Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

That's actually class. I might get onto the father about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Pure insomnia here now. Lost a cow this evening that developed an awful scour about 3 weeks ago. Had given her a course of sulphur powders for 3 days to no avail and a fluke and worm dose and got the vets to send off a faecal sample a week ago to try and find out what's causing it but hadn't got the results back yet. Rightly sickened by it now so I am. Hopefully the faecal sample will shed some light on what caused it and it won't be something stupid that I should have picked up on. Calf won't suck a bottle either to make matters worse, anyone any tips on how to get her started? 6 weeks old and hungry enough in herself because the cow had as good as dried up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,852 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Pure insomnia here now. Lost a cow this evening that developed an awful scour about 3 weeks ago. Had given her a course of sulphur powders for 3 days to no avail and a fluke and worm dose and got the vets to send off a faecal sample a week ago to try and find out what's causing it but hadn't got the results back yet. Rightly sickened by it now so I am. Hopefully the faecal sample will shed some light on what caused it and it won't be something stupid that I should have picked up on. Calf won't suck a bottle either to make matters worse, anyone any tips on how to get her started? 6 weeks old and hungry enough in herself because the cow had as good as dried up.
    johnes? honey is great to get the calf to suck, would calf go on anoter cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If you can keep him alive and get him sucking, off to the mart asap. You'll get as much out of him. Cont sucks are crazy money at the mo. Let some other lad have the bother of rearing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Lads can ye do the movement permit all on line now without any paper work or does the buyer have to be on agfood aswell ? Lad bought a cow off me and doesn't know if he is on agfood or not , don't ask me how he doesn't know !

Bullocks wrote: »
    Lads can ye do the movement permit all on line now without any paper work or does the buyer have to be on agfood aswell ? Lad bought a cow off me and doesn't know if he is on agfood or not , don't ask me how he doesn't know !
    you'd have to print off the movement permit anyway so either you post the 3rd copy back or do the movement on line, you still have to have the your bit in your possession afaik, in case of inspection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭dzer2

whelan2 wrote: »
    you'd have to print off the movement permit anyway so either you post the 3rd copy back or do the movement on line, you still have to have the your bit in your possession afaik, in case of inspection

You dont need to keep a copy as you can show the permit number on Agfood just type in the tag number and a history pops up. But if the lad doesn't use agfood print him a buyers copy and send off a copy to Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

whelan2 wrote: »
    johnes? honey is great to get the calf to suck, would calf go on anoter cow?

Rumen fluke :( What a waste, rest of the cows will get a a shot of Zanil in the next week. Have 2 cows rearing 2 calves already, don't have another cow capable of rearing 2 really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nice evening here.
    Total waste I have to go and have 2 MRIs done. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Rumen fluke :( What a waste, rest of the cows will get a a shot of Zanil in the next week. Have 2 cows rearing 2 calves already, don't have another cow capable of rearing 2 really.

Seams to be allot of it at the moment why ever the reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

_Brian wrote: »
    Nice evening here.

Best of luck, Brian. Hope its nothing serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Nice evening here.

Hope it goes well, lie back and think of Ireland!

Thought I was being nice taking a backload of hay out to the cows on the field just now. Well if I wasn't pucked, dunted and shoved all the way up the field by one lady :mad: How I didn't fall flat on my face while hopping between high spots in runners I'll never know.

Best of luck, Brian. Hope its nothing serious.

Naah
    More back pain.

It's like a punishment for complaining.
    50 minutes inside a machine the size of a coffin , noisier than a six pot tractor with the big end bearings shot. Am if ya move they start again !!
    Oh and ya get to wear a paper gown. -

Damn sweat was dripping of me by the end :(

Naah
    More back pain.

50 minutes inside a machine the size of a coffin , noisier than a six pot tractor with the big end bearings shot. Am if ya move they start again !!

hopefully they will be able to do something for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Naah
    More back pain.

Rough enough Brian :(
    hope it goes as well as it can, and they are able to do something for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Naah
    More back pain.

Hope there able to give you some help or good news with it

Naah
    More back pain.

I did one last year because of persistent back pain. The more you are told to stay still, the more you want to move::-):

Most of the farmers got a diagnosis of L4-L5 problems with a compressed disc so I wasn't very serious.

Hopefully they find something they can fix or manage easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hopefully you get some relief _Brian soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Wife was told yeasterday has to wait 6 weeks to get 2 discs remove...seeing the pain shes does be in id pity anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

My own back is at me the past fortnight after unloading bags of feed out of a van, hearing about MRI's it doesn't feel that bad at all!!

shoulder at me here, none of us are getting any younger

Wife was told yeasterday has to wait 6 weeks to get 2 discs remove...seeing the pain shes does be in id pity anyone
    my mother had that pain last year, she stayed in bed until the operation was done as it was the only place she could get relief

This gave me a laugh, I'll never look at WD40 the same way again:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95385544&postcount=7825

I was so sure that was going to be a link to the 'Wet or Dry lube' thread in Cycling :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭White Clover

My left knee is at me with the last 2 weeks. Was running ~30Km / Week (3 x10) Did 5Km sun morning and sore enough. Went again this morning, had to turn back after 0.5km. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

"complete with red knob"

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

ganmo wrote: »
    "complete with red knob"

:p

Wrap it pink

I thought we'd at least make it to post 100 before we fell into the gutter :pac:

what was the first thing i saw when i went to the tractor, a can of wd40

Kovu wrote: »
    I thought we'd at least make it to post 100 before we fell into the gutter :pac:

Thought sowed a feather........

..........and F&F did something unconscionable with the chicken :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ye might want to have a look at this
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057426676/1/#post95390759

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Hi Reggie. After Hours really is the home of the contrarian. Unless I'm in the mood for an argument, I try and resist the urge to reply!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Hi Reggie. After Hours really is the home of the contrarian. Unless I'm in the mood for an argument, I try and resist the urge to reply!

I don't go near the place any more either, complete utter waste of energy.

Nek, I saw your name on a label the last day.

I don't go near the place any more either, complete utter waste of energy.

Nek, I saw your name on a label the last day.

???
    Really?
    Haven't been over your way since the summer.
    Tell us more!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    ???
    Really?
    Haven't been over your way since the summer.
    Tell us more!

Don't get too excited, twas on the back on something out of Lidl lol

ROTFLMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Don't get too excited, twas on the back on something out of Lidl lol

Red Stanley knife ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

As asked by neighbours 10 year old (approx)

Q. What does the mammy cow say to her calf at night?
    A. Go to sleep, it's pasture bedtime.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Red Stanley knife ?

Everything in Lidl has Neckarsulm on the label. It's their company headquarters...

Mum lost the car keys in the house and has to go to town for 6.45. This is hilarious :D

And posting this rather than looking for them is helping how :p:p

Seriously, if you cant get a funny video of her its no fun for us ;)

Lost keys of Jeep last week. Found them on the roof of the Jeep,after about half an hour

Ah she found them eventually! They were in the peg basket under some washing:confused::confused:

Good place for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Sacked my 1st cousin today (Bosses son). Was happily surprised the boss backed me up on it.

He must of really fked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

He must of really fked up

Just an absolute prick of a lad to deal with

Good place for them
    Sure where else would you keep them?:confused:

One of the warning signs of me getting low blood sugars is looking for my keys. They are always in my front left pocket but damned if i can find them then:(

Coming to America is on. That's me sorted for the night, love this film!

Good movie OK..
    Can never watch a movie a second time... no enjoyment at all..

Now in the theater I've gone to see plays a number of times because different groups do different sets and the roles are so different..