Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 194 Hotel/Flights/Bars/Comps/Currency

• Registered Users Posts: 21,350 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I believe there's one at M&M world

Cheers, just across the road too. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

dulux99 wrote: »
    In July, did any of you lads find any little hidden gems of pubs close to the mgm? I got a bit sick of the bog standard bars that are littered around the mgm a bit. Went over to the Irish bar in NYNY once or twice aswell

There's an Irish bar in the Mandalay Bay hotel called RíRá
    which I was in a good few times during the week. It's not too close to the MGM but I never find the walks between the hotels bad. They can be done fairly quick with the walkways.

Have plenty of room in my baggage heading over.
    Anyone know what i could pick up that would be cheaper than in europe, or even unreleased over here?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Is everyone doing the 12 pubs or going to the TUF Finale? I've got tickets to the TUF Finale so looking forward to that myself. Was hoping to see Joe Rogan and Joey Diaz that night but idk if the TUF Finale will finish in time.

Doing neither myself. Will hopefully find a bar showing the TUF finale, then off to either a casino or a nightclub after. Don't think the 12 pubs will go as smoothly as people are assuming it will. You have a thousand drunk Irish people in one group going from pub to pub along the strip. That's a lot of people trying to get into the one bar at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

In my experience, even doing the 12 pubs with a small group of lads never goes as smoothly as you'd think. Around pub 7 or 8 everyone has gotten too merry to even bother with the ''rules'' anymore and then some of the lads get bored of the pints and start doing shots instead and then everyone starts getting split up. Then the next morning on What's App you're always asking ''how many pubs did we make it to again?

I imagine you might get 1000 people queuing up for the first bar then it will all fall apart as soon as people start getting turned away.

I see pub 3 is supposed to be ''the silent pub''. That's never going to work!

Should be a bit of a laugh anyway, while it lasts. All for a good cause too.

Is anyone trying to make it from the TUF Finale to the Joe Rogan gig? The comedy starts at 9, but I wouldn't mind if I missed the ''warm up'' acts before Joe himself comes on stage.

Haven't actually bought tickets to either yet. Anyone know where I might get face value tickets for the TUF finale?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,080 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'd advise having a small bit of research done. Ask for a specific room offered by that particular hotel if you can, e.g. "Any complimentary upgrades to a Executive Strip View room would be great".
    This is a good tip.

As they'll could potentially just move you the similar room on a different floor, and just tell you it's an upgrade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

CM24 wrote: »
    Is anyone trying to make it from the TUF Finale to the Joe Rogan gig? The comedy starts at 9, but I wouldn't mind if I missed the ''warm up'' acts before Joe himself comes on stage.

you wouldn't mind missing Joey Diaz? :eek: ...... ok :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Haven't actually bought tickets to either yet. Anyone know where I might get face value tickets for the TUF finale?

His act just keeps getting raunchier and raunchier. :eek:

Devastator wrote: »
    you wouldn't mind missing Joey Diaz? :eek: ...... ok :confused:
    I suppose I've never really given him a chance. He just seems loud and annoying from the little bits I've seen of him! Can't find any cheap tickets to the TUF finale anyway so I reckon I'll just watch that in a bar and see all of the comedy show.

Thats my idea for the Friday, weigh ins then bar for few drinks watching tuf then onto the comedy show.

I love standup comedy and goto quite a few gigs but little bit of advice I would give is not to watch clips or out takes from shows. I often find you need to see the whole show, get into the train of thought and go along with where the comedy's act takes you. Getting a 5 minute out take without the rest can sometimes really ruin a good joke. Another bit of advice(which Im taking) is not to watch too much of a comedian on youtube or whatever before the show incase he repeats the same routines and you know whats coming. I fell for this with Jim Jeffries by watching his DVD show about a week before seeing him and about 75% of his show was the same....still funny but lost out a bit.

:rolleyes: Just realised last night I don't even own a suitcase :mad: Lucky the cyber hype sale is on today so just ordered one.

Don't suppose there's any extra tickets going around for Rogan's show? Hearing ye all big it up so much has made me really want to see it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

martyos121 wrote: »
    Don't suppose there's any extra tickets going around for Rogan's show? Hearing ye all big it up so much has made me really want to see it!

Still available to buy on ticketmaster.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Still available to buy on ticketmaster.

Haha if only it occurred to me to actually check if it was sold out first, was convinced it would be.

Not my finest moment! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Chase3

Quick question, I booked through expedia, Dublin to Chicago and on to Vegas, with Air Lingus/United Airlines. Do I need to check in to the united flight? Get a separate ticket and all? Or is my first boarding pass I print with web check in valid for both flights?

Chase3 wrote: »
    Quick question, I booked through expedia, Dublin to Chicago and on to Vegas, with Air Lingus/United Airlines. Do I need to check in to the united flight? Get a separate ticket and all? Or is my first boarding pass I print with web check in valid for both flights?

ahaha thats weird because I've just melted my head looking at expedia and finding out(for myself, not you particularly :p ). My 1st flight is through Aer lingus then United aswell but it looks like you need to checkin with aer lingus and then for the united flights. If you goto "manage trips" on top right of expedia, down to "manage flights" then it opens a page with all the airlines. There are direct checkin links for each airline or you can change your seat(this didnt seem to work on expedia for me). Whenever I clicked checkin with united it said I had to checkin with my first carrier(AL) first. I can't be bothered getting passport,etc tonight so I'm going to complete this tomorrow.

I'm considering not checking in online though because of the aer lingus/united switcherover because of luggage. I'm thinking I would rather speak to someone in the airport that morning to makesure my bag makes it to Vegas(I have 3 flights).

The united website is actually pretty cool and detailed. Apparently my total distance going is 9300KM & 10250KM coming back(diff airport for connecting flight)...well I thought it was interesting lol

• Registered Users Posts: 39,080 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I've never seen a boarding pass that was valid for two flights. It's has a specific flight number, seat etc.

You'll either get two separate boarding passes when you collect them for your first flight. Or you'll have to collect the second one from United in Chicago. Depends on how they handle the flights.
    Sometimes you get it at the start, but have to collect at the stopover anyway when the seat/gate numbers are available.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Usually on your first check in flight they issue you with 2 boarding cards. That's how it's always been for me anyway

I'm not sure if anyone would be interested in this but I remember reading that someone said at 189 it was v.difficult to get connected to MGM wifi for weigh in/event tickets to show and I know anywhere I've been with free wifi its been very slow.
    Anyway, you can get a three(uk) mobile sim card for free from their website and you can pay a £20 top up package that gets unlimited data for 30 days. They do say theres a 25gb fair use limit on the data but thats huge. Might come in useful if you're out & about on the strip(google maps if lost lol) or you want to upload photos/videos while you're away

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

I'm not sure if anyone would be interested in this but I remember reading that someone said at 189 it was v.difficult to get connected to MGM wifi for weigh in/event tickets to show and I know anywhere I've been with free wifi its been very slow.
    Anyway, you can get a three(uk) mobile sim card for free from their website and you can pay a £20 top up package that gets unlimited data for 30 days. They do say theres a 25gb fair use limit on the data but thats huge. Might come in useful if you're out & about on the strip(google maps if lost lol) or you want to upload photos/videos while you're away

Are you sure that includes data roaming and not just data charges in the UK?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭maximoose

Are you talking about the "like home" feature - this used to include the US but I'm pretty sure it doesn't anymore?

Edit: just checked, Three UK still include USA but Three Ireland don't :rolleyes:

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Are you sure that includes data roaming and not just data charges in the UK?

I can not confirm at this stage as I've not read full T&Cs from three. I have just ordered the sim. I only found out about it when googling cheap/free data sims for US use and I read about it from 1 of the links. The link did say it was for foreign use(this was an external site, not three) and they did also mention coverage in some places abroad is a bit shady, but I'd imagine in a city it should be ok.
    maximoose wrote: »
    Are you talking about the "like home" feature - this used to include the US but I'm pretty sure it doesn't anymore?

Edit: just checked, Three UK still include USA but Three Ireland don't

I should order a load of uk sims for you lads and setup shop in the MGM lobby :D

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Would you mind linking for the lazy of us?

Deadst4r wrote: »
    Would you mind linking for the lazy of us?

three.co.uk :D you seriously can't be that lazy? :P (& I thought I was bad lol)

edit - click shop/store. I done this a few days ago so dont have direct info handy

ahaha thats weird because I've just melted my head looking at expedia and finding out(for myself, not you particularly :p ). My 1st flight is through Aer lingus then United aswell but it looks like you need to checkin with aer lingus and then for the united flights. If you goto "manage trips" on top right of expedia, down to "manage flights" then it opens a page with all the airlines. There are direct checkin links for each airline or you can change your seat(this didnt seem to work on expedia for me). Whenever I clicked checkin with united it said I had to checkin with my first carrier(AL) first. I can't be bothered getting passport,etc tonight so I'm going to complete this tomorrow.

I'm considering not checking in online though because of the aer lingus/united switcherover because of luggage. I'm thinking I would rather speak to someone in the airport that morning to makesure my bag makes it to Vegas(I have 3 flights).

The united website is actually pretty cool and detailed. Apparently my total distance going is 9300KM & 10250KM coming back(diff airport for connecting flight)...well I thought it was interesting lol

I'm not sure if you got sorted or not Chase but I just tried to check in online & was unsuccessful. On AL it brought up all my personal details & flight info but when I goto check in I get a message saying "Oops! Online Check-In Unavailable Please contact an Aer Lingus agent at your departure airport to check in" and when I goto United I get the message "The first flight in your itinerary is operated by Aer Lingus. Please check in with Aer Lingus"

I'll try again later incase its just a temporary problem & report back if anything changes.

BhvEQKf.png

Much better than I was expecting

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

maximoose wrote: »
    BhvEQKf.png

Much better than I was expecting

You're aware that on the Sunday the temperature drops to 0 at night, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Chase3

I'm not sure if you got sorted or not Chase but I just tried to check in online & was unsuccessful. On AL it brought up all my personal details & flight info but when I goto check in I get a message saying "Oops! Online Check-In Unavailable Please contact an Aer Lingus agent at your departure airport to check in" and when I goto United I get the message "The first flight in your itinerary is operated by Aer Lingus. Please check in with Aer Lingus"

I'll try again later incase its just a temporary problem & report back if anything changes.
    You can't check in online until 24 hours before your flight. I know that for sure. I think it's 32 for European flights, and there is some option of paying for a seat that's lets you do it 30 days before in some cases.

You're aware that on the Sunday the temperature drops to 0 at night, right?

32°f = 0°c is just about the only reference point I know for Fahrenheit so yes, I am well aware :)

Was expecting cold temps at night alright but thought the days would be chilly too, looking quite reasonable