Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did ya ever give up the gargle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Having a glass of wine some afternoons became a glass of wine every afternoon became a half-bottle .......................................................

It was sink or swim and I knew I had no choice but to give it up, as I felt I could no longer be content with one or two drinks.

That was 6 years ago and I haven't drank since. I don't miss it one bit especially the hangovers - and believe it or not I socialize and have the craic with people who do drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

Nope and I've been steadily drinking more and more over the last few years. I rarely get hammered (slurring words, getting sick etc) but I drink more than I should. I get free drinks every Friday night at work so that doesn't help. I had 2 pints, 3 G&T's and a vodka and orange last Friday, just because I could, really. Love wine with dinner as well. I only used to drink when I went out with friends, never at home and it would be nice to go back to that. Some of my friends don't drink for religious reasons and when I hang out with them, I never feel like I'm missing out. I think I'll try to go back to only drinking outside the house, but chilling out with a glass of wine is so nice......:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

On and off I've gone a year without drinking but without really noticing as I don't really have an emotional attatchment to it so I wouldn't have to really brace myself for giving it up. You can cut down first and if you get to a point where you say you're completely off the drink don't give up if you slip up just keep going if thats what you want to do or become an occaisional drinker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

i dont know why, but the thirst has gone off me the last few weeks, last time i was proper drunk was a month ago, (staying up till half 9 drinking) so maybe i needed a break after christmas, had a few cans since, but nothing for two weeks...

A nice early night. Sensible drinking at its best

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I haven't really drunk in about 4 years. No real reason, I just can't be bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Off it the last two weeks. Going to continue that for a bit mainly as I want to save money for a trip or two coming up towards summer.

Worst feeling for me is looking at your funds and realising you've squandered so much on pointless drinks. Also knowing there's a kebab lurking in your system from the night before, it's fcuking toxic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I once announced to two of my friends I was with at the time that I was quitting for a month but caught myself an hour later in a bar with a beer in my hand (with the two friends)! I completely forgot what I promised and I'd ordered one without even reasling :eek:

I don't drink a huge amount....never get messy anymore, so I won't stop as I don't think I need to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

For a year when I was 20.

Thought I was an alcoholic, after a year off I learned it was my attitude to drinking that was a problem for me, not drink itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

goiug to bedndruk and more
    :o Jaysus! No memory of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Currently in the process of giving it up. 3 weeks down and so far so good. :)

It's tough though since I've basically become dependent on the stuff to socialise. I'm having to re-train myself so that's going to take some time but will ultimately be worth it I hope.

I've started drinking non-alcoholic beer the last couple of nights so maybe that's cheating a bit but I really like to have something in my hand and don't want to be standing around drinking 7up all night.

No hangovers and not spending disproportionate amounts of money on a night out is awesome though. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Never had a need to. 90% of nights out are between 2 & 4 drinks, with the occasional heavy (by my standards) 6 or 7 maybe 3 or 4 times a year.

Mind you, if I were to believe half of the macho crap Irish people go on with, that'd be considered having given up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

Stopped about 4 years ago.
    I was a stupid drunk, not nearly as funny as I believed myself to be.
    Started to see a trend developing in always wanting to drink more bottles of beer.
    Also I used to do a lot of driving from Cork to Kerry so had to cut back.
    When I started to do that I just took it a step further.
    Best decision I ever made, bar none.
    I couldn't imagine holding my marriage and kids together if I was still supping.
    Having said that,I get a thirst every now and then, Alcohol free Erdinger, satisfies the taste.
    Worst time lately was on a work trip to Southern Germany, prime beer country, I stuck with the NA stuff while everyone got trolleyed.
    Going to Munich next week with work again so will just stick with the alcohol free stuff again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Effectively given it up..I don't have more than 3 drinks, and there could be several weeks if not months between those occasions. The fear after a stupid night out last June works wonders...I don't miss it. I used to always go overboard, though I'd go out maybe every 3 weeks so wasn't hardcore or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Tried for a month. Lasted 2 weeks. Worst 2 weeks ever.

Quick edit: I was in a bet not to drink. Being told I can not have a drink is what killed me. I'm not a huge drinker by any means but do not like to be told I can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Swampy wrote: »
    Tried for a month. Lasted 2 weeks. Worst 2 weeks ever.

Quick edit: I was in a bet not to drink. Being told I can not have a drink is what killed me. I'm not a huge drinker by any means but do not like to be told I can't.

But you weren't "told" that you can't.....you decided to in order to win a bet (money?)

If not drinking = "worst 2 weeks ever" then I wish I had your life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I learned it was my attitude to drinking that was a problem for me, not drink itself.

I suspect that's how it is for everyone. After all drinks don't force themselves upon anyone.

And for how long? Seriously considering it myself. Have already cut down quite a bit. Waste of time, fun, but big bleedin' waste.

Off it for the most part at the moment. When trying to get one of my gfs pregnant she decided to give up until after the whole thing and after breastfeeding. So we gave up with her in solidarity. Now that we are trying for baby number 2 we have given up again. So could likely be off it now for over 2 years. Couple of small exceptions but nothing notable, or often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Gave it up 3 years ago,For me it was the best desision I ever made :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I've given it up on a good few occasion successfully for months at a time. Well once I went about 5 months. The rest was usually for a few weeks before exams or something, or in the new year.
    It's all or nothing for me really though. I only really drink during the weekend to the point black outs. Even if I try to have "just a few" after 3 or 4 pints forget about it. I don't really see what I can do in this situation apart from give up alcohol completely, which I won't be doing anytime soon, or only have 2 points but what's the point in that...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I suspect that's how it is for everyone. After all drinks don't force themselves upon anyone.

Yeah, I know where you are going with that and it's pretty much what made me cop onto myself. Then again with that train of thought, "a drink is just a drink," I'd concur that an item someone is addicted to isn't nessicarily the problem, but there can be issues with addiction and to a major extent it'd be a catalyst for a problem. More so trying to say, addictions amplify problems and in their very nature are self destructive.

It took me a long time to realise I wasn't addicted, figure out I didn't have any problems to deal with and what lead me to think I had a problem in the first place was nothing more than me being young, foolish and niave. But I'll not use my own personal reflection as a measurement against anyone else who considers/considered themselves as alcoholics. All I had was the wrong attitude. As much as it can be used as an insult, Alcoholic simply refers to someone who feels that they have to drink all the time.

Its not drink that puts someone there, its urge for a drink that keeps someone there.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I'm taking a year off this year. I've had to put off my perfecting a Bovril cocktail till next January.
    I did this before at the age of 20 and ended up not drinking for about 7 years. :eek:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I gave up drink years ago too . Last time I had a drink was over 2 years ago .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

I have massively cut down was a 15 pinter on a friday and saturday night. the odd 1 for the road home after work. Have totally stopped going to pubs and only have 5 - 8 cans on a weekend now. 1 session per week then a break for a fortnight

Its AMAZING when you dont drink at the weekend the amount of free time you get the next day lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Gave up 3 years ago. Don't miss it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Cut down drastically in the new year.

Only drank once and didn't get hammered.

Feel better, bank account's better.

The only thing that annoys me is people asking me 'what's wrong wit you?!'.

Nothing's wrong with me! What's wrong with you that you need to get drunk all the time!?! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Utterly devestated at work here from Friday and Saturday night. Haven't been this badly hungover in a long time and I only had a couple yesterday, it's just from 2 big nights i a row. This is the worst day of work ever. I've never given it up but Jesus that sounds like what I need to do right now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Utterly devestated at work here from Friday and Saturday night. Haven't been this badly hungover in a long time and I only had a couple yesterday, it's just from 2 big nights i a row. This is the worst day of work ever. I've never given it up but Jesus that sounds like what I need to do right now :(

as you get older the cons outweight the pros!!!!!!
    It used to be the other way round, when you hit 30 they switch sides lol

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm off it right now as I am for every February.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Have totally stopped going to pubs and only have 5 - 8 cans on a weekend now.

truly an irish definition of "off the drink"

I'm not drinking these days, might have a glass or two of whiskey in the gaff of an evening but thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Over 9 years off it now.

It does make socialising in this country difficult, (being a non drinker) and I still think it's a pity I left it get to the point where I had to do that, but the positives for me were and are enormous.