Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Road to Rio 2016 - Irish Olympic News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Skid X wrote: »
    There was an interesting article in The Irish Examiner about Irish Rowing, and their High Performance Director Morten Espersen.

He has achieved considerable success in Denmark and other countries, it would be great if he could help Irish Rowing atain similar heights (albeit with low funding at the moment).

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/a-trip-inside-the-world-of-irish-rowing-264815.html

Thats good to hear.

Might be bit too early for Rio, but maybe something for 2020.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

KevIRL wrote: »
    Why this no sticky no more? :(

I don't think it needs to be stickied because it's the most active thread on the forum and therefore always near the top of the forum menu anyway or close enough.

Irish trap shooter Derek Burnett has made a positive start to the ISSF Shotgun World Cup in Tucson, USA. He hit 48 of his 50 targets on day 1 to position himself quite nicely on equal 5th in the leaderboard.
    This is the opening shotgun world cup of the 2014 season, a very important year in the sport with the first Olympic quota spots up for grabs later in the year.
    Derek's Irish teammates Karl Corry scored 44 to lie in a tie for 45th place with Wayne Byrne further back in equal 63rd on a score of 41.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

World Silver Medallist Jason Quigley has gone professional, that's another Rio prospect gone. Not unexpected, but it's disappointing.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/jason-quigley-turns-professional-as-amateur-boxing-counts-cost-of-success-1.1771655

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭F.R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,308 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

They've released the qualifying criteria for the 2015 European games in Baku. Here's how those games will affect Olympic qualifications (any sport not mentioned doesn't count towards Rio qualification)

Swimming - times count
    Archery - event counts towards world ranking
    Boxing - counts as world ranking event
    Shooting - winner of each event qualifies for Olympics
    Trathlon - winner of each event qualifies for Olympics
    Table Tennis - winner of each event qualifies for Olympics

I'd still think it's 99% certain that the games will go ahead in Rio. It's probably the IOC starting to shake a stick at Rio and letting them know that there jst might be an alternative venue if things don't improve.

Still, it's interesting to see. The Rio organisers have a lot of work to do and not that much time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Anyway, there's been a denial.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 PledgeSports

We're a crowd funding site working to change the way athletes fund their sporting dreams. Thanks for posting our url up Dan_Man! Take a look at some of the athletes we have up. Tidey & Brewster, Ireland's best hope for the 49er class in sailing, are onboard hoping for some grass roots support. Any feedback is welcome. Let us know who you think could benefit from a fundraising campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭catchup

Irish single sculler, Sanita Puspure, won Bronze today in the European Rowing Championships in Belgrade. She finished 13th in London Olympics so this is a big step up for her and puts her into the 1st division and well on target for a place in an Olympic final.

The women's pair of Lisa Dileen, Tribesmen Rowing Club, and Leonora Kennedy, Portora Rowing Club, finished 4th in their Final. On this form they should be well capable of Olympic qualification.

Katie Taylor is through to tomorrows European Final after a unanimous points win against Denista Eliseeva today. it won't be a repeat of the Olympic final as Sofya Ochigava was surprisingly defeated by Estelle Mosselly of France in the other semi.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/katie-taylor-gains-revenge-on-bulgarian-opponent-to-reach-european-final-30334739.html

Clare Grace from Kilkenny will return home with a Bronze medal after she lost her semi final bout.

And, as expected, Katie Taylor won her final by a unanimous decision in Bucharest

BphzlIlIcAE_GnB.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/EuropeanBoxingConfederation

With two years to go until Rio at the moment she again looks like our best chance of a Gold.

Ireland have qualified for the team dressage event at the World Equestrian Games in Normandy later this summer.
    James Connor's score of 65.230% onboard Casino Royal at the 3-star Grand Prix event in San Giovanni yesterday meant that he joined Roland Tong and Dane Rawlins in meeting the qualification criteria for the World Games.
    It is the first time since 2002 that Ireland will be represented in the team dressage event.

Also, Judy Reynolds achieved the qualification criteria today at the 3-star Grand Prix in Arnhem with her mount Vancouver K. This means that Ireland will have some choice in terms of who they pick to represent us at the World Equestrian Games.
    Anna Merveldt also returned to competition and immediately achieved the first of the two required qualification scores so she may yet add her name to the mix also.

Ireland are still operating at a level below the elite dressage nations but it is encouraging to see that we are developing some degree of depth in this discipline.

Dressage was always Ireland's downfall in Three Day Eventing. I don't think this is the first indication that dressage has been improving recently.

right we are approaching half way stage from London to Rio.

If you were to be given 10quid to go to bookies and place it on "How many Medals Ireland will win in Rio?" what number would you say.

I reckon 4.

3 in boxing and maybe 1 in outside Sport.

If you were to be given 10quid to go to bookies and place it on "How many Medals Ireland will win in Rio?" what number would you say.

I reckon 4.

Been a busy day, so I'll defer my thoughts for another day when I can give it enough time to give a decent account of my thoughts.

As per usual, men's boxing is going to hold the key to our level of success or lack of it in Rio 2016. We have isolated chances in other sports but if we want to match the haul of 5 medals from London 2012 then I feel that we need our male boxers to be at the top of their game.

Will try to give a detailed post during the week :)

Aoife Clark had maybe the best win of her 3-day-eventing career winning the 3 star Bramham event.

http://www.bdwp.co.uk/bra/14/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 24 The Rings The Flame

I reckon 4.

Before they changed the qualification rules in the boxing I would have said more. Now it's hard to say.

We've got the boxers of course. On top of that let's put together a list. Rob Heffernan (50k Walk), Martyn Irvine (Cycling) and the equestrian lads have got to be contenders. The rowers look like they're making great strides so maybe some possibilities there too.

Some quite young lads who look like they'll reach a very high level but maybe not until Tokyo like Liam Jegou (Kayaking) and Ryan Mullen (Cycling Time Trial). Anyone know anything about Clarence Kennedy (Weightlifting). Is he crocked?

We have two problems in Boxing

1) An exodus of talent to the professional ranks (John Joe Nevin, Tommy McCarthy, Jason Quigley and others)

2) Tougher qualification this time - a number of places are reserved for Boxers who qualify via the World Series of Boxing and the APB/AIBA Pro Boxing Circuit

As Billy Walsh said "The problem is that we don’t have a franchise for WSB so we’re at the mercy of another country. If they’re running a WSB programme, they’ll want to get their own lads qualified, we want to get an Irish lad qualified."

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/other-sports/tough-olympic-road-ahead-says-walsh-258624.html

The various qualification streams are detailed here

http://www.insidethegames.biz/sports/summer/boxing/1018433-aiba-reveals-ioc-approved-qualification-system-for-rio-2016-olympics

I think we will struggle to repeat our Boxing success from Rio. Katie Taylor is still our great hope and maybe one or two others would be my guess at this stage. But there is a long way to go.

I think Walsh is overstating the qualifiers a little. With less continental places on offer, the theory is that stronger fields will qualify, and more Europeans than previous games. Even with 3 places going to the WSB, it's still only 3 places and they're likely going to strong boxers who would have qualified through the old methods anyway

With rankings involved too, someone like Joe Ward would have made the London games.

Annalise Murphy's defence of her European Laser title has got off to a shaky start in Croatia.

http://afloat.ie/sail/olympic-sailing/annalise-murphy/item/25554-annalise-murphys-laser-euro-title-defence-off-to-a-shaky-start-in-croatia

There was a fine run by Thomas Barr (21) in the 400m hurdles in Geneva today

His 48.90 is an Irish Record, the fastest by a European in 2014 and the 6th fastest time in the World this year.

http://www.northernsound.ie/sport/barr-has-been-raised/

At the same meet Sarah Lavin (20) ran a PB of 13.23 in the 100m hurdles (into a -3.3 headwind), which qualifies her for the European Championships

https://twitter.com/sarahlavin_/status/477837194179379200

Two good prospects.

There was a fine run by Thomas Barr (21) in the 400m hurdles in Geneva today

His 48.90 is an Irish Record, the fastest by a European in 2014 and the 6th fastest time in the World this year.

http://www.northernsound.ie/sport/barr-has-been-raised/

At the same meet Sarah Lavin (20) ran a PB of 13.23 in the 100m hurdles (into a -3.3 headwind), which qualifies her for the European Championships

https://twitter.com/sarahlavin_/status/477837194179379200

Two good prospects.

And to cap it all, Irish 800m runner Mark English finished second in the Diamond League meeting in New York behind the legendary David Rudisha of Kenya in a very fine field of athletes.

Good to hear this

Confirmation from Rory McIlroy (at last) - he intends playing for Ireland in Rio. Good news.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/golf/27906964
    Rory McIlroy has announced he intends playing for Ireland at the Olympics Games in Rio in 2016.

Confirmation from Rory McIlroy (at last) - he intends playing for Ireland in Rio. Good news.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/golf/27906964

It's a boost for Team Ireland with both Graeme and Rory opting to represent us. Hopefully they can get back to their best and challenge for the medals.

Good news :)

Fantastic news. With the structure of the olympic event limiting countries to certain numbers of competitors, you've gotta think we have a shot at a medal.

saw this on twitter. not really up to date on rowing I will admit.
    Cork-based Irish rower @SanitaPuspure finishes sixth in World Cup final in France @RowingIreland

Stephanie Meadow, from Jordanstown Co.Antrim, had a terrific start to her professional golf career by coming third in the US Open at the weekend

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/irish-woman-claims-third-place-at-us-open-on-pro-debut-30375583.html

If she keeps playing like that she will move up the rankings and be in contention for a place in Rio.

Stephanie Meadow, from Jordanstown Co.Antrim, had a terrific start to her professional golf career by coming third in the US Open at the weekend
    If she keeps playing like that she will move up the rankings and be in contention for a place in Rio.

Under whose flag, Skid?

feargale wrote: »
    Under whose flag, Skid?

Yes, that's the big question but I don't know, to be honest feargale. I did search but I couldn't find anything.

It would be great to have another potential 'Team Ireland' member (which is why I posted it here) but hopefully she continues to play well, regardless of which country she might play with.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/hammer-blow-for-ireland-as-mccullough-to-make-us-return-30388517.html
    IRELAND is losing its only world-class thrower Conor McCullough to his native America, less than two years after he switched allegiances.

McCullough represented USA when he became the world junior champion at hammer in 2010, two years after winning silver at the same event. He is the son of two-time Irish Olympian Conor McCullough Snr, but was born and reared in California.

Pity, he was a good prospect.

Ryan Mullen tearing it up at the national championship. What a talent he is. Will be exciting to see how he does at the world time trial championships in September.

Not allowed to post a link because I'm a newbie :(

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/there-was-so-long-to-go-when-i-attacked-i-initially-thought-to-myself-what-have-i-done/

His thoughts there.

19 year old CRUSHED the rest of the time trial field on Thursday. Brilliant win yesterday

Oh and he was 4th in the pursuit world track championship at the start of the year. What a talent

Does anyone know of the format for Golf for 2016 (stroke or matchplay etc)

Strokeplay over 4 rounds. It would have been nice if they had a matchplay event too.
    The proposed Olympic competition for both men and women is a 72-hole individual stroke play tournament, with the lowest score earning the gold medal. In case of a tie for either first, second or third place, a three-hole playoff will determine the medal winner(s).

http://www.rio2016.org.br/en/the-games/olympic/sports/golf

Here's the qualification rules, the proposed selection day is the World Rankings on July 11 2016 ...
    In both the men’s and women’s event, the top 15 world-ranked players will be eligible for the Olympic Games, regardless of the number of players from a given country. Beyond the top 15, players will be eligible based on world ranking, with a maximum of two available players from each country that does not already have two or more players among the top 15 to a maximum number of 60 players in total in the competition.

http://www.olympic.org/igf

Strokeplay over 4 rounds. It would have been nice if they had a matchplay event too.

http://www.rio2016.org.br/en/the-games/olympic/sports/golf

Here's the qualification rules, the proposed selection day is the World Rankings on July 11 2016 ...

http://www.olympic.org/igf

cheers for that. at least we have chance of medal.

Qualifying system seems designed for US TV as in current rankings there'd be 7 US golfers. No one else would have 2

FWIW on current ranks Ireland would have 2 entrants in both fields.

Men's ranks go down to 285 for their last competitor. Women's ranks go down to 541.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

There certainly won't be any easy medals in men's golf with the top 15 all in regardless of nationality. A top three per country system (similar to other olympic sports) might have suited better from our perspective - Shane Lowry would be in and a few strong Americans would miss out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Great news this morning that Stephanie Meadow has confirmed that she intends to compete for Ireland in Rio. Similar to the men's event there won't be any easy medals going but it is encouraging to see that we'll have the best on the island competing for us in 2016.

The news got me thinking about the Maguire twins, Lisa and Leona, who have been keeping a low profile for the last while. They are two years younger than Stephanie Meadow and I see that they are still on the go and are going down the US colleges golf route for a few years with a view towards turning professional afterwards. So, with a view to the longer term beyond Rio, we may well have plenty of Olympic golf interests to follow in the coming years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭omicron

Michael Fitzsimons (21) breaks Mens K1 1000m national record in sprint canoeing with 3.28, making the A final at the world U23 sprint Championships in Szeged, Hungary.

This comes just weeks after Tom Brennan (also 21) broke the 200m mens K1 national record.

Future looks bright for Irish sprint canoeing!

For anyone interested, we can help support Irish rowing by participating in a prize draw which will help fund our rowers to compete at international level.
    Simple yet effective way for Irish sports fans to help make a difference. Here's a link with some information:

http://www.rowingireland.ie/would-you-like-to-help-irish-international-rowing/

omicron wrote: »
    Michael Fitzsimons (21) breaks Mens K1 1000m national record in sprint canoeing with 3.28, making the A final at the world U23 sprint Championships in Szeged, Hungary.

This comes just weeks after Tom Brennan (also 21) broke the 200m mens K1 national record.

Future looks bright for Irish sprint canoeing!

One of my Fav sports in Olympics.

Be better to cheer Irishman in final

The Commonwealth Games starts tonight, I thought it was worth making a thread for it ...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057254974

It usually has a decent level of competition and a decent amount of (Northern) Ireland competitors. The BBC will have all day coverage, similar to what they provided for London 2012.

Josie Knight took away a silver medal from the cycling European Juniors today. Good to see even more cycling potential coming from the youth system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Given that Annalise won the Moth World Championship last week, it's a pity that the Moth isn't an Olympic boat.

For those that don't know, the Moth is a very light boat whose keel and rudder have horizontal hydrodynamic wings near the bottom. As you gain speed, the wings provide lift, which will eventually lift the hull right out of the water. This, of course, reduces drag, and therefore produces even more speed.

Have a look at this video, especially from around 20 sec in.

And here's another one.