Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Be careful... This is a man....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

So what. Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Looks very masculine to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Thanks for the heads up. I'd be pretty embarrassed masturbating to a transgender miss universe contestant.

Now if you'll excuse me I've some Korean fart porn to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

It does look like a bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No need to be careful if you're not going there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Thread title misleading. Offensive, even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Does the OP work for Paddy Power marketing?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

She is clearly not a man.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Transgender Miss Universe contestant takes to the stage for bikini and evening gown rounds at pageant

Jenna Talackova, 23 (pictured), was among 62 other women competing for the coveted crown tonight in Toronto. Miss Talackova, from Vancouver, who was born a man but underwent sex-change surgery four years ago, took part in swimwear and evening gown rounds.

Full Story:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2146196/Jenna-Talackova-Transgender-Miss-Universe-Canada-Contestant-takes-pageant.html

WTF is the world coming to

Not many coming to that I doubt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I know, in my day transexuals were just considered weird, homosexuals kicked around, hetrosexuals normal as long as it wasn't buggery or any of that fancy stuff and paedophilia, well that never happened at all.

Opinions change, shocking stuff.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Ya still would though wouldn't ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

you mean the manly looking one? thats a foot taller than the others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

It'd take some balls to have that op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

danniemcq wrote: »
    you mean the manly looking one? thats a foot taller than the others?

Still shorter than Maria Sharapova.

And manly? Must be a new definition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

More liberal and scornful of bigotry like yours, hopefully.

don't think she looks manly, looks very well

yer wan from that housewives dublin show looks more manly!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

I have no problem meeting interesting people but walking through the streets of Dublin at night now thats something to be careful of :D

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

I used to have a coffee table. I replaced the legs for longer ones. Now it's a desk.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Be careful... This is a man....

You should probably look up the definition of Transgender.
    She is a woman now and no longer a man.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

OK, OP, I'll try to spell it out in easy stages that you can understand::rolleyes:

1. She is not a man. She once was, but is now a woman and recognised as one by the authorities and her official documentation.:) It happens, even in Ireland. Indeed, a landmark decision by the Equality Tribunal last year meant a major step forward in recognition of the human rights of transgendered people.:D

http://www.humanrights.ie/index.php/2011/04/27/guest-post-a-step-towards-the-protection-of-the-rights-of-transgender-people/

This is the judge's decision and it makes interesting reading:

http://www.west-info.eu/files/Equality-Tribunal.pdf

(Pretty smart judge. Sample from her decision: "Transsexualism is a recognised medical condition. Transsexualism is treated by a combination of hormone therapy, surgery (in some cases) and 'real life experience', that is, living as a member of the other sex. To gain 'real life experience' the person must be able to live their life continuously in the other sex without the need to revert to the birth sex. It is clear that for such experience to be relevant and appropriate the person must be able to interact with the society as a whole."

2. Your advice to "be careful" is rather strange, as she doesn't look at all dangerous.:) If you ever come across someone like her in real life, you would be well advised to treat her with the respect that she undoubtedly deserves. And bear in mind that it could cost you if you violate her rights.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

As already stated, she's a woman, not a man.
    Physically, hormonally, emotionally, mentally, she's a woman.

I don't know why some people get so bothered about transgender people. It doesn't affect them. I guess some people have a very limited conception about what sex and gender are and get freaked out by anything that doesn't fit into their worldview, instead of attempting to understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,305 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

She's a woman, but she's not a baby making woman. Each to their own. As far as I can tell, she's not harming anyone.

I will say, though, that if a woman can change her look with plastic, why shouldn't a man remake himself into a woman and enter the beauty contest?

On the plus side, you can annoy the bigots with two questions :pac:
    "Where you fapping to her?"
    "Do you know she used to be a he?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If the person HAD a sex change - they are not a man....

Title wrong and frankly why should one be careful now of a WOMAN!

OP exposes their true feelings about such people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

I have seen plenty of women less attractive than her. Fair play to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I'm not understanding why it'd be against the rules of the competition for a transgender person to enter :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Would it bother you if you started meeting a transgender person and a year down the line she/he told you that they were born a different sex?

*This is only a question so PC brigade - relax*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Biggins wrote: »

Apparently quantum physics is at a macroscopic level now, where someone is both a man and a woman simultaneously until they make a decision, Schroedingers sex.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    Would it bother you if you started meeting a transgender person and a year down the line she/he told you that they were born a different sex?

No, I'd be happy they trusted me enough to share what could be a difficult thing to talk about.

Why would "pc" people be up in arms over that question, that imaginary group of people are the ones who simply wouldn't care if you were transgendered or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Guess what - trans people live everywhere amongst us and They're not some sort of freakshow for you to tut over

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

No.

At the end of the day (for me) they suffered badly from a medical condition that from birth, left them confused and screwed up, to put it mildly.
    They have have gone after much pain and time, to seek help, found the medical help eventually, saw an end to their medical problem and got on with their lives.

If it bothered me, I would be the problem, not them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

No. Obviously it would take a little getting used to, but they'd still be the same person.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭dm09

Happened to poor Roy Cropper in Cornation Street, although that Hayley is unreal so ya could forgive him for looking the other way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

IMO she actually looks very well in side face profile, which is where the game is often given away by a manly jawline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Biggins wrote: »

Title wrong and frankly why should one be careful now of a WOMAN!

OP exposes their true feelings about such people?

A transgender person doesn't need a 'sex change' to define their gender, the operation is merely a physical thing. They can still be female/male even if they have the wrong bits and bobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

so... was michael jackson a white man?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    A transgender person doesn't need a 'sex change' to define their gender, the operation is merely a physical thing. They can still be female/male even if they have the wrong bits and bobs.

True.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I think people are taking the OP a little too seriously. He was obviously being lighthearted. Some people seem to be just looking out for stuff to be offended by.

In regards yer wan, fair play to her, she looks great and I'd probably give her a dose myself. I've no issue with the transgender thing (particularly when done so well) but isnt transgender a more accurate description than woman, a sort of third sex rather than lump it in with one or the other (I believe they already do this in Australia http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/travel/news-and-trends/travel-news/australians-have-third-option-for-gender-on-passports/article2167802/ ) I mean hormones and surgery are fine but isnt your sex really a chromosomal thing, xx xy and all that jazz.
    Plus life experience living as a woman is one thing but unless you've come through some of the most important times of that eg, puberty, surely you're missing out on something.

No. Obviously it would take a little getting used to, but they'd still be the same person.

Just in case you are wondering, I put in she/he, not to insult people, but because I was talking about male to female and vice versa transgender people.

I'm sorry I probably seem like a right c*nt, but I wouldn't be able to have relations with a transgender person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

OP I thank you for your warning.

Even she probably won't touch me with a barge pole, you have saved me from the humiliation of riding a transgender :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

The problem crookedjack is that there are trans people living amongst us all. Indeed only last week I met a trans guy in an all girls school in a town near where the OP lives. They are human beings not freakshows. I do take Transphobia seriously when trans friends of mine tell me that their experiences where trans people are constantly harassed and abused in Ireland.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Anyone else think she is trolling everyone with her name....
    Jenna Talackova...JennataLackova....Genital Lackofa....lack of balls!!

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

Transgender Miss Universe contestant takes to the stage for bikini and evening gown rounds at pageant

Jenna Talackova, 23 (pictured), was among 62 other women competing for the coveted crown tonight in Toronto. Miss Talackova, from Vancouver, who was born a man but underwent sex-change surgery four years ago, took part in swimwear and evening gown rounds.

Full Story:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2146196/Jenna-Talackova-Transgender-Miss-Universe-Canada-Contestant-takes-pageant.html

Be careful... This is a man.... ??
    You and the dailymail are well matched......... two more Knobs that need to go!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

check out that Adam's Apple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Still shorter than Maria Sharapova.

And manly? Must be a new definition.

really?

huh nah i was just going on the pics on the site, towering over the other contestants and there is something not quite off but different.

Don't get me wrong if i wasn't told that she transgender i would not have guessed but if someone asked which one was i think i woulda nailed it got it right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I'm sure they're nice girls.

OP protest too much me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Kind of hard to answer without experiencing it but I reckon id be more annoyed that she'd not told me earlier. Most of us want kids at a certain stage and if you dont want or cant have them id like to know earlier then a year into a relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

The problem crookedjack is that there are trans people living amongst us all. Indeed only last week I met a trans guy in an all girls school in a town near where the OP lives. They are human beings not freakshows. I do take Transphobia seriously when trans friends of mine tell me that their experiences where trans people are constantly harassed and abused in Ireland.

That's terrible and should stop, but it's nothing to do with anything I just said.
    My point was, firstly, that the impression I got was that the OP was just being light hearted. If anything what he said pointed to the overall success of her efforts to switch gender as it clearly took him by surprise.
    And secondly, that I just think transgender is a more accurate term than woman, mainly because our sex is determined by our chromosomes.
    At no point did i advocate discrimination, inequality, harassment or abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

She is very pretty, why shouldn't she take part?