Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Todays GDT results, still going down, 3.1%
    http://bit.ly/1myMpcJ

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭billie holiday

Lakeland Dairies base (3.6 BF and 3.3 P) IS 31.780 CENTS / litre
    with virginia baileys winter millk bonus and (4.05 BF AND 3.6 P) my October price was 39.82

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Todays GDT results, still going down, 3.1%
    http://bit.ly/1myMpcJ

I know it's only a small % drop but it's still worrying it's going in the wrong direction. Anyone hear what Dairygold set Oct price at. Were due to finalise price today?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

keep going wrote: »
    Heard tonite that shinagh bandon are getting 50 cent for November milk

Ha crazy! And guess whos funding shinagh? Carbery who are also paying them the 50c/l. Maybe they want to show farmers that the place is a success so there wont be a backlash from farmers to all the money that was invested in the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

case885 wrote: »
    Ha crazy! And guess whos funding shinagh? Carbery who are also paying them the 50c/l. Maybe they want to show farmers that the place is a success so there wont be a backlash from farmers to all the money that was invested in the place.

Maybe they are just well run Coop's??

Dawggone wrote: »
    Maybe they are just well run Coop's??

Id be pretty sure no other farmer in west cork is being paid 50c/l where as the farm that was set up and funded by carbery is, what has that got to do with having well run co-ops? Coincidence maybe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Why couldn't they be getting 50 cent lads???.from what I gather herd is heavily x bred and big emphasis on grass.i know of at least one guy who cleared 60 cent for his milk last November of a 39.7 base.theybproably milked fook all but produced massive solids%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Id be pretty sure no other farmer in west cork is being paid 50c/l where as the farm that was set up and funded by carbery is, what has that got to do with having well run co-ops? Coincidence maybe..

Ahhhhhhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Pure rubbish, being paid on the same basis as everyone else.once a day milking and they are now milking very small quantities so solids are through the roof .anyway why would carbery pay extra to a farm where the the profits are divided between the four coops so whos winning.thiss year they on course for 100k profit but next year the budget shows them breaking even on a milk price of 30 cent given they beat coops average by 2 cent all year so predicted average price is 28 cent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭blackdog1

They have reports you can download if your interested. There on once a day milking im pretty sure thus high solids and milk price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Bullsh1t, same milk pricing going on there as everywhere else. Are u really suggesting Carbery would tamper with their milk price? silly post. Maybe a bit of credit where it's deserved, a lot of guys around here really wanted to see them fail in shinagh, great to see them prove the doubters wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭solwhit12

C4d78 wrote: »
    I know it's only a small % drop but it's still worrying it's going in the wrong direction. Anyone hear what Dairygold set Oct price at. Were due to finalise price today?

Same price as september

Bullsh1t, same milk pricing going on there as everywhere else. Are u really suggesting Carbery would tamper with their milk price? silly post. Maybe a bit of credit where it's deserved, a lot of guys around here really wanted to see them fail in shinagh, great to see them prove the doubters wrong.
    Guys around where, carbery? No i doubt many farmers in west cork would want to see it fail seeing as they are funding it. At least they might get a return out of it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Guys around where, carbery? No i doubt many farmers in west cork would want to see it fail seeing as they are funding it. At least they might get a return out of it now.

Have ya seen the November report on Shinagh website? 7.6l on oad doing 5.19 protein think, forget what the fat was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Have ya seen the November report on Shinagh website? 7.6l on oad doing 5.19 protein think, forget what the fat was.

I'd be selling that straight to bodybuilders etc ha, I'd say you'd get well more than 50c a litre!

Got 41.43c from
    Base 30.4c
    Butter 3.6c (4.80)
    Protein 7.43c (4.34)
    Lactose 0 ( 4.51)
    Cheated a bit, cows were on OAD for oct. They were doing 12.5L at the end of October.dried off 30th oct. Last cheque of the year in so austerity now till feb 2015 (2016 maybe?)

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Cow Porter wrote: »

http://shinaghdairy.com/reports/12-11-2014.pdf
    The herd has done the same milksolids per cow in 2014 to date as in 2013 even though it has been on OAD since Aug 1st due to quota. Cell count is 225,000. Milk yield is 7.67 litres/cow on OAD. Current milk test is 5.48% fat and 5.19% protein, lactose of 4.37% TBC of 14,000. This is 0.83 kgs of milksolids per cow per day. We are on quota still even with the OAD milking and we are continually monitoring our supplies.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 glanroy

stratroy back 3c this month i hear . The honeymoon period is over.

glanroy wrote: »
    stratroy back 3c this month i hear . The honeymoon period is over.

Back 3 cent to what and based on what sids??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭mf240

Glanbia right down the bottom of the journal milk price league. Fairly sad performance from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mf240 wrote: »
    Glanbia right down the bottom of the journal milk price league. Fairly sad performance from them.

The league doesn't inc the stability fund that was paid or the .5c to be paid on all 14 supply. This is of course subject an SGM in January, hardly likely to be defeated. Never know the people who specialise in confusion will turn up to stir the pot.

Btw the .5c if passed will make up for price drop 100%.

Be warned some darker days in store for Q1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

The league doesn't inc the stability fund that was paid or the .5c to be paid on all 14 supply. This is of course subject an SGM in January, hardly likely to be defeated. Never know the people who specialise in confusion will turn up to stir the pot.

Is that on calender year or quota year supply? Either way if it comes in the spring as opposed to Dec it would be more helpful for most lads then in both a cash flow and tax point of view. Any thoughts on next year's price do ye think it will hold at 30 or drop below it? The Europeans are predicting further drops I think

...and Q2 looks definite, Q3 looking a strong possibility now.
    Most of the commentators that were predicting a turn mid 2015 seem to have moved it out to at least 4th quarter.

Milked out wrote: »
    Is that on calender year or quota year supply? Either way if it comes in the spring as opposed to Dec it would be more helpful for most lads then in both a cash flow and tax point of view. Any thoughts on next year's price do ye think it will hold at 30 or drop below it? The Europeans are predicting further drops I think

Based on calendar year, paid in Jan ac as well as fixed price adjustment. There's money still in the stability fund to be paid.

Real mkt price at the moment 28-29c. Cheese 2300/ tonne with 10k litres to make a tonne. You can see where it's going from that alone. Luckily volumes are small ATM.

Fixed price scheme looking like a good move now. Only way to stop fall is Aid to private storage. This would create a floor and buyers will come back in to remove surplus

Milked out wrote: »

At the moment you'd have to be very worried for at least the first half of next year.as for price 25 to 30 bracket .a big drought down under,Chinese to start buying strong or a productvscare down under would bring stability back quicker but at the moment supply worldwide is totally out of kilter with demand and with quota going in Europe this over supply has little sign of decreasing.ohh and I forgot the Americans havnt really clicked into gear yet production wise ,if they really decide to open the tap full whack all of next year could be a write off

Based on calendar year, paid in Jan ac as well as fixed price adjustment. There's money still in the stability fund to be paid.

Real mkt price at the moment 28-29c. Cheese 2300/ tonne with 10k litres to make a tonne. You can see where it's going from that alone. Luckily volumes are small ATM.

Fixed price scheme looking like a good move now. Only way to stop fall is Aid to private storage. This would create a floor and buyers will come back in to remove surplus

As a Glanbia supper would u of preferred that chunk out of the stability fund paid in September was held over till spring when it will most certainly now be wanted more???

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Btw the .5c if passed will make up for price drop 100%.

Are all suppliers getting the. 5 regardless of whether u are a shareholder or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mahoney_j wrote: »
    As a Glanbia supper would u of preferred that chunk out of the stability fund paid in September was held over till spring when it will most certainly now be wanted more???

That not down to money management? At least we have it in the bank now. But agreed to the point that it probably did take the edge of the cut for glanbia. Personally I'd have zero problems with zero market supports from glanbia as such, take the best possible milk price at all times, I'll manage my own price volatility grand considering I'm fairly lowly borrowed. Just like all fixed price or insurance schemes, there is a fee to pay for it in some form or other.

Timmaay wrote: »
    That not down to money management? At least we have it in the bank now. But agreed to the point that it probably did take the edge of the cut for glanbia. Personally I'd have zero problems with zero market supports from glanbia as such, take the best possible milk price at all times, I'll manage my own price volatility grand considering I'm fairly lowly borrowed. Just like all fixed price or insurance schemes, there is a fee to pay for it in some form or other.

Only reason I asked was that in sept most lads would of been geeting at least 37 cent and a lot more with solids even without the fund.next feb/March/April price and solids will be a lot lower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭mf240

Only reason I asked was that in sept most lads would of been geeting at least 37 cent and a lot more with solids even without the fund.next feb/March/April price and solids will be a lot lower

Glanbia cut the base price by two cents and then gave two out of the sf so we didnt really get anything.

Are all suppliers getting the. 5 regardless of whether u are a shareholder or not.

Coop shareholders voting so only them. This is an issue that needs to be dealt with. Co op can only pay its shareholders

Paid in March or April but could you imagine what you'd be posting and the IFA would be saying had it not been paid:)

Glanbia cut the base price by two cents and then gave two out of the sf so we didnt really get anything.

Yea but you brought up the league and that's not included. The .5c will make it a zero sum.

Had the milk business ie. GIIL not been separated it would not have happened. Plc doesn't pay out money

When all monies paid are totted GIIL would be higher in that league. The league is actually meaningless as it only inc headline prices.

Paid in March or April but could you imagine what you'd be posting and the IFA would be saying had it not been paid:)

If I was a Glanbia supplier and looking at big picture and what the milk markets were returning I'd of been happy to leave fund fully intact till next March /April and let suppliers /ifa put the pressure on to pay a price reflective of market and what other coops were paying.there basically paying ye back yet own money to cover up a harsh and sh1te milk price they set

Your not listening, the top up from the co op will compensate for drop. What happens in the new year is another story. Again your blinded by headlines. Did your coop return 41c base to you in any mth this year. GIIL did and rightly kept 2c aside for volatility, good mgt IMV.

They may not of paid 41 cent but we've been consistently 2/3 cent a litre ahead of Glanbia price for last few months and currently 1.5 cent ahead .prices dropping but management very bullish that coop is now in a much better position financially to pay a strong price than before at market troughs .not blinded by headlines

Does much or your co ops funds come from enterprise other than milk? Ours is from plc dividend and milk business. This leads to monies being paid in different ways

Your still missing the point, they're not paying 2-3 more. 2c kept aside. Interested to compare at the end of the year. Great to have competition in the game keeps them all honestish.

What kind of funds in your coop? I can't all be used. .5c per litre in Giil is 7.5m wouldn't be long burning cash. The problem then is it needs to be replaced.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

instead of holding money in stability funds would they not be better off just payin the best price and allow us to manage our own volatility
    paying out as they did during year made no sense with Q1 and Q2 next year more appropriate timing for injection of funds

If your 2-3c ahead where's the return from, not the market.

Why didn't your co op go to 41? It's the same difference just paid a different way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

If your 2-3c ahead where's the return from, not the market.

Why didn't your co op go to 41? It's the same difference just paid a different way.

Seriously worried that co-ops take up forward trading "on behalf of their farmers, to offer a stable price"

Unless a number of primary producers voluntarily opt to lock in a specific price (transparently) for a stated quantity over a stated period, they have nothing to hedge.

And they sure as hell aren't the people to trade.

Because we are the ones who have to cover their losses.

kowtow wrote: »
    Seriously worried that co-ops take up forward trading "on behalf of their farmers, to offer a stable price"

Unless a number of primary producers voluntarily opt to lock in a specific price (transparently) for a stated quantity over a stated period, they have nothing to hedge.

And they sure as hell aren't the people to trade.

Because we are the ones who have to cover their losses.

What I'm referring to in that post has nothing to do with forward trading

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Coop shareholders voting so only them. This is an issue that needs to be dealt with. Co op can only pay its shareholders

Signed up suppliers need an opportunity to buy shares if top ups are going to be the way forward.

They have as share trading has opened again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

DG base 32,
    Received 39.961c/l @ 4.0p and 4.32bf
    Edited to add no winter bonus in that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭red bull

Fair play to Arrabawn, top of Journal league for first time in ages. Arrabawn suppliers took a hit on price it seems to put infracsture in place to to take increased supply. I have information that suggests they take milk from Glanbia and Dairygold to process at added value

red bull wrote: »
    Fair play to Arrabawn, top of Journal league for first time in ages. Arrabawn suppliers took a hit on price it seems to put infracsture in place to to take increased supply. I have information that suggests they take milk from Glanbia and Dairygold to process at added value

Can I have a vodka with that #locked!!!!!

TerryFear wrote: »
    episodes of dynasty LOL

Thats life ?

Can I have a vodka with that #locked!!!!!

Yea, me too. Oook the begrudgers

Most of my Quota is in Aurivo, not for long I think. Confused