Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish people who say "Mate".

• 22-03-2012 10:18am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭

It just sounds very contrived when Irish people say that..Only British or Aussie people sound right using that expression.(Cue predictable "relax Mate" type replies)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Yeah Yeah Yeah

It wouldn't annoy me. Cheers mate!

darkdubh wrote: »
    It just sounds very contrived when Irish people say that..Only British or Aussie people sound right using that expression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

Its like freaking groundhog day in this forum sometimes innit bruv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Jim_Kiy wrote: »

Sure is mate!

Yeah big time my sahn! Innit

Jim_Kiy wrote: »

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

It's better than people in D4 accents calling each other "dude" :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Language eh! It just keeps evolving and changing the bugger. I miss the auld latin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

It's like an American saying w@nker.Just dosent sound right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭geeman

Worst thread, like, EVER? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

I hate it when new words come into the English langauge, why sire cannot ye olde tongue remain as it twas hence been foredays gone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Sure I often do be saying mate, that does be the way I do be doing it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

They should have their citizenship revoked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Just shout at them 'I'M NOT YOUR F*CKIN MATE!!'
    If you do it every time they say it, they eventually cop on that you're crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Why do you keep putting the quote underneath the body of your post?
    Yeah big time my sahn! Innit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Fack off, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

The latest one seems to be "Buddy" or "Bud" in the shortened version ,an Americanised version of the "Mate" methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

better than being called "buudd"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Just shout at them 'I'M NOT YOUR F*CKIN MATE!!'
    If you do it every time they say it, they eventually cop on that you're crazy.
    Well if youre being litteral then I dont think some one who calls you mate expects you to f;uckk them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

chipsdave wrote: »
    The latest one seems to be "Buddy" or "Bud" in the shortened version ,an Americanised version of the "Mate" methinks.

I'm not your buddy, guy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'd prefer to hear someone say "mate" than "like". Like you know when they throw the word like in like every 3 words in a sentance.

EDIT: Or people that use "lol" completely inappropriately on forums. "I know this is a serious issue, lol, but what should I do if a man just robbed me at gun point lol. It was crazy lol." Of course it always has to be followed by some stupid smiley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

I use 'mate' sometimes... but I lived in NZ for quite a while so I can get away with it..... bahahahahahahaha!!

I know it sounds re-donk-ulous but I still throw it out there the odd time for the larf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

jd007 wrote: »
    I'm not your buddy, guy!

I'm not your guy, friend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We've been saying bud and buddy up here in the capital for decades. Give it another decade it will make it down your way I would imagine... yizzil be "happy out" then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

marketty wrote: »
    I'm not your guy, friend!

I'm not your friend, buddy!

I'm not your bud, dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I'm not your buddy, Thomas The Tank Engine......

:( I'm shít at this.....

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭NiallFH

Buddy is definitely worse, back when I worked part time in XV a guy used to come in pretty regularly and everytime its 'alright buddy', 'cheers buddy'.... Im not your fcukin buddy you twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

mate seems to be aussie and british

'pal' is another annoying one

dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭GSF

Bud is the worst.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

agree, it sounds stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Certain expressions like "Mate" sound better used in their country of origin, IE. UK or Australia.

You don't see Auzzies or British going around saying "left right and center". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Certain expressions like "Mate" sound better used in their country of origin, IE. UK or Australia.

You don't see Auzzies or British going around saying "left right and center". :p

hey hombre:)amigo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

NiallFH wrote: »
    Buddy is definitely worse, back when I worked part time in XV a guy used to come in pretty regularly and everytime its 'alright buddy', 'cheers buddy'.... Im not your fcukin buddy you twat

He's only being nice though, it's just a turn of phrase, like "her majesty" "british subject" and "do you accept euro's?" :confused:

Ha, that's funny - another one you don't hear them saying is 'another kettle of fish altogether'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

What would ye prefer Irish people to say?
    Ye forgot about people saying "man "at the end of sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Rippy

I'm English and I never liked mate much even when I lived there.
    I occasionally use it depending on who I'm talking too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Howeya Buddies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

darkdubh wrote: »
    It just sounds very contrived when Irish people say that..Only British or Aussie people sound right using that expression.(Cue predictable "relax Mate" type replies)

Do you not feel a bit ashamed posting such mongo, claptrap threads?

Mate.

Time to change the forum name to Abjectly Handicapped.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭wile1000

Rippy wrote: »
    I'm English and I never liked mate much even when I lived there.
    I occasionally use it depending on who I'm talking too.

As an Aussie I ironically use it more here than I did back home.
    I've also been known to say "grand" quite a lot, but as they say, When In Rome... :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Easy does it old boy, or else you'll cause yourself a convulsion.

chrismon wrote: »
    What would ye prefer Irish people to say?
    Ye forgot about people saying "man "at the end of sentences.

I use 'man' alot too... I'm coming to the realisation I'm a bit of an idiot!!!!

Cos I can mate.
    Davidius wrote: »
    Why do you keep putting the quote underneath the body of your post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

spoil sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Blikes

My most hated word in the english language is mate! cringe just hearing it, dunno why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

''Happy Days'' - on hearing this , I get the urge to kill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

orwight mate

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭freddiek

mate and "cheers"

the upper classes would use this word when drinking wine but now everyone seems to say it. Not just when thanking someone, i hear it used now as a kind of goodbye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,128 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm going to punch your lights out chum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I feel the same about the word "awesome". It just doesn't sound right when said with an Irish accent.