Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who was ever in a Garda Taxi?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Sully wrote: »
    A bit when I was younger as the father was a guard.. very rarley ever since.

I do believe if a female asks the guards for a lift home for her own safety, they have to. So iv been told many a time anyway!

What about a male? Free taxi! score! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I do believe if a female asks the guards for a lift home for her own safety, they have to. So iv been told many a time anyway!

Actually there is some truth to that I believe, I know of a "lady" who uses them in this manner, only not in that context.
    When shes out, she gets plastered. Then when she wants to go home she looks for the nearest garda car/van and starts falling all over the place. The garda have to give her a lift for her own 'safety'. She's used this so often that the majority of the force know her by name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

rb_ie wrote: »
    got a ride in a Garda van, myself in the back with two guards who talked about roughing me up before I got home.

Another ride in a Garda van with two friends.
    Lol at innuendo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Once but it is not a very interesting story.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

rb_ie wrote: »
    Also got a ride in a Garda van, myself in the back with two guards
    I got a lift once after someone stole my Lambretta and the cops found it and brought me to it.
    Never had a roide in one though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Was walkin down to pub in my village and it started pissin rain halfway. Cop car was going past, stopped and he gave me a lift. And he didnt dropped me off just before the pub so that no-one would see me gettin out. Sound out.

Pity they are so crap at enforcing the law in my area. And before someone says it, it has nothing to do with lack of resources...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

snyper wrote: »
    Little did you know - it was 90% likely the cops put the speed there..

they were looking for you to buy yer way out of bother.. a bribe.. absolutely notorious crooked bastards.. mexican cops.

Ah yeah i know that. That's what i meant by the "it was a scam" part. I had heard of them doing things like that but i went down with the "it will never happen me attitude". A drug dealer drops it in and then tells the cops. The cops take the bribe and the dealer gets the freedom to sell drugs. The thing was he wanted 100 dollars. I only had 40 on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

I thought that too but was laughed at when we tried it. Four of us girls, when we were about 18 got locked out of a friends house (in town) her brother was supposed to be home to let us in so we were stuck in town, drunk, not enough money to get home. We asked a garda to help us but he just laughed so we slept in the atm room thingy on Grafton Street.

(Turned out her brother was home all along but too drunk to care about answering the door, it took all three of us to hold her back from bashing his head in with a fire poker)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

In America when I was involved in a minor crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Asbad wrote: »
    Actually there is some truth to that I believe, I know of a "lady" who uses them in this manner, only not in that context.
    When shes out, she gets plastered. Then when she wants to go home she looks for the nearest garda car/van and starts falling all over the place. The garda have to give her a lift for her own 'safety'. She's used this so often that the majority of the force know her by name.

free taxi, but is t worth being arrested possibly?
    and a male can be bought home either btw

• Registered Users Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

when I worked in a pub years ago, I used to get a lift home with them the odd time..

My mam used to go bananas "what will the neighbours say"

I'd have them doing the lights going down the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Been in squad car's and the meat wagon.... mostly involving alcohol.

1. At a stags in the Aran Island's a Garda that was drinking in the pub dropped 3 of us home, us all doing the D'unbelievables crimebusters sketch in the back.

2. After two of my friends got in a scuffle involving traffic cones we were all brought to Pearse Street in the paddywagon.

3. After a taxi from a to b, the driver tried to charge me like 20euro more than it should have been cos he thought I was drunk, called him a robbing so and so etc, got out, had a pushing match, Gardai called,the two of us went to the station back at location b and pressed assault charges against the other, nothing came of either of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Yup, got arresterized one night, Gardai turned out to be 3 Cork men and 1 Dub.

Briefest little mention of GAA and it turned into the cheapest way of getting home from Quinns of a rainy thursday night!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Myself and my best friend used to find it impossible to get a taxi out of a town we used to socialise in, so the guards used to tell us if we couldnt get a taxi by 5am when the town would have quietened down they would give us a lift home (it was 15 miles) and we used to wait around for the lift home ... twas great craic ... sure the rumours in our home place were flying ....
    Now i'm offered the whole time of being picked up in a squad car and i decline each time out of sheer mortification its diff when its your other half :) takes the thrill out of it! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

been brough home by the guards 4 times, but I was never brough to jail or got a court sentence, thank god. It was funny though, here was me absolutly loked out of my head and the guard asking me about my leaving cert haha!

It's an alright experiance if you're caught for no real reason, especially if you're a girl, all I get is that "I don't want to see you around that area again" and that's that.

one good thing though, is that the car is sooooo warm haha and there's always loads of bags of drink beside you, never been so tempted in my life!!