Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Neck Tattoos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

dirtyden wrote: »
    I am calling bull**** on this. Why do you need a tatoo of a padlock and chain around your neck to remind you of your punk years? Would you not remember otherwise? Are you a Maori? Do you need reminding of your years hunting Moa and kiwi birds?

Who recognises tatooing as an art form (apart from tatoo artists and people who get tatoos). A similar argument could be made for porn being an art form!

People get tatoos because of an image they want to portray. People who get these maori tatoos and neck tatoos generally do so as they want to have themselves seen as hard men or rebels.

I don't need a tattoo to remember, I choose to have one, it's called personal expression.

I don't need to portray an image either, I'm comfortable in my own skin...I'm no hard man but definately have been afflicted with a rebellious nature since I was a kid :D

I don't discriminate against non-tattooed people, why do you/they feel the need to discriminate against me & my kind...live & let live !

If it ain't for you...don't get one, but don't be hating ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Neck tattoos are completely trashy and classless.

Most tattoos are, in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

Who recognises tatooing as an art form (apart from tatoo artists and people who get tatoos). A similar argument could be made for porn being an art form!

People get tatoos because of an image they want to portray. People who get these maori tatoos and neck tatoos generally do so as they want to have themselves seen as hard men or rebels.

How about you start off by defining "Art" for us then and we'll see does it fit the bill? Just because you may not appreciate the art of tattooing doesn't mean others don't. We don't all live in the same type of house, wearing the same type of clothes and like the same things.

You are right - porn can be an art form too (you are correct without realising)

Do you not find art to be expressive? therefore you think that there is no expression in tattoos or porn?

Some people may want to get tattoos to portray a certain image but then again some people might get a tattoo which is hidden because it is personal to them and may remind them of something/someone.

Please carry on with your ignorant generalisation comments by all means...

Show Time wrote: »
    Motorcycle club???

Are they not just gangs of blokes who smoke a lot of weed and never want to grow up?

Pretty much...yeah :D

PS We like building/riding motorcycles & the camraderie of like-minded, non-judgemental misfits like ourselves also ;) :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

tmc86 wrote: »
    How about you start off by defining "Art" for us then and we'll see does it fit the bill? Just because you may not appreciate the art of tattooing doesn't mean others don't. We don't all live in the same type of house, wearing the same type of clothes and like the same things.

You are right - porn can be an art form too (you are correct without realising)

Do you not find art to be expressive? therefore you think that there is no expression in tattoos or porn?

Some people may want to get tattoos to portray a certain image but then again some people might get a tattoo which is hidden because it is personal to them and may remind them of something/someone.

Please carry on with your ignorant generalisation comments by all means...

You are correct art is subjective. I just possibly put a higher tariff on what I consider art. I do not consider tatoos art though (I used trace pictures from books when I was a kid and colour them in, I dont consider that art either).

Also having an opinion alternative to yours does not make it ignorant. I would disagree entirely with most of what you posted but I would not call it ignorant.

If I see someone with a maori tatoo all over their neck and face forgive me for not seeing them as a free spirit or the visual evidence of a tatoo artist's genius. In general people get those because they feel it makes them look hard (generalisation perhaps, but I believe to to true). I am sure there are also people who get them just to be a bit of a rebel and because they like the look of them.

mongdesade wrote: »
    I don't need a tattoo to remember, I choose to have one, it's called personal expression.

I don't need to portray an image either, I'm comfortable in my own skin...I'm no hard man but definately have been afflicted with a rebellious nature since I was a kid :D

I don't discriminate against non-tattooed people, why do you/they feel the need to discriminate against me & my kind...live & let live !

If it ain't for you...don't get one, but don't be hating ;)

Why did you get the maori/tribal tatoo?

If you dont need to portray an image why inject pernament ink all over you neck and face. You are going about it in the wrong way because exactly what you are doing is portraying an image. I mean you said as much in an earlier post (when you mentioned you got the neck tatoo to mark you as a punk).

Like it or not many people will look at you in a certain way because of your tatoos. I know all people who are inked all over are not thugs/hard men but these kind of tatoos are associated with gangs etc for a reason.

1ZRed wrote: »
    Stop being so condescending. Nobody 'needs' a tattoo but it's a form of self expression and entirely his call on what he wants to do. I wouldn't judge him for it at all, and I have no tattoos!

Tattooing is recognised as an art form and a way for people to express themselves. It makes you more unique and shows off your personality. No harm done at all.

Your views are so backwards and gone. Young people or a lot of people do not think that way anymore. Get with the times, be more open minded and stop being so judgemental. Shows you up more than those 'hard men' and 'rebels' when you make such strong dismissive comments like that.

If he is not a maori warrior it is not a form of self expression. My post was a little OTT reading it again though, apologies. It is entirely his decision what he wants to do of course. I just do not see how someone getting tatooed up as a maori warrior is a statement of their unique personality. It is done to portray an image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

If he is not a maori warrior it is not a form of self expression. My post was a little OTT reading it again though, apologies. It is entirely his decision what he wants to do of course. I just do not see how someone getting tatooed up as a maori warrior is a statement of their unique personality. It is done to portray an image.

Alright for a start get over the Maori.

Who are you to make the call that it's not self expression? I don't even have a tattoo but if I were I know that's one of the reasons I'd want one. If it wasn't self expression we would all get the same tattoo. It is unique to get one and be a bit more individual if you want to.

And if I were to get a tattoo it wouldn't be a large or overbearing one, I think I'd get something more subdued but that doesn't mean I'm going the Maori route as you might think. And it doesn't mean I would throw down on people for getting as many or as few tattoos as they like. It's their body and fare fucks to them for doing whatever they like with it.

Tbh, you sound like and uptight and rigid person that is generalising people with tattoos in a very negative and offensive way. Get with with the times and drop your dated views because they are not shared by the majority of people.

Having an open mind and not being judgmental never hurt anyone.

1ZRed wrote: »
    Alright for a start get over the Maori.

Who are you to make the call that it's not self expression? I don't even have a tattoo but if I were I know that's one of the reasons I'd want one. If it wasn't self expression we would all get the same tattoo. It is unique to get one and be a bit more individual if you want to.

And if I were to get a tattoo it wouldn't be a large or overbearing one, I think I'd get something more subdued but that doesn't mean I'm going the Maori route as you might think. And it doesn't mean I would throw down on people for getting as many or as few tattoos as they like. It's their body and fare fucks to them for doing whatever they like with it.

Tbh, you sound like and uptight and rigid person that is generalising people with tattoos in a very negative and offensive way. Get with with the times and drop your dated views because they are not shared by the majority of people.

Having an open mind and not being judgmental never hurt anyone.

Ok you cannot answer my question so you make a personal attack.

This thread was about a particular type of tatoo just to get things back on point for you.

You have actually inadvertently answered my question about self expression in your post though (highlighted). How is self expression getting a tatoo that mamy many others have.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Neck tattoos on fellas always remind me of that film American History X

Ok you cannot answer my question so you make a personal attack.

This thread was about a particular type of tatoo just to get things back on point for you.

I made the point that it is unique and a form of self expression because not everyone gets the same tattoos. Everyone chooses different things for the aesthetic look they like or the symbolism and meaning behind it.

There's a whole lot of thought behind them and I just thought your points went ott when you started to say that people like that are like maori warriors. And explain what you mean by "portraying an image?"
    Nobody wants to get tattoos to be something they're not, it's gotten because they want to get it for themselves because it looks good to them.

Edit. How did I answer your question? You stated that it wasn't a form of art or self expression, the fact that no one gets the same tattoo highlights my point that it is unique to that person and therefore indeed a form of self expression.

Why did you get the maori/tribal tatoo?

If you dont need to portray an image why inject pernament ink all over you neck and face. You are going about it in the wrong way because exactly what you are doing is portraying an image. I mean you said as much in an earlier post (when you mentioned you got the neck tatoo to mark you as a punk).

Like it or not many people will look at you in a certain way because of your tatoos. I know all people who are inked all over are not thugs/hard men but these kind of tatoos are associated with gangs etc for a reason.

The Maori tattoo was done for me by my friend's grandfather who was a 3rd gen traditional Maori tattoo artist...me & his grandson served together, it was to commemorate us as brothers for life.

I care not a jot for peoples opinions/perceived image of me, life's to short...look beyond the ink & get to know the person before you judge them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Pretty much...yeah :D

PS We like building/riding motorcycles & the camraderie of like-minded, non-judgemental misfits like ourselves also ;) :eek:
    Where do i sign up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

trolling is for attention seeking morons

not trolling just my opinion

people get tattoos so others ask them all about their tattoos. Its simple attention seeking.

Look at me, please look at me.

Vanity, plain and simple

"You have a flying unicorn on your wrist. Thats so cool. What does it mean?"

When someone puts a tattoo on their neck, in a place which is constantly visible they seek attention ALL THE TIME

Rubbish. Anyone who I actually know and respect who has a tattoo has got them for themselves first. Same applies to me. My tattoos are reminders and/ or testomonies to an event or time in my life. Thats for me. If you like my tattoos, great, if not , i wont lose sleep over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

there's a lad that lives near me with HATE written accross his neck.
    absolute gob****e!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

Don't particularly have a problem with it except if it's some tacky Playboy bunny or a butterfly tattoo or something like it.
    Never understood why people get neck tattoos to be honest, I'd rather something I could see. :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I suppose it would be a handy to have one if you were a bouncer or in some sort of job where a high level of intelligence is not needed.

And let me guess, you could do "tattooing". It obviously doesn't require anything other than the ability to trace and colour in like you used to do in playschool.

mackeire wrote: »
    there's a lad that lives near me with HATE written accross his neck.
    absolute gob****e!

Yep. Just goes to show that the tattoo really depends on the person no matter how good or bad they are.
    I know a really nice guy with one on the back of his neck and it suits him. You defo get the few assholes along with them tho.

The Maori tattoo was done for me by my friend's grandfather who was a 3rd gen traditional Maori tattoo artist...me & his grandson served together, it was to commemorate us as brothers for life.

I care not a jot for peoples opinions/perceived image of me, life's to short...look beyond the ink & get to know the person before you judge them.

Fair enough man.

But i do reckon that a man such as yourself may be the exception and a lot of people get in your face tatoos to portray a particular image and my mind is not for changing on this.

A more innocent example of tatoo culture is the fad for oriental symbols, because they look cool. People try to suggest that they have a meaning personal to themselves but they dont have a clue what they mean and neither do most tatoo artists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

IMO anyone who has a tat on their neck is a scumbag and to be avoided.

• mongdesade wrote: »
    I'm calling bull**** on this...I have my neck tattooed with a heavy duty padlock & chain to remind me of my punk years, I have a regimental tattoo on my left hand & my head is tattooed with traditional Maori designs.

I am neither a scobe nor a gang member, although I am a member of a motorcycle club...not a gang

I also have a respectable job...I'm the security manager at a semi-state facility & have been in the security industry at a higher level for 20+ years.

It's the 21st century FFS, tattooing is a recognised art form & a form of personal expression.

Stop being so fúcking judgemental & predjudicial :mad:

LOL at 'calling bullsh1t' on someone's opinion. I think they look cheap and tacky. If you don't, fair play to you. That's your opinion. I didn't say you can't have one. I said I don't like them and almost everyone I've met with one has been a scobe. Considering I'm a pretty liberal person who generally likes tattoos and piercings, I'd be willing to bet that the average Joe has a stronger opinion than me on neck tattoos. Tattooing is only a 'recognised art form' to those who like it. Plenty of people see it as trashy and disfiguring and it's arrogant and judgemental of YOU to not allow them their opinion. You choose to alter your body, you should be prepared to accept that not everyone likes body mods as much as you do and that people WILL make judgements based on your tattoos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Motorcycle club???

Are they not just gangs of blokes who smoke a lot of weed and never want to grow up?

And what do you do then,are you a priest;)

Im a fan of neck tattoos. It helps separate the riff raff and us normal folk within the blink of an eye :)

Can you define whats normal and whats riff raff then,please

Nothing says i am an unemployable waster better than neck tattoos.

Not on my CV,mate;)But then again you are probably not in the same job as me.

• Not on my CV,mate;)But then again you are probably not in the same job as me.

But he probably knows how to use the Multi Quote feature.

Not if you hardly on here,but you probably think you are pretty smart:rolleyes:

• Not if you hardly on here,but you probably think you are pretty smart:rolleyes:

No, I just wondered if there was a way to avoid posting over and over and I discovered it pretty quickly. I don't think that really requires a high IQ, no.

No i dont know how to,sorry your highness,but i am not so often on here like i said.
    And if it bothers you,dont come here,go somewhere else and complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I suppose it would be a handy to have one if you were a bouncer or in some sort of job where a high level of intelligence is not needed.

I don't know any bouncers.

and what is it you do, exactly?

I am calling bull**** on this. Why do you need a tatoo of a padlock and chain around your neck to remind you of your punk years? Would you not remember otherwise? Are you a Maori? Do you need reminding of your years hunting Moa and kiwi birds?

I have a degree in Fine Art, and I can spell tattoo, so I'd take your views with a pinch of salt tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Can you define whats normal and whats riff raff then,please

We'll just cut to the chase....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74168925&postcount=84
    Doubtless he examines cranial bumps as a pastime.

Nodin wrote: »

Wait, are you saying people with neck tattoos are likely to be racist jackasses? have you anything to back that up?

*sigh.....

Try reading over that again.....

*sigh.....

Try reading over that again.....

still not getting it, sorry.

Twas RichardHillman who said

"Im a fan of neck tattoos. It helps separate the riff raff and us normal folk within the blink of an eye"

and yer man asked him

"Can you define whats normal and whats riff raff then,please "
    to which in reply I decided to cut through the usual messing about and show where Richard was coming from - an unpleasant place.

Twas RichardHillman who said

"Im a fan of neck tattoos. It helps separate the riff raff and us normal folk within the blink of an eye"

and yer man asked him

"Can you define whats normal and whats riff raff then,please "
    to which in reply I decided to cut through the usual messing about and show where Richard was coming from - an unpleasant place.

oh right. thank you for explaining it.

Np.

( that your work on the blog? its very good btw)

Np.

( that your work on the blog? its very good btw)

tis my work, yeah. thank you.

Lol i get it.Say no more,;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Neck tattoos this is my opinion Ha Ha Ha twats, they just set themselves up for some employment discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

:D:D:D:D:D

If you turn up for a job interview with a neck tattoo, its going to seriously decrease your chances of getting the job.

Depending on your cv and what job your are going for an interview.;)

Petrol pump attendant or a burger flipper, but a burger flipper out of the public eye.

Colmustard wrote: »
    Petrol pump attendant or a burger flipper, but a burger flipper out of the public eye.

Well since i am former captain of a norwegian offshore vessel,i was thinking more like sailor/ offshore worker.
    And all my crew had some sort of tattooes,arms,neck,chest,back,legs you name it,but i dont judge them from what they look like,i judge them for what job they are doing.;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Saw a fella with a spider tattooed on his neck once.... Whyyyy??

My friend has a tattoo of some kind of writing going down the back of her neck and its pretty fantastic I have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

I have a neck tattoo and would consider myself a decent and well-educated chap. The rise in neck tattoos is surely linked to the 'normal tattoos are too common now' phenomena. So since every man and his dog has sleeves you have to go a little further than usual - if, of course, you are into that kind of aesthetic. If not then it will make little sense (I have a perfectly fine job and simply explained the decision behind the tattoo in any interview where it cropped up).

Those who think tats are de facto skanky or ugly or whatnot are likely the types that like to make blanket statements about everything. Like many things in life tattoos don't affect you in any tangible way so just leave it be. Each to their own or does that only count when it is something you have blessed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I don't know any bouncers.

and what is it you do, exactly?
    Property repossession.

Great time for the industry.

Well since i am former captain of a norwegian offshore vessel,i was thinking more like sailor/ offshore worker.
    And all my crew had some sort of tattooes,arms,neck,chest,back,legs you name it,but i dont judge them from what they look like,i judge them for what job they are doing.;):D

Maybe but the average teenager whose CV contains my leaving and I helped the milkman will suffer job discrimination.

I heard of one been dismissed from the recruitment stages in the Army because of one, part of a soldiers or a guards duties will be parades.

I think it is a stupid thing to do unless you are well established on the jobs market and in specific types of employment were you don't meet the public, like yours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

scopper wrote: »
    I have a neck tattoo and would consider myself a decent and well-educated chap. The rise in neck tattoos is surely linked to the 'normal tattoos are too common now' phenomena. So since every man and his dog has sleeves you have to go a little further than usual - if, of course, you are into that kind of aesthetic. If not then it will make little sense (I have a perfectly fine job and simply explained the decision behind the tattoo in any interview where it cropped up).

Why not just get "LOOK AT ME, LOOK AT ME!" tattooed on your forehead so?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 melnsw

Saw this quote back in Australia when I got my first tattoo.
    The only difference between tattooed people and non tattooed people is tattooed people don't give a **** if your not tattooed.
    I have 5 and I love them. My husband hates them and thinks they are scummy but then again, that's his choice and it doesn't change the person I am.
    I am a stay at home mum now but was an office manager in a large accountants and by experience and from hiring people myself, unless the tattoo is offensive, on face or something rude, it didn't matter. If clients had a problem with it then it was just that, their problem.
    People are people with or without tattoos.

Everyone has their opinion and thus fine. But to discriminate is completely wrong!