Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards Golf Society 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭TLOA72

Hadn't played in a month and shot 82 (off 15 nett 67) for second place. Going to play 12 times a year any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Alanm

Permission has been granted for Galway.. Looks like a fair bit of accomodation was booked earlier, is there still room somewhere for me?

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Alanm wrote: »
    Permission has been granted for Galway.. Looks like a fair bit of accomodation was booked earlier, is there still room somewhere for me?

Think Charlie has booked a few rooms in the travel lodge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Lads, I've booked in to a twin room on the Friday night in the Maldron hotel in Oranmore. Bout 15 minutes from the golf course.

If someone is planning on being down there the night before, they're welcome to bunk with me. Room cost us €119 (I assume that's room rate, will ring & confirm first sure if anyone interested)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Lads, I've booked in to a twin room on the Friday night in the Maldron hotel in Oranmore. Bout 15 minutes from the golf course.

If someone is planning on being down there the night before, they're welcome to bunk with me. Room cost us €119 (I assume that's room rate, will ring & confirm first sure if anyone interested)

Might just do that. Won't know for deffo though till nearer the time

Ah well boll@#s!!!
    Looks like I won't get out. Big work awards the day before away and overnight included.
    Might get to see ye after the golf for a quick pint. Feck it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Ben1977 wrote: »

Still 20 spots booked!

I'll need 100% confirmation who is staying there by the 14th in order to cancel to extra rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Still 20 spots booked!

I'll need 100% confirmation who is staying there by the 14th in order to cancel to extra rooms.

I am 100% in

Golfgraffix CharlieIRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Anyone have an online course guide?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

Played it about 4 weeks ago and really loved it. Clubhouse doesnt have Stroke Saver but easy enough to find your way around and I think most hazards can be seen from tee box / fairway.
    Sorry cant give you more information but that was first time we played it, along with two other new (to us) courses over long weekend so a little bit of a blur but was well worth it
    Edit: meant to say I searched online in a lot of places for any course info but found little or nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,421 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Keep it in the fairway, hit it on the greens ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,958 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I am 100% in

Nice to see captain is 100 % - :P

I'll know more at weekend - was 100 % , but something out of my control has come up.

Rikand wrote: »
    Keep it in the fairway, hit it on the greens ;)

where's the fun in that?:D:D

Golfgraffix CharlieIRL Spacecoyote

Fixed your list

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭a post punk

Still 20 spots booked!

100%charlie

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭a post punk

I am 100% in

Nice to see captain is 100 % - :P

I'll know more at weekend - was 100 % , but something out of my control has come up.
    Tiger woods announced comeback mabye??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Macker1

Any chance of the official table for the society being updated with the results/points from Esker Hills.

Nice to see the standings before the last event in Galway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

The captain is tied up with work and travel. I am sure he will have it updated before the big day :)

Lads, anyone driving down from Dublin who would have enough space to offer me a lift - struggling to get the car off herself :(

Golfgraffix
    CharlieIRL
    Spacecoyote
    apostpunk

Golfgraffix
    CharlieIRL
    Spacecoyote
    apostpunk

Myself and Brendan141

Golfgraffix
    CharlieIRL
    Spacecoyote
    apostpunk
    ben1977
    Brendan141

recycled wrote: »
    your in - 1 remaiming

Is there still a space going as Roadrunner is in if it's still available?

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭recycled

Is there still a space going as Roadrunner is in if it's still available?

Grand that's the last place filled.

So are we going out in reverse order again? I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

So are we going out in reverse order again? I

Absolutely

I have the captains prize delivered. Managed to get a boards society polo shirt signed by Jack Nickluas, will get it framed this week.

So something nice to play for.

J

Absolutely

I have the captains prize delivered. Managed to get a boards society polo shirt signed by Jack Nickluas, will get it framed this week.

So something nice to play for.

J

And what do I get with my wooden spoon? :(

Thought you had timed your return to form nicely for the captains Ben?

Let's just say, I've maxed out on 0.1s and only hit the buffer 3 times this year.
    So yes I'm peaking for the Capts wooden spoon :)

Golfgraffix
    CharlieIRL
    Spacecoyote
    apostpunk
    ben1977
    Brendan141

I'm definitely in.

BigChap: are you still looking for a lift?

Alanm wrote: »
    I'm definitely in.

BigChap: are you still looking for a lift?

Sorted now thanks but cheers for asking

Just to let ye know that there will be a speed golf challenge taking part there on Saturday evening at 5.

I know ye will be heading back to the hotels and bars of Galway but if ye are still around it might be fun to see some quick golf and by quick it took Rob Hogan (former world champion) 35 minutes to play the full course and shot 5 over.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 ThecHamp26

Sorry lads just got the news I have to Work Saturday so I won't be able to make it on Saturday to the captains , hope you all have a good one .... Really snapping I can't make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Macker1

Unfortunately I find myself in the same boat regarding work getting in the way. I won't be able to make it on Saturday to play in Galway. Its really frustrating as I was really looking forward to it. I wish all the players the best of luck and I hope the Captains Day is blessed with some great weather and great golf.

Best of luck J

you still planning to head down on Friday?

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

TLOA72 wrote: »
    Just to let ye know that there will be a speed golf challenge taking part there on Saturday evening at 5.

I know ye will be heading back to the hotels and bars of Galway but if ye are still around it might be fun to see some quick golf and by quick it took Rob Hogan (former world champion) 35 minutes to play the full course and shot 5 over.

Oh my God! The rest of us wouldn't get near 5 over par if we were out there for 5 hours and he can shoot it in 35 minutes! :eek:

Can we play off the blues? :) they are only just over 7000 yards

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

And stroke instead of stableford

Suits me......Real Golf :D

Seve OB wrote: »
    you still planning to head down on Friday?

Yeah, still booked in for Friday evening Seve

Sure I'll double up with ya so. Will drop you a text during the week. Might try head early on Friday and get a game in somewhere

No problem Seve. I assume you have my number through Teamer?

I won't have the car until probably around 3.30/4pm at the earliest, so would be struggling for a game early, unless you want to do a bit of car pooling?

No problem Seve. I assume you have my number through Teamer?

I won't have the car until probably around 3.30/4pm at the earliest, so would be struggling for a game early, unless you want to do a bit of car pooling?

Don't mind that at all. Are you working or anything on Friday? I hope to get day off, but might have to come in the morning. Where you based again for a pickup?

Was thinking New Forest, Open comp €20 and it's basically on the way

Don't mind that at all. Are you working or anything on Friday? I hope to get day off, but might have to come in the morning. Where you based again for a pickup?

Was thinking New Forest, Open comp €20 and it's basically on the way

I'm off for the day, so flexible on time. Living in City West, so shouldn't take you majorly off route

ok so, we'll sort something out so over next day or 2

While i think of it, I missed out on collecting prize earlier in the year.. Could i get em in Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Golfgraffix
    CharlieIRL
    Spacecoyote
    apostpunk
    ben1977
    Brendan141

I'm not going to be able to stay over unfortunately. Had a tennis semi-final tonight which we won so have to play the final on Saturday evening. If it's possible to play the golf and make it back for the tennis I'll do that but I won't know until later in the week if that's a runner. Sorry to be missing the night out. :mad

Golfgraffix
    CharlieIRL
    Spacecoyote
    apostpunk
    ben1977
    Brendan141
    apostpunk
    alanm

Any last takers??

so only 6 staying in the travel lodge? Need to cancel the rest of the rooms today

Was planning to stay but looks like I need to be at home first thing Sunday :(