Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gambling

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Gambling is a huge problem.

I know guys who who put the keys of the house on the table on one card, as their children and wife were asleep at home.

You can only drink so much, but you can risk losing far greater in less then 20 seconds on a bet.

Yeah, a few times during the boom I witnessed card/pool games that had thousands of Euro or vehicles and stuff riding on the outcome.

It was always people in the building trade but that probably had more to do with the rough kips I hung around in back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That sounds extraordinary. If they were in a casino they couldn't wager with a set of keys. If it was a private card game how would the other party go about taking possession of the house?

And you know of multiple cases. I lead a sheltered life. Of course they stood to win the value of their house as well. How many won and how many were made homeless?

Sorry only coming back to this now.

I know of a man in my local town whose house was burnt down because of a bet where he did not share in his side of the bargain when he lost.

I have only ever seen one game where it was serious and I saw a guy walk away with another mans car.(this was around 2000-01).

One of my best friends brother is a addict and he has had things and not every day nearly till he had to flee the country.

You say you lead a sheltered life. You're better off.

I gamble myself, but I can stop in a instant if I have too thank God. Working in a bookies as summer job helped in that regard too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I've just always had a instructive feeling it's a mugs game, hence saving me millions of euros down the years.

That said - when observing my friends that like it - I think the fun is more the anticipation pursuit of winning rather than the bottom line so fair enough unless the figures are a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

Gambling is fine and good fun in moderation its just not everyone can gamble in moderation .

The same applies for almost anything out there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,385 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The Grand National is next Saturday. In recent years it is just about the only gambling I do apart from the Lotto. I put on €100 in total on four or five horses. I use this site for guidance, later on they will give their list of five or six horses which they reckon will fill the top positions.

http://www.grandnational.org.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

That sounds extraordinary. If they were in a casino they couldn't wager with a set of keys. If it was a private card game how would the other party go about taking possession of the house?

There was a Chinese restaurant lost in a card game in Dungarvan recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

There was a Chinese restaurant lost in a card game in Dungarvan recently.

I'm more surprised a chinese restaurant was allowed sit in on a game - must have been a huge table.

I don't gamble, due to mental impairment. I never know what the winner is going to be. Doesn't stop a load of my mates though. Breakfast is like an autopsy of last nights slaughter in paddy Powers every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I'm more surprised a chinese restaurant was allowed sit in on a game - must have been a huge table.

I don't gamble, due to mental impairment. I never know what the winner is going to be. Doesn't stop a load of my mates though. Breakfast is like an autopsy of last nights slaughter in paddy Powers every day.

this is actually true (the restaurant in dungarvan)

there was a pub won in the village where I went to school...your man put half his farm down against it:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Betting is a mugs game the betting company has more information in general than the person placing the bet so you're at a disadvantage before you even start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

people who say gambling is a mugs game just don't understand it. Poker for example is a game of skill and over a big sample size if you're a winning player you`ll always be up money. Most peoples problems is that they're weak minded and don't put in the effort to develop a winning strategy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

this is actually true (the restaurant in dungarvan)

there was a pub won in the village where I went to school...your man put half his farm down against it:eek:

Mad, isn't it? I've never put more than twenty quid on a bet. Even then it was very, very rarely. Gambling, real gambling (i.e. wagering something on an event that is out of your control and that will make even a slight difference to your life), is for absolute muppets.

Gmol wrote: »
    Betting is a mugs game the betting company has more information in general than the person placing the bet so you're at a disadvantage before you even start.

There's eleven bookies in my local town. Eight take-aways and one hire shop. Probably a dozen pubs. Eleven Bookies. 11. Who do ye think is winning, day to day? If there was one Bookies, and it was struggling, there'd be a hint gambling pays. I always hear about the wins, the losses, not so much.

Poker is different, my wifes aunt is a poker player -a little old lady, and she wins big, she also owns a bookies shop. But for every 100 poker players, there's 99 mugs and one player. Being a player takes a sharp mind and a small ego. Most have it the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Mad, isn't it? I've never put more than twenty quid on a bet. Even then it was very, very rarely. Gambling, real gambling (i.e. wagering something on an event that is out of your control and that will make even a slight difference to your life), is for absolute muppets.

TBH I wouldn't even know how to put on a bet - don't really want to learn....though I do see people betting on the bonus number on the lotto at 33/1
    and there over 40 numbers in the lotto...when you see people doing that/bookies handing out them odds...you don't have to be a maths genius to see who is going to come out on top:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

jaysus this lad musta got lucky over 320k hands, every hand he played he got lucky over several months. All luck, no skill

2bengrundyPLO2.jpg

nuxxx wrote: »
    jaysus this lad musta got lucky over 320k hands, every hand he played he got lucky over several months. All luck, no skill

2bengrundyPLO2.jpg

No - like I said, poker, and a lot of other card games are different - that's skill. Guessing which horse is feeling good out of twenty horses, doesn't trip, the jokey wasn't on the batter, the ground suited, that's luck. Usually. Or a fix, for the real players. Which again, is different. My wifes family are gamblers, but they're professional gamblers, and there's a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

No - like I said, poker, and a lot of other card games are different - that's skill. Guessing which horse is feeling good out of twenty horses, doesn't trip, the jokey wasn't on the batter, the ground suited, that's luck. Usually. Or a fix, for the real players. Which again, is different. My wifes family are gamblers, but they're professional gamblers, and there's a difference.

Poker is skill over time and variance.

I don't know much about poker beyond being a hobby player. I have played poker in my Dad's gold club, a little online, card rooms and pub poker. But I never played for more than fun. But there are many who are very skilled. My brother and his mates play and even amongst that level the better players win more consistently over time.

Betting involves knowledge I think rather than skill. My brother worked in the greyhound track during his undergrad years. Some punters won much more consistently than others. Understanding what odds mean and how to process that and working out value. And also knowing a little about the statistics and about that sport.

It is a fascinating topic though. A little beyond me though. Some people have that type of mind.