Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Writing for Theatre/Film? Any different to writing in other mediums?

Options
  • 15-01-2013 2:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17

Hi,

Ive been writing Comics for about 2-3 Years now, Ive had a recent interest in writing for something like Theater or Film. Ive been researching the different writing styles, but does anyone have any experience in writing in these mediums?

Thanks,
    Sean

(PS, I wasn't sure if I should've posted this here, or in the Film or Theater threads)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

I've written for both. Film and theatre, depending perhaps on your chosen genre, are dialogue dependent - unlike prose, your story is relayed through the interactions of your characters. This, in my opinion, is the most important aspect of these mediums. You're nowhere without good dialogue and, by extension, thoroughly developed characters.

Something that you should also be conscious of is the collaborative element of a screen/stage project. You might have a nice script, but if you don't have a decent director/sound/staging/cast/make-up/lights it's not worth much. Inversely, if you have all of the above and a poor script you're equally stunted. Some people find it difficult to relinquish most of the creative control (which is why I've started work on a book ;)).