Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leo Varadkar appeals for shoes to be returned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

We need a tribunal to get to the bottom of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Is this really a thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Whoever finds these is surely a shoe-in to be next Garda Commissioner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Dam does his wages not cover the amount to purchase new shoes ? Maybe he can apply for a petty cash payment to cover this. Did they slash Td's wages this much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

No need to put the boot in, OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

Varadkar has the worst voice/accent I have ever heard in my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I just can't take a man called Leo seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I found the shoes, but I'm only going to send one of them back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Dave! wrote: »
    We need a tribunal to get to the bottom of this

First we'll need a committee set up to establish the parameters of the tribunal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

anncoates wrote: »
    I just can't take a man called Leo seriously.

Does sound more like a name you would hear on made in chelsea ... Yahhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

For Gods sake Leo, stop tweeting and treat your assistant to a new pair of shoes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Varadkar has the worst voice/accent I have ever geard in my life

Maybe you have a problem with your gearing?

Edit: stupid ninja edit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Those poor shoes - I hope they are found safe and well soon.

Well done to all the Garda/nurses/fire brigade etc who are helping in this search and making us feel a bit better about ourselves.

It just makes me realise how any of us could be barefoot at any time.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,753 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The Irish Times has more on this major news story.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/sole-searching-varadkar-searches-for-aide-s-missing-shoes-1.1842498
    When it was suggested that a reward might help people to step up their search his spokesman said the only reward on the table was likely to be “the heartfelt thanks” of the Minister and his shoeless assistant.

Huge mistake, someone is holding these shoes and is waiting for the offer to increase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

This should go to tje Politics Teashop - yep its that interestin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Please advise?

Buy new shoes. Fecking eejit.

whoever took them has no sole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Jake1 wrote: »
    whoever took them has no sole

They have 2 of them, obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Surely he could buy new shoes, he's hardly on his uppers.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,753 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Surely he could buy new shoes, he's hardly on his uppers.

Rumour is the budget in October will allow top civil servants claim expenses for lost or stolen shoes, as they need shoes as part of their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

My 5 five old was holding a Dunnes Stores bag with 3 new pair of shoes in it ( children's runners) while I put the shopping through, he got distracted as 5 years do and we went home without the shoes and some fecker stole them , the staff in fairness looked around but definitely someone went home with my shoes grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Two a soles lost.

Tragedy, and shoes so dear these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Tiercel Dave

People are far too quick to pass judgement on the 'assistant'. I don't believe anybody should cast nasturtiums until they've walked at least a mile in his shoes!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

I would appeal to Minister Varadkar to please please not speak for a couple of months.

Please

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

I'm sure the bond holders would be grateful enough to buy him a new pair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

well, technically it is a transport related issue, so he's only doing his job.

hard to get with around no shoes.