Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

4X4 off Roading - Quad or Small Jeep ?

• 26-02-2015 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭

Thinking of spending a few bob on an Off-Roader for the summer, plenty of bogs and green lanes around were I live.

Cannot decide whether to buy a 4wd Quad bike or a small Jeep. (I already have a small OffRoad Motorbike, still use it, but need a new thrill)

I'm thinking budget is about €1500.

Quads are very expensive. On my budget I can't get anything decent. I'm looking for 300cc+ with 4wd being a definite requirement.

Small JEEP, Suzuki seems to be the only way to go. Jimny or 3 door Vitara. Can just about get a 00 or 01 of either for my budget. But it would be pure stock .. and would need off-road tyres as a minimum and maybe some suspension work. (So would need to be buying for €1000 and spending €500 on it)

In my situation.. what would you do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭littlevillage

I'm particularly interested in people who may have owned Quads or may own either of the two Suzuki's that I'm considering.

Is there a difference in Quads brands/ Models ?

I'm only considering Suzuki for the small Jeep as they are the only ones that come within my price range. (€1000) and still have proper low ratio gearbox and central diff etc. and are able for serious offroading without much modification (new tyres basically)

SWB Pajero is another option (has sophisticated 4WD system) but the reliability reputation of the mid 90's versions (the one I would be buying) is not great and I suspect they are just a bit too heavy as well, especially on soft ground.

Toyota, Land Rover etc. .. same story as Mitsi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Don't forget you have to buy insurance if you're not on private property!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

the problem is you'll probably have to throw a load of money at it to get it to preform off road, tyres, lift kit, lockers ect... If you could stretch the budget something like this would be the way to go
    http://www.adverts.ie/quads/off-roading-jeep/7114736

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Don't forget you have to buy insurance if you're not on private property!

Which is nearly impossible for a quad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

you'll pick up a Fourtrak for under a grand. Bullet proof mechanicals. There will be rust all around the back arches and load area, which is what kills them off for road use.

the problem is you'll probably have to throw a load of money at it to get it to preform off road, tyres, lift kit, lockers ect... If you could stretch the budget something like this would be the way to go
    http://www.adverts.ie/quads/off-roading-jeep/7114736

Yeah that is a serious looking piece of kit...and would be only mighty craic.
    Drawbacks of course are .. It would not be road legal though .. so you would need a trailer or something to bring it about the place, even bringing it for servicing or repairs. Its not weather proof so you would need a shed for it...and of course it would have no other use besides pure offroading.

Quad is probably out for the same reasons as above.

My thinking is now to aim for something a bit newer and not modified, that would be road legal and might serve as an actual backup car as well in a pinch. (That way you can kind of justify the outlay in your mind at least !!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Mando Commando

+ 1 for Daihatsu Fourtrak, solid reliable machine, cheap as chips for a rotten one, not too expensive for a decent one, there's always a few on dondeal. I think you'd get something nice up and running within your budget, I suppose it really comes down to how much you wanna spend on rubber lol. Nice an small as 4x4s go, lwb and swb available, bulletproof 2.8 turbo diesel, early ones without turbo, easy to lift and modify. If you find a decent pre 93 model it'll be leaf springs all round so couple of extended shackles and bobs your uncle 3" lift and room for bigger tyres without much fuss. Well, might need to think about shocks too maybe.

I have 2 of their little cousins, the 1.6 efi petrol Sportrak, similar to the Vitaras your talking about, though far less common. I love them. Good Daihatsu 4x4 info on this page https://www.facebook.com/groups/6497312361/ General info available here http://www.difflock.com/

You mentioned swb Pajero, can't remember the specifics but I don't think they're rated to highly as off roaders for modifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Mando Commando

Oh just a heads up - if you do take to searching donedeal for them, make sure to search every spelling for "fourtrak" and "daihatsu", lots of stuff slips the search because lads misspell those key words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

if you haven't sorted anything yet this might be a good start
    http://www.donedeal.ie/othermotor-for-sale/suzuki-samurai/8931259?offset=10

if you haven't sorted anything yet this might be a good start
    http://www.donedeal.ie/othermotor-for-sale/suzuki-samurai/8931259?offset=10

Thanks lads,

I seen that Samurai, alright. Impressive modding work. I would be scared that the engine would be shot on it though. Long hours of off-roading... and its only a puny 1.3 litre, probably the guts of 30 yrs old.

I am leaning towards buying something newer and modding it myself .. at least that way I know what I'm dealing with.

This thing more my cuppa of tae :-)

http://www.thedealer.ie/search/listing/cars-and-vehicles/4x4-wheel-drive/antrim/private/87180

It would be nice to be able to drive it on the road too .. as a backup car.. if the need ever arose.