Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So, who's looking forward to Arthur's Day? What will you be doing?

• 24-09-2013 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

Couple of threads already discussing the furore around Arthur's Day and the merits or demerits thereof, but none for the actual event itself. With that in mind, for those who like the event and are planning to do something on Thursday, what are ye up to?

Few friends of mine playing gigs at a couple of Dublin venues so I reckon my Arthur's Day will involve a relaxing pint or two early in the evening, followed by scrambling across town from one venue to another trying to make sure I don't miss any of the gigs people I know are playing at :D
    Might sound like a crappy night but it can be kind of fun, and sure I could use the exercise ;)

What are ye up to for it? And for those who have tickets to any of the official Guinness sponsored gigs, if there any artist in particular you're hoping to see? Kodaline have been getting a lot of buzz for Arthur's Day so it would seem like they're the most in demand of the Irish acts playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I call it 'Anti-Diageo' day, because I get together with other friends of like mind and drink good beer, not the utter muck that Diageo pisses out into swill barrels and markets to tastebudless plebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Nothing will ever be able to touch the sheer lunacy of Primal Scream in the Silver Granite in Palmerstown last year. Working late this year so I'll miss the lot but wouldn't be really bothered with any of the bands playing anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Nothing - treat it like any other day? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'll be working.
    Woe betide the multinational that tries to dictate to me. Grrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I call it 'Anti-Diageo' day, because I get together with other friends of like mind and drink good beer, not the utter muck that Diageo pisses out into swill barrels and markets as tasty to the plebs.

You must need a really big ladder to get up on that horse of yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Nothing - treat it like any other day? :confused:

And you call yourself 'BeerWolf'?

Shame on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nothing will ever be able to touch the sheer lunacy of Primal Scream in the Silver Granite in Palmerstown last year.

Mumford and Sons in Toner's Baggot St might have come close, probably because nobody knew they were going to be playing there :D They just randomly showed up and played an early set before their big one in Whelans, best surprise ever ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

You must need a really big ladder to get up on that horse of yours.

Yup, and you can drink the golden, foaming piss that gushes out of the horse's cock because Diageo tell you it's tasty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Yup, and you can drink the golden, foaming piss that gushes out of the horse's cock because Diageo tell you it's tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'll be working so I'll just be kicking up a stink and telling absolutely everyone how anti-Arthur's Day / Diageo I am.

That's what all the cool people are doing, right? Maybe throw out a few words like "Sheeple" or "horse piss"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I think people have had too many excuses to be pissed lately, the past two days I've seen drunk d!ickheads screaming, pissing everywhere, throwing rubbish, smashing glasses in the street and general cvuntish behaviour while normal folk are coming home from work.

Zombienosh wrote: »
    I think people have had too many excuses to be pissed lately, the past two days I've seen drunk d!ickheads screaming, pissing everywhere, throwing rubbish, smashing glasses in the street and general cvuntish behaviour while normal folk are coming home from work.

The fallacy in your post is thinking that anyone actually needs an excuse :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭sidcon

I won two tickets to Kodaline in the storehouse, only thing is it's at 12 in the day so going to make it a long session and pray for no hangover on Friday in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I am going to put pressure on the emergency services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Duggy747 wrote: »
    That's what all the cool people are doing, right? Maybe throw out a few words like "Sheeple" or "horse piss"

I think 'Lemmings' is the right word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I was on to SF and we're organising a protest outside Guiness'.

Pints in The Clock afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Never thought you were a hipster.

You learn something new everyday

I am going to put pressure on the emergency services

To go out drinking?

They will be working

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

I call it 'Anti-Diageo' day, because I get together with other friends of like mind and drink good beer, not the utter muck that Diageo pisses out into swill barrels and markets to tastebudless plebs.

My hero.

Two questions:
    1. Do you have a gang?
    2. If so; how do I join? (I'm well cool, I swear, hate all thing mainstream and all that jazz)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I think 'Lemmings' is the right word.

That's usually reserved to be sprayed on walls to mock people on their way to work. :pac:

I think this is a really noble and honest gesture on behalf of Guinness.

Next year he'll be visiting the independent Irish owned Brewerys that although make a far better product Diageo will have muscled out of business.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/guinness-boss-agrees-to-visit-ae-department-on-arthurs-day-29602050.html

I do think Arthurs Day has got very commercial in recent years. It seems like the true meaning of the day has been completely lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

avoiding it like the plague. don't like to be led around by the nose to drink alcohol because the corporation tells me to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Smoking weed. **** you Diageo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

It's March 17th, right?

Smoking weed. **** you Diageo.

420 blaze it up

lol

#swag#YOLO

I plan on have a few lovely pints of Guinness in the pub, as I did last Thursday night except with the added atmosphere, craic and hopefully at least one free pint that Arthur's day brings.

Enjoy what ever muck you're drinking as in my experience an awful lot of the stuff beer snobs like yourself rave about is utter dirt. Look at me I'm so cool because I refuse to drink normal beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Cynical corporate marketing campaign stuff aside, I'll be staying out of town mainly because I cannot handle the level of drunken arseholery this day brings.

Good luck to the emergency service workers, always feel sorry for the poor feckers during these events.

I plan on have a few lovely pints of Guinness in the pub, as I did last Thursday night except with the added atmosphere, craic and hopefully at least one free pint that Arthur's day brings.

Enjoy what ever muck you're drinking as in my experience an awful lot of the stuff beer snobs like yourself rave about is utter dirt.

Any ones in particular?

old hippy wrote: »
    Any ones in particular?

Well people love to rave about the Franscian well in Cork and the stuff they produce is absolute filth not fit for a dog. Porterhouse is ok but their stout isnt a patch on Guinness nor is their ale a patch on Smithwicks.

I've tried a few bottled beers from the porterhouse and most were borderline undrinkable, especially a stout I tried.

Paulaner, erdinger etc again raved about and the smell is enough to make you sick never mind the taste.

I've tried a lot of beers, some are grand some are bad but given the choice there isn't one I'd chose before Guinness or Smithwicks on tap in a pub or cans of bavaria or bottles of corona for the house.

I wouldn't even have posted in the thread except for the beer snob bull s*it I'm reading from people who cannot accept that most people actually prefer the mainstream beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

It amazes me how some people get so caught up in these events whether you're pro or anti.

Just do whatever you want, if you don't like it don't go, if you do great go and enjoy it!

Oh its commercial oh I won't be doing what I'm told by corperations bla bla no one cares...

What is wrong with some people.

I wouldn't even have posted in the thread except for the beer snob bull s*it I'm reading from people who cannot accept that most people actually prefer the mainstream beers.

A lot of people like Michael Buble too but it doesn't mean that he's not ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

They are mainstream because they are successful ! I'm sure if any of the 'craft' beers were selling well , then production would be increased , and then they would become mainstream and therefore undrinkable !!

I drink what I like , not what I see advertised. Currently I drink pints of carling, because I think it's the nicest drink at the moment at my local pub

Well people love to rave about the Franscian well in Cork and the stuff they produce is absolute filth not fit for a dog. Porterhouse is ok but their stout isnt a patch on Guinness nor is their ale a patch on Smithwicks.

I've tried a few bottled beers from the porterhouse and most were borderline undrinkable, especially a stout I tried.

Paulaner, erdinger etc again raved about and the smell is enough to make you sick never mind the taste.

I've tried a lot of beers, some are grand some are bad but given the choice there isn't one I'd chose before Guinness or Smithwicks on tap in a pub or cans of bavaria or bottles of corona for the house.

I'm not a beer slob; I like mainstream stuff too. Guinness, Smithwicks, Red Stripe, Sagres. Some it I can't stomach; Heineken and Budweiser. But I do enjoy the microbreweries, the craft lagers and ales. Living in London, there's so much choice - am really into American brews currently.

And there's lots of beer festivals I enjoy going to as well. Not all of them are remarkable but there's plenty of new finds to discover.

Do most people prefer the mainstream beers? Dunno. At the local beer fest a couple of months ago, half the lads turned up late - they'd been in the local pub drinking the mainstream. Instead of sampling the range of beers at the fest, they'd buy a whole pint of something they'd never tried and then complain about the taste. Whereas the rest of us would buy 3rd pint glasses for anything between 90p and £1.30. That way, you could try so many more beers. And if you didn't like what you were imbibing, well, it's only a 3rd of a pint!

The complainers left after an hour or so to go back to the local :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm not a beer slob

Freudian slip? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Whatever I was going to be doing on that day anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Enjoy what ever muck you're drinking as in my experience an awful lot of the stuff beer snobs like yourself rave about is utter dirt..

You're just engaging in the same fallacy that you're opposing.

The truth is that mainstream beers are not half as bad as craft beer snobs make them out to be and that area has become amusingly colonised by wine-buff levels of snobbery and judgement.

But f you do love something like Guinness or Carlsberg, you're kidding yourself that there are not really nice variants out there that you could try and like very much.

I'm saying this from the viewpoint of somebody that will drink Guinness and Carlsberg no problem but love craft brews as well.

If you go to a pub in Belgium you see a huge long line of taps. Loads of choice.

In Ireland you have a foreign company who have a monopoly on the taps which are, to my taste, bland.

I just can't see how people think this is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I'll be drink beer that comes with no label because the owner can afford to label the bottles. I have to drive to them to pick it up but its only a half an hour away. No point telling ye plebs what its called ye'll be drink the piss water the man tells you to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It amazes me how some people get so caught up in these events whether you're pro or anti.

Just do whatever you want, if you don't like it don't go, if you do great go and enjoy it!
    I haven't seen any pro people getting "caught up", they just say the same as you.

Morons are going on like they never heard of advertising before. One of the, if not the main cost of your pint of guinness is for marketing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Working for a few hours, on my day off mind you, because someone doesn't know how to use contraceptives not too pleased about it either

Ah, well that's... Wait what?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Turned into a commerical day to promote relatively average bands.

First two were decent, but since then they have been trash in my experience. Like I need an excuse to have a drink, or anyone for that matter. They are getting in some drink into the office so might have one before legging it home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Well people love to rave about the Franscian well in Cork

They did until it became too "mainstream". Now they all hate it:P it just proves how hipster some craft beer drinkers have become. I enjoy some craft beers(a lot are crap!) but i NEVER look down on people who decide they like "mainstream" beers. What do i care?

Some mainstream beers are nice. No matter how much marketing a company puts behind a product, if it tastes that bad, it won't sell

As for the topic, i like the idea of Arthurs day, but living in Dublin City makes it a little unpleasant. Might pop out for a couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

EyeSight wrote: »
    They did until it became too "mainstream". Now they all hate it...

That kind of thing amuses me no end. All the Bright Young Things loved the place until a few of the "Squaaaares, Maaan!" discovered it. How sodding adolescent does it get? :D

For the record, I'm having Arthur's Day today, and having a few creamie pints a' plain this evening. In the immortal words of Mr. Eric Cartman, screw you guys! :D

Do most people prefer the mainstream beers? Dunno. At the local beer fest a couple of months ago, half the lads turned up late - they'd been in the local pub drinking the mainstream. Instead of sampling the range of beers at the fest, they'd buy a whole pint of something they'd never tried and then complain about the taste. Whereas the rest of us would buy 3rd pint glasses for anything between 90p and £1.30. That way, you could try so many more beers. And if you didn't like what you were imbibing, well, it's only a 3rd of a pint!

The complainers left after an hour or so to go back to the local :rolleyes:

That wouldn't interest me either to be honest. I'd rather drink pints of what I like and stick to it rather than go around sampling a load of beer most of which I probably wont like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

lkionm wrote: »
    Never thought you were a hipster.

You learn something new everyday

I like good beer and am deffo not a hipster!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

That wouldn't interest me either to be honest. I'd rather drink pints of what I like and stick to it rather than go around sampling a load of beer most of which I probably wont like.

Very self defeatist way of thinking IMO. Always worth expanding your tastes.