Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Demonstrations/violence only the beginning?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Just wait till after the budget. Then you will see riots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

I hear that the Gardai have been in riot training since last March in preparation for this eventuality.

This was one of the problems of the march the other day.
    I am not an authority basher, but in my opinion wednesday turned nasty because of the way the garda reacted.
    as with any protest there was plenty of shouting, but all in all it was peaceful with no physical violence of yet. then out of nowhere riot police showed up along with horseback riders and started shoving people back. There was no need for this level of intense, agressive reaction for the gardai, and all this was going to do was piss people off and they will react back agressively. I did see too a few cases of flying batons where there was no need too.
    anyways, back to the point of the thread, from my own personal stance I will most definately protest again if these fees arn't lowered. I know a lot of people are saying why should we be an exeption, well at least finally some group of irish citizens are reacting appropriately to the shambles this government has led us in to.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

"When the Industrial Revolution of the nineteenth century brought a rapid increase in wealth, the demand of workers for a fair share of the wealth they were creating was conceded only after riots and strikes."

-John Boyd Orr

“If our colleges and universities do not breed men who riot, who rebel, who attack life with all the youthful vim and vigor, then there is something wrong with our colleges. The more riots that come on college campuses, the better world for tomorrow.”

-William Allen White

"Game on now, Ger"

- Cyril Farrell
    hotfeet wrote:
    Congratulations and well done to USIT on the protest
    Some job for a travel agents alright

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

The only reason trouble hasn't spilled onto the street yet is because a lot people still are living off their accumulated wealth from the boom years. After the cuts when more people start to struggle to cover even their most basic needs then it will get ugly for better or for worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

I hear that the Gardai have been in riot training since last March in preparation for this eventuality.

where?? where exactly did you hear this nugget?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Tomlowe

flanum wrote: »
    where?? where exactly did you hear this nugget?
    Gardai train in secret for riots

Less than 24 hours after the mini-riot outside the Dail, plumes of smoke from petrol bombs could be seen above north Dublin as the Garda's Public Order Unit underwent specialist training.

The training camp was held in secrecy at the derelict 208-acre Belcamp College site, situated off the Malahide Road in Dublin.

All gates to the complex were locked and seven garda vans were used to shield some 40 officers from public gaze as they underwent a series of intensive drills throughout the day.

The training included running a gauntlet of petrol bombs while in full riot gear, as well as baton charges and defensive manoeuvres.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-train-in-secret-for-riots-2182078.html

It's the first thing that came up when I googled "Gardaí receive riot training". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14 hotfeet

ColHol wrote: »
    "Game on now, Ger"

- Cyril Farrell

Some job for a travel agents alright

Lol, slip of the tongue is no fault of the mind, ask biffo, lol

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-train-in-secret-for-riots-2182078.html

It's the first thing that came up when I googled "Gardaí receive riot training". :rolleyes:

meh... entire thread should be in the dublin section if ye ask me!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

ddef wrote: »
    This was one of the problems of the march the other day.
    I am not an authority basher, but in my opinion wednesday turned nasty because of the way the garda reacted.
    as with any protest there was plenty of shouting, but all in all it was peaceful with no physical violence of yet. then out of nowhere riot police showed up along with horseback riders and started shoving people back. There was no need for this level of intense, agressive reaction for the gardai, and all this was going to do was piss people off and they will react back agressively. I did see too a few cases of flying batons where there was no need too.
    anyways, back to the point of the thread, from my own personal stance I will most definately protest again if these fees arn't lowered. I know a lot of people are saying why should we be an exeption, well at least finally some group of irish citizens are reacting appropriately to the shambles this government has led us in to.
    This was a training session for the gardai for the more serious protests to come later.

flanum wrote: »
    meh... entire thread should be in the dublin section if ye ask me!

Why's that? This affects everyone in the country, even if the events take place in Dublin. I live in Leitrim and I'm going to the march in Dublin on Dec. 7th and it's good to know to come prepared. I'm gonna wrap my left arm in bubble wrap. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Anyone who thinks it's not going to get worse is an idiot.
    The protests yesterday were extremely tame and will be nothing compared to the planned protest on budget day.

The budget day protests will be much bigger and won't just be young adults. It will be fully grown men and women who are angry about the fact that they can no longer provide for their families because of measures enforced on them by a government more worried about saving their own fortunes and the fortunes of their peers than they are about saving the country.

It's going to get ugly.
    Not saying violence is a good thing, but it's a reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

How come no one cared about all the scummy antics of the politicians before 2008? and what does a riot actually do? cost more money to the state, which we all have to pay back in taxes.

Do you think the boys in power could give a toss about a riot lol. The politicians should be directly targeted for such protests/riots. They should be trapped in the middle of it.

Why's that? This affects everyone in the country, even if the events take place in Dublin. I live in Leitrim and I'm going to the march in Dublin on Dec. 7th and it's good to know to come prepared. I'm gonna wrap my left arm in bubble wrap. ;)

didnt affect me.. i live in cavan.. im not a student..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,852 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The police are there to protect the rich from the poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭CavanGal

Have to agree with JJayoo

Riots only cost the taxpayer money. Who pays for the riot police to turn up? Who pays for the streets to be cleaned after a riot? Who pays for protestors and Guards to be treated in the hospitals? Who pays for the damage done to the businesses that are vandalised during riots?

Meanwhile, Cowen and his lot continue receiving some of the biggest salaries in the world and say tut tut, silly protestors before hopping on the government jet to go to their holiday home in Southern France for their monthly getaway.

Riots wont change a thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

amacachi wrote: »
    I've heard some firms these days will let women work for them even after they've married.

Oh, fcuk off. You know exactly what he meant you thanks-whoring child. And I'm a feminist.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Unfortunatly I think that this may well be just the tip of the iceberg and that worries me because violence doesn't solve anything. Look at one of the thousands of wars throughout history.

I understand people are frustrated and angry but we need to pull together not tear eachother apart.

I don't believe the government can be solely held responsible for the recession. What about the bankers, the developers and just about every Irish citizen who spent well beyond their means during the boom?y.

Theres no point in pretending we don't all have a part to pla

I hope we don't end with our version of the Troubles down here but if things keep going as they are I really worry it'll happen and it'll be a dark day when it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

There is a very good chance that there will be more protests, and that the protests will become more violent. They will, of course, achieve nothing.

The Stickies will attempt to stir the pot as will the likes of eirigi, and you'll have the usual scummers joining in for the crack.

In the next 12 months we'll have looting, assaults, riots, and a few cops will be dragged before the courts for overenthusiastic baton usage.

Next topic , please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Public Order Unit in riot training shocker.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

And I'm a feminist.:)

you say that as if its something to be proud off :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

JFlah wrote: »
    Exactly my situation after the Budget i reckon have a nice hoodie scarf and gloves ready !!!! see how our law enforcement like tackling grown adult men

If you want to look like a grown man, ditch the hoodie and scarves. :rolleyes:

Yep, they never had training or faced a riot before that.
    BickNarry wrote: »
    Boo feckin hoo.
    Typical middle class attitude. ''violence doesn't solve anything''. It solves some things. And the gov. will only listen to economics. So when police riot gear has to be replaced, the streets have to be cleaned up and a few shops (hopefully only McDonalds etc.) get smashed up, they''ll think "We're paying for people to hate us''. Direct action always works on people who only think economically.

YAY, let's smash up a few shops, take away a few more jobs, put a few employers out of business, cost the taxpayer even more etc.
    hotfeet wrote: »
    We have been living in a police state for a number of years now, but because of the likes of the Provos, J Gilligan and their ilk we were duped into allowing the state to moe or less do what they like with our civil liberties and freedoms, its a grave misconception to even remotely believe that big brother is not watching you. I worked for the Justice Dept', I know what they are up to.

What are they up to? Go on, share some of your insider knowledge from the 'Justice Dept'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Maybe if we stormed Leinster House,dragged out this shiitpot government and executed them one by one it would prevent further bloodhshed in the long run?*

Hopefully the guards will see sense and stand to one side.

*Only joking of course..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,834 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Degsy wrote: »
    Maybe if we stormed Leinster House,dragged out this shiitpot government and executed them one by one it would prevent further bloodhshed in the long run?*

Hopefully the guards will see sense and stand to one side.

*Only joking of course..

Most of the guards are hired goons with no opinion of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I hope not but being honest it probably will happen.
    I just don't see how getting violent will prove a point but then everyones patience is wearing very thin & I can understand how a person can lose control.

The next twelve months will be very interesting but I don't think it will be in a good way.

Are you serious?
    The French cabinet try to fcuk with minimum wage and what does the country do? They burn the gaff to the ground, they kidnap their bosses and dowse them in petrol and sit them next to a lit candle, they block up every port and tunnel...and what does the government do? They back the fcuk down AND they apologise.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Are you serious?
    The French cabinet try to fcuk with minimum wage and what does the country do? They burn the gaff to the ground, they kidnap their bosses and dowse them in petrol and sit them next to a lit candle, they block up every port and tunnel...and what does the government do? They back the fcuk down AND they apologise.

YAY mob rule, intimidation and terrorism... great way to run a country.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

The students isn't your enemy, your government is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

The gardai are there simply to keep order. I hate what the government has done to our nation but we can't simply take out our frustrations on innocent employees of the state. They're just doing their jobs, like the rest of us.

If all that anger was directed towards something more productive---like perhaps a huge online/TV/radio petition for a general election, things would happen.

But no, we're Irish. So we bitch, moan, argue amongst ourselves, swing fists at gardai, and generally feel hard-done-by.

So it goes.

The only thing that a government understands and fears is violence. PERIOD!
    Petitions and demonstrations and charity concerts achieve SFA. They just give the dickheads in power a bit of time to dream up some sop of a sweetener to hand out to the pestilence strickened multitudes and then continue on with their agenda.