Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Decorating the Mans sitting room

• 17-10-2012 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

Howdy Folks

Myself and herself bought a house recently and we are nearly finished doing up one of the sitting rooms. We have a smallish second sitting room which will become my haven for sport etc. So apart from the huge TV I will try to squeee in there, what are the essentials for the "man room" as I will have licence to do it up (to some extent without her interference)

What do you think? A stove, a decent sound system??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

www.mancavesite.org

For all your man cave needs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

a george forman and hookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,450 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Box of tissues.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭thunderdog

A beer fridge and you're sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Good surround sound system, beer fridge, leather recliner, NO SUNLIGHT!

optional, bewbs on the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

2 sitting rooms??? Posh git!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

At least one Sega Dreamcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

A poofy. You never see poofies in sitting rooms any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I had a cool beer fridge I picked up from a pub. Damn thing nearly turned me into an alcoholic, well that all the drinking I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,497 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Make sure it has many leather bound books and smells of rich mahogany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

A gun safe, neatly consealed in an antique press that you buy at a car boot sale or auction. With one rifle, one semi-auto shotgun and preferably a pistol as well and a supply of ammunition.

Large fridge filled to the brim with tins of beer

Proper decent spec PC with at least 2 decent size monitors

Valve amplifier and the best speakers you can afford. Go for quality, not raw power output cause its a small room

Shelf filled with bottles of whiskey and what have you, but not one you could see from through the window

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

And your wife's writing to the IT about being broke...

I think shes trying to tell you something giving you your own sitting room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

A beer cooler, laptop for porn and gambling, a microwave and a dvd porn collection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Alan152 wrote: »
    Howdy Folks

Myself and herself bought a house recently and we are nearly finished doing up one of the sitting rooms. We have a smallish second sitting room which will become my haven for sport etc. So apart from the huge TV I will try to squeee in there, what are the essentials for the "man room" as I will have licence to do it up (to some extent without her interference)

What do you think? A stove, a decent sound system??

Fridge for beer, ice, mixers.
    Microwave for popcorn.
    Basketball hoop above the bin.
    Large vintage posters of Samantha Fox and Maria Whittaker.
    Flourescent Beer sign.
    Moth eaten but comfy as hell sofa.
    Extractor fan if you and your mates decide to have cigars.

Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

benwavner wrote: »
    Good surround sound system, beer fridge, leather recliner, NO SUNLIGHT!

optional, bewbs on the wall.

Forget the beer fridge lads!
    Your own bar with a keg and a tap would be a nice touch!
    Something like the one in the picture
    http://puppiesandhate.blogspot.ie/2012/06/three-rules-home-bar.html

Also your letting the men down! She should have the smaller sitting room!

You should include a top spec poker set, dart board, a mounted stuffed stags head, and something retro like a giant juke box or record player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

At least one Sega Dreamcast.

Gawd no, an Atari 2600.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Where To wrote: »
    A poofy. You never see poofies in sitting rooms any more.

Alan Carr might disagree.

A poofa on the other hand.....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

A sex swing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

A Budda Bag too. Daft prices to buy them new but you can pick them up very reasonably on adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Alan152

its the back sitting room....plenty of privacy!!haha

kneemos wrote: »
    I think shes trying to tell you something giving you your own sitting room.

im trying to tell her something....too many disagreements over what to watch........no sport to be missed again

eth0 wrote: »
    A gun safe, neatly consealed in an antique press that you buy at a car boot sale or auction. With one rifle, one semi-auto shotgun and preferably a pistol as well and a supply of ammunition.

Large fridge filled to the brim with tins of beer

Proper decent spec PC with at least 2 decent size monitors

Valve amplifier and the best speakers you can afford. Go for quality, not raw power output cause its a small room

Shelf filled with bottles of whiskey and what have you, but not one you could see from through the window

its the back sitting room....plenty of privacy!!

im trying to tell her something....too many disagreements over what to watch........no sport to be missed again

Sweet deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Today second sitting room is tomorrows kids playroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

a urinal with a clear view of the tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

A sex swing

Suppose to be womanfree zone, unless he's have some self or man love.

:p

Scortho wrote: »
    Forget the beer fridge lads!
    Your own bar with a keg and a tap would be a nice touch!
    Something like the one in the picture
    http://puppiesandhate.blogspot.ie/2012/06/three-rules-home-bar.html

Also your letting the men down! She should have the smaller sitting room!

You should include a top spec poker set, dart board, a mounted stuffed stags head, and something retro like a giant juke box or record player!

That involves lifting 90 pint kegs. F**K that

I forgot juke box and pool table

A sex swing

The floor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Did anyone else read the thread title as "Decorating the Mams sitting room"?

I thought "Aw nice lad, looking after the Mammy":o

I forgot juke box and pool table

the small sitting room wont cut it!

Youre going to have to knock the wall down for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

a george forman and hookers

There can be no fat reducing grilling machines in a true man room. Now feck off back to healthyland and take your Grey's Anatomy box set with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Bit on the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Giant bean bag,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Men love drawing willies and balls. Draw loads of them on the walls, ceiling, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

kowloon wrote: »
    There can be no fat reducing grilling machines in a true man room. Now feck off back to healthyland and take your Grey's Anatomy box set with you!

barbecue, coke, and hookers*

Okay okay, we could never stay angry with you anyway. Fling a hooker on the barby and crack open a brew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

A box of **** socks.
    A stripper pole.
    A piss corner.
    A 52" tv.
    A drum kit.
    A strobe light.
    A mixing desk.
    A large drug tin.
    A plastic **** doll.
    A remote for everything.
    A cooler for beers.
    A stripper pole.
    and a pet zebra.

Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Soundproofing. That way there will be no shouting from the door to keep it down.

And no point with the coke and hookers, you'll be infested with wild moderators. I had to set modtraps all over the house to get rid of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Decorating the Mans sitting room... I thought this was going to be a thread about bejazzling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Decorating the Mans sitting room... I thought this was going to be a thread about bejazzling.

I thought this was going to be a post about how it's supposed to be so well insulated that it would qualify for a 'A' rating in the BER cert. Maybe with a mention of some renewable heating source and LED lighting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

A time lock on the door so nobody can just barge in.

Very comfortable seats is a must, women can go for style over comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

A good work bench, with a decent vice and plenty of space. A really hideous couch, a **** load of books, a vinyl player and properly swag sound system and a shedload of vinyl. Feck off with your telly and your bean bags, a man cave is where you build robots and boats and stuff and listen to Coltrane at obnoxious levels at 4 in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Buford Tannen

Would it not be easier to dump the wife and move out and get your own place

A box of **** socks.
    A stripper pole.
    A piss corner.
    A 52" tv.
    A drum kit.
    A strobe light.
    A mixing desk.
    A large drug tin.
    A plastic **** doll.
    A remote for everything.
    A cooler for beers.
    A stripper pole.
    and a pet zebra.

Done.

Or you can make a Megatron.

I wish I had no idea what you're talking about.