Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Running Videos

• 30-04-2015 3:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭

Was just thinking this could be a good thread idea. Pick yer favourite races, find the video and post.

Ladies and Gents- I give you the (late) incredibly great Sammy Wanjiru at the absolute height of his powers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJ3s9HRaDJ0&sns=em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,142 ✭✭✭rom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Was just thinking this could be a good thread idea. Pick yer favourite races, find the video and post.

Ladies and Gents- I give you the (late) incredibly great Sammy Wanjiru at the absolute height of his powers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJ3s9HRaDJ0&sns=em

Love the wanjiru videos.
    I know rom posted this on a thread elsewhere but I absolutely love this video of Sammy. Smoothness of running style personified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭opus

menoscemo wrote: »
    Love the wanjiru videos.
    I know rom posted this on a thread elsewhere but I absolutely love this video of Sammy. Smoothness of running style personified.

That's about my favorite running video, don't know why but I can just watch it over and over no problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Great idea for a thread. One of my all-time favourites (what a pity he missed Montreal):

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Great idea for a thread.

One of my all-time favourites (what a pity he missed Montreal):

Brilliant. That's my first time ever seeing that. Reminiscent of Rudisha's 800 Olympic win. Savage front running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

opus wrote: »
    That's about my favorite running video, don't know why but I can just watch it over and over no problem!

Yeah me too, I don't know either. i think it's the total respect the other runners give him. Anyone of thousands could step out and ruin his race but it's like they jus recognise greatness.

Here's another often posted video. Get in the Mudlark!!

Anything by Billy Yang I like also.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmq8uKhq0pc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

menoscemo wrote: »
    Yeah me too, I don't know either. i think it's the total respect the other runners give him. Anyone of thousands could step out and ruin his race but it's like they jus recognise greatness.

Here's another often posted video. Get in the Mudlark!!

My absolute favourite, I've watched it countless times. Never give up! Classic!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Itziger

I love that video. Everything, the stills, the smooth flowing form of his running, the crowds going the other direction. Even the slightly cheesy song in Spanish. There's actually a line in it which says, "I don't cry for your absence" or some such, which is ironic seeing as the running community was soon to be doing just that for Wanjiru.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭vanderlyle

Not a running video, but these triple jumps in slow motion from London 2012 are really beautiful.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xS6NTz3qXNw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Cram V Ovett at Crystal Palace

Oslo 1981 1500m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Some nice videos there NE.

An interesting one on Lydiard and his stable of runners. Had never heard of Murray Halberg before watching this. An Olympic Gold medalist in the 5000m with essentially one functioning arm. The way he won it too. Very brave.

A nice Seb Coe documentary. Love the training on the road. His trainer in the car with a stopwatch and using the speedometer as a pace guide. Old School :D

...pity he had to go in to politics :(

Trainer was his Dad, no? Peter Coe if memory serves me. Saw the documentary a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Kipchoge, El Guerrouj and Bekele in the same race.

Say no more

Say no more

Won in a fast time. 60th fastest time ever. Kipchoge has been below the radar of much of the media when the 3 faster than him over 5k ever are household names:
    Bekele, Gebrselassie, Komen.
    http://www.alltime-athletics.com/m_5000ok.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVhjAXEyjMI

Best race comeback I've seen in ages, from a very talented UCC woman.

Say no more

Kipchoge even had a brilliant dip for Christ sake. Had forgotten that race over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭HibernianRunner

Here's one about fell running.
    Run Forever: The film of Nicky Spinks & The Double Bob Graham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

For The Weekend that's in it. Probably one of my favourite YouTube running vids of Steve Jones in the Chicago Marathon 1985 taking on the World Record and marathon like no one before him or since. He ran the first 5k in 14:16(2:00:34ish pace) already breaking away from the field and went through halfway in 61:46 when the World Record for the the half marathon was 60:55 and it was also more than 2 minutes faster than anyone else had gone through that split in a marathon. The battle for the WR would eventually come down to seconds...

The Women's Race also had the battle between the World Record Holder Ingrid Kristiansen and second fastest ever at the time, Joan Benoit-Samuelson(who on another note, was targetting to be the first woman over 60 to break 3 hours at tommorrows Chicago Marathon but had to pull out due to injury).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭El CabaIIo

For the weekend that's in it. Found this old gem of The National XC in UL back in 91. Some big names in there with the likes of Mark Carroll in the junior race, Catherina McKiernan and loads more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

Jaysus that brought back some memories. Had to get up in the middle of the night to travel down.I ran the junior race, loved every minute of it, never ran for about 15yrs after it!

Mckiernan was awesome, she was jogging arround, barely broke sweat.

I remember lads shouting at Berekely not to after maher, he was not happy with Downes beating him.

jamule wrote: »
    Jaysus that brought back some memories. Had to get up in the middle of the night to travel down.I ran the junior race, loved every minute of it, never ran for about 15yrs after it!

Mckiernan was awesome, she was jogging arround, barely broke sweat.

I remember lads shouting at Berekely not to after maher, he was not happy with Downes beating him.

How'd you find the hill? I'd say I've said more Fooks going up that thing 6 times than any other place on earth.

John was a wiley racer from what I've seen. He won the Limerick senior XC about 5 years ago when pushing 50! as he just sat back and watched everyone in front of him implode one by one on a ridiculously hilly course on the side of huge hill. He was still running low 32's for 10k back then. Animal of a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

El CabaIIo wrote: »
    How'd you find the hill? I'd say I've said more Fooks going up that thing 6 times than any other place on earth.

John was a wiley racer from what I've seen. He won the Limerick senior XC about 5 years ago when pushing 50! as he just sat back and watched everyone in front of him implode one by one on a ridiculously hilly course on the side of huge hill. He was still running low 32's for 10k back then. Animal of a man.

The hill was grannd it waas the 100s of fookers in front of me that was the problem.

I loved the way the hill was attacked.
    Downes was an animal, worked on the sites in london and ran 120-160 miles a week. Won the brit cc at some stage too. The makings of a great coach, has issues with the running authorities too (in the best possible way).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

jamule wrote: »
    I loved the way the hill was attacked.
    Downes was an animal, worked on the sites in london and ran 120-160 miles a week. Won the brit cc at some stage too. The makings of a great coach, has issues with the running authorities too (in the best possible way).

Think he gave up with the Irish system but is still doing alot of good work for the sport in the UK

https://www.fastrunning.com/opinion/comment/athletics-regions-walk-away-from-central-governance/21285?fbclid=IwAR0rohP5wC3161TRHUri_MW-BHhmirL8jVToAVFLMW-Bn4HBiU5DT4J_vWU

European indoors are starting Friday so in the spirit of indoor championship races. Thought I'd throw up this gem from World Indoors in 1987 with Frank O'Mara and Paul Donovan racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭opus

Not a race video but I enjoyed this short one about a running up a hill in Spain :)
    In 1981 my Dad ran up a mountain in the small Basque town of Elgoibar for a bet. Years later the record still stands and the famous run of El Inglés is now an annual event.

https://vimeo.com/291298133

Not a race video but I enjoyed this short one about a running up a hill in Spain :)

That is a pure gem of a video. Thanks for posting. A thing of beauty. Helps if you have a little Spanish admittedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

thanks opus great video

im sure everyone has seen this video but it deserves to be here, 1972 olympic 800m final

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LHid-nC45k

For anyone who likes vlogs there's the Athlete Special, a sub 4 miler https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTVjyeSlm3sR3N1fx-NI-Kw

and zach levet, dropped out of college to live in a van and just run https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCM-Jj3DGtBDdQ8GB2oQnGUw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

IvoryTower wrote: »

im sure everyone has seen this video but it deserves to be here, 1972 olympic 800m final

Thanks for that. I actually still remember seeing this live, while on holidays in Rush, North Co. Dublin. Still can't believe Wottle closed that gap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

IvoryTower wrote: »
    thanks opus great video

It's one of the best races for explaining the optical illusion of the last 200m in an 800m: that the person who looks like they have the best finish is just the guy who's slowing down the least.

There are a few different estimates of his splits (and there's a good discussion of it on lets run) but I think the consensus is that he ran 26s 200s all the way around. I have a vague memory of an interview or article about it where it explains why he ran it that way - I think he was coming back from an injury or nursing a niggle.

And despite everyone agreeing that the best way to run an 800 is with a positive split, Wottle actually broke the world record with a negative split in 1972 - one of only two times it's ever been broken with a negative split - great article here: https://sportsscientists.com/2007/09/iaaf-world-champs-mens-800m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Lazare

That's a cracker. Thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Paul Tierney's record breaking round of the Wainwrights in June 2019 Paul Tierney Wainwrights

A corkman who reached a little more than most!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Watched the unknown runner on prime video on the treadie this evening. Documentary following Geoffrey Kipsang to his debut marathon and 3rd place finish in Berlin 2012. Worth a watch.