for an allowance id be laughed at! but then again id be expecting that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭Gemini Sister

Hi OP.

Seeing as everyone is jumping down your throat for the lack of self-suffiency I'd like to answer fairly.

Personally I've been financially independant since 17 but that doesn't mean a helping hand wouldn't have been nice from time to time, and I would have gladly accepted cause only people with something to prove don't appreciate a favour from the very people whose investment you ARE. However, no such luck in my case just caus there was no money, c'est la vie.

I know alot of people in their 20's & 30's who talk the talk about self-sufficiency, right up til Daddy gives them 40k for a deposit & even then they still let on they're self-sufficient cause its actually Daddy's 'investment'.

If you are getting an 'allowance' , lap it up babe. Very few do.

But in regards to your REAL ISSUE - career - where to go next - stop letting yerself be fooked around by this agency cause they''re only in it for their own commission. It IS hard to get a real career of the ground with just a primary degree, fact. Yes consider a post grad. I went back for mine at 27 cause I needed direction I've since met people in my (now rockin') career who didn't need a postgrad cause they naturaly had tons of talent & energy ... but personally I had no sense of how to have a career or conduct myself professionally at your age (late starter I know, but so what ;))

ALTERNATIVELY, feck the BIG 'career' route... find a hobbie & follow it? Sometimes in my day dreams I wish I'd become a florist.... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

i moved to college didnt like my course and worked in a shop
    and bar, saved and went back to college.

i had a part time job all the way through college, at times three

i got a loan for half my post grad course. i saved the rest

i went out the odd time, had lots of friends.

we were all poor so didnt feel bad about it.

theres a great pride in making it yourself

my parents would have given me more money if i had
    asked. but i liked knowing i was doing a lot myself.

the fact that you live with your parents mean that
    they support you

as accomodation costs money.

ten grand

that means

shop work at night, bar work, ANYTHING

your parents are right not giving you money

id kick you out at 25.

sorry. but the makings of you would be making
    a real living doing some hard graft,

it would give you pride confidence and direction.

Hang on a sec.

Although most people here were financially independant a 17, I believe the OP is asking a question about how to find a direction.

ALSO as I've said before, much as we all hate D4 chicks, or anyone with any privilege.... the OP has a great opportunity cause she DOESN'T have eat noodles half the week to afford one nite out i.e. she doesn't HAVE TO take a craap job.

Just try to work out what you want to do. Feck agencies. Finding the right employers is like finding a relationship partner: when u meet them you'll know it. Keep movin meantime :)

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

ALSO as I've said before, much as we all hate D4 chicks, or anyone with any privilege....

Speak for yourself there was no hate mentioned here, I happen to have a soft spot for D4 chicks as it happens :D, my post was meant to be ironic tbh.

I was privileged in a way too and alot of 25 yr olds in Ireland were/are just some have it softer than others and still manage to goose it up.

Hang in there OP call your old principal and get some advice from them maybe! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭orlyice

OP in all fairness, YOU'RE 25!! as previously pointed out by other posters, you are still living off your parents!!! you are living rent free, bill free and you get free food. i finished college last may and within a few weeks had a job (which i hated!) in a call centre before i found some more in line with my degree. you need to go make an appointment with another agency first thing on Monday. dont go to one who specialises in temp work coz all they want to do is find you somewhere that they'll make their money. also look up the jobs in the paper/online where you apply to the company directly. do up some cvs and post them out to companies. once you are in a large company, there is usually opportunity to progress and get into different areas that interest you. you cant figure out what your ideal job is from your bedroom!!
    dont sit around waiting for the perfect job to come to you. put further study on hold for the time being until you are in a financial position to do so. livewith your parents, pay them rent and learn how to budget!!

in shot, go to agency/send out cvs, get job, live at home and pay your parents rent while saving up for colege.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Haha, got to laugh at all the people being totally suprised at someone still living at home at the age of 25. I'm 21 myself and I'm still at home. Can I afford my own place? No. Do I provide for myself at home? Yes. I really don't get this mentality that once you hit a certain age you HAVE to move out.

Most pathetic thing about the original post is the allowance thing. Has to be a p*sstake?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,158 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Wow at the hate in this thread. If someone is saying they are 25 and are in need of advice what good does telling them of your honest struggle with reality when you were in your late teens do? Are the people recounting their war stories here doing it out of a genuine sense of pride; or doing it because the dormant chip on their shoulder sprung into life when they read the op as a poor little D4 richkid who had all the opportunities?

That said, there is no reason to be unemployed in this country right now. That will not be the case in 18 months time - but right now if you want work you should be able to get it. The first thing you need to change is the fact that you should be actively applying and inquiring about an average of five positions per day minimum. And that is aside from your contact with the agency.

Living at home into ones mid twenties has become a modern reality. It is nothing to be ashamed of once you are handing up a reasonable amount of cash at home and actively saving and making plans for a place of your own.

The good news is that your difficulties are by no means insurmountable. Just get up and make things happen - no excuses.

Good luck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

i lived at home on and off till i was 25 then i finally moved out ! get a job you have a degree so you should really find yourself a job and sort your life out! Your mah and dah are not going be there forever!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Wow at the hate in this thread. If someone is saying they are 25 and are in need of advice what good does telling them of your honest struggle with reality when you were in your late teens do? Are the people recounting their war stories here doing it out of a genuine sense of pride; or doing it because the dormant chip on their shoulder sprung into life when they read the op as a poor little D4 richkid who had all the opportunities?

That said, there is no reason to be unemployed in this country right now. That will not be the case in 18 months time - but right now if you want work you should be able to get it. The first thing you need to change is the fact that you should be actively applying and inquiring about an average of five positions per day minimum. And that is aside from your contact with the agency.

Living at home into ones mid twenties has become a modern reality. It is nothing to be ashamed of once you are handing up a reasonable amount of cash at home and actively saving and making plans for a place of your own.

The good news is that your difficulties are by no means insurmountable. Just get up and make things happen - no excuses.

Good luck!!

Also, is you do move out and get your place, after a year or two living indepedently you should be means tested on your OWN income if applying for a grant for you postgrad, so you may not need to save that 10k.
    Look into it.

Haha, got to laugh at all the people being totally suprised at someone still living at home at the age of 25. I'm 21 myself and I'm still at home. Can I afford my own place? No. Do I provide for myself at home? Yes. I really don't get this mentality that once you hit a certain age you HAVE to move out.
    21 v 25 - quite a difference. But yeah, if you're in close proximity to everywhere you need to be, why move out? Although maybe get a car - just to have some level of independence.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Wow at the hate in this thread. If someone is saying they are 25 and are in need of advice what good does telling them of your honest struggle with reality when you were in your late teens do?
    To get the OP to see things from a different perspective. True, I don't think there's any rush for her to move out (although it's more fun having your own place - much more fun! ;)) but considering she doesn't have to pay rent/mortage, bills etc, and she has a commerce degree, really it's kinda irritating of her to say she has money problems. Plus, what's really irking is this agency bollocks. Yeah, there's only one recruitment agency in Ireland - there isn't an absolute rash of recruitment agencies everywhere you look, at all... :) It's serious laziness that she isn't investigating the other agencies, or better still, applying to places directly. I know she's not sure what path to take (boy can I empathise!) but her commerce degree can still be used in a number of areas for the time being. It's a bit silly to not realise that you can use a commerce degree to get into, for instance, a bank. I dropped out of my arts degree at 20 and did a couple of basic computer courses. I had a typing cert and a Microsoft applications cert to my name, and I still got temping work in Cork City Council for 18 months, and a further 18 months' temping admin work in the bank. If I can get into the bank with those two certs, than the OP can certainly get in there with a finance-related degree and whatever temping experience she has. Jeez, I can't believe she's out of college two years.
    It's not so much advice she's looking for rather than a quick easy solution that requires little effort.
    Are the people recounting their war stories here doing it out of a genuine sense of pride; or doing it because the dormant chip on their shoulder sprung into life when they read the op as a poor little D4 richkid who had all the opportunities?
    Not me. I too grew up in relative privilege but I just wouldn't want to be arsing around and sponging because (a) I'd be bored, and (b) I'm not helpless, I'd like to make something of myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

I think some of the comments on this thread have been very harsh. Our lives are not carbon copies of eachothers and nor should they be. The OP is obviously a young woman in need of direction and she says as much herself in her post. Would it be totally impossible for people to consider offering suggestions without the barrage of negative and insulting remarks?

Sophiieekins; I think you would benefit from organising a meeting with a career adviser. I am sure that confusion about sense of direction would be pretty high up on the list of issues they deal with every day. The problem is, when you don't yet know where you want to be, it's difficult to make the next move because you'll be naturally fearful that it might end up taking you in a direction which you may later come to realise you didn't want to go. So, as previously suggested, I think banking would be a fairly solid springboard to begin with as it's in the general area of finance and would be something that could bridge the gap between where you are now and where you want to be, when you figure out where that is.

I'd get moving on it pretty quickly, otherwise you'll find yourself with the problem of having a sizable gap on your CV which you'd find difficult to explain to prospective employers and which could end up holding you back in your future career. Good luck with it.

seahorse wrote: »
    I think some of the comments on this thread have been very harsh. Our lives are not carbon copies of eachothers and nor should they be.
    Indeed. But no matter what your circumstances are, you should have some level of cop-on.
    The OP is obviously a young woman in need of direction and she says as much herself in her post. Would it be totally impossible for people to consider offering suggestions without the barrage of negative and insulting remarks?
    But do you not see she's clearly looking for an easy option - considering she reckons there's only one agency that can give her work. Where on earth has she got that idea from?
    And she's moaning about not having money, yet she won't get a job because she doesn't know what she wants to do in life. She can't be that broke so. Tons of people don't know what they want to do in life, or they do but there isn't much work available in that area (which is the case for me) and you know what? They just get a job anywhere until they figure out what they want to do, or until something they really want comes up. People with arts degrees often have to make do with really sh1tty jobs like call centre work, but with a commerce degree you have far more scope.
    Working is mostly about money, but it's also about having structure, a sense of purpose, something that motivates you to get moving. I was only getting occasional work last year because I decided to make a go of freelancing, and during my free time I ended up sleeping in for half the day, then obviously staying up all hours, eating too much crap out of boredom, wasting too much time on Boards (oh... wait ;)) and most of all, despite having all the time in the world, being super unmotivated and getting practically nothing done. And I was miserable. So, after giving freelancing in Dublin enough of a shot, I jacked it in, moved back to Cork and got a 9 to 5 office job. It took a good few weeks to get the job, but the fact that I now had no work at all was enough to motivate me to keep plugging away.
    Now I barely sit still, having a lie-in just doesn't happen any more no matter how late I go to bed, I get all my to-do lists cleared quickly, and most of all, I'm so much happier.

It's not my dream job by any means but at least it's giving me a sense of aim rather than aimlessness.

Like a great man once sang: "You can't always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you might find you get what you need."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

Dudess wrote: »
    But do you not see she's clearly looking for an easy option - considering she reckons there's only one agency that can give her work. Where on earth has she got that idea from?

She never said there was only one agency that could give her work Dudess; she said that she is currently "completely financially dependent" on one particular agency, and I just feel that it would be entirely possible for people to point out to her that this by no means needs to be the case without ripping her character to pieces in the process. As to where she got that idea from, I would take it that since she has only applied to one agency she is experiencing a severe lack of motivation, which for all I know could be related to depression; it is after all a very common symptom of it. I was treated for clinical depression myself at one point, and let me tell you, I had trouble tying my shoelaces in the morning, never mind running around the place lodging job applications. Also, I think that if she was looking for an easy option she would not have come here asking strangers to help her make some sense of where her life is at.

Just reading some of the comments on this thread really pizzed me off; all this: 'I left home at 20' - 'I left home at 18' shyte. I was sitting here reading all that thinking 'so fukin what? - I left home at 13 and went straight into a salvation army hostel for homeless - doesn't give me the right to abuse anybody just cause they didn't share the experience'. Yeah, the OP has been sheltered, spoiled even; it doesn't mean she deserves to have others unload their self-congratulatory crap all over her.
    Dudess wrote: »
    no matter what your circumstances are, you should have some level of cop-on.

This may well be true, but I think that to admonish a person in one breath and then attempt to advise them in the next is a very unintelligent thing to do. After all, who would take advice from somebody who'd been verbally abusing them a moment before? Why do people assume the same rules of human response aren't in operation regarding typed text?

Honest to God, I find the degree of nasty unsupportive comments on a lot of these threads to be very very high, they are very prevalent, and I just don't get it; what do people get out of saying horrible things to people they've never met? Maybe it's a form of blowing off steam, but I'd imagine it is a very hurtful experience to come on here looking for advice and perhaps a bit of support and be met with some of the shyte I read on here.

I think that the OP is suffering from big-time, as you described it yourself; "aimlessness" and when a person's feeling like that, for Gods sake, why isn't it generally considered the better idea to try to assist that person in finding their aim, rather than ripping them to bits because they haven't got any? When someone we know in our personal lives comes to us looking for advice, almost 100% of the time they are feeling some level of vulnerability; it is no different for the people who post looking for advice here and my personal opinion is that these boards could do with a good bit more recognition of that.

I've gone well off-topic now and the mods may well have something to say to me, so I'll shut up now! :o I'm glad to hear you're happy at your new job anyway Dudess. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

the OP has a great opportunity cause she DOESN'T have eat noodles half the week to afford one nite out i.e. she doesn't HAVE TO take a craap job.
    This is what annoys people , the OP is to imature at 25 to realise how lucky she has is .... coming onto a serious PI thread moaning that mummy and daddy are not giving her an allowance or any support when they have given her everything and she still lives in their home !!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,865 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I dont say this often, but: flamebait.

i live with my parents but neither of them will support me in any way.
    Wrong. You're under their roof, using their light and heat, and 99% likely that you're eating their food, watching their television, using their internet and phone. I bet the monsters even ask you to do chores? Do the washing up? Do you even do your own laundry?

what age do people move out at by the norm?
    that can vary; but when living at home its still much expected you'd be doing something, like holding down a job. My brother is 22, at home, is not expected to pay rent or groceries but he holds down his own full time job; and pays for his own car; and gives if it is needed in a pinch.

also, do any of u get weekly allowances from parents or are u totally on ur own like myself?

This is where I can level with you: I'm moved out, and in full time college. In my first year I provided my own weekly expenses with a part time job. Rent was given to me. This year the part time job has been a lot harder to come by: there were some legal issues I had to sort out and by that time full term was in swing and positions were filled. This year I've received full expenses from my parents. Having said that, I am not a graduate, I attend a 9-5 already and upon graduation I would have it expected and expect it of myself to be in a full time position within 6 months of my graduation, using the qualification I am to receive. Failing that the agreed redundancy plan is to return to the United States and start from scratch using my father's place as a home base.

The difference is you have a qualification: which if you simply browsed around http://www.monster.ie long enough, will probably get you in the front door of dozens of full time positions.

You cannot blame your parents. They put you through college and have given you everything you need to make it out on your own: but you appear to have failed to realize what you have - the skills to be self-sufficient. Its a matter of application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Hello
    lauren_F
    Mollyoleary
    and
    Louiscollins

Back again with another alter ego.