Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

stag weekend

• 21-04-2014 2:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭

just wondering what mullingar is like for a couple of nights stag,between 10 or 15 of us are heading up sometime in july,what pubs would anybody reccomend that would be good bit of craic and not too serious about lads having bit of banter and craic..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

look up kingdom of sports.
    something to pass a few hours away from the pub!

plenty of pubs.
    crossbar
    caseys
    no.1
    dannys
    caffreys
    druids chair
    clarkes
    finns!

to name but a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Time Now Please

Ehh... I'd go somewhere else to be honest, less hassle.

do elaborate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Would you mind backing up that statement please

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭patsy sally

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    look up kingdom of sports.
    something to pass a few hours away from the pub!

plenty of pubs.
    crossbar
    caseys
    no.1
    dannys
    caffreys
    druids chair
    clarkes
    finns!

to name but a few.

thanks for the reply, i have looked up that kingdom of sports it looks to be good,i saw a comment from somebody on this thread about dont bother not worth the hassel,have to say group of us have been in a lot of places over the years,cork,castlebar,galway,limerick,killarney,kilkenny,carlow,newry,ennis,cardiff,swansea,to name just a few,havent had bit of bother in any of them,cant see how it would be any different in mullingar

Come back and tell us how you got on!, my experience of Mullingar is stepping over teeny-boppers on the footpaths who were twisted out of their trees with alcohol or whatever else they get their hands on, and believe me anything can be got in Mullingar, I have been in pubs and clubs in the town and have been set upon on a few occasions, and believe me I was minding my own business at the time.

As for the local chippers in the town, they are a 'no go area' when the clubs finish up, look what happened to that guy from Leitrim who was murdered in Mullingar town, He didn't go looking for a fight but got set upon by a few local scum bags just for the fun of it, it's a kip of a town full of ethnic minorities who have no respect for law and order, Athlone by far is a better town, but at then end of the day the decision is yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Come back and tell us how you got on!, my experience of Mullingar is stepping over teeny-boppers on the footpaths who were twisted out of their trees with alcohol or whatever else they get their hands on, and believe me anything can be got in Mullingar, I have been in pubs and clubs in the town and have been set upon on a few occasions, and believe me I was minding my own business at the time.

As for the local chippers in the town, they are a 'no go area' when the clubs finish up, look what happened to that guy from Leitrim who was murdered in Mullingar town, He didn't go looking for a fight but got set upon by a few local scum bags just for the fun of it, it's a kip of a town full of ethnic minorities who have no respect for law and order, Athlone by far is a better town, but at then end of the day the decision is yours.

Sure you could be describing any town in Ireland there. Sorry to say but didn't Athlone have a rapist on the loose a while back and not to mention that fella that got hold of them young girls lately. I've no real love for mullingar but that statement of yours is way off the mark. I went out there for many years and I'm still here.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭DeeJunFan

Jaysus nothing like putting a downer on the lads.

I'm from Newry but have lived in Mullingar for the last few years and i can tell you its no more dangerous. The chippers are grand i have been in them all at chucking out time and yes you get a few spanners falling about the place but i don't think they will intimidate a group of 15 lads. Ever been to Friar Tucks at 2 in the morning? None of the places in mullingar are any worse.

The pubs are grand a few good spots with a bit of music. Yes there is a fair few young ones floating about but that seems to be the case everywhere, they are the only ones with any money.

Its a pretty typical town really nothing thats going to blow your mind but you could happily pass a day or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭patsy sally

will see how we get on, and i will make sure to come back on here to say what thoughts i have on mullingar

• Registered Users Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Good man. If you need any more advice on accommodation or anything for Mullingar.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭athlonelad

will see how we get on, and i will make sure to come back on here to say what thoughts i have on mullingar

There seems to always be an Athlone VS Mullingar thing here on boards. I wouldn't pay much attention to the naysayers. Mullingar is a fine town with some great spots. Enjoy

athlonelad wrote: »
    There seems to always be an Athlone VS Mullingar thing here on boards. I wouldn't pay much attention to the naysayers. Mullingar is a fine town with some great spots. Enjoy

It ain't only on boards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

Athlone

Reggie. wrote: »
    Sure you could be describing any town in Ireland there. Sorry to say but didn't Athlone have a rapist on the loose a while back and not to mention that fella that got hold of them young girls lately. I've no real love for mullingar but that statement of yours is way off the mark. I went out there for many years and I'm still here.
    Reggie, you are correct in some respects when you say that I could be describing any town in Ireland in my last post, however there is an element in Mullingar who are hell bent on causing trouble, and if you are a 'blow in' for the weekend then you have no chance, as I said look what happened to that guy from Leitrim, as for that animal who raped those kids in Athlone, justice has been served and hopefully he won't see the light of day for a long time to come. Mullingar is simply not a safe place to be in either night or day.

Even the local cemetery isn't sacred anymore, there was a full scale riot there last year on cemetery Sunday, not to mention Irelands Olympian boxer who got both his legs broken in his own home.

Reggie, you are correct in some respects when you say that I could be describing any town in Ireland in my last post, however there is an element in Mullingar who are hell bent on causing trouble, and if you are a 'blow in' for the weekend then you have no chance, as I said look what happened to that guy from Leitrim, as for that animal who raped those kids in Athlone, justice has been served and hopefully he won't see the light of day for a long time to come. Mullingar is simply not a safe place to be in either night or day.

Even the local cemetery isn't sacred anymore, there was a full scale riot there last year on cemetery Sunday, not to mention Irelands Olympian boxer who got both his legs broken in his own home.

You can't hold a whole town responsible for the actions of a few

Ah your being a bit melodramatic here now. I am a blow in as i've stated before. Even more obvious with my Nordie accent. The guy from Leitrim was a tragic event and one that has happened in other parts of the country. But to believe that tubes that go around starting fights and throwing punches is a Mullingar thing is unreal. How is it not safe night or day? You'd swear it was downtown fallujah.

Again the Riot at cemetery Sunday was repeated a few weeks later in another town. (Same crowd of people) and to be honest most of them came to Mullingar cemetery from other places (I was there on the day).

And as for the Olympian; you suggest not to go near Mullingar if you are a blow in and then you say how unsafe it is for locals! The same crowd that were involved with the Cemetery were responsible there and they don't mix in the pubs and clubs of the town so shouldn't come in contact with people on a weekend. And is there a town in Ireland without them??

Whatever happened you in Mullingar is one thing but to throw the chip on your shoulder around at other people is a bit sad.

What if this crowd were looking to go to Dublin for the weekend? Would you be listing all the beatings and murders that have happened in Dublin over the last 5 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

DeeJunFan wrote: »
    Ah your being a bit melodramatic here now. I am a blow in as i've stated before. Even more obvious with my Nordie accent. The guy from Leitrim was a tragic event and one that has happened in other parts of the country. But to believe that tubes that go around starting fights and throwing punches is a Mullingar thing is unreal. How is it not safe night or day? You'd swear it was downtown fallujah.

Again the Riot at cemetery Sunday was repeated a few weeks later in another town. (Same crowd of people) and to be honest most of them came to Mullingar cemetery from other places (I was there on the day).

And as for the Olympian; you suggest not to go near Mullingar if you are a blow in and then you say how unsafe it is for locals! The same crowd that were involved with the Cemetery were responsible there and they don't mix in the pubs and clubs of the town so shouldn't come in contact with people on a weekend. And is there a town in Ireland without them??

Whatever happened you in Mullingar is one thing but to throw the chip on your shoulder around at other people is a bit sad.

What if this crowd were looking to go to Dublin for the weekend? Would you be listing all the beatings and murders that have happened in Dublin over the last 5 years?
    I'd guess you may as well be taking to the wall. I've a sister with that attitude, hasn't gone out in years in case something happens to her. She has a 16yr old now and won't let her out either.. Some folk just have the fear..

On the topic of Mullingar, tis a grand town for lad pints. Had many a boozy Saturday with no probs..

For everyone with a fight story, there's hundreds without..

Gokei wrote: »
    I'd guess you may as well be taking to the wall. I've a sister with that attitude, hasn't gone out in years in case something happens to her. She has a 16yr old now and won't let her out either.. Some folk just have the fear..

On the topic of Mullingar, tis a grand town for lad pints. Had many a boozy Saturday with no probs..

For everyone with a fight story, there's hundreds without..

Ah sure you cant suit everyone! It is a grand spot for a few pints. Couple of nice quiet spots as well but i don't think thats what a stag party will be looking for.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭martin1

Guys let’s not turn this into yet another Athlone v Mullingar squabble.

While it is true that Athlone has become a very popular destination for those dreadful hen and stag parties, I am equally sure that Mullingar does not deserve its woeful reputation as a rough, uncouth and downright dangerous place to socialise.

Athlones popularity is due mainly to its central location in the transport network, and a small but vibrant left bank area in which there are half a dozen pubs and restaurants, all with music, compete to attract these parties at weekends. Which means that the girls with their high heels don’t have to walk very far between venues and the stags…………………..well they can just fall from one pub to another without fear of being set upon and beaten up.

Combine that with specialist boat trips on the Shannon providing any type of music you like, all operating out of the same area, and you have a pretty cool set up for these parties.

So lets stop running down Mullingar. It cant really be as bad as people are saying..........can it ?????????????

martin1 wrote: »
    Guys let’s not turn this into yet another Athlone v Mullingar squabble.

While it is true that Athlone has become a very popular destination for those dreadful hen and stag parties, I am equally sure that Mullingar does not deserve its woeful reputation as a rough, uncouth and downright dangerous place to socialise.

Athlones popularity is due mainly to its central location in the transport network, and a small but vibrant left bank area in which there are half a dozen pubs and restaurants, all with music, compete to attract these parties at weekends. Which means that the girls with their high heels don’t have to walk very far between venues and the stags…………………..well they can just fall from one pub to another without fear of being set upon and beaten up.

Combine that with specialist boat trips on the Shannon providing any type of music you like, all operating out of the same area, and you have a pretty cool set up for these parties.

So lets stop running down Mullingar. It cant really be as bad as people are saying..........can it ?????????????

i have to say i don't really care for Mullingar in general but its not the ghetto that some people would make it out to be. as if no other town has drugs or crime. I have been to athlone a fair few times and i cant say i care anymore for it but it does have a water front.

for me its not Mullingar v Athlone its simply giving some perspective to a story from someone who obviously has some agenda.

I doubt the stage lads will be going near the cemetery, or the areas of the town with problems

I've lived in 5/6 different towns around Ireland and Mullingar is no different to anywhere. In fact I've probably seen less fights at weekends than in other towns.

Who said I was from Athlone?

You are completely missing the point I am making, I admire you for trying to gloss over and trivialise what happened in the graveyard in Mullingar last year, however what you failed to mention that a number of innocent people were badly injured (including elderly people) that day and a lot of Garda resources was wasted keeping these thugs in line, how many other provincial towns across Ireland has this happened in of late?

These ethnic minorities who are born and bred in Mullingar, which by my calculations make them Mullingar people, have no respect for law and order in the town. This coupled with the reguluar scum bags is what gives the place such a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

You are completely missing the point I am making, I admire you for trying to gloss over and trivialise what happened in the graveyard in Mullingar last year, however what you failed to mention that a number of innocent people were badly injured (including elderly people) that day and a lot of Garda resources was wasted keeping these thugs in line, how many other provincial towns across Ireland has this happened in of late?

These ethnic minorities who are born and bred in Mullingar, which by my calculations make them Mullingar people, have no respect for law and order in the town. This coupled with the reguluar scum bags is what gives the place such a bad name.

First time I've heard of Mullingar having a bad name!

Good town. A mixture of locals and commuters. Some old man's pubs (usually on the roads out of town), but mainly it's quite young. If you're into pool, I could recommend two pubs. One pub has a session every night on the weekend, but would be filled with the aforementioned old men. Most of the best pubs are either on the main street (one long straight street with a few names between junctions) or down Mount street. Just turn to the left at the statue of Joe Dolan haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Danny Byrnes and the Greville have good heated smoking areas. There's also another place down Mount St., but I can't think of the name of it. Small front on the pub, but massive area out the back.

sopretty wrote: »
    Danny Byrnes and the Greville have good heated smoking areas. There's also another place down Mount St., but I can't think of the name of it. Small front on the pub, but massive area out the back.

Cafferys

Cafferys

Or the crossbar

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭athlonelad

Not me anyways. You did say Athlone was a better choice. All I said why do they always have to be compared with each other. Its like the friggin "War of the Buttons" childish attitude.

the only decent part of Athlone is in Roscommon. So wrong forum.