Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Summer

• 29-06-2014 12:59am
    Registered Users Posts: 36

What's an Irish Summer?

Bulmers. Forty Foot, Sweating on the Dart?

It's not that great really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Cos Dublin's shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Lotus2014 wrote: »
    What's an Irish Summer?

DUBLIN FORUM.......!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Lotus2014

FearDark wrote: »
    Cos Dublin's shyte.

Agree

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    DUBLIN FORUM.......!!!!!

Sorry. Black socks, tk red lemonade, rivers, mass, plastic bags, misery

I spent my youth playing on pikes of hay and kicking ball in the sunshine. You probably spent yours hanging around outside Pennys in a pair of those tracksuit pants that had the buttons all the way up shouting "bleedin whaaa" at passers by ya jackeen ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

What is the point of red lemonade? Why make lemonade red?

Red lemonade is awesome, tastes way different to d'other muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Well the flavour is different for one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

What the heck is going on ???. I couldn't sleep for the last few nights because of the humidity, and now for the first time I had to close my bedroom window because it is 5° Celsius ? where did the summer go ? Damn cold now with that sudden change of temperature, in swords Co. Dublin.

What the heck is going on ???. I couldn't sleep for the last few nights because of the humidity, and now for the first time I had to close my bedroom window because it is 5° Celsius ? where did the summer go ? Damn cold now with that sudden change of temperature.

Winter is coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Seapoint. Portmarnock. Picnics in the Wicklow hills. Pavement cafés and happy drinkers outside pubs and beside the canal. Walking barefoot through sand dunes. Dozing in gardens. Cold dinners of chicken, ham, and salad.
    Happy times!

I spent my youth playing on pikes of hay and kicking ball in the sunshine. You probably spent yours hanging around outside Pennys in a pair of those tracksuit pants that had the buttons all the way up shouting "bleedin whaaa" at passers by ya jackeen ya.

So sorry, reading back on my post I sounded horrible. Brought up in Dublin, family in West Cork. Best childhood ever, had best of both worlds, sorry again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Summer for me is days with all the windows open, flies coming in and out....who am I kidding, they never go out.

The smell of freshly cut grass, the stickiness on your skin, your hair feeling damp with sweat, leather sofas feeling cool on your skin but then sticking to the backs of your thighs.

Summer is sitting in the back garden, your arm leaning on the table which is actually too hot to lean on.

Gulping down tepid water or if you're lucky, ice-cold cider.

Eating salads or barbecued burgers. Drinking cool wine; the glass with its' condensation on the outside as a dribble of water runs down it.

The smell of Malibu sun cream.

Shops selling out of ice-pops.

The radio on loud in the garden.

Going to bed at night-a moth in your room. The window open. Sleeping under a cool sheet because the duvet is too warm.

Waking during the night because you're too cold and wrapping the duvet around your cold limbs.

I should be a poet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What's an Irish Summer?

forty foot is a beach? (not familiar with the term)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Seeing the next door neighbour sunbathing , braless

It is now 4° C in Dublin. That has got to be a record for june. It could snow

Eh, it's 12c.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Eh, it's 12c.

It says 4° C at Dublin airport and that's where I am. it does feel like it though.
    The Irish Meteorological Service Mainly dry overnight, with clear intervals in most areas, but some mist and fog patches will develop. Minimum temperatures 6 to 10 Celsius, in a light northerly or variable breeze.

Well it fell two degrees lower so. That has got to be a record for lowest temperature for June 2014 surely.

Jaysus Bong, you're not wrong.
    Went out to get something from the car and all the windows are actually misted over and when I exhaled, I could see my breath!
    Is this not June?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Seeing the next door neighbour sunbathing , braless

Was that a play on the Mastercard priceless thing? If so I give you credit.

If not i give myself credit for reading it that way

And nobody highlight the word credit my mind did that already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Midgets, not the small people, the insects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,811 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Midges?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

So not midgets then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

lertsnim wrote: »
    Midges?

Yes midgets.

If you look at the clear night-spell on the east pic below, this is where it dropped down to 4°C for 30 minutes thereabouts, and then a bit of cloud came over and it popped up to 6°C.

Midges man. The flying little fat things that eat your scalp. http://www.wicklowmountainsnationalpark.ie/Midges.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭chrissb8

What's an Irish Summer?

Stop moaning. Ireland owes you nothing for a good summer it's been providing the weather this year. Up to you to seize it and that. Go swimming, eat BBQ, do exercise out in it, drink out in it, go look at how amazing the mundane looks in the sun and most of all stop expecting a great summer to just happen go make one.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We don't have a summer, we're not school teachers or a lecturer at one of Ireland's globally low ranked universities.

The majoritory of us here work and we work hard, some for instance in self employed professions. Holidays are a luxury many people can't afford to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Was that a play on the Mastercard priceless thing? If so I give you credit.

If not i give myself credit for reading it that way

And nobody highlight the word credit my mind did that already

Credit to both ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Worst part of the summer; footing turf on the bog..........god I still hate the place
    Best part; swimming in the river

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Days spent in Fort Lucan and Clara Lara

Crappy summer camps, that on the face of it, were actually quite fun.

Eating dinner outside, with the wasps harassing me.

Trips down the country for a weekend, the excitement of it. Going to see a band outdoors and having some beer.

A trip to Teddy's to get an 99. The simple things in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I remember that summer in Dublin,
    And the Liffey as it stank like hell,
    And young people walking down Grafton Street,
    Everyone looking so well.
    I was singing a song I heard somewhere,
    Called "Rock'n'Roll Never Forget",
    When my humming was smothered by the 46A,
    And the scream of a low flying jet.
    So, I jumped on a bus to Dun Laoghaire,
    Stopping off to pick up my guitar,
    When a drunk on a bus told me how to get rich,
    I was glad we weren't going too far (1980)

Who here remembers the summer of 1976 ? Bygorra you could fry an egg on a rock if you had an egg...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I wasn't born till 88 but I love Bagetelle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

visiting the morgue to see whos dead as us country folk do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

visiting the morgue to see whos dead as us country folk do

Wtf country are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Cos Dublin's shyte.

Every fookin opportunity!
    The answer is to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The Irish Summer is

Skangers in day glo coloured Penneys tat, usually with a bizarre shade of orange fake tan

Scumbags in vests exhibiting their blue homemade/prison tattoos

Humidity

Not being able to leave your bedroom window open at night because various neighbours are out partying in their gardens until the early hours of the morning.

Your skin feeling damp and sticky from the humidity.

People confusing heat with humidity.

Lobster coloured idiots who seem to think that sun protection is for wimps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Summer to me is:

1. Footing Turf

2. Shearing sheep

3. Making hay

4. Bringing home the turf

5. Three football matches every weekend

Going to the local on every Friday, Saturday night then all day Sunday after mass to talk to the neighbours about the above 1-5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

That sounds class. Do you do any summer exchanges where a dublin toerag like myself would get the summer culchie experience?

In exchange I would be willing to show you around Dr. Quirkeys for 20 minutes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

That sounds class. Do you do any summer exchanges where a dublin toerag like myself would get the summer culchie experience?

In exchange I would be willing to show you around Dr. Quirkeys for 20 minutes?

Ha! I'm up for it if you are! I'll even sent home a bag a turf and a home made brown soda cake with you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Erm

- Working.
    - Working some more.
    - Seeing on Facebook all the fun people are having at the beach,
    - not being able to drive or take the bus properly, cos all the nobs from the rest of Dublin come here when its sunny cos we have a beach
    - Discussing with other locals '****ing townies'
    - Keeping the blinds closed so I can watch the tv.
    - ****ing flies.