Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cage Warriors 72 tonight

• 13-09-2014 1:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭

Facebook prelims are at 7.45pm Irish time, followed by the main card on Setanta Sports 1 and IrishMMA.tv at 9pm

MAIN CARD | 9pm local time BST (4pm ET, 1pm PT)

Cory Tait vs. Toni Tauru - vacant CWFC bantamweight world title bout
    Jack Marshman vs. Che Mills
    Mateusz Gamrot vs. Tim Newman
    Steve Dinsdale vs. Lewis Long
    Jordan Desborough vs. Kris Edwards

FACEBOOK PRELIMS | 7.45pm local time BST (2.45pm ET, 11.45am PT)

Mario Saeed vs. Azi Thomas
    Nick Nembhard vs. Simas Norkus
    Paulina Bonkowska vs. Kate Jackson

UNAIRED PRELIMS | 7.00pm local time BST (2pm ET, 11am PT)

Phil Raeburn vs. Damien Weeden
    LJ Adams vs. Amanda Kelly

Full details HERE.

• Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭CageWarriors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

This is on premier sports from 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Mario Saeed gets hit with a weak illegal upkick and pretends to be knocked out and gets the win by DQ? Wtf that better be overturned. What a complete muppet that guy is I hope CageWarriors never let him fight again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,944 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Davei141 wrote: »
    Guy gets hit with a weak illegal upkick and pretends to be knocked out and gets the win by DQ? Wtf that better be overturned. What a complete muppet that guy is I hope CageWarriors never let him fight again.

That was crap, sorta known Azi for years, he's from the same North Wales town as me, dad is Mickey Thomas the ex- Utd, Chelsea, Wrexham legend.

No way was he knocked out, was def faking it, the way he fell was just wrong.

scudzilla wrote: »
    That was crap, known Azi for years, he's from the same North Wales town as me, dad is Mickey Thomas the ex- Utd, Chelsea, Wrexham legend.

No way was he knocked out, was def faking it, the way he fell was just wrong.

He looked at the ref then just played dead. It was embarrassing and Marc Goddard fell for it hook line and sinker. Fair play to Azi Thomas for keeping his cool. The bloody cheek of Saeed to say he wants a rematch and how hard he worked for this fight.

I think it'll all come out when it's replayed a lot

Gif of the "Knock out".

EnchantingPowerlessCub.gif

you can actually see him say to the ref after the kick before falling like a sack of spuds

Great come back from from Lewis Long! Was absolutely rocked to his boots twice and managed to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

To be fair he was hit on the temple pretty hard. Looked genuine to me. A bit odd all the same

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    To be fair he was hit on the temple pretty hard. Looked genuine to me. A bit odd all the same

Come off it! Still managed to say it to the ref that he was upkicked then magically KO'd to the floor. Genuine it was not.

Ah ye but how many times have you seen a lad get hit, wobble then go down and out. This guy got a genuine belt to the temple was on the way down and out.

Fair point some people wobble but they don't make a plea to the ref that they just got upkicked

Maybe as he was falling he shouted "TIIIMMMMMBBBBEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRR!"

Yeah and people might get wobbled and lose balance they don't just go out cold without anymore damage. Just look at the way he is lying for feck sake! Everything about it is unnatural and not many people will believe that was anything but cynical playacting.

http://middleeasy.com/fighting/item/14181-dude-gets-upkicked-looks-at-the-ref-and-complains-then-drifts-into-unconsiousness

Devastator wrote: »
    Fair point some people wobble but they don't make a plea to the ref that they just got upkicked

Lets say a guy standing sometimes has 2 seconds before he's goes out. In that 2 seconds he wobbles and goes down then out....often a few follow up punches will make sure of it.
    Now a guy basically on his knees gets a blow to the temple. He has 2 seconds before he goes out. Makes a plea to the ref then it all fades to black. It does look orcastrated to be fair but what self respectin pro would pull such a stunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

That one did. Just now. No way was he knocked out. Ric Flair would have been proud of that overselling right there.

http://middleeasy.com/fighting/item/14181-dude-gets-upkicked-looks-at-the-ref-and-complains-then-drifts-into-unconsiousness
    Today at Cage Warriors, a miracle of science took place: the delayed KO. Mario Saeed attempted to overwhelm his opponent , only to be whacked upside the head with his knees firmly on the ground, knocking him out. However, Mario wanted justice so badly for being upkicked in an illegal fashion that his brain actually refused to turn off until he made the referee aware that he was wronged.
    This is the ultimate willpower, only equaled in Korean Starcraft players who sit at their computer for 109 hours straight, peeing and pooping their pants until they die.
    .gif of this amazing display of mental fortitude:
    EnchantingPowerlessCub.gif

Seems this has gone viral in the MMA world now, the more i see it the more i think he faked it. He got hit with some pretty hard legal kicks and seen a way out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,603 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Dear lord.
    Lets say a guy standing sometimes has 2 seconds before he's goes out. In that 2 seconds he wobbles and goes down then out....often a few follow up punches will make sure of it.
    Sometimes there's a delay between the strike and him going down. But the difference is, the guy is "out on his feet" for that time. Unsteady, all over the place, and then can't hold themselves up any longer. They hit the ground unable to stand, they aren't ever out cold at this point. They often try to continue but they're not able.
    Now a guy basically on his knees gets a blow to the temple. He has 2 seconds before he goes out. Makes a plea to the ref then it all fades to black. It does look orcastrated to be fair but what self respectin pro would pull such a stunt
    He gets hit, he calls out to the ref 2 or 3 times, then out out complete cold - asleep. I can't think of a single time somebody went out like that. It's either go lights out straight away, or your legs and balance give out after a delay.

A knock out blow isn't like a traq dart. You don't fade to black, as you try call to the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,603 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If they're a body that can overturn the decision? Is it simply up to the promoter?

Main card highlights. More on Channel 4 tonight at 01.55.

Cagewarriors thanks for the videos but can you give the people a comment on the upkick "ko" please? Its the main topic of conversation in this thread

Devastator wrote: »
    Cagewarriors thanks for the videos but can you give the people a comment on the upkick "ko" please? Its the main topic of conversation in this thread

In this thread? How about worldwide!!

scudzilla wrote: »
    In this thread? How about worldwide!!

Stuff them!! I'm trying to get an exclusive for boards.ie regulars :D