Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What advice you'd give a younger you

• 19-06-2014 12:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭

Inspired by a column on the journal. As i'm now in my early thirties I'd say to a younger me to drink less alcohol, always wear sun cream, leave Ireland ASAP. stop masturbating, don't care what opinions others have. :)

Also I'd say learn another language,dont smoke, develop pastimes and hobbies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

lufties wrote: »
    Inspired by a column on the journal. As i'm now in my early thirties I'd say to a younger me to drink less alcohol, always wear sun cream, leave Ireland ASAP. stop masturbating, don't care what opinions others have. :)

Invent Google and Facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Drink less alcohol (need to give this advice to present day me too but he won’t listen), aim higher, relax more.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

Suck that titty as long as you can, it'll be at least 20 years before you get to suck another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

In 1987 when Catelyn comes to visit from the US, don't be such a shy geeky sap and ask the girl out on a date ya wuss.

Ditto with Petra. No wonder you don't get laid until your 19.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

WATCH OUT FOR THAT MARAUDING PIG!!!!!

Go get a degree, any degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Put it all on the red not the black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Only Take half a tab of acid and wait a couple of hours before you take any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Travel more, for sure. Maybe live abroad for while.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Bradt Pitt

Chill the fcuk out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Also I'd say learn another language,dont smoke, develop pastimes and hobbies.
    Why in heavens name would somebody want to stop choking the chicken?? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Travel more, for sure. Maybe live abroad for while.

I spent that last 5 years travelling, even that gets tiresome after a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

leave ireland and grow your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

It sounds sappy, but I would tell my younger self to stop giving a shit about what other people think. I had so many confidence issues it was ridiculous and it crippled me for a long time. I'm now older, fatter and poorer than I was, but by God am I happy. I wish my younger self copped onto the important things a bit earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Stand up for yourself more often. Tell people where to go if they put you down.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

ye can get her pregnant in a swimming pool ffs...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Why in heavens name would somebody want to stop choking the chicken?? :confused:

did you know that if you dont **** for 7 days, your testosterone increase 140 percent then returns to normal levels. I think you become more confident with women too as you will feel hornier and be less apathetic. Apparently as primates women can smell testosterone off men and can become more aroused. Also, chocking the chicken desensitizes your penis.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

throw the head in before you become her 'best friend'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Don't trust that person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

did you know that if you dont **** for 7 days, your testosterone increase 140 percent then returns to normal levels. I think you become more confident with women too as you will feel hornier and be less apathetic. Apparently as primates women can smell testosterone off men and can become more aroused. Also, chocking the chicken desensitizes your penis.
    Talk about taking the fcuking fun out of a good ****... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Take a Monday - Friday 9-5 job with a guaranteed weekly wage and pension at retirement

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Don't honk at women on hot summer days.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

What age do I have to be to give my younger self advice? Does 26 count.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Just to do exactly what i did

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I'd recommend that young people keep away from becoming habitual cannabis smokers. A couple of the lads I went to college with started smoking it on a regular basis as a student, and are now empty and broken husks of men. All paranoia, greasy beards and lacking in motivation. Very sad to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

I'd recommend that young people keep away from becoming habitual cannabis smokers. A couple of the lads I went to college with started smoking it on a regular basis as a student, and are now empty and broken husks of men. All paranoia, greasy beards and lacking in motivation. Very sad to see.

I have plenty of friends who have smoked for years and most continue to do so quite heavily. There is no doubt it kills motivation and their brains are not very 'sharp', i always wondered why they called it dope and now i know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,601 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Don't do the sh1tty arts degree, Do an IT degree instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

eviltwin wrote: »
    Don't trust that person

Because in my case he is spending most of his mental energy trying to hide the fact he had a personality disorder. He does'nt send emails to individuals and always send emails to a group.
    Buy a Nintendo Gameboy. Learn Java (sooner)
    Don't buy Eircom shares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Invent the iPhone

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

Don't smoke & don't hide things just to put on the strong, happy face- it's ok to be sad or angry. Try to be more outgoing.

At 36, I still don't listen to myself! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Watch what women do,not what they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never listen to advice.

Most of it is balls and the rest you'll figure out for yourself eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,725 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

allibastor wrote: »
    Invent Google and Facebook.

Nah, just be ready to invest your pocket money in them while they're still fledgling start ups.

let someone else do the hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

Seems pretty solid

Not an actual parody - some good advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I wish that I knew what I know now, when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Avoid playing Video Games...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

Buy shares in "Google" :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    ye can get her pregnant in a swimming pool ffs...

and standing up;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Adyx wrote: »
    I wish that I knew what I know now, when I was younger.

Poor old Granddad, I laughed at all his words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Do your Erasmus year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Keep her betwixt the ditches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

Don't lend money to family. You'll never see it again.
    Don't start drinking. It's liquid poison.
    Work harder at your degree.
    Learn to drive as soon as you can.
    The things you own, end up owning you. Own fewer 'things'.
    Shave your head the minute you go thin on top.
    Don't give up on the running.
    Get golf lessons when you get a chance.
    Stay awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Cop on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Don't take even one bit of advice or take on board one opinion from my parents. Theyve set me down so many crappy paths, i really wish id stayed living abroad. I was at my happiest and healthiest away from Ireland.

If I could have given myself one bit of advice, forget college,it ****ed up your confidence, stagnated your career, closed more doors than it opened and took you years to come out of the depression it caused you, feck off to Uk and then to America, never come home and don't be trying to mind your mam, all the crap she done was to control you and keep you near her, you'll be miserable for it and you'll get no thanks.

Whatever you do, don't buy that flippin house!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Give thy thoughts no tongue,
    Nor any unproportioned thought his act.
    Be thou familiar, but by no means vulgar.
    Those friends thou hast, and their adoption tried,
    Grapple them to thy soul with hoops of steel;
    But do not dull thy palm with entertainment
    Of each new-hatch'd, unfledged comrade. Beware
    Of entrance to a quarrel, but being in,
    Bear't that the opposed may beware of thee.
    Give every man thy ear, but few thy voice;
    Take each man's censure, but reserve thy judgment.
    Costly thy habit as thy purse can buy,
    But not express'd in fancy; rich, not gaudy;
    For the apparel oft proclaims the man,
    And they in France of the best rank and station
    Are of a most select and generous chief in that.
    Neither a borrower nor a lender be;
    For loan oft loses both itself and friend,
    And borrowing dulls the edge of husbandry.
    This above all: to thine ownself be true,
    And it must follow, as the night the day,
    Thou canst not then be false to any man.

Just thought of that now. By myself. So I did.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Think about what you are doing, should you be doing it? You will damage your life later on.

Start exercising earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Just kiss her already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

If that guy emails you, delete it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Whatever advice you'd give to a younger you, you should just take it now! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭6541

Drink Less !
    Take Less Drugs !
    Never ever let a Job get in the way of life.
    Don't trust the chick that cheated on her bloke for you, she will return the compliment.
    Most of your mates are dicks !