Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can't afford broadband, planning to rely on tethering. Best network/bundle for this?

Options
  • 08-10-2014 11:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭

Moving into a new place and I've decided to tether to my phone's internet as my sole means of getting online. I've never done this before, and I'm wondering what my best option is? I'm a fairly heavy user, netflix, downloading films, etc.

I'll be getting a new phone, probably 4g enabled, and I'm currently on Three's "All You Can Eat" thing for 39.95. However I know Three have now forbidden tethering. Would a different network serve me better? Any particular phones? Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Thrillhouse11

Anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Three are the only network with all you can eat data and they technically don't allow it and could clamp down at any time.

Your plan is a bad one. Mobile and heavy regular use don't go.

OK, thanks I suppose. What would you say is a better, cost-effective alternative? I haven't really begun to look into any broadband packages.

After some digging around the word seems to be that while 3 have a limit they don't really adhere to it, and unlimited really does mean unlimited. Is this true?

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭boardzz

Yes they are unlimited.

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

If you are going to be using more than 15GB per month your only option would be Three as noone else will let you do it without starting to charge you crazy money for each MB used.

But: