Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who thinks Sean Quinn is a great businessman now?

• Registered Users Posts: 67,051 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

And Quinn was able to do it, and also buy shares he hadn't declared in a bank that was telling him lies about their state. A state the regulator should have known it was in.

Quinn did wrong without doubt but he wasn't the only one in this sad debacle we are paying for as well as all the other regulatory f* up's we are paying for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

So what's the joker worth and where does he sit in the pecking order after the 5?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

That shirt was sickinen me to look at... It obviously came straight out of the packet with the crumple where the pins were and not even a rub of an iron given to it, and his hair looked like he'd just gotten out a bed, you'd imagine he'd have tidied himself up a bit better for the camera, or someone in his family should have told him to

• Registered Users Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

A cynical person might say its all part of the act

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Registered Users Posts: 3,034 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

He said the priest named him on the altar when asking the congregation to help the guards if they had information on the paymaster behind the attack on Kevin Lunney. Obviously the priest didn’t name him so why would he have objected to the priest putting out that request if he had nothing to do with the attack? I remember he made a direct complaint to the Vatican about the priest, not to Dublin btw

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Like that scene from The Field

• Registered Users Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Deeec

I can understand the community supporting him - On the Cavan Fermanagh border there literally is nothing else but Quinn business's. He kept a whole area in employment.

Now what I cant understand is how he built himself up from nothing. He is an uneducated man - clever but uneducated. He had money backing from somewhere at the start and where did that money come from - I doubt the bank backed him. So where did he get his start up money to set huge business's up at a time when everyone was relatively poor? This puzzles me and I know that border region would have been known as bandit country. Was Sean Quinn 'clean' to start off with?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Family farm had a sandpit. You don't need a lot of investment to excavate and make money from selling sand to building industry. Progreessed on from that to cement manufacture. Basically he had the raw materials on the family farm.

Just on the education bit - a lot of very wealthy people are early school leavers. I dont think JP McManus had a lot of schooling either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

Interesting that his business empire was literally built on sand….

• Registered Users Posts: 7,847 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

A successful entrepreneur is a risk taker, a gambler.

The programme last night touched on it, very very lightly, but he had a name for being a bit of a shark at the cards. My dad (not from the area) was working in the area in the early 70s , and was warned off ever playing cards with Quinn. His card games then were very much all in, like car keys if not the house keys "all in" . But the programme portrayed it as being as harmless as the senior citizens playing bridge.

Actually.... maybe thats where he got a bit of his seed capital on top of the sand deliveries!

He couldnt have generated the money needed from selling sand and gravel alone - it doesnt make sense, it just doesnt. His cash requirement to move onto the next level was millions - millions in the 1980's which was huge money.

I agree that some early school leavers can do very well. Sean Quinn took that to a new level though- he doesnt come across as being able to manage huge business's. Im an accountant myself and have encountered men like Sean who were successful - there always is another brains involved though in operations in my experience. The brains behind Sean certainly wasnt his wife - thats for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Their are shysters at all levels from street hustling three card trick merchants to slick investment wall st sharks , it’s still on the person with money to avoid investing with either

a man like Quinn didn’t get to where he did without ignoring shysters and idiots , his mistake was putting money ( all his money) in something he couldn’t really personally control, all other ventures up to then had him at the steering wheel, not so with equities , Quinn couldn’t do anything when short specialist hedge funds realised Anglo were in trouble and ripe for killing

Warren Buffett didn’t start buying shares in Lehman brothers hand over fist in the summer of 2008 when the stock was falling heavily, Quinn said last night he “kept buying as the price fell “

• Registered Users Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Xander10

If you take it that he did make the money from nothing, he must have in later times being getting professional advice about the complex world of CFDs. And surely auditors were asking questions about cash extractions from the business and had a duty to report.

Did he ever look to sue his advisors?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

It's 45 around North tipp. No best Trump and certainly no joker. 9 players, 3 sets of 3, all cards thrown into the centre of table. Nerves of steel you'd want!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I'm surprised to say this but after watching the show last night you can't help but have some admiration for the man...built an empire from nothing and in fairness to him looked after his own as well. I had no time for the man previously however this has shed a new positive light on him...in my opinion anyway. I'll be interested to see how the next 2 episodes go...

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭techman1

It's interesting that he started off in farming, then sand and gravel, then cement, glass etc

these were all tough hard nosed industries where you needed lots of capital, machinery, workers etc

"What's cement made of, stone and shine, sure I have stone and shite"

His eyes were opened with the insurance and financial sectors, the money that could be made without having to turn "stones and shite" into money, you didn't need big factories, machinery and loads of workers, you could make this money with a licence, capital and a few skilled workers.

However he didn't realise the risks involved in finance when the tide turns and leverage works against you

its easy to admire the building of an empire from little enough of course.

lets see how everyone feels after part 3

i wont be watching it anyway, and tbh the commenters in this thread won't be changing their minds on it at this stage will they.

poor seanie huh why didnt they regulate him, a quare mix of fierce intelligent genius who was fully responsible for all the good his empire brought but turns into a helpless stooge when de big bad gubbermint didnt stop him losing it all.

can we google cognitive dissonance can we

At the stage he entered the world of CFD's he had a huge team of advisors around him. You would have think he would have sought their advice and possibly he was told by them to go for it. Its also possible he ignored their advice not to do it.

I used to admire Sean Quinn and the wealth and employment that he bought to a deprived area. I actually was one of the people that thought he was unjustly treated. But the carry on over the last few years with the intimidation and violence towards Lunney and his coworkers, damage done to property etc. changed my mind completely about SQ. Lets face it the people behind this violent campaign are vile thugs - its disgusting behaviour.

Sean Quinn insists he is not behind it - well if he is not the paymaster then who the hell is? Both him and his wife are still very sore over loosing it all thats for sure. Now if he is behind the violence then he has some very violent contacts and it does beg the question was there a criminal element to the business all along. As far as I am aware he has not put forward any theory as to who is behind the dirty goings on.

Sean Quinn needs to grasp that hes lost it - he needs to be happy with what hes left with. Lets face it he is still a wealthy man - he needs to move on gracefully and stop blaming everybody else.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,429 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Watched the first 10 minutes or so but as someone (like most) who would have a major interest in goings on back then there's a few things that need to be said.

TBF, it would have been possible (back then) to build up a business if you had access to the land/raw materials for what he initially did. He wasn't an "overnight" success - it took time and I'd say a lot of hard work.

A lot of people who have been successful in business tended not to do too well at school. I think it takes a type of personality rather than a type of intellect to be good in business, with a large smathering of hard work and good luck.

The other thing I would say, is Quinn did some shyster moves circa 2005 and onwards for which we are all still paying HOWEVER, as touched on earlier in this thread, there were countless other people that also enabled this to happen, people whos profile is nowhere near Quinns.

I don't particularily have much time for him or what he has done mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,238 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Quinn practiced deceit, and somehow it is others fault?

He must be a good republican.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Refuse to watch this propaganda piece, putting this fella out as some sort of wronged and harmed friendly old man who was a hero for his community. This fella took a massive gamble and fucked it. No more than a fella going into his local bookies thinking he's buying money on a cert and losing it all just on a bigger scale. If you can't face the losses don't do the bet

It’s quite amusing reading the comments, on one hand Quinn is apparently a legend to have become so successful, a self made man, on the other someone should have held his hand when Sean innocently stumbled across the bankers at Anglo Irish?

Like I said it’s akin to had Warren Buffett put everything into Lehman brothers prior to September 2008

• Registered Users Posts: 27,238 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

One crook outsmarted another crook, that is the real story.

A cop-out to blame others.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,443 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I hear Quinn is complaining that some local people turned on him! I'm not remotely surprised as I recall talking to locals in Ballinamore in the Celtic Tiger years and Quinn was loved and loathed/ feared in equal measure. Too fond of his own publicity.

Absolutely agree.

He gambled on something he shouldn't have and something the true state of was being held back from him. As Anglo had done to others to all our costs. Regulation and oversight failed and we all paid the price for that.

What he did in his gamble and after that was wrong.

What galls me to this day is that very few others at the helm of that ship didn't pay anything like the price he did. But we know there is no real accountability here. Wagons circled and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,031 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

This times a hundred.

Like Boris purposefully messing up his own hair before he goes on stage.