Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Same as, SRP seems to compliment HD Wax very well.

I have some of that in the car, I want to have it done for the dyno day next saturday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Blazer wrote: »
    Yep it's awesome :) just make sure not to use a normal carwash as that will strip the wax.
    claying it does wonders for the wax as well :D

Halfords > HD wax > 3for2 > Axa = €102.84 / 3 friends = €34.28 per tub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I have some of that in the car, I want to have it done for the dyno day next saturday..

I think I have a new bottle of it somewhere, I'll throw it into the car and bring it with me. I'll probably end up giving it a coat over there anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Not sure? (opions work away)
    (how do you get the photos to open automaticaly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Christmas isn't for a few months :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Christmas isn't for a few months :D

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

That doesn't look to bad nig.

I saw a MkII Fiesta during the week with aftermarket DLR's! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I saw a MkII Fiesta during the week with aftermarket DLR's! :eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_Language_Runtime

Jesus that must look really weird.....:eek::eek:.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_Language_Runtime

Jesus that must look really weird.....:eek::eek:.

Ha, ha! Stung! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ha, ha! Stung! :o

Completely OT here but by any chance were you at the Sandyford Luas around 5pm this evening? I was driving past on the way to Woodies and saw what I thought was a Black Trans-Am. Was it you? Because I almost beeped you but then realised it would have been ridiculous, but also that yoke is some machine! :)

166man wrote: »
    Completely OT here but by any chance were you at the Sandyford Luas around 5pm this evening? I was driving past on the way to Woodies and saw what I thought was a Black Trans-Am. Was it you? Because I almost beeped you but then realised it would have been ridiculous, but also that yoke is some machine! :)

I think it was closer to 5.30 in fact! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

211179.JPG

Typical BMW parking :rolleyes:

Perfectly legal lad, as the no parking sign in the top right hand corner shows:D

I still have difficulty appreciating the E60 and will never warm to the E65 however the F10 and F01 are back in form. The E46 coupe is a smashing car however. :)

Where'd you take that pic Al?

Atari Jaguar

I still have difficulty appreciating the E60 and will never warm to the E65 however the F10 and F01 are back in form. The E46 coupe is a smashing car however. :)

Where'd you take that pic Al?

Just near my estate, couldn't get the father to venture any further for a photo shoot!

I was never too fond of the e60, but I think that colour is really nice in it. You don't see too many around in that colour. Comes up really well with a bit of TLC.

Completely agree about the e46 though;)

Also, I bought a new tax/insurance/nct holder today, other one looked ridiculous!

Just near my estate, couldn't get the father to venture any further for a photo shoot!

I was never too fond of the e60, but I think that colour is really nice in it. You don't see too many around in that colour. Comes up really well with a bit of TLC.

Completely agree about the e46 though;)

Also, I bought a new tax/insurance/nct holder today, other one looked ridiculous!

I gathered it was down that way as I saw you posting earlier about not being insured on the 5er. I was wondering where exactly as I can't place it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Diar

IMAG0390.jpg
    Changed the Cabin filter. No prize for guessing which is the old one and which is the new one

Diar wrote: »
    Changed the Cabin filter. No prize for guessing which is the old one and which is the new one

Ooohhhhh that reminds me I need to do mine. Have to wait until I get paid next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

The cabin filter on the right is the old one? Am I correct? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The cabin filter on the right is the old one? Am I correct? :P

No that's the new one.

They're made from carbon fibre, thus lighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

No that's the new one.

I would believe you..If I didnt change one of them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I think it was closer to 5.30 in fact! ;)

Yep about 5.30pm with some bald chap in the front seat... :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Saturday I got some good part worns from Walkinstown Tyre Centre, Cant reccommend them highly enough, sound chaps.

€200 for the following fitted and balanced:

2x Bridgestone Potenza RE050A 225/40/18 5mm thread
    2x Continental Sport Contact 3 255/35/18 4mm thread

Delighted with them, unbelievable grip whether its dry or wet.

Saturday evening CM and MM and even RLH (too many acronyms :p) arrived on the scene and we got cracking on the new M sport bumper and the new air intake.

Heres the during shots:

c5c46.jpg

97157.jpg

And heres the after shots :)

New bumper

99551.jpg

New rims

23442.jpg

1b342.jpg

Need centre caps!

32a25.jpg

Shiny detailed engine bay with stock air intake instead of the K&N hot air intake that came with it.

c4c29.jpg

Engine is definitely breathing better with the stock air intake and its a little bit quieter too!

Delighted with it, always regretted not holding out for a facelift model but the new bumper makes a huge difference and im content now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Loving that green spade, what is that for ?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Jimbob 83 wrote: »

That's the official BMW trim and wing mirror glass removal tool, cleverly disguised as a childs beach spade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jimbob 83 wrote: »

That's what conzy calls "BMW special service tool 179986-RE".

RE stands for Removes Everything :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Those Continentals are a good looking tyre. Nice work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

No that's the new one.

Urm...the one on the right looks fine to me, its a proper carbon cabin filter and is supposed to be that colour. The one on the left is just a basic pollen filter so won't filter as many particles as the one you took out.

Carbon cabin filters\/\/

carboncabinfilter2.jpg

carboncabinfilter.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Conzy,
    You have that BMW looking brilliant, fair play.
    Love the wheels too :)

Took the plunge and ordered some Bilstein B6 struts for the E38, 7-10 days from Germany.

35-041696-500x500.jpg

Will leave me with an entirely new rear end. Lots of fun ahead. :)

Took the plunge and ordered some Bilstein B6 struts for the E38, 7-10 days from Germany.

Will leave me with an entirely new rear end. Lots of fun ahead. :)

Don't throw all the old bits out - they're probably in better nick than the bits on mine! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Well I finally got around to sorting the drainage for the alternator...I decided to do it as last week it was lashing rain in Mayo
    and the belt started screeching like a horny cat so In bodged up the following

Ice cream box with drain tube hot glued to it.

img1204wh.jpg

Fitted:

img1205f.jpg

img1207bg.jpg

I will get around to painting it...I had a can of spray paint but its so old its seemed to have lost the air???

Don't throw all the old bits out - they're probably in better nick than the bits on mine! :o

Well the old struts won't match yours (sport/non sport), but you're welcome to some rear controls arms I only got put on in 2008, 30,000 odd miles on them.

Took a couple of pics of the start of my collection of future classics:P

Got this for nothing, it was going to be scrapped but closer inspection showed a car that was as close to mint as could be expected for a cheap, small 14 year old car.

Lots of paint restoration required but not a dent or scratch anywhere nor any rust.
    DSCF3881.jpg

DSCF3883.jpg

Interior, mostly as new apart from the steering wheel which seems to have gone a funny colour. The boot even still has the factory sunroof cover stowed with the spare wheel.
    DSCF3884.jpg

Still has its original Pirelli P700 tyres fitted.....and they still look like new:eek:
    DSCF3882.jpg

Plan is to clean it up do a couple of small jobs that are needed, replace rad, 1 headlamp, 1 side repeater and a bit of a service then wrap it up and store it up to be wheeled out again when its a classic.

I'd love a cinq, just to have it

I know there's a few of y'all that have apperciation for them yokes but I wouldn't piss on one if it was on fire.

Each to their own I guess!

Girl I knew had one about 10 years ago, such great craic to drive, like a go kart (the car)

I know there's a few of y'all that have apperciation for them yokes but I wouldn't piss on one if it was on fire.

Each to their own I guess!

I'm not especially a Fiat fan or particularly interested in Cinq's but I can't stand the thought of perfectly good cars being scrapped.

Most of us, as car enthusiasts, love occasionally seeing the cars we remember from years ago on the road or at a classic show etc so I just though it would be a good(and cheap and easy) one to save.

Other plans are still afoot though;)

Great to see any car fixed up, but do you really see a Cinquecento being a classic, ever? Surely there was millions upon millions made?

I'm not especially a Fiat fan or particularly interested in Cinq's but I can't stand the thought of perfectly good cars being scrapped.

Most of us, as car enthusiasts, love occasionally seeing the cars we remember from years ago on the road or at a classic show etc so I just though it would be a good(and cheap and easy) one to save.

Other plans are still afoot though;)

Totally, yeah but some cars that were on the road I would gladly never see again! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

It's better to burn out then fade away... or something like that :pac:.

Great to see any car fixed up, but do you really see a Cinquecento being a classic, ever? Surely there was millions upon millions made?

There where even more original Fiat 500's made....and look how much mint, unrestored examples of those go for now.

Totally, yeah but some cars that were on the road I would gladly never see again! :D

I agree, and the fiat is easily slagged but I wouldn't class a cinq sporting as one of them, they are a little flier and drive like a go kart....likely the closest thing to the original Mini that there has been.

.....Surely there was millions upon millions made?

... sure there was millions and millions of dinosaurs around too back in the day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Today I sold my car. Hopefully...
    Buyer coming tomorrow. 2002 clio needs a new clutch and MOT sold for £450.

I agree, and the fiat is easily slagged but I wouldn't class a cinq sporting as one of them, they are a little flier and drive like a go kart....likely the closest thing to the original Mini that there has been.

As you know I'm in to the Classic scene and maybe it's just me getting old but I don't think a Cinq belongs there. Then again I may eat my hat yet as I see the likes of Mk II Fiestas and E80 Corollas at shows and I don't think they belong either! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

As you know I'm in to the Classic scene and maybe it's just me getting old but I don't think a Cinq belongs there. Then again I may eat my hat yet as I see the likes of Mk II Fiestas and E80 Corollas at shows and I don't think they belong either! :o

Ah you're just a snob :pac:

I love going to the classic shows and seeing all sorts of cars that would have been everywhere when I was a nipper. I even love looking at old photos and seeing what would have been run of the mill stuff, avengers, escorts, cortinas, old fiats, cherrys, bluebirds etc etc

I'd love to get my hands on a clean Datsun 120Y actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

There where even more original Fiat 500's made....and look how much mint, unrestored examples of those go for now.

My OH had a 96 cinq sporting as her first car - in canary yellow!
    When she replaced it 6 years ago it was worth very little, but her old man kept it for that very reason. It still sits round the back of the house awaiting appreciation, both monetary and human...