Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Anyone remember that Seat Ateca R that was going around north Dublin with a Garda sticker on the boot and LEDs etc? I saw it yesterday and the sticker seems to be gone, wonder if he got pulled about it or what.

On another note too I saw a 161 beige/gold Focus hatch around Inchicore, unmarked car (I know this because two detectives jumped out of it right in front of me and chased after a group of lads who scattered) but I noticed a dealer sticker and dealer plates on it. Don't even ask me how I noticed them, but they definitely stuck out. Whats the story with that? I thought Garda cars never came with them (worth mentioning that the car had light/sirens/extra aerials and the guards driving were wearing Garda jackets)

POGAN wrote: »
    Op creeper

Nope

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Aaron1416

Nope

DOCB night time patrols, or something similar to that, very sound lads to be fair! Wouldn’t be a bad gig

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Anyone remember that Seat Ateca R that was going around north Dublin with a Garda sticker on the boot and LEDs etc? I saw it yesterday and the sticker seems to be gone, wonder if he got pulled about it or what.

I believe he got a visit of some description alright. Lad that owns that was sick last I heard so he might not still own it. BTW he works in the same office as me but he’s been off for a good while.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

On another note too I saw a 161 beige/gold Focus hatch around Inchicore, unmarked car (I know this because two detectives jumped out of it right in front of me and chased after a group of lads who scattered) but I noticed a dealer sticker and dealer plates on it. Don't even ask me how I noticed them, but they definitely stuck out. Whats the story with that? I thought Garda cars never came with them (worth mentioning that the car had light/sirens/extra aerials and the guards driving were wearing Garda jackets)

Some stick them on to try make them blend in more, similar to fitting the insurance and NCT holder and putting in discs off other cars.... Out of date mind but most likely a confiscated car.

Seen some of the Skoda have surrounds on them and finglas motors use to be a well used one too.

Belfast Stephen it is a silver 2006 OPC that came from the north.....

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Belfast Stephen it is a silver 2006 OPC that came from the north.....

It did the lads love that car

Audi Q, golfs all unmarked on the Gucci units few other new things out there too🙈

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭belfast stephen

We're the Garda not give a Vectra VXR by the PSNI

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

We're the Garda not give a Vectra VXR by the PSNI

Vectra VXR and OPC are the same car depending on whether it's sold in the UK or the rest of Europe. I guess it would have been branded Vauxhall and VXR if the PSNI had owned it first. But there won't be any difference other than badges.

Them OPC are nuts, great fun to be had, drove a few of the Astra's and one 06 Vectra that had a checkered owner, fun car even though they didn't handle like a scubby.....

They really need some more of these proper decent cars recession or not....

I cringe, really cringe every time I see an i30 or 40 marked up as roads policing.....

I could leave them for dead.... Yes I know the radio yada yada but just saying...

Oh I've seen the Vectra at least twice and love the sound.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Them OPC are nuts, great fun to be had, drove a few of the Astra's and one 06 Vectra that had a checkered owner, fun car even though they didn't handle like a scubby.....

They really need some more of these proper decent cars recession or not....

I cringe, really cringe every time I see an i30 or 40 marked up as roads policing.....

I could leave them for dead.... Yes I know the radio yada yada but just saying...

Oh I've seen the Vectra at least twice and love the sound.....

I had a vxr myself they are amazing to get speed out off, I sold it two years ago and got the mondeo ST220

@Capri those Alfa’s are unbelievable, considering i lived in Bologna for three years. I had the pleasure of seeing the older versions in use. They are amazing the sound of them is something else...

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Aaron1416

https://twitter.com/gmptraffic/status/1253572135106289664?s=21

Have a watch of this, Manchester police tactical contact on a stolen Nissan! And then for their chief to tweet out in support of them!

Will we ever see the this here?

Aaron1416 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/gmptraffic/status/1253572135106289664?s=21

Have a watch of this, Manchester police tactical contact on a stolen Nissan! And then for their chief to tweet out in support of them!

Will we ever see the this here?

Similar incident happened about two months ago when the golf pursued a Mercedes and they made tactical contact. I hear it a was less tactical and more brute force but it was similar. I can’t imagine it will be publicly applauded here, ever. as we have too many do gooders in the ranks and in Leinster house who would jump on the opportunity to say it’s heavy handed.

Honestly that's exactly what the cars are for they are a tool and not the be all or the end of all.....

The workmen or women use the tools to get the job done and if that means ruin a vehicle to save lives then hands down that a big plus.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭kooga

PSNI officer injured after car rammed off motorway https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-52431544

And that’s an A6 could you imagine if it was a Hyundai

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭belfast stephen

kooga wrote: »
    PSNI officer injured after car rammed off motorway https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-52431544

And that’s an A6 could you imagine if it was a Hyundai

That Audi A6 is not even a year old

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

That Audi A6 is not even a year old

'Police garage' TV series had a BMW 530 wrecjked after a few weeks..expensive but 'public money' so they don't worry?

Have to say them 508 look the business, absolutely loving the styling.

Handle wise couldn't say but they must be somewhat good if armed units are now using.

Has it upgrades?

Handle wise couldn't say but they must be somewhat good if armed units are now using.

Has it upgrades?

I’ll see if he can photos of the inside

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Capri wrote: »

I really dislike photos like this in the forum.

Here is a picture of a super model but its ok you just take the fat one home that has taco sauce dribbling down her front after a night out of drinking 12 WKD's!!! :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Has it upgrades?

Seemed impressive on a few tests.
    https://youtu.be/MjmX-s_GWqM

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭roadmaster

In Regards to mentioned on the other thread about the army's new Toyotas I don't understand why they never buy a specialist 4x4 transits or a transporter similar to what the Germans got. It would be able to carry more troops and also fit the radio easily

• Registered Users Posts: 20 mpc

roadmaster wrote: »
    In Regards to mentioned on the other thread about the army's new Toyotas I don't understand why they never buy a specialist 4x4 transits or a transporter similar to what the Germans got. It would be able to carry more troops and also fit the radio easily

The German's recently ordered 700 4x4's built on the G Wagen platform.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Saw a 2007 Fiesta in Citywest yesterday. Poor bastards driving that, that must have the bollocks ripped out of it at this stage!

A lot of gaffa tape used to hold it together!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Saw a 2007 Fiesta in Citywest yesterday. Poor bastards driving that, that must have the bollocks ripped out of it at this stage!

Still a few about. Seen an unmarked one this morning.

2006 corolla doing the beat with detectives near rathmines....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

2006 corolla doing the beat with detectives near rathmines....

Silver unmarked one still in Ballyfermot/Clondalkin to.

carzony wrote: »
    Silver unmarked one still in Ballyfermot/Clondalkin to.

In the lockdown at its height I seen so many that hadn't been out as much in so long...

they are being replaced by newish hatchback focus, there’s current that I’ve seen, 3 in coolock raheny and swords, we are due a few in our district.