Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Culchie humour

• 10-07-2012 3:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Love it or hate it? I'm a culchie born with the mind of a city slicker, I despise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

G'wan then......Say something funny.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Are you referring to Killnaskully?

Because that show chugs the fat one.

Leave her at it, G'wan.

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Did ya hear the fella down d road is ridin yer wan and they're not even married

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Tis as useful as tits on a bull!

Ah no I love culchie humour, hard bet......I guess you have to be there.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

Godot. wrote: »
    Love it or hate it? I'm a culchie born with the mind of a city slicker, I despise it.
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-0xWj_HNCwPU/TwULI3Dd5LI/AAAAAAAABJA/UeHD_wHpPck/s1600/1+%25282%2529.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

An impossible task....'like trying to put the sh*te back into the horse'

I do find Kilinascully a bit repetitive, more swearing needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Of all the D'Unbelievables work, you pick that? There is much better than that. IMO "Crimebusters", is not just "culchie humour", it takes the piss out of every guard both city and village based, and works very well. Are you too young to remember "Crime Call"?

Killinaskully is sh1te, and IMO gives so called 'culchie humour' a bad name.The population of Ireland is about 4Million(not including the Poles). About 1.3 Million live in Dublin. Are the other 2.7 Million boardsies, really trying to tell me they never had a teacher likes this:

I had a few of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

I don't think it's humour as such, I think it's just the sayings which are different between those from the country and those from Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick, Belfast and bigger towns. I don't know any sort of humour that folks back home funny and people from Galway don't, the same humour all round I think, just individual differences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

well at least 'culchie humor' is better than 'dublin randomly attacking strangers humor' i suppose...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

I say tomayto, you say tomato, culchie says t'maha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Did you hear about the magic tractor?
    Went down the road and turned into a field

Did you hear about the wooden tractor?
    Wooden wheels, wooden engine, wooden tyres, wooden cab and wooden work

Pádraig Nally had done a good days work and worked up a thirst
    Strolled into the local and the barman asked him what he would like
    Said he could murder a fat frog

Paddy from Mayo was sitting down to dinner at noon (that's the time for dinner, ye city slickers eat dinner in the evenings????)

The nagging wife Brid was giving him grief and calling him useless and a waster.

Sure that bull out the field can have sex over a thousand times a year ya fat sod.

Aye said Paddy, but not with the same ol cow every time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

syklops wrote: »
    Of all the D'Unbelievables work, you pick that? There is much better than that. IMO "Crimebusters", is not just "culchie humour", it takes the piss out of every guard both city and village based, and works very well. Are you too young to remember "Crime Call"?

I think Away in a Home is the best. 'Did you hear about the poor people in China Martin?' Class.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,054 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

"She can go without the Ovaltine tonight"

"The Grunt is a right funny man. I wonder why he never went professional?"
    "Ah sure as he says himself he's happy enough with the teaching".

D'unbelievables ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Godot. wrote: »

Using that word is a hate-crime. Report yourself to the PC police immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Are the other 2.7 Million boardsies, really trying to tell me they never had a teacher likes this:

I had a few of them.

I had the teacher the character was based on, Pat Shortt went to my school :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Culchie humourist = Dylan Moran.

Jackeen humourist = Brendan O'Carroll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Of all the D'Unbelievables work, you pick that?

I apologise unreservedly and bow to your superior knowledge on the subject.

Maybe you will find it within you to forgive me for such folly.

I will be alone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Rasheed wrote: »
    I think Away in a Home is the best. 'Did you hear about the poor people in China Martin?' Class.

"What people?"
    "The Chinese!"

I apologise unreservedly and bow to your superior knowledge on the subject.

Maybe you will find it within you to forgive me for such folly.

I will be at alone now.

Me no speak city-talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Killinaskully is sh1te, and IMO gives so called 'culchie humour' a bad name.The population of Ireland is about 4Million(not including the Poles). About 1.3 Million live in Dublin. Are the other 2.7 Million boardsies, really trying to tell me they never had a teacher likes this:

I had a few of them.

That's terrifying.

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

Culchie humourist = Dylan Moran.

Jackeen humourist = Brendan O'Carroll.

Jackeen humourist = Dermot Morgan, Dave Allen!

Culchie humourist = Conal Gallen, Graham Norton!

Ah yes, Graham Norton, I forgot him. A true culchie from Camp Co. Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

Ah yes, Graham Norton, I forgot him a true culchie from Camp Co. Cork.

the point is that there is **** comedians and good comedians from all over the country.

I was making a funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You've made a rayl pigs diddy out of this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

Ah yes, Graham Norton, I forgot him. A true culchie from Camp Co. Cork.

Haha that gave me a chuckle.:pac: