Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Military Photo Thread (Discussion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

Yeah, there are pictures of guys with Blue tape on!
    My guess is it was probably Reb vs Blue!
    xXx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Growler!!!

Different colour elec tape designates equipment belonging to certain sections. eg.

Red tape - 1 Section
    Blue tape - 2 Section
    Yellow - 3 Section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

OzCam wrote: »
    Two Questions:
    - What's all the red tape about?
    - what brand/model are the issue goggles?

As pointed out, usually a different tape colour to a section. Purely for keeping lads kit together, incase some retard misplaces something.

Don't know the exact model but they're ESS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Stealthirl wrote: »
    20110504_MISURATA-slide-HV8U-slide.jpg
    20110504_MISURATA-slide-H1SX-slide.jpg
    20110504_MISURATA-slide-XD0O-slide.jpg
    20110504_MISURATA-slide-8S50-slide.jpg
    Photo Credit: Getty Images/Chris Hondros
    THE A-TEAM are helping the ''Libyan rebels'' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

whydave wrote: »
    THE A-TEAM are helping the ''Libyan rebels'' !

Dam it you beat me too it

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭bru.wicklow

lets go with mcgyver then dale:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Thanks P. Personally I'd put the tape somewhere a bit less conspicuous... perhaps it doesn't matter so much on exercises.

The goggles appear to be ESS Profile, the shape and colour is right, though the PDF must have ordered them with black straps.

RIP Chris Hondros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

To be fair, that little bit of tape is going to be a concealment problem... if you take away the rifles, equiptment, and other gubbins that is going to be 10% more visible first.

If the 'enemy' is close enough to see a few coloured flashes on thier backs, they're pretty screwed already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

3-35.jpg
    A Paraguayan soldier marches holding a snake in a military parade honoring Paraguay's bicentennial in Asuncion, Saturday May 14, 2011. Paraguay won independence from Spain May 14, 1811, following a military coup.

Err, Dave ... don't soldiers traditionally use guns rather than ... well, snakes?

Camo FN FAL and a snake (this is like top-trumps) !!!

General: Minister, erm, why are my men all carrying large snakes?

Minister of Defence: "Hello there general, ah, well you see it was a rather cunning plan. We were going to issue them with colt python sidearms, but there were budget cuts that needed to be made... unavoidable yoou see....

General: So you issued them.... real pythons instead?

Minister of Defence: Yes, yes I did jolly good Idea don't you think?

General: Sir, three of my men have been choked to death already this morning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

This nutter Hannibal. He was using snakes as weapons around 250bc during the Punic wars.

Basically had his soldier run up to the enemy ships with pots (causing some laughter from the invading Romans) before lobbing the pots filled to the brim with rather poisonous (and presumably rather miffed) snakes on to the ship.

I dont care how stern a centurion you are, when those pots cracked open it was definitely brown-tunic time.

So, snakes are more traditional (in a sense) than guns. Go figure?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Maybe he's carrying his ration pack?

NTM

They must be off to do counter revolutionary warfare ops with an airline hijacking... Everyone knows the fastest way to clear a plane, is with snakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Firekitten wrote: »
    They must be off to do counter revolutionary warfare ops with an airline hijacking... Everyone knows the fastest way to clear a plane, is with snakes.

... Or Samuel L Jackson.

Mother ****ing paraguians on my mother****ing plane!

attachment.php?attachmentid=156591&cid=1&stc=1
    Irish Army Rangers
    H&K 417 !!!!!!
    WANT !!!

H&K 417 !!!!!!
    WANT !!!

The lads are sound, they'll let you have it.

All you have to do, is spend 3 weeks down the Curragh having the craic with them and then pass a Basic Skills Course.

Simple as that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Does the Garda marksman have Remington 700 in that pic? Very profesional looking, i have to say.

Nice uniforms too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

I'm guessin' that was taken durin' the Queens visit to the park?
    xXx

WcMVOv.jpg
    'The one with the rifle shoots, when the one with the rifle is shot....'

I like the fact he's wearing a Serpa, well one of them. I doubt they're issued. :)

Its a safariland.

My bad... :o Wonder why the other guy isn't wearing one. Maybe gets in the way of a prone position?

hes got a black bianchi.... it seems like personal preference?
    the dropleg shouldnt get in the way, as where the sniper goes, his spotter goes too... Holsters are awefully personal things, its all about the user.

800xkn.jpg
    You sure those two are Gardai?

my spidey sense is tingling.

Those two are the same from the other day. Definitely not ARW. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

swiftblade wrote: »
    Does the Garda marksman have Remington 700 in that pic? Very profesional looking, i have to say.

Nice uniforms too :)
    The rifle is a Styer model AFAIK.
    Possibly this one.

Leftyflip wrote: »
    The rifle is a Styer model AFAIK.
    Possibly this one.

Danke Schon :)

800xkn.jpg
    You sure those two are Gardai?

my spidey sense is tingling.

They're nothing to do with our lads.

Perhaps I got a little confused. never seen plod wearing camo before... (granded us swat teams dont count)

Interesting :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

God, some of them look well young.

You realise atleast two of the soldiers in that last batch of photos were women right? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

Whydave,
    Those PDF pictures recruit training?

Whydave,
    Those PDF pictures recruit training?

Yep.

They're a Recruit Platoon currently training in the DFTC.

the flag bearer looks knackered lol.

09051109165467663638045.jpg

I'm in Love !!!!!! Poor choice of words :p

Im sure you can find his contact details on Frenchspecialforcesinlove.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

I'm in Love !!!!!!

HAhah drum mag on a DMR interesting , wonder how this would fair in a Milsim :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭CpcRc

jeawan wrote: »
    HAhah drum mag on a DMR interesting , wonder how this would fair in a Milsim :P

For when you can't hit someone with one shot, or two or ten, you can always try your luck with 100 shots. Ah, drum mags :p

French terrorists aren't known for taking thier hits.

4-54.jpg

Class !!!!

US Navy admits it's in a loosing battle with cats stuck up trees, and releases fireman 2.0 to combat this increasing threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Is it protocol to dump fuel pre landing on a carrier?(For fire safety I assume)

111737pertempurandisomah.jpg
    Guy on the left is holdin a QLZ87: more here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beez

thanks, was just about to ask. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Is that a Carl Gustav in the red rectangle Dave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

AKs!! So much want

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Is it protocol to dump fuel pre landing on a carrier?(For fire safety I assume)

More likely weight. Carrier landings have no flare, so there's a heck of an impact. The less mass coming down, the better.

All those pictures of the recruits getting muddy seems most unpleasant. 13 years in uniform, I've not gotten muddy yet.

NTM

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Is that a Carl Gustav in the red rectangle Dave?
    No aTommy !!!
    m1a1.jpg