Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best place for driving lessons?

Options
  • 23-06-2005 4:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure if this is the right forum, but it's the best one I could find to suit. Please feel free to move it if it's not.

I've just got my provisional license and I need to get some driving lessons. I've never driven a car before, I've never even sat in the drivers seat if I'm honest, so I'm a complete beginner. I'd imagine I'd pick things up quite fast (after all, my mam can bloody well drive! ;) ), but wanna start off with the basics.

Can anyone suggest the best place for lessons around Dublin? I'm in Castleknock myself but I guess once the location is reachable and worthwhile then I can do them ...

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Dollymount Strand for the basics of vehicle controls.

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

Any driving instructors I've seen about my area will pick you up at your home, which saves you the hassle of trying to get to a driving school. The small schools, the one instructor type, should offer this service.

Don't know what the going rate is, but for bikes, the rate is about 30 per hour. You should expect to take 10 hours of good instruction to become reasonably competent. I wouldn't block book 10 lessons with one instructor in case your not happy with instruction and want to change.