Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Patrick's Day trainers.

• 12-03-2012 7:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭

I wonder if they come with an 800 year guarantee?:pac:

I wouldn't buy them because they look like sh1t.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0310/1224313106315.html?via=mr
    WITH ST Patrick’s Day around the corner, the giant footwear company Nike is releasing two beer-themed sneakers or runners to mark the date.
    The first runner is known as “The Guinness” and the second is known as “The Black and Tan”.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Quite accurate as the black and tan will no doubt be heavily involved in the robbery and killing of innocent Irish citizens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Spilling (precious) Guinness all over your trainers will have a whole new meaning now .

• Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Nice. Can you buy them online?

Yes, you can go to Amazon and put in an orange order.:P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Sure every one knows that Pikes Nikes symbol is a slash hook;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

They're not a patch on my Nike Holocaust's I bought in Germany. They're sort of an ash colour with some nice red and black accents on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

This is fantastic. I wonder if they did any research in to the name what-so-ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

What about the Easter Sunday Nikes,
    Jesus used them when he cleared the temple....:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,314 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

They'll go well with my blue shirts.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,119 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Top off the day with some Ben&Jerry Ice cream.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Connolly's should make a special runner to celebrate the Fourth of July and call them Al-Qaeeda's.

Would love to see what the Yanks'd make of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

fullstop wrote: »

want

Connolly's should make a special runner to celebrate the Fourth of July and call them Al-Qaeeda's.

Would love to see what the Yanks'd make of that.

Only available in two sizes, 9 and 11.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Shur, it's only a bit of craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

they're runners ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Shur, it's only a bit of craic.

Craic Shoes:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,314 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Babybuff wrote: »
    want

Saw the leprechaun ones in Cape Town a couple of years ago for €20, no idea why I didn't buy them!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

They won't be any competition for the sea of brown brogues that will be witnessed this Saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

its two colours i dont see the problem,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

its two colours i dont see the problem,

it's the specific 2 colours and the timing that counts

Might as well have a ****ing orange sash across it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭TreesAreCrowd

Yes, like the skangers in the Nike's are going to know who the Black and Tans were, beyond being featured in some 'RA songs they might know.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Big ****ing deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Yes, like the skangers in the Nike's are going to know who the Black and Tans were, beyond being featured in some 'RA songs they might know.

Wow, gotta love the generalisation, not everyone who wears nikes are skangers:rolleyes:
    And Im sure we all studied history at least to junior cert level so thats a bit harsh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

may as well have made them the colours of the French and German flags, as a tribute to our new overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭TreesAreCrowd

booboo88 wrote: »
    Wow, gotta love the generalisation, not everyone who wears nikes are skangers:rolleyes:
    And Im sure we all studied history at least to junior cert level so thats a bit harsh!
    No but you can be sure every skanger has worn, wears or wants to wear Nikes :D

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

So Apparently we are all really angry about the new Nike's, what do you think.
    Story taken from Yahoo News:

Nike ‘Black and Tans’ Sneaker Accidentally Incites Outrage From Irish Community
    By Melissa Knowles | Trending Now – 2 hrs 45 mins ago
    Email
    Print

"Like" us on Facebook.com/TrendingNow and follow us on Twitter@YahooTrending.
    The name of a new Nike sneaker has people upset in Ireland. The footwear giant accidentally insulted the Irish while trying to honor the country leading up to St. Patrick's Day.
    The Nike SB Black and Tan Quickstrike is named after a black and tan colored alcoholic beverage made by mixing stout and lager--usually Guinness and Harp or Bass--in a pint glass. Even though Guinness and Harp are Irish, it is not a drink that is commonly requested in bars in Ireland. In the 1920s, a British paramilitary group, known as the "Black & Tans," used brutality to suppress an armed Irish Revolution, and it was known for its ruthless attacks against Irish civilians.
    The president of the Irish Lobby for Immigration Reform, Ciaran Staunton, said the name of the shoe "would be the American equivalent of calling a sneaker 'the Al Qaeda.'" Staunton added, "Is there no one at Nike able to Google Black and Tan?"
    Nike issued an apology for inadvertently upsetting people in Ireland, saying "no offense was intended." Nike officials also told FoxNews.com that the official name of the sneakers is 'Nike SB Dunk Low' and that the shoes were "unofficially named by some using a phrase that can be viewed as inappropriate and insensitive."
    Many people on social media are echoing Staunton, saying that Nike should have simply put the name "black and tan" in an Internet search engine to figure out the sinister connotation behind it. Even Atlanta news anchor Mark Hayes tweeted that "Nike put its foot in its mouth and now they are scrambling to do some damage control!"

Link: http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/trending-now/nike-black-tans-sneaker-accidentally-incites-outrage-among-160904943.html