Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Toughest Climb in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Pawlie wrote: »
    Every hill is better on the way down,
    Cool vid :D
    Random walkers, walking randomly.... ! jaysus ..... :eek:

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭connie_c

Is there a way to submit climbs to the list? This one seems to have been missed. https://ridewithgps.com/routes/12121348

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

greenspurs wrote: »
    Random walkers, walking randomly.... ! jaysus ..... :eek:

Well, it is a private road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭devonp

connie_c wrote: »
    Is there a way to submit climbs to the list? This one seems to have been missed. https://ridewithgps.com/routes/12121348

is that Butter mountain??

devonp wrote: »
    is that Butter mountain??

Don't know its name, there is an army firing range on the other side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭nilhg

The original spreadsheet is seve65's, you could PM him if he doesn't come by here himself and ask him to add it.

Your climb seems to be this segment, I'll add it to the map,

https://www.strava.com/segments/652111

nilhg wrote: »
    The original spreadsheet is seve65's, you could PM him if he doesn't come by here himself and ask him to add it.

Your climb seems to be this segment, I'll add it to the map,

https://www.strava.com/segments/652111

Thats the one, a monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,011 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Thats the one, a monster.
    Jesus, I'd hardly call it 'a monster'! There are many way more difficult climbs around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Jesus, I'd hardly call it 'a monster'! There are many way more difficult climbs around.

I'd be considered fat to some and skinny to another. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

added :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

Not sure if I've posted this one before but it should be on there I think. Road surface leading to the bottom of the climb is pretty bad but I know at least one guy who did it on a road bike. The climb itself has a decent surface on it.

https://www.strava.com/segments/2242055

It's the Castlebar RTE transmitter by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭G1032

12 element wrote: »
    Not sure if I've posted this one before but it should be on there I think. Road surface leading to the bottom of the climb is pretty bad but I know at least one guy who did it on a road bike. The climb itself has a decent surface on it.

https://www.strava.com/segments/2242055

It's the Castlebar RTE transmitter by the way.

One for this weekend :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Sinbad_NI

nilhg wrote:
    Must have been a bit bored last night but I took seve65's spreadsheet and managed to get all the climbs onto a google map relatively easily,

This is great work.

Not feeling the love in NI though ;-(

Sinbad_NI wrote: »
    This is great work.

Not feeling the love in NI though ;-(

If you or anyone else want to do up a spreadsheet with the climbs I can easily enough add them as another layer to the map.

nilhg wrote:
    If you or anyone else want to do up a spreadsheet with the climbs I can easily enough add them as another layer to the map.

Cheers.
    I'm no expert but I'll mark up a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭devonp

whats Torr head like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭outfox

@endacl - Was that a cattle grid I saw in your vid, that you rode over at 70 km/h or whatever speed you were doing?

Legend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

outfox wrote: »
    @endacl - Was that a cattle grid I saw in your vid, that you rode over at 70 km/h or whatever speed you were doing?

Legend!

https://www.youtube.com/user/Tutschel

Not your run of the mill club cyclist....

Torr Head is lovely...

https://www.strava.com/segments/8142568

I think it's worse than Priest's leap from Cork side

outfox wrote: »

Legend!
    That's Janos Kohler's video. He's a specialist descender. https://www.strava.com/athletes/613597 His bike has twin front forks - as can be see in the Youtube link provided by ford2600.

(Our own Zyzz has beaten him on the descent from Kippure mast!)

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭haskellgeek

i think this the bike he used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

i think this the bike he used
    road-rage-bike.jpg

So a few in NI
    Torr Head
    https://www.strava.com/segments/4733518

Kilbroney / Rostrevor up to top car park (times can be ignored, mtb lift /van goes up this route)
    https://www.strava.com/segments/4929098

Couple from the Giro fondo route
    Dree Hill
    https://www.strava.com/segments/800400
    Spelga
    https://www.strava.com/segments/2466243

Couple of mid ulster sperrin climbs to masts
    https://www.strava.com/segments/4441701
    https://www.strava.com/segments/7717750

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

nilhg wrote: »
    Must have been a bit bored last night but I took seve65's spreadsheet and managed to get all the climbs onto a google map relatively easily,

https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?mid=zJYVIk9u4dAI.k0cVqfuuDTsQ

It should be publicly viewable, numbers relate to difficulty, clicking on a pin should give the stats and a link to strava/RGPS

Thats a superb list!
    I cant see Ballinascorney/Tallaght hill on it, is it there?

Mods - would it be possible to split this thread to begin with steve65's spreadsheet? It seems to have got lost somewhere in the midst of many posts.
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Did Priest Leap yday in a head on gale.
    Think I may have torn a hamstring. Still in agony today. Including stops took 57 mins. About 41 mins cycling the 5.5km says the Garmin.
    Hits 27% once. Too many 15% + parts.
    Half way up stopped at a flattish part dying for air. An eldest farmer asked was I lost. When I replied no and I was going to cycle up he said in finest west Cork that I was an awful fuc*in eegit. I cannot disagree with him...

I put the foot on the floor three times on the Leap.

Never ever ever never again for as long as I live.
    LOL :D

I managed to get up in 31 minutes without putting a foot down but it was utterly horrible. Probably the toughest physical thing I've ever done and, like you, I've no desire ever to do it again. I was traumatised for the rest of that day.

Sinbad_NI wrote: »
    So a few in NI
    Torr Head

Kilbroney / Rostrevor up to top car park (times can be ignored, mtb lift /van goes up this route)
    https://www.strava.com/segments/4929098

Couple from the Giro fondo route
    Dree Hill
    https://www.strava.com/segments/800400
    Spelga
    https://www.strava.com/segments/2466243

Couple of mid ulster sperrin climbs to masts

I Think to get in the list they have to have more than 200 metres of elevation gained in the climb.

Fair enough
    Torr head is 227 m (not including the down and ups)

Slieve Gallion is 433 m

Moydamlaght to mast is 412 m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Found this Nasty B'stard on Strava
    https://www.strava.com/segments/700002
    2.2km @9.8%,
    Ballyfarnon/Geevagh on the Sligo Roscommon border
    It's part of a very deceptive looking climb of 9.3km@3%- https://www.strava.com/segments/4328464
    I'll be over West next weekend so I'll report back on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭timbel

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Found this Nasty B'stard on Strava
    https://www.strava.com/segments/700002
    2.2km @9.8%,
    Ballyfarnon/Geevagh on the Sligo Roscommon border
    It's part of a very deceptive looking climb of 9.3km@3%- https://www.strava.com/segments/4328464
    I'll be over West next weekend so I'll report back on it.

Did the first part of that last month - a fecker.
    Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

That's Janos Kohler's video. He's a specialist descender. https://www.strava.com/athletes/613597 His bike has twin front forks - as can be see in the Youtube link provided by ford2600.

(Our own Zyzz has beaten him on the descent from Kippure mast!)

Explains why I cant get near his KOM at the back of Bohernbreena.....
    One blind turn kinda gets me all the time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Can i nominate The Crag - near Tullaroan in Kilkenny...
    Its a brute , max's at 22% , and thats not at the top, where its only 12-16%
    (sorry no strava link)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

greenspurs wrote: »
    Can i nominate The Crag - near Tullaroan in Kilkenny...
    Its a brute , max's at 22% , and thats not at the top, where its only 12-16%
    (sorry no strava link)
    Is this it?

https://www.strava.com/segments/6775580

To qualify, the climb must have an elevation difference of at least 200m - that one is only 108m.

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Jim Stynes

Without having to read back, Is there a top 5 or 10 climbs list yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

Not sure if this is on the list but it should. Half of the road section of Kilmashouge, then through the forest on the off road section up to 3 rock. No problem on a road bike going up but coming back down use the road section through ticknock.

https://www.strava.com/segments/6941325?filter=overall

Jim Stynes wrote: »
    Without having to read back, Is there a top 5 or 10 climbs list yet?

Here you go, enjoy

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ElqKjY8GMgqLqbtfFJYW0lnKTf3_LgZ5r0zxwAm6wS0/edit#gid=0

Been a bit busy recently, will try to add some of the other suggestions to the map shortly, if someone else doesn't do it first....

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Not sure if this has been mentioned before -Glassavullaun Lane , Bohernabreena
    https://www.strava.com/activities/674390456/segments/16520718318 -

Only short at 400 metres but averaging 14% (with a max, at a guess, of around 22%). Gave it a lash today, nice climb but I wouldn't want to descend it at any speed.

colm18 wrote: »

Only short at 400 metres but averaging 14% (with a max, at a guess, of around 22%). Gave it a lash today, nice climb but I wouldn't want to descend it at any speed.
    Although it's very steep there's only an elevation difference of 60m - a minimum of 200m is required for the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Pantanifan84

The mast (black mountain) climb from north side in dundalk. It's a bollocks to feckin drive too

It's on the list - ranked at no. 16.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

colm18 wrote: »

Nominate a climb you're 4th on Strava on. I like your style

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

It's on the list - ranked at no. 16.
    where is the list maintained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

where is the list maintained?

Post 385, on previous page is the latest post with the link.

Maybe a mod could add to the OP?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

cheers, i somehow missed that. the colour coding appears to be a reference to the county, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Plastik

After doing the Mt. Leinster mast road at the weekend I'm glad to see it listed as #1 on the spreadsheet. 39*25 wasn't enough as a climby gear. Closest I've come to putting a foot down on a climb, probably ever, but with so many walkers around pride wouldn't let me :rolleyes:

2.5km at a rare aul speed of .... 9.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Plastik wrote: »
    After doing the Mt. Leinster mast road at the weekend I'm glad to see it listed as #1 on the spreadsheet. 39*25 wasn't enough as a climby gear. Closest I've come to putting a foot down on a climb, probably ever, but with so many walkers around pride wouldn't let me :rolleyes:

Tearing along so, the foot came down for me after the speed dropped to 5kph on this track and the walk of shame ensued. The CX bike is great fun, but the engine needs looking at,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

9! Well done. Knees of steel.

Thats like first 15 of all the people that attempted it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Alek wrote: »

Ah but he was well warmed up:eek:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

smacl wrote: »
    Tearing along so, the foot came down for me after the speed dropped to 5kph on this track and the walk of shame ensued. The CX bike is great fun, but the engine needs looking at,

Had a walk of shame on this too - pm me for a long list of excuses :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Plastik

Alek wrote: »

Only in StravaWorld ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Is Cunard to Sally Gap on that list? Feels like it should be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Brian? wrote: »
    Nominate a climb you're 4th on Strava on. I like your style

Its the Wishbone Ash technique of using a random post to promote yourself:

' I see the price of Strawberries has gone up. Well, that reminds me of a 300k ride I did, bitterly cold out, bucketing down, only had a club jersey and bibs on, brutal climbing...and...er, oh yeah, strawberries '