Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Over 5 euro for a pint in Ireland How do we Stop this

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Nikky_Bellic

- an annual licance fee
    - staff pay
    - electricity and free oil bills
    - possible rent of premises.
    - water charges
    - etc.

I believe any business can justify a ridiculous price by using the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

With this attitude, you deserve to go out of business.

I don't own, never have owned, had share or any other interest in the alcohol trade. I'd be a very light drinker and my preference is always a decent well made ale or good red wine.

But I am in business and know the cost of running a business and live in a rural area and see pubs curtailing their opening times, getting rid of staff, only opening Thursday to Sunday, closing altogether and certainly not living a life of luxury.

On a local estate agents website there are 6 pubs available for sale at €100k - €150k. Considering the licence os worth about 80k if you sell it to lidl / aldi (no new licences being granted), basically the pub building itself is close to worthless and the pub business completely worthless.

Even in "salubrius" areas like Dun Laoghaire, there's a pub for auction for less than the cost of a similar size house nearby.

If anyone thinks there's a fortune to be made, feel free to buy one and try it. - There is nothing whatsoever stopping you.

But, youse won't do that, cos you'll find out very quickly how the costs mount up and how much you have to charge just to keep the bills paid - then you couldn't moan.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

sandin wrote: »
    Pubs don't even pay for the glasses the drink is poured into

eehhhmmmm...... this is actually kind of true......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

leggit wrote: »
    eehhhmmmm...... this is actually kind of true......
    actually true they smashed them up into bins,keep the coke bottles,and gets refunded once the rep shows up for bottles or glass weight,so they pay almost zero for glasses.But paying for such piss as Budweiser nearly 5e is a joke.anyway stopped drinking and dont care if some ****holes die up,that's how i stop this :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Considering the licence os worth about 80k if you sell it to lidl / aldi (no new licences being granted), basically the pub building itself is close to worthless and the pub business completely worthless.

Actually closer to thirty thousand for a licence, pubs are closing at a rate of one a day. Contact a few receivers and they will happily offload the licence cheap if the business is no longer viable.
    As for the building being worthless, how is this different to a retail unit or an office based business. Pubs are like all other properties in this respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

john_cappa wrote: »
    No they cant. Publicans are not allowed legally to buy the bottles from the supermarket and then sell them in the licensed premises as different taxes apply. So they have to pay what the distributer asks.
    Yes they can, this is a common misconception, a publican could buy lidl perlenbacher beer and sell it in his pub. Please show me the law which says they can't?
    And what are the different taxes you speak of?

If a publican smuggles in drink avoiding duty then its illegal, such as buying in supermarkets in France or up north and not paying duty here and selling them on. If they buy in a supermarket here they have paid Irish duty, and there is no difference in duty between pubs & supermarkets.

A publican in another thread said he could buy from lidl, the only hassle would be claiming back the VAT which might be easier paperwork wise from wholesalers. But the crazy thing was you could ignore the VAT as the prices were so much lower than the wholesalers that even if you didn't bother claiming it back you are more profitable. The other disadvantage is some wholesalers may collect used bottles. But I know it works out far cheaper to buy longnecks in supermarkets in the pub my friend works in.
    sandin wrote: »
    Even in "salubrius" areas like Dun Laoghaire, there's a pub for auction for less than the cost of a similar size house nearby.
    Thats not surprising, Dun Laoghaire is littered with pubs, and blackrock & dalkey are nearby also with plenty of pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,477 ✭✭✭✭cson

Replace waitresses with vintners and you get my stance on the matter.

Tbh I'm going out almost as much as ever and a night out for me generally costs less than €30 nowadays. Thank you Reillys, Diceys and The Village.

**** it even Coppers are doing pints for €3 during the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭franc 91

Last Saturday there was an article in the Lifestyle section of the Irish Independent entitled '20 Ways recession has changed us'. One of the paragraphs in it is - The Beer's Better. I quote -
    'We're drinking less (sales of alcohol have dropped by 17% over the last decade, particularly in recent years) but we're becoming more experimental in our choice of tipple. Many Irish micro-breweries producing craft beers are florishing.'
    They then go on to put in some free publicity for Eight Degrees Brewing and their Sunburned Irish Red. Of course there are quite a few other micro-brewers around in Ireland now, so are they any cheaper and the pubs where you can find their beers any better than the others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,759 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Depends on the pub again. Some of them take advantage of those of us who like to drink a local or specialised beer.
    For instance Galway Hooker in Galway ranges from 3.80-5.60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

My bad, it was Upper Stephen's Street, a place called Restaurant Royale, across the road from Dunnes Stores HQ.

Ah yeah, I've passed it a few times but never knew they had €3 pints. It used to be a Brazilian restaurant a few years ago afaik. Anyway I doubt I'll every be darkening their doorway anytime soon especially after reading reviews like this :D

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭blowtorch

The old FG Ripoff Ireland website is now taken down - but it's 'remains' are still available to view. http://www.bublin.eu/ripoff/ripoff.php?id=1

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

blowtorch wrote: »
    The old FG Ripoff Ireland website is now taken down - but it's 'remains' are still available to view. http://www.bublin.eu/ripoff/ripoff.php?id=1

I never saw that before, just reinforces what a crowd of two faced lying cnuts they are. They have worsened almost all the items on that list. Eamon Gilmore especially sickens me as he adopted the Fine Gael party line instantly, not just a liar but a cowardly liar. Thanks for the link BT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭red bull

Guinness drinkers in my local have abandoned there favorite tipple in favour of Tuborg @ €3 a pint

red bull wrote: »
    Guinness drinkers in my local have abandoned there favorite tipple in favour of Tuborg @ €3 a pint
    Weird that they bypass cheap beamish and go straight for tuborg. Guinness marketing is astonishing, I bet most would not tell the difference in proper blind tests. I wonder how many people who consider themselves "guinness drinkers" have never tasted another stout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,034 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Haven't tried Beamish but used to drink Murphy's for a while before switching back to Guinness. Definitely a difference in taste. Murphy's taste a little sweeter but also has a sort of "burnt" taste.

Stark wrote: »
    Definitely a difference in taste.
    Have you ever tried blind tasting, thats the only real way to know for sure if you can tell it (if its of any interest to you). There were studies done on pepsi & coke which proved the power of drinking from a cup with advertising on it. A group of beer fanatics in the drink forum did blind tasting on all the major stouts and results showed little difference for them.

Even if you can tell a little difference, its a hell of a lot less difference than moving from stout to a lager. Its just weird that in the likes of concerts with limit selection you might see somebody ask for guinness, then heineken and then jump to bulmers, when they find the first 2 are not served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,034 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I don't normally drink stout blindfolded so it's not really relevant if they taste the same when I can't see. Foods start to taste the same when you hold your nose as well but that's not a normal way of consuming something. I wouldn't go so far as jumping to a lager (I think both Murphy's and Guinness are nice in different ways) but perception does make a difference to taste even if your taste buds report the same just as say offering someone a placebo painkiller gives them effective pain relief for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

rubadub wrote: »
    Weird that they bypass cheap beamish and go straight for tuborg. Guinness marketing is astonishing, I bet most would not tell the difference in proper blind tests. I wonder how many people who consider themselves "guinness drinkers" have never tasted another stout.

They also have a monopoly in the pubs themselves.

For example, it's very rare to find Murphy's on tap in the UK - yet Guinness is everywhere. In fact, it's not that often I would even see Murphy's on sale in Dublin pubs.

WE only have a choice of guinness €3.85 smithicks€3.85 bud€4.20 carlsberg €4.20 harp€4.20 Heineken €4.20 So Tuborg €3.00 is gaining its way

What part of the sticks are you that still uses a 5cent slot in the till?
    I think I only know one pub in town that uses that but that's for keeping the coppers separate.

Double post again. Stupid touch phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

My local has €3 Carling, Tuborg & Beamish, which I'm pretty happy with. My wife like cider though and there doesn't seem to be a cheaper alternative on tap other than Bulmers (that I've seen in my travels). Has anyone seen cheaper alternative in pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

john_cappa wrote: »
    No they cant. Publicans are not allowed legally to buy the bottles from the supermarket and then sell them in the licensed premises as different taxes apply. So they have to pay what the distributer asks.

I would like to repeat what has been said already - the above statement is wrong.

Pubs can buy their supplies from a supermarket if they like - we live in a free market economy.

(In Belgium, large off-licences supply pubs/cafes)

Now, of course, supermarkets might not be happy, and may not wish to sell, as is their right.

But the trade would not be illegal, excise duty has been paid at the production stage.

When I see Black Bush at 20 in Tesco, I suggested to a publican friend that he buy a few bottles.

81.3 cent ex-VAT per shot
    Add 2.00 gross margin = 281.3
    Add 23% VAT = 3.46.

Charge 3.50 for a lovely whiskey, everybody's a winner.

(Question to publicans: is 2.00 gross margin enough?)

omahaid wrote: »
    My local has €3 Carling, Tuborg & Beamish, which I'm pretty happy with. My wife like cider though and there doesn't seem to be a cheaper alternative on tap other than Bulmers (that I've seen in my travels). Has anyone seen cheaper alternative in pubs?

A pub near me has 3.00 Beamish and Bavaria/Tuborg, and now a 3.00 cider has appeared, I think it's called Orchards or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Probably have been mentioned here but McTurkel's and O' Reillys on Tara St both are the best places in Dublin to get a cheap pint. €3.50 in the former and €3.30 in the latter.

Rip off joints are FitzSimmons Temple Bar and the Horse Show Pub in Ballsbridge. The latter think just because they are in D4 that they can charge over a €5 for a pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭macshadow

Ye might find this website useful. www.pintprice.com

Tuborg is really catching on in my local €3 a pint, is that the usual price or just a promotion ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Tuborg is really catching on in my local €3 a pint, is that the usual price or just a promotion ?

Where's your local?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

I've seen that on offer in 4 or 5 pubs now in Kildare, great value :)

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

macshadow wrote: »
    Ye might find this website useful. www.pintprice.com

Greenland is the most expensive place in the world to buy a pint:eek: Freezing cold up there and they can't even enjoy an affordable pint.

Where's your local?
    Tuam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Where's your local?

A good few places in Cork do the €3 Carling/Beamish/Tuborg. Start of a trend I wonder? Instead of the big name pints getting cheaper people just change drinks?

I presume the 3 euro "value" beers are everywhere by now?

Maybe 3.50 in some places?

It's usually Tuborg / Bavaria / Fosters.

Of course Beamish has always been cheaper, I see it at 3.00 and 3.05 in two pubs I sometimes visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Geuze wrote: »
    I presume the 3 euro "value" beers are everywhere by now?

Maybe 3.50 in some places?

None of the pubs in Kilcock sell beer for 3 euro. Haven't tried the GAA club, though GAA clubs are usually cheaper than average anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

A place I used to go to in Dublin 12 has been selling fosters for €3.25/3.35 for the last ~4years or so (it's a hole though). The nicer pub 40 yards up the road went with similar priced bavaria and labatts at the time. That's a fair bit of choice for a good while. . .yet a load of the local plebs still turn their nose at this "cheap sh!t" while they reach for their soapy heineken pi$$water - aldi/lidl syndrome i reckon

Anyway, I was back for home for the euros to discover that tuborg is now available in the nicer pub at €3.25 or even better, a slightly larger than 3 pint pitcher for €9. . .and it took very little persuasion to get people to share it with me, amazing what a few years of recession does for people's taste buds!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭bogof

Leveretts in Carlow are selling Fosters for 2.50 a pint . Its very nice too . All other pints inc Guinness are 3.50. This offer has been running for weeks and is available every day including weekends. Dicey Reillys has all drinks 3.50 Sunday to Thursday. Carling 3.00 all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

madanall wrote: »
    McGoverns in Gorey....2.50 euro for a pint of Tennants....Hard to beat that !!
    That would be an awful waste of 2.50 considering Tennents is the most putrid lager known to man.

• Registered Users Posts: 775 ✭✭✭roboshatner

Weatherspoons is EPIC
    Yea it's a joke. We are a nation of self absorved idiots when it comes to pricing, we have a certain sence of arrogance.

There's no need to be making a mark up of 40 - 50% on everything.

We need the likes of Weatherspoons over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

.....but I can get a dozen pints (near enough) for 10.49 at LIDL.

Who needs Pubs????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Weatherspoons is EPIC

I find it crap, independent pubs borged by weatherspoons :)

Its grand the first time but a bit crap when you go to one 200km away from the first and its the exact same

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Emmett1

Why don't you start brewing your own. We have set up a Brew club in our local area. Each person does a brew of their own and we come together light the barby and have a few beers. You can kit brew or all grain brew depending on your level. For 26 euro you get 21 litres of beer. Its not like years ago you have full control over what strenght you want your beer/wine at. You can bottle it or keg it. You can buy all supplies here in Ireland on line. The British charge low prices because there are hundreds of micro brewery's so more competition for the larger brewery's.

Just a thought...... works for us. It great craic and some great nights at very low costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Weatherspoons is EPIC

I don't know about Epic, but I do look forward to going to Wetherspoons for lunch etc when I'm in the north. I'm not one for going to the pub here in the south, it's too bloody expensive!

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

http://publin.ie/category/pub-crawls/craftwednesday/

good deals on €4 pints and less on craft beers in Dublin city centre.

http://publin.ie/category/pub-crawls/cheapass/