Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"I'm 1/4 irish"

• MadsL wrote: »
    It annoys you if someone is born to an Irish mother in Ireland and holds Irish citizenship, but fails to qualify it by saying - I'm half Irish. :confused:

In fairness, someone born in Ireland with one foreign parent saying they're Irish is very different to someone born abroad with one Irish parent/grandparent who has never really spent any time in Ireland saying they're Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

Fad wrote: »
    America is a very young country (most of it anyway) with very little heritage of its own (aside from native american which they sort of tried to erase), I find Irish people dont care too much about their root but Americans are desperate to figure out where they came from, how their family got there and all that jazz.

I used to get very impatient with people who made strained connections between themselves and Ireland, but in reality it makes no real odds to me. They come here, spend a pile of money, head home and fondly remember that time they had a real pint of stout in a 'real' Irish Pub. No real harm done.

that's because in a lot of cases our ancient ancestors came from 15 minutes down the road.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,402 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

It doesn't really bother me, the country is only a few 100 years old. I don't see a problem with someone being proud of or acknowledging their heritage. Do people from Africa get pissed off when a person refers to themself as African American?

I think it's worse when someone doesn't acknowledge/realise they're descended from immigrants tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

tara73 wrote: »
    they do the same with germans/germany. almost everybody has a german granny or grandpa or whatever.
    The biggest ethnic group in the USA is not, Irish or Italian or African its German.

Co-indidently I'm 1/8 German.
    Yes I have 8 parents !!!

Red Kev wrote: »
    You wouldn't be related to the Lloret del Mar O'Neills by any chance ? Or the Santa Ponsa O'neills ?

are they the bunch of plastic paddies who claim to be the chiefs of the clan due to the flight of the earls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Stojkovic wrote: »
    The biggest ethnic group in the USA is not, Irish or Italian or African its German.

Co-indidently I'm 1/8 German.
    Yes I have 8 parents !!!

was your mother a porn actress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

go to boston and say this, they will kill you. irish people see lame americans saying this who wear fanny packs on holidays, in the ghettos in boston being Irish is badass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

This usually doesn't happen with anyone who has black skin though. Jimi Hendrix was part Irish as well as being part native American but most Americans would think of him as being solely African American.

I think it was great that Barack Obama acknowledged he had roots beyond his 'African' roots. When he was elected there was all the talk about him being the first black president, which is somewhat offensive to his mothers side of the family.

I don't really think much of Barack Obama or feel any pride that he considers himself Irish but it's good to see people embrace as much of their heritage as they can.

I do however think if you're talking to someone who isn't American it can be confusing to claim to be a nationality of a country you weren't born in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

If this doesn't russle Op's Jimmies I don't know what will:

http://www.heritagecertificate.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

was your mother a porn actress?
    Still is.

www.GermanMilf.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Russell Peters sums it up well:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    In that case I'm 1/2 English, 1/3 Irish, 1/8 American, 1/16 Scottish.

Dont like them odds.

You're not 1/3 anything.

Since every person ever born has had 2 parents, no more no less, the only fractions that you can have in your ancestry are halves, quarters, sixteenths, thirty-seconds, sixty-fourths etc.
    So, for example, if 7 of your 64 great great great grandparents were Irish, you would be 7/64 Irish.

If you could* trace your ancestry back to your 30x great grandparents - of which there were 4,294,967,296 - and if exactly 1,431,655,765 of them were Irish, then you could say that you were 1,431,655,765/4,294,967,296 Irish. And that fraction reduces down to precisely 1/3.

However, believe it or not, there's no smaller number in that series that is exactly divisible by 3!

* But you can't. So there!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

In fairness, someone born in Ireland with one foreign parent saying they're Irish is very different to someone born abroad with one Irish parent/grandparent who has never really spent any time in Ireland saying they're Irish.

That's because being Irish has different meanings. Get over it.

• That's because being Irish has different meanings. Get over it.

I never said it didn't. That was pretty much my point, in fact. Learn how to follow a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

I never said it didn't. That was pretty much my point, in fact. Learn how to follow a thread.

Sorry my bad. When I read the Irish calling something different, I assume there is also a negative attachment to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It's funny, I keep hearing Irish people complaining about others who claim to be Irish, but aren't *really* Irish.

These are the same types of people who will insist that everyone famous, rich or successful is Irish, because of one great, great, great grandparent being from Ireland.

Seems awfully hypocritical....

Some American girl says she is Irish because some of her family is - and Irish people call her out for it. Those same Irish people will argue that 'the Irish' have single handedly been responsible for the success of the United States and explain how half of the US presidents were Irish because their great, great, great, great, Grandfather took an Irish cruise once.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Born in England to Irish parents, moved here when I was 14 and I'm now 27. So I've lived in Ireland for half my life. I have been called the following:

Irish bastard
    English bastard
    fenian
    hun
    orange bastard
    tan
    paddy
    pom
    mick
    etc...

I get called those depending on whether you identify me by accent or by my heritage. I'm English to everyone here but as I soon as I set foot in England I become an Irish paddy again. Meh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

That's you because the trip from the wehst, would have been too long back then, I really meant Dublin and surrounding counties:)

Even the surrounding counties have maternity hospitals.

God, and people think Americans are ignorant. Look no further than the Dub.

Tee shirts get yer tee shirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

UCDVet wrote: »
    It's funny, I keep hearing Irish people complaining about others who claim to be Irish, but aren't *really* Irish.

These are the same types of people who will insist that everyone famous, rich or successful is Irish, because of one great, great, great grandparent being from Ireland.

Seems awfully hypocritical....

Some American girl says she is Irish because some of her family is - and Irish people call her out for it. Those same Irish people will argue that 'the Irish' have single handedly been responsible for the success of the United States and explain how half of the US presidents were Irish because their great, great, great, great, Grandfather took an Irish cruise once.

I can't say I've come across a whole lot of that tbh. Certainly not as much as people who claim to be Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭Rubeter

ill list some towns in leinster outside dublin with hospitals at least 50 years old for you

all of which delivered babies

drogheda
    cavan
    longford
    athlone
    tullamore
    portlaoise
    kilkenny
    naas
    wexford
    waterford

:eek: Annexation???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Usually said by an American.
    Always hated this ****e, used to come up in chatrooms back in the day..

American:"Im half irish"
    Me:Really? Where were you born?
    American: Chicago
    Me : You're American so.
    American:No...you see my great grand papa was irish he lived in the county of Cork.
    Me: You have an irish relative, You were born in the USA , You are 100% American.

Another one: im 1/4 irish
    Me: Wow do you have 4 parents??
    Them:.....

I'm 1/4 American OP.

AH seems like its been on repeat recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

American:No...you see my great grand papa was irish he lived in the county of Cork.
    Me: You have an irish relative, You were born in the USA , You are 100% American.

Why do you care what someone on the far side of the world thinks about themselves?

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭cupcake83

Some Americans (like me) do genealogy and we do know where our ancestors mostly came from. It's important to some of us to pass along to our children and theirs etc. Why mock us? I tell people I'm an American but my grandparent were from Scotland,Ireland etc. so what? We should know our families stories!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

Even the surrounding counties have maternity hospitals.

God, and people think Americans are ignorant. Look no further than the Dub.

Tee shirts get yer tee shirts.

Yiz were all born in Dublin, admit it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I'm 1/4 Mayo.

The sad 1/4. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Compu Global Hyper Meganet

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.
    Of course, when someone whose great great grandfather emigrated to the US declares themselves Irish, it's not remotely true. But why not take it as a compliment when they do? I've never been to the US in my life, but it's nice to think that if I ever do head over, my accent may ensure that I'm treated well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

This kind of thing used to piss me off majorly.

Then I grew up, built a bridge, got over it when I realised that there are more important things to be angry about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Just something that entered my head this morning.
    Im sure ill have something else to moan about tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

I worked in a sports bar in NY during the summer and an American girl I worked with told me she was 3/4 Irish...that was my entertainment for that night sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Meangadh wrote: »
    Hahaha! For feck's sake!

At the time I was born there were actually two hospitals in my home town where babies were born. Only one now although it's a bigger maternity area.
    there were three fully functioning hospitals in the town I grew up in and one was a maternity hospital specifically. Nearly 40 years ago too and it wasn't Dublin or Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

pharmaton wrote: »
    there were three fully functioning hospitals in the town I grew up in and one was a maternity hospital specifically. Nearly 40 years ago too and it wasn't Dublin or Cork.

Exactly. As if everyone from as far as South Kilkenny or Longford or South Wexford would all have been expected to go to Dublin to give birth.

Anyway, back on topic. OP you've little to bother you if this is occupying your thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I'm 1/60000000th star child, because SCIENCE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

pharmaton wrote: »

All lies, yiz are all Dubs:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I'm half man half amazing.

G'wan you auld hermaphrodite :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

ColmH81 wrote: »
    As long as they don't call Paddy's Day "Patty's Day", then they can claim all the Irish heritage they want.. Ha

It's because for decades the Irish immigrants were giving out about "Paddy" being used as a discriminatory slur. They are erring on the side of caution.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Funny, I would have shared the same view up until January 26th this year when my little girl was born in Seattle.

I am from Dublin, have lived all my life in Ireland up until the last 1 1/2 years, my wife is American but you can be sure my little girl will know about Ireland and will have dual citizenship.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Has anyone done the:

Leprechaun: have ye a bit o Irish in ya, girlie?
    American girl: no...
    Leprechaun: would ya like a bit (mini pelvic thrust)?

joke yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Don't know if you've heard about this OP,:eek::eek:
    But the original North Americans were indigenous Indians so U.S citizens of European stock commonly refer to their ancestry for self identification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Born in England to Irish parents, moved here when I was 14 and I'm now 27. So I've lived in Ireland for half my life. I have been called the following:
    Irish bastard, English bastard,fenian,hun,orange bastard,tan,paddy,pom,mick
    etc...I get called those depending on whether you identify me by accent or by my heritage. I'm English to everyone here but as I soon as I set foot in England I become an Irish paddy again. Meh....

You have more titles than the Prince of Wales!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

That's you because the trip from the wehst, would have been too long back then, I really meant Dublin and surrounding counties:)

"Wehst"? Only those who have a basic knowledge of phonetics sufficient to correctly represent the sounds they wish to convey are qualified to adopt a snobbish attitude to the West.

I meet people practically every day that tell me they are Irish. At first I used ask when their forefathers arrived here. Lots of them would not know. But I now understand their need to find a defining factor in their ancestry. Nothing wrong with that. It's the same in Australia/NZ, except there they didn't have as much of a racial immigrant mix - until relatively recently.
    Irish people should be proud of the fact that so many different people in a conglomerate mix should choose Ireland above the others to being their identity.
    Even the WASPS are softening their rigid stance but you can still find nests of the old order - if you look hard enough. :)

Irish bastard
    English bastard
    fenian
    hun
    orange bastard
    tan
    paddy
    pom
    mick
    etc...

I get called those depending on whether you identify me by accent or by my heritage. I'm English to everyone here but as I soon as I set foot in England I become an Irish paddy again. Meh....

Congratulations Flynn! You are one of us .......... and them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

Bowlardo wrote: »
    There are two types of people in the world......those who are Irish and those who wish they were!

What about the ones who aren't and don't? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Mickcarmdy

A bit of a depressing thread for this 2nd generation American of Irish decent. I had no idea that "real" Irish looked down upon us for spending our dollars in the pubs, or buying the crap that sells in tourist destinations. I'll have to ask my "culchie" cousins in Clare how they feel about the cousins in the States who sent them money back in the day. The U.S. cousins who put multiple generations through school and University. The U.S. cousins who come to visit, and still give to their cousins in Eire. The U.S. cousins that sponsor those that want to immigrate. You're right. The real Irish are sitting in the Nora Hinchey's downing a pint and laughing at their stupid U.S. cousins, while waiting for Friday to come around so they can collect their dole. Some things never change.

Carmody...

100% Clare made, American born.

Up The Banner

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mickcarmdy wrote: »
    A bit of a depressing thread for this 2nd generation American of Irish decent. I had no idea that "real" Irish looked down upon us for spending our dollars in the pubs, or buying the crap that sells in tourist destinations.

I think you are getting overly concerned with a few posts on the internet. Most Irish people don't look down on anyboday but the vocal few sometimes make it seem that way. Similarly most Americans do no look down on anyone but if Americans were to be judged by online comments it would often give a sad reflection of the nation as a whole. Don't let it worry you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

A bit of a depressing thread for this 2nd generation American of Irish decent. I had no idea that "real" Irish looked down upon us for spending our dollars in the pubs, or buying the crap that sells in tourist destinations. I'll have to ask my "culchie" cousins in Clare how they feel about the cousins in the States who sent them money back in the day. The U.S. cousins who put multiple generations through school and University. The U.S. cousins who come to visit, and still give to their cousins in Eire. The U.S. cousins that sponsor those that want to immigrate. You're right. The real Irish are sitting in the Nora Hinchey's downing a pint and laughing at their stupid U.S. cousins, while waiting for Friday to come around so they can collect their dole. Some things never change.

Carmody...

Up The Banner

Jayus man if you take what people say on AH as gospel you've a lot more to be dealing with than if you're Irish or American.

For the record (not that you should give a crap) I'd call you Irish. Will you sponsor me?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Carmody...

Up The Banner

The emigrants who sent back all that money that allowed the Irish who stayed home to continue to sit on their arses were not respected at all. The stay at homes resented those who got away, and saw the money they were sent as their due. Precious little thanks or care about the ones who sent it.

Nothing changes much in Ireland, as you said. Just smallmindedness and begrudgery all around.

Carmody...

Up The Banner

I wouldn't worry, it's hard enough to convince the people of After Hours that a person from northern ireland is irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Carmody...

Up The Banner

I know 100% that you don't mean it to be, but that has got to be one of the most patronising, condescending posts I've seen here.

No offense like.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Mickcarmdy

Condescending? No offense meant.