Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Parent & Child Parking Spaces - A Poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

Border-Rat wrote: »
    I'm quite good at swooping in on bewildered women with zero spatial awareness or driving capability.

Just wondering here are you generalising and should I report your post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

stovelid wrote: »
    No need to say there wasn't any men in the car. That goes without saying.

Of course, if they were male drivers they would've gotten parked no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Paparazzo wrote: »
    My mate did the exact same thing and when he got back to his car it was keyed.

Eh...It wasn't me... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Nipper Man wrote: »
    I have seen s woman putting up a sign for being handicapped and walking very smartly away, I challenged her and told her she was a bad person and she had to move out of the spot.

could have been collecting someone with a disability, or had an illness like Crohn's Disease.

Just wondering here are you generalising and should I report your post.

Actually, I am generalising. At the local ASDA, I tend to have to buy my food later in the day because during the day there are too many women drivers who I generally find (This is the generalising part) are so awful at driving and realising whats going on around them, they're a hazard to my insurance premium. They also drive much slower. Worse when they're from the South who are generally worse still at driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Even thou i`m about to have a kid I agree with you OP. No one forced you to have a kid and all that came with it why are people with kids treated like a special class, if anything from a private companies point of view don`t they have less disposable income and from a public perspective aren`t they choosing to be more costly to society through taxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Of course, if they were male drivers they would've gotten parked no problem.

There was a time when the wind-ups in here were subtle.

You've shot your load after two posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

As the father of two small children & sometimes have homebody's child as well, I get pretty annoyed when I see cars parked in the spot's that are reserved for Parent's of children to park in.

Liffey Valley is one of the worst places for this problem that I have encountered so far.

I have seen a woman putting up a sign for being handicapped and walking very smartly away, I challenged her and told her she was a bad person and she had to move out of the spot, she was pretty annoyed with me, so what.

I wonder if very many of those people that park in specially dedicated spots even think what they are doing is wrong, or know what they are doing and just give a damm.

I went into the Security Office in Liffey Valley and complained, no use it is still the same as always here in Ireland. When will drivers get some cop on and do the right thing.

I have a disabled badge and I have Cystic Fibrosis which is a lung disease, entirely invisible on the outside. You have no idea how many times ignorant people have ranted at me for parking in a disabled space.

There was a time when the wind-ups in here were subtle.

You've shot your load after two posts.

Eh?

allibastor wrote: »
    I hope that someday, with your disability you don't need someones children to help make your life easier. we as a species need children, so trying to make life a little easier for those of us who have them should be welcomed. what if some kid invents a cure for what ever is wrong with you, would you be moaning then? seriously.

I won't be living long enough for somebody's children to be looking after me.

Eh?

Slow-learner driving spaces could be a goer, now that I think of it.

I have seen a woman putting up a sign for being handicapped and walking very smartly away, I challenged her and told her she was a bad person and she had to move out of the spot, she was pretty annoyed with me, so what.

I wonder if very many of those people that park in specially dedicated spots even think what they are doing is wrong, or know what they are doing and just give a damm.

Disabled ie people who didn`t choose to not have their mobility are nothing relative to people who choose to have children. And how dare you go up to that woman! if she had a badge its non of your business why she had it - she could have a heart complain or any number of condition which vary from day to day, she could have (as I have often done) dropped her relative at the door, hurried to find parking and ran back to them to assist them with their shopping.

Slow-learner driving spaces could be a goer, now that I think of it.

theg81der wrote: »
    she could have (as I have often done) dropped her relative at the door, hurried to find parking and ran back to them to assist them with their shopping.

So 'picking up a relative in hurry' is a classifiable disability?

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭bigjohn66

stimpson wrote: »
    I'm not sure I can explain it to you any more than I already have. If spaces are allocated for parents with small children and someone without a child wilfully parks there, surely that an "I'm right and fcuk everyone else" attitude.

No, you are still wrong and have not shown me any different. That might be your take on it but it is not what the thread is about.
    stimpson wrote: »
    The concept of Plausible deniability.

You admit to causing damage to property and claim it is “It's hardly illegal” Yes it is.

As for Plausible deniability, you really are senseless aren’t you? If you don’t know what “Plausible deniability “is look it up and don’t make yourself look like an ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

If you have a disabled person who owns a blue badge with you in the car you can park in a disabled space.
    You can't just easily get a badge like that, they are reserved for people with genuine disabilities that impair mobility.

Read what you quoted again your not picking them up in a hurry you leave them at the door because they can`t walk much and to save their legs. You have to go back out with them after and their shopping they wouldn`t make it back to the normal spaces. You can`t just drop them and leave them like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Disabled ie people who didn`t choose to not have their mobility are nothing relative to people who choose to have children.

What if their condom burst? Or they forgot to take the pill? Is that acceptable?

This "why did you choose to have kids" argument was debunked in the first page. You don't have to "choose" to park in the parent and child spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

bigjohn66 wrote: »
    No, you are still wrong and have not shown me any different. That might be your take on it but it is not what the thread is about.
    Just because you say so? whatever.
    As for Plausible deniability, you really are senseless aren’t you? If you don’t know what “Plausible deniability “is look it up and don’t make yourself look like an ass.

Plausible deniability is a legal concept. It refers to lack of evidence proving an allegation. Standards of proof vary in civil and criminal cases. In civil cases, the standard of proof is "preponderance of the evidence" whereas in a criminal matter, the standard is "beyond a reasonable doubt." If your opponent lacks incontrovertible proof (evidence) of their allegation, you can "plausibly deny" the allegation even though it may be true.

What if their condom burst? Or they forgot to take the pill? Is that acceptable?

This "why did you choose to have kids" argument was debunked in the first page. You don't have to "choose" to park in the parent and child spaces.

Different arguement and never will it be debunked to my satisfaction sorry unless in extreme circumstances. Disability and having children bare no relationship to each other as far as I`m concerned.

People who take disabled space, noticably for some reason male jeep drivers who I presume have some issue due to their teeny tiny weeners, are pond scum and should do the rest of humanity a favour and take themselves out of the gene pool by jumping of something high.

Read what you quoted again your not picking them up in a hurry you leave them at the door because they can`t walk much and to save their legs. You have to go back out with them after and their shopping they wouldn`t make it back to the normal spaces. You can`t just drop them and leave them like!

If you are talking about dropping off somebody with a badge, fair enough. It read like you advocated dropping off somebody and using a disabled space because you were in a hurry.

Different arguement and never will it be debunked to my satisfaction sorry unless in extreme circumstances. Disability and having children bare no relationship to each other as far as I`m concerned.

How can you say that? It makes perfect sense....disabled people could all pick a disability before being born. They all claim that having one makes their lives so much easier because nowadays there are lovely disabled parking spaces to their convenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

When getting out of my car I ensure my kids don't hit the dooors of other cars. If I see someone without kids parking in these spots, I somehow always forget to do this. The small pleasures of annoying pig ignorant people makes my day when a little tip of doors happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

"Choose to have kids" includes "choose to go ahead with an unplanned pregnancy." At some point you find out you are going to have a baby and that is when the choice to have a child comes into play.

and the top consideration when deciding "should i go ahead with this unplanned pregnancy" is: "however shall i park in the shopping centres???"

bluewolf wrote: »
    and the top consideration when deciding "should i go ahead with this unplanned pregnancy" is: "however shall i park in the shopping centres???"

How about a woman who has missed her period and has driven to a shopping centre in order to buy a pregnancy test. May she use the P&C parking space?? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I won't be living long enough for somebody's children to be looking after me.

Medusa22, very sorry to hear of your illness. The post you quoted is one of the most disturbing I've ever read on boards, and God knows there is plenty of competition. Amazed nobody else has picked up on it:

"I hope that someday, with your disability you don't need someones children to help make your life easier. we as a species need children, so trying to make life a little easier for those of us who have them should be welcomed. what if some kid invents a cure for what ever is wrong with you, would you be moaning then? seriously."

The stupid hurts. Parent-entitlement gone stratospheric :(.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

Presumably this thread's a windup.

I cannot believe the ignorance and begudgery of some of the contributors. Parent and child spots are a great help to parents with very young children and people who misuse them should be clamped...f..king me feiners.

As for people referring to their own childhoods, things are different now...on foot of safety concerns buggies/car seats/etc are much bulkier. As anyone with a baby can testify, a simple trip to the shop can be like a military operation.

Also, we're talking about parents who may have had C-Sections or just given birth normally...why not make it easier for them if they're not back to 100%?

Parent and child spaces are progressive and a help for stressed parents. There's no stress in going to the supermarket on your own...there is with a baby.

Some people need to cop on.

How about a woman who has missed her period and has driven to a shopping centre in order to buy a pregnancy test. May she use the P&C parking space?? :confused:

:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I have to agree with the OP. Im sorry to all you parents out there but you aren't special and for those talking about safety for kids that's not my concern if you got kids YOU look after to safety I couldn't give a rats ass about the mouth you brought into the world.
    Disabled parking i am all for. mother and child? no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭upinthesky

Nice wide spaces so you can get your child out is great, you dont want to force your door up against someone elses car. its not the position of the spaces i like, they could be as far away from the door, that i dont mind i just like that they are wider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

We just had a kid and to be honest I nearly always forget about the P&C parking spaces.. I park where I've always parked, when the missus reminds me I do use them though as it makes getting the car seat in and out of the car easier to be honest...

But, to tell you the truth.. If people could learn to park their f***ing cars properly then you wouldn't need them! It's not that hard to get a car between two white lines..... I do find myself driving around car parks now looking for a space where there other cars are parked properly otherwise I can't get the car seat out... Either that or fit all cars with sliding doors! Best invention ever...

Medusa22, very sorry to hear of your illness. The post you quoted is one of the most disturbing I've ever read on boards, and God knows there is plenty of competition. Amazed nobody else has picked up on it:

"I hope that someday, with your disability you don't need someones children to help make your life easier. we as a species need children, so trying to make life a little easier for those of us who have them should be welcomed. what if some kid invents a cure for what ever is wrong with you, would you be moaning then? seriously."

The stupid hurts. Parent-entitlement gone stratospheric :(.

Thank you! Your post has restored my faith in humanity, for today anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Sweet Jesus, we've hit rock bottom. You're saying to have an abortion rather than expect other people not to use child and parent spaces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

mother or two come ranting at me over me parking there. In response, I've offered to call the Gardai and have them come and sort it out, but they never seem to want to take up my offer :confused:

I'm sure due to the shock at your actions and probably fussing with children and shopping is why they havn't.

A more calm individual might take you up on your offer, and have the Guarda arrive. I assume you posted that on the grounds that " there is no law against parking in a mother and child space" but there is a law governing parking on private property. And you would be more then likely escorted of the premises and bared from the location.

I saw two incidents at the Pavillions in similar fashion, one female and one male, both felt they could park in the family spot as there was no law against it.

The female was escorted of the premises by security and the male who was acting very much bravado, shrivelled like a bitch when Guarda emerged from the centre and escorted him of the premises.

Get a ****ing grip and just show a bit of courtesy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Prettyblack

I have to agree with the OP. Im sorry to all you parents out there but you aren't special and for those talking about safety for kids that's not my concern if you got kids YOU look after to safety I couldn't give a rats ass...

OK I'll stop you there. Its not the parents that have created these spaces, its the supermarkets or cinemas or shopping centres etc.

The owners of the supermarkets have said "This space is for people with children!" So why do you feel you have a right to park there, if you've no children?

Its like the "10 items or less" isle. Would you show up there with a trolley full of 100s of items, just because you believe you have "the right" to?

Sweet Jesus, we've hit rock bottom. You're saying to have an abortion rather than expect other people not to use child and parent spaces

:eek: What?! :eek: No. Dear God a more extreme conclusion has never been jumped to in the history of histronic overreactions!

All I am saying is; you choose to have a child. You don't get one dropped on your doorstep.

That's all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

for those talking about safety for kids that's not my concern if you got kids YOU look after to safety I couldn't give a rats ass about the mouth you brought into the world

An incredible post.

Your apparent lack of a social conscience is quite disturbing.

Next time you require assistance from anyone, I sincerely hope that they adopt your "couldn't give a flying f..k about anyone else" attitude.

+1 to Prettyblack's analysis and "10 items or less" analogy.

Deliberately going out of one's way to park in "Parent and Child" spaces is bordering on sociopathic.

TheDoc wrote: »

And you would be more then likely escorted of the premises and bared from the location.

Why would they undress him just for parking in the wrong spot? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Hate P&C parking spaces for a number of reasons
    • Always more of them than disabled spots - there should be some quick way of re-designating these during busy periods.
    • Usually closer to the entrance than the disabled spaces
    • The primary reason for them isn't an act of consideration for parents with young children, more the fact that young families tend to spend more of their disposable income on groceries than everybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

bigjohn66 wrote: »
    Should it not be the parent’s responsibility to control their children?

Absoloutely bigjohn, but sometimes the little darlings don't agree as they are under the age of reason. Sometimes they pull their hand from yours and before you catch them they're off. Sometimes they don't do as they are told. It's a shocker I know, disobedient children happen.....at all ages. Look at Wolfgang his mammy told him to be nice!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I'm a parking space predator myself. I'm quite good at swooping in on bewildered women with zero spatial awareness or driving capability. Recently I moved into a child spot ahead of some Southerners. A woman, and old women and two girls. I can tell you, the mother was raging. The veins standing in her neck shouting abuse. I just walked into the supermarket and told her to stay back (Looked like she was going to leap on me).

Anyway when I came back out, they were waiting with a PSNI officer. She protested that the 'rude boy' (I'm 27) had stolen her space. She said I had no children. When I told her that well, she was from the 'free state' (Which I just said to wind her up, I think Northern Ireland is an abomination) her and the old one went berserk and took massive offense. The cop told me to just move on. When I left they still hadn't even entered the shop.

Is your life that shallow that you have to antagonise people in this manner :( Sigh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Fucking hell. Is it just me or is there some amount of fucking eejits posting today?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I park in them with my child or without. Even if his car seat wasn't in the car I'd park there if it was available. I wouldn't begrudge anyone parking there without a child either. To me it's just a spot with bigger spaces. I typically park away from the shops in the quieter end to avoid people banging their car doors into mine. I don't drive anything special but still don't want any more scratches on it if I can certainly help it. But at nighttime like Tesco Naas I generally park in the P&C near the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Fucking hell. Is it just me or is there some amount of fucking eejits posting today?
    I think it must be a "Blue Flu" day:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I see in the local supermarket the P+C spaces are becide the door while the disabled spaces are further away. I wouldn't park in either space but I think disabled people should be entitled to the spaces near the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Well, you are posting so.........:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

F[SIZE="2"]uc[/SIZE]king hell. Is it just me or is there some amount of f[SIZE="2"]uc[/SIZE]king eejits posting today?
    If the obviousness of it being a troll thread in the beginning didnt put you off posting, then the nit-pickery that follows will not only keep you away from the reply button, but will have you reaching for the headache tablets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sleepy wrote: »
    Tell ya what OP, give us your reg and I'll park beside you some time in the normal spaces and, since you're so nice and all, you won't care when our 6 year old swings our car door into yours...

Sure you could just leave your insurance details to cover the cost of the damage your kid would do to his car.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Hate P&C parking spaces for a number of reasons
    • Always more of them than disabled spots - there should be some quick way of re-designating these during busy periods.
    • Usually closer to the entrance than the disabled spaces
    • The primary reason for them isn't an act of consideration for parents with young children, more the fact that young families tend to spend more of their disposable income on groceries than everybody else.

1. They should never be closer to the entrance than disabled spots and I challenge you produce a picture of this scenario because I don't believe it exists. If it does you need to challenge the managment of said shopping centre to have it fixed.

2. The main benefit of them is the width. Getting kids in and out of a child seat can be a nightmare in a normal spot, especially if someone in a Range Rover etc. parks next to you.

It's simple courtesy not to use them? Since when did simple courtesy become so rare??

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek