Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Army vehicle paint code

• 09-08-2012 7:57pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭

In the process of getting my army 4x4 lookalike ready , what is the name of the colour used on them ? , its a very dull shade of green but i dont know the exact name for it , ill post a few pics up for ye when ive got her finished.
    Also are all the naval service staff cars light blue? thanks Dave .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Midnight Oil

Would this request have anything to do with
    The SINCGARS thread?

Sounds to me like you are trying to replicate an FFR and I for very many reasons will not help you to do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Yep, sounds like this could be potentially dodgy!

.....do ya need a couple of complete sets of DPM's OP?

Im off to check Airsoft incase he's looking for a replica Steyr.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

benwavner wrote: »
    Im off to check Airsoft incase he's looking for a replica Steyr.

Oi! Less of that, we're not all numpties.

There are no circumstances under which I'd paint a vehicle the exact same shade of green used by the PDF. That is so not a good idea.

And my carbine A1's not for sale. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Davehopper

.....do ya need a couple of complete sets of DPM's OP?

Thanks for the offer(even if nasty and sarcastic). But I'm fine, still have my DPM's from my time in the reserves.

To be honest, I don't think it's anybodies business why I'm looking for this information. Anybody willing to help?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Midnight Oil

Davehopper wrote: »
    To be honest, I don't think it's anybodies business why I'm looking for this information.

Seriously beg to differ!

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

i thought it was standard olive drab. your local moterfactors should be able to knock some up however could be pricey.

serious case of interwebs acusations goin here. the man obviously trying to make a millitary vehicle. the colour used on irish vehicles and sincgars radios are not unique to ireland at all. sure theres even clubs for it. go along to the salute military show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Dave, take yourself down to shop street around lunchtime most days. You can get a nice close up of the vehicles there. But be careful, there's lot of guys with assault rifles who take a dim view of a nutter touching their vehicle. Failing that the scrapyard on the Headford Road sometimes has surplus army vehicles.

Joking aside, the actual colour seems to vary a bit depending on the manufacturer. But basically it's some form of Olive Drab.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

c-90 wrote: »
    i thought it was standard olive drab. your local moterfactors should be able to knock some up however could be pricey.

serious case of interwebs acusations goin here. the man obviously trying to make a millitary vehicle. the colour used on irish vehicles and sincgars radios are not unique to ireland at all. sure theres even clubs for it. go along to the salute military show.

scratch that just read some of the op's other threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

The colour used is as follows.

"Irish Army NATO DPM Green".

You shouldn't have any problem getting a panel beater or spray shop make up a batch for you.

Thank you. Good to see there is some decent souls on here. :) Do you have the exact code, google doesn't turn up anything. If you have to take some time to find it out it's ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

That's the same paint they've started painting section rooms with isn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Capt Blackadder

Yeah, it is. Anyone know where they keep it? Every time I go looking for some in stores I keep being told to comeback next week because they can't find any.

They keep it with the Skirting board ladders.

Thank you. Good to see there is some decent souls on here. :) Do you have the exact code, google doesn't turn up anything. If you have to take some time to find it out it's ok.

Yeah, its NATO5318008

Thanks, lets hope the autofactors can get it! And that they're not as nosey as folk here! :rolleyes:

Nosey?

You are on a military forum on an internet site. Did you not think people would be slightly suspicious? You have a military background ffs. Did you not expect a bit of questioning?

You are looking to buy a sincgar and you want an exact PDF vehicle paint match, the fact that you were a trained soldier adds to the suspicion. All these things combined i.e, uniform, prior training, mock / surplus / imitation of current PDF equipment paints a dodgy picture.

Next, you will be trailing cash escorts to get an exact reg of a military vehicle to replicate and mount on your own "4x4".

If you are this dedicated, why are you Ex RDF?

Harmless or not, I think you need to be careful.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I think we have a Walter, lads. He has tried to use his flight sim time when applying to the Air Corps Cadetship 2012, and is now trying to paint his jeep "army green" with an AN PRC 119 aerial stuck to it.

=-=

OP, if you get stopped in an army coloured jeep with an AN PRC 119 whilst dressed in DPMs by the Gardai or Military Police, be prepared to be treated like a terrorist.

Nosey?

You are on a military forum on an internet site. Did you not think people would be slightly suspicious? You have a military background ffs. Did you not expect a bit of questioning?

You are looking to buy a sincgar and you want an exact PDF vehicle paint match, the fact that you were a trained soldier adds to the suspicion. All these things combined i.e, uniform, prior training, mock / surplus / imitation of current PDF equipment paints a dodgy picture.

Next, you will be trailing cash escorts to get an exact reg of a military vehicle to replicate and mount on your own "4x4".

If you are this dedicated, why are you Ex RDF?

Harmless or not, I think you need to be careful.

I'm an exer because I had a disagreement with my CQ, but HE was the one in the wrong, I assure you. Now because of Chinese whispers, no Galway or Mayo unit will touch me. Not my fault.

As for my motives, it's a hobby. I love flying but I'm not a real world pilot so I fly from home. Similary I love the army but have no way of persuing my passion, hence my reason to 'pretend'. I just want to feel part of it again. Is that a crime?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Similary I love the army but have no way of persuing my passion
    The legal way would be to become an airsofter... not painting a jeep army green, and driving it around dressed up in your DPM.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,438 ✭✭✭✭thermo

the_syco wrote: »
    The legal way would be to become an airsofter...

jasus don't send him over to us, he might try declare himself overlord of airsoft because he has a million hours logged on call of duty............ :)

on a more serious note, maybe joining a military vehicle club or re-enactment group might suit the OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Yeah, its NATO5318008

OP, I was ONLY able to get this paint through halfords last time I was doing up an old Army vehicle. Some other suppliers hadn't even heard of it. They also have a very reasonably priced DIY spraying kit for amateur sprayers. (Ask any of the staff, but you should find it the panel beating section).

For that genuine Irish Army experience, you can set up a large tent in the garden, drive the car into it, and leave it parked up for about 6 weeks before you get around to painting it.

Seriously though, you should definitely look into the home spraying kit. Worth every farthing.

John_D80 wrote: »
    OP, I was ONLY able to get this paint through halfords last time I was doing up an old Army vehicle. Some other suppliers hadn't even heard of it. They also have a very reasonably priced DIY spraying kit for amateur sprayers. (Ask any of the staff, but you should find it the panel beating section).

For that genuine Irish Army experience, you can set up a large tent in the garden, drive the car into it, and leave it parked up for about 6 weeks before you get around to painting it.

Seriously though, you should definitely look into the home spraying kit. Worth every farthing.

Thanks for the suggestion. A.D motor factors hadn't heard of it either when I tried today. I had plenty of pictures so they said they could get it fairly close. To get it exact they need a panel in that colour already, could anybody be of assistance there? I'll ask in Halfords, thanks.

Haw Haw, very funny but I intend on painting it sooner than that! Just goes to show more people have this hobby than just me!

I'm an exer because I had a disagreement with my CQ, but HE was the one in the wrong, I assure you. Now because of Chinese whispers, no Galway or Mayo unit will touch me. Not my fault.

I have no interest in the above, so I wont offer an opinion.
    As for my motives, it's a hobby. I love flying but I'm not a real world pilot so I fly from home. Similary I love the army but have no way of persuing my passion, hence my reason to 'pretend'. I just want to feel part of it again. Is that a crime?

I'm fairly sure it is illegal for you to have an military issue kit if you are civillian, so yes!!!! Never mind trying to acquire similar current PDF kit.

Look, if you are genuine, touch base with the lads that run the Military Salute....theres a thread here somewhere. They restore and show past PDF vehicles. They may even want a hand if you ask nicely.

Unfortunately, you are coming off as a nutter that wants to replicate an army vehicle for nefarious reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭andy_g

Lads to be honest I still think he is a sad troll that i banned from Aviation forums for of the same thing.

@Davehopper. How's the flight training coming on for the Air Corp Cadets?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Thanks for the suggestion. A.D motor factors hadn't heard of it either when I tried today. I had plenty of pictures so they said they could get it fairly close. To get it exact they need a panel in that colour already, could anybody be of assistance there? I'll ask in Halfords, thanks.

Haw Haw, very funny but I intend on painting it sooner than that! Just goes to show more people have this hobby than just me!

Yeah definitely go to halfords for that paint. As far as expertise in motoring goes their mostly part-time, largely untrained, non car owning, student staff are second to none.

Do you think you will go for the DIY spraying kit? Btw that particular paint is entirely non-toxic so you wont need any form of respiration device and it can be used safely in an enclosed space.

Also if you have further difficulties finding the paint you should ring the MP duty room in your brigade area. As the body who investigates all road traffic accidents involving DF vehicles they are also responsible for sanctioning expenditure on parts/materials required to repair official vehicles and sourcing of same parts/materials ie: paint etc.

I'm sure they would be only too happy to help you.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭tippilot

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭ruserious

Some people have weird fetishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

If he wanted to get the colour its not exactly hard go in to any decent auto paint suppliers there are books as thick as the bible with different shades of green, if any one could be bored enough to look through to find a match:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

In the process of getting my army 4x4 lookalike ready , what is the name of the colour used on them ? , its a very dull shade of green but i dont know the exact name for it , ill post a few pics up for ye when ive got her finished.
    Also are all the naval service staff cars light blue? thanks Dave .[/QU
    All shades of military colors are available on Ebay, Just search "military paint"