Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Louise McSharry in the evening

• 12-03-2014 6:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Turn the radio on

I think she is doing a solid job. An enormous improvement on the car crash voice tracking that used to go out at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

I think you are wrong there, but it's your own opinion. I think she's very poor, and as much as the station is in disrepair, she's not brining much to the table.

Trying too hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

I remember her breakfast show that was on iRadio around 4 years ago. Ridiculously condescending to people and a real attitude. You can see it coming out in the articles she writes for The Journal also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Yes. She does have a, sort of, complex with that. She's not a good radio talent.

Just read the articles about her (not by her) on The Journal. Even the comments don't paint her well. "How will she post pictures of cats on the radio... Memes...etc"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Turn the radio on

I like her accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭prunudo

I remember her breakfast show that was on iRadio around 4 years ago. Ridiculously condescending to people and a real attitude. You can see it coming out in the articles she writes for The Journal also.

I heard her on the weekend breakfast about 6 months ago. A young lad text in saying how excited he was and that he was on a road trip with his dad and they'd love to hear acdc thunderstruck. Well she went a rant about how she hates the song and can't stand people who hop around dancing to acdc. Talk about raining on the young lads parade. After that I stopped listening, awful attitude and contempt to her listeners.

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

I wouldn't really rate her as a music jock and neither did the iradio listeners, to be fair she was ok when she stood in for Tubridy. As for her 'articles' for the journal.ie ,I'm not sure trawling through websites like buzzfeed for inspiration constitute journalism. 2fm is a state broadcaster, on which should be the country's best talent, none of 2fm's new personnel constitute particularly good talent nevermind the best,of course there's nothing new in this out in Donnybrook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Cork_chick_94

She seems to never be on her own slot, It's always some camp eejet filling in for her when i tune in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Louise is on with Tubs now, she's just been diagnosed with lymphoma. Brave girl going on air to talk about it so soon. Hope she's ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Euphoria Intensifies

Yeah, just read that on thejournal.ie. She'll be off the air for the next few months apparently. Best of luck to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭John Joe Jones

Didn't this show used to be a kind of a yoof chat show ? seems to just play niche music now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭I wear socks

Fanning's voice tracking actually had more listeners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Cliff Walker

I hope she knows that like Nikki hayes and jenny huston, RTE will throw her under a bus too in due course.

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭sligono1

I instantly turn off when I hear her.how difficult could it be for 2fm just to employ DJS that play good music cut out the crap talking.
    So many presenters/djs on 2fm are so poor that breakfast is a disgrace as for that Chris and ciara slot they were bad on I radio. Nothing has improved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Joe Duffy.

She just played a song about hard nipples called disco tits, I don't think it will make Larry's playlist somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,841 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Anyone else listen to her show in the evenings much?

I've become a massive fan and go out of my way to catch it, especially on Sunday nights if possible.

She has minimal talk on it; it's 95% music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

callaway92 wrote: »

I've become a massive fan and go out of my way to catch it, especially on Sunday nights if possible.

So there's no point of a presenter on the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

callaway92 wrote: »

Pretty good. I like a good music presenter with speed links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,841 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

So there's no point of a presenter on the show

When she does talk she's good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,463 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Was she staff or contractor?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I remember her on TheJournal-coincidentally the only outlet I have seen covering her departure.

Not like them to have an agenda ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

She put up a video on Instagram today and it looks like she had no choice in going and she had an interview already recorded with someone and that's being scrapped. No show this weekend and she was saying that it's the nature of the industry that you don't get a goodbye show.

Think that Anton Savage didn't get to do a farewell show and neither did Adrian & Jeremy (according to their tweets). And I think Ray Darcy (who moved on his own Accord to RTE). I think when radio presenters are let go or jump ship, they don't get to do a farewell show. But I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

I thought Adrian and Jeremy announced it was their final show on-air? I could be wrong though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

So did she say why she was sacked? Anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭Lord Nelson

Probably to make room for another non funny comedian or Z list “celeb”?

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

I often think of the breakfast show with the garrihy lady, lurch and the overly camp irritating guy and think how badly the likes of career djs get treated by rte, take Louise mcsharry who has done the early mornings and late nights and put in the hard work for years only to be looked over for the talentless hacks currently on the breakfast show, likewise gerry ryans daught by virtue of the fact she's daddy's girl got a grand cushy number when surely there were better djs pounding the halls of montrose, they tried to do the same to jenny Green but for a public backlash, Damien farrely and will leahy booted or given a demotion by some simpleton spending too much time on Instagram or twitter to see who the wokest newcomer out there is that can make the whole mess a little more messy, they had a great team with Bernard and Keith and kicked them to touch for the 3 current morons who's biggest surprise every day is believing their luck in landing a job as handy as primetime radio on the national broadcaster.

2fm is a clusterfuck ATM and until they get rid of the like of donnacha who can hardly string a sentence together maybe due to too many punts on the head playing ruggerball or doreen who but for her father being pally with ian dempsey to get her big sister the start years ago would thankfully be working as a beautician or hairdresser in some dive in clondalkin, its a bad system where mediocrity and being in the clique is rewarded over hard work and endurance and its showing in the level of broadcasting that's being produced, its a huge dumbing down of product for the listener and they'll pay for it in the long run .....hopefully, but I doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,784 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

we dont know the full story. obviously there was a genuine reason for 2fm to part ways with L McS and maybe she wasnt thrown under a bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Tork

From what I can see, a radio presenter's career can end at any time and it's usually somebody else making the decision for them. The Dave Fannings and Larry Gogans of this world are an exception, rather than the norm. I think a presenting gig on a youth pop music station is the most unstable of all because inevitably, management will want to freshen things up and bring in somebody younger. In short, if you're in the DJ business it's advisable to have a Plan B to fall back on.

I saw earlier that Simon Young has just died. He was a 2FM DJ/TV presenter in the 80s, 90s and early 2000s, and so was a long time on RTE's books. People of a certain age will remember him well because he was on air a lot in those days and was close enough to being a household name. There is no mention of his passing on RTE's website. Despite what people like to think when they're working in a job, they aren't that important and will be quickly forgotten about once they move on.

Post edited by Tork on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the reason will likely be that the management are happy with his figures, his show is a specialist show also.

understandable they would want to keep him for as long as they can, the same as they did with larry (RIP)

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

There isn't anywhere else to put him anyway. RTE Gold is forever under threat of becoming an automated station with no presenters. There's no room for him on Radio 1. At this stage, what's wrong with having somebody like him on 2FM? You can't argue that the man hasn't been there/done that/worn the t-shirt over the years. He knows a hell of a lot more about music than the rugby players and Instagram influencers 2FM employs these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,599 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I like Dave Fanning's show. He has some interesting guests and features. It's a nice break from the generic shite they and Today FM normally havecl on

Dave is grand-not ready for the retirement home just yet.

I would say that Dave Fanning might be an employee as opposed to contract worker, which is what most of the new "presenters" (they are not really DJs) have and probably Larry Gogan was too.

I like Dave and I listened to him more when he was on 9 to 11am at the weekend, his lunch time slot doesn't suit me for live listening but I do catch some of his podcasts. When Louise got the 9am weekend slot, I tried to listen but I had to give up (I am female, mid 40's) but I just couldn't enjoy it anymore. Bring back Dave to that slot please!

It does see heartless that at the drop of a hat, presenters can lose their jobs and its harsh to think that is the nature of the game.

people on contracts can lose any job, not just radio presenters

It's more public when it happens on radio or TV of course. Being in the public eye is part and parcel of a presenter's gig so it ends up on Twitter in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Always enjoyed Fanning even during his glory days when he was on 8pm to 10pm during the week. Played 'proper' music (to my ears) than much of the pop sh1te of the rest of the day.

I miss him on the 9-11 slot on the weekends as I don't get to hear him too often at his new time. Any time I do though, it is a pleasure.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

It's not even the music, it's the knowledge he has and the way he can interview even the biggest stars, can you imagine dreary doirean or some of the rest of the simpletons with the same experience in 30 years, no chance, they're an embarrassment to hard working djs who put in the years only to be overlooked for the brain drain morons on the breakfast show, niall boylan would be more enjoyable listening than these pampered over publicised excuses for entertainment, the only thing I'd like to see them doing is a version of the hunger games, now that would be worth the license fee

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Ballycommon Mast

She is giving a tell all interview about her axing in tomorrow's Irish independent magazine if anybody here is interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

To be honest. I think she was shafted by RTE. But I have little sympathy for her. I don't rate her as a broadcast. And she comes across poorly on air and in her writing.

Maybe I am picking up on her wrong. But she just comes across as so condescending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Of course she was shafted by RTE, like allllllll the others! Remember all the crap Nikki Hayes got in the papers about her and even had Louis Walsh saying nice things about her. Newsflash Louise, nobody cares! But you just go ahead with your little puff piece, play the gender card, and all the x-factor misery back stories that you want. But at least she is 'networking her podcast'!

Some bang of entitlement off her-she fitted in well with the journal, when she was there-load of delicate types who were never chastised by their parents and think it's all about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Ballycommon Mast

McSharry would surely have seen with her own eyes when she took the job that 2fm have a tradition of dumping presenters that they hyped up after a while, infant her very first permanent slot on 2fm was replacing Baz and Lucy who were high profile causalities of the axe, she'd also have seen work colleagues like Ruth Scott, Hector, and others depart under a cloud and what's this twaddle about nothing on the radio for women in their 20s & 30s? If anything more shows then ever have been altered to cater for that demographic, eg Today with CB and The last word on Today FM.

I presume networking means cold-calling other professional victims?

I was about to call you out on the "professional victim" thing. And then I remembered her hoo ha over Adele losing weight, and a few other things. No denying McSharry had a hard life growing up. But its hard not to agree with that description.

Oh yes, I remember her getting some criticism in the Twitter for that.

Along the lines of (not my terminology), overweight bird criticises formerly overweight bird for losing weight and making other overweight birds look bad.

I don’t know where she was going with the whole calling out of Adele thing, but if I recall, she gave out to her for bowing to the patriarchy or something.

I don't know where she was going with it. Something about not being able to listen with Adele anymore. It was weird.

She would be the first person calling someone out if they critisied someone for putting on weight.

McSharry has had a hard life and is unhappy with her own weight. But she was a poor broadcaster at the best of times and is a hypocrite.

But I wish her the best with the podcast. Probably a few years late for that now. Market is pretty saturated.

It's been maybe three months since she left RTE suprised she hasn't realised any episodes yet. So I'm not convinced it's happening.

I'm not sure what the purpose of this puff piece was meant to be. Ideally, it should've been timed to coincide with the launch of her podcast or some other project she has on the go. Instead, it came across as a "Poor Me" article. It's never nice to see anybody lose their job but a sizeable number of radio presenters are dispensable and could be axed at any time. She is just the latest in a long line of people who've suffered this fate. There are only so many jobs to go around and there are a few decent presenters who are now without a mic to sit in front of. As has been mentioned already, the podcast market is saturated. Unless she has something unique to offer or has a load of die-hard fans, it's hard to see where this enterprise will go for her. There are only so many hours in the day and so many podcasts anybody can listen to. She might need to start considering a Plan B or a Plan C.

Normal jobs are for the little people is her mantra I suspect.