Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st year Arts at NUIM

Options
  • 07-09-2011 4:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18

Hi, I'm studying arts this year at NUIM and picking my subjects.
    Sociology is a definate.
    I think I'll do Geography aswel (even though I didn't do it for the LC),
    and then I want to do either English, Irish or German.
    I'd love to do english, I have a n interest in Journalism, but I hate Shakespeare, History etc.
    I like Irish very much, but it's supposed to be very hard.
    I don't love german but i love Germany and I know the benefits of having a language.
    I would appreciate any help and advice, thanks :D :pac:

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Hiya :) if you're not into Shakespeare/history etc I really wouldn't recommend English. That's basically a large part of what you study for the first two years. It's not a necessity for doing journalism after you graduate anyway; any set of subject will be grand for getting in. One thing I'll say to you is to get involved with some of the publications on campus, as it will help you to get into a masters in journalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

Personally I thought Irish was fairly manageable; If you've a love for the subject, as with any subject, then you'll be fine! The lectures are all through Irish which can be a bit overwhelming at the start but by october you'll be well used to it!