Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Damm, some rag had reported this last week, but I dint post it thinking it was bull****e
    Something like "roman ready to give up on Guus and move for Villa Boas"

Should have put a fiver on then :(

the thing with rags though is they usually have a spray and pray approach with news like this and if they get it wrong its forgotten about but if they we're right expect to hear about it even if they we're just printing crazy rumours they heard from a buddy of a cousin of the dogs minder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

A few weeks back I was tempted to put a sizeable amount on Hiddink. :o Glad I held off!

Also, nearly eevryone expected Guus to take over so the Villa Boas rumours have caught everyone by surprise.

Johner wrote: »
    A few weeks back I was tempted to put a sizeable amount on Hiddink. :o Glad I held off!

arent ya glad you didnt? You have a season ticket to look forward to instead. :D

gavredking wrote: »
    arent ya glad you didnt? You have a season ticket to look forward to instead. :D

The amount I was going to put on was around the price of a season ticket. :o Thought it was certain it would be Hiddink. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Dont Chelsea tend to do Monday annoucements? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

If Falcao and Lukaku arrive, who leaves?

Anelka will definitely leave I'd say, possibly Kalou and Malouda too.

amiable wrote: »

Falcao any good?
    I know he's top scorer in the the Port league

I can't see how Torres, Drogba, Falcao and Lukaku can all be in the same squad

And Danny!

Falcao any good?
    I know he's top scorer in the the Port league
    He's very good and if Villa Boas is insisting on bringing him you'd imagine he intends starting him

Johner wrote: »
    The amount I was going to put on was around the price of a season ticket. :o Thought it was certain it would be Hiddink. :o

Ooooohhhhhh no recession around here then. :p

Good choice though on the season ticket, I would have jumped on it if i had the chance, but I did promise I'd go to at least a handful of home games this year.

Id rather not take Falcao TBH. But I agree with Johner, think its time to wave goodbye to Nico, Kalou and Malouda, just so at least danny can progress. Going to be weird having a manager younger then some of the players. :pac:

And Danny!
    Back to Bolton for another season.
    Coyle was singing his praises last week

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,19494_6994963,00.html

And Danny!

And Aguero and Tevez and Neymar and Sanchez. :P

1 at the back 1 in midfield and 8 up front is looking like a possibilty now. :D

Id rather not take Falcao TBH. But I agree with Johner, think its time to wave goodbye to Nico, Kalou and Malouda, just so at least danny can progress. Going to be weird having a manager younger then some of the players. :pac:
    Sturridge needs regular first choice football IMO to keep progressing

thats why 'd ratehr keep him and offlaod the 3 johner mentioned and not sign Falcao. Leave us with Danny, Torres and Drogba and Lukaku.

he'd get game time if any of the above dont perform.

If Falcao does arrive it surely means the end for Drogba?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

May not be a sure thing - odds are slowly drifting back on Betfair.

Were as low as 1.1, now back to 1.5

thats why 'd ratehr keep him and offlaod the 3 johner mentioned and not sign Falcao. Leave us with Danny, Torres and Drogba and Lukaku.

he'd get game time if any of the above dont perform.
    Yes but he wouldn't be first choice regularly starting games.
    Thats what he needs IMO
    He won't get that if Torres, Drogba, Falcao and Lukaku are in the squad too.

If Falcao does arrive it surely means the end for Drogba?

I think Drogba knows his time is up, his one year extension is more a show of loyality IMO. I still love my Drogab though and Im sure he will still have a say next year but he will be 2nd or 3rd choice striker next year.

Or will Villa Boas run the risk of Big Boss wrath and drop Torres??? :P

I think Drogba knows his time is up, his one year extension is more a show of loyality IMO. I still love my Drogab though and Im sure he will still have a say next year but he will be 2nd or 3rd choice striker next year.

Well Gourlay has come out publicy :eek: and said Drogba's staying

NO denial (or confirmation) from chelsea yet re manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

+2
    I can't keep up at tall, its great craic altogether!
    I did mention that until its physically written down, there was always the slimmest of possibilities that Guus might not be at the helm. (self praise is no praise papa...ahh feck off let ye!)

I can't see Drogba being happy with a place on the bench

This is why Chelsea may not sell All 3 of Anelka , Malouda and Kalou
    You need players who are willing to be on a bench as back up

Yes but he wouldn't be first choice regularly starting games.
    Thats what he needs IMO
    He won't get that if Torres, Drogba, Falcao and Lukaku are in the squad too.

I suppose its up to Danny, I think hes at the level now where he can do it with us but he has to be more consistant. Id love if he played 20+ games for us, same with Josh Mac but if it doesnt happen I'd happly send both out on laon to get 20+ games in the EPL and come back next year better.

papagormo wrote: »
    +2
    I can't keep up at tall, its great craic altogether!
    I did mention that until its physically written down, there was always the slimmest of possibilities that Guus might not be at the helm. (self praise is no praise papa...ahh feck off let ye!)

Its just the last day of Jan all over again!
    New thread - new manager

Still reckon Guus will either be DOF or non paid advisor

I can't see Drogba being happy with a place on the bench

This is why Chelsea may not sell All 3 of Anelka , Malouda and Kalou
    You need players who are willing to be on a bench as back up

True, but even he most know that his place in the team is " suad rotation " he isnt a guarnteed starter. With Drogab, when he comes off the bench he wants to prove a point, sometimes Anelka and Malouda just go through the emotions when they come on and offer nothing like the impact of Drogba, hence why id keep him on the bench and ship the rest.

Kalou can be effective but hes so hit or miss its scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Its just the last day of Jan all over again!
    New thread - new manager

Still reckon Guus will either be DOF or non paid advisor

Rather like the last day in Jan it certainly is!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Willie Stroker

Cant wait, this guy has an great record and background, definitely is gonna attract some major players.

papagormo wrote: »
    Rather like the last day in Jan it certainly is!:D

(Draws breath!)

Villas-Boas also supplanted #CFC's Gianluca Vialli (oddly enough) in 10/11 season to become youngest coach to win a European trophy at 33

5 million a year - thats what we paid Mourinho. Is that more or less Carlo's wage? Is that the highest wage for a coach?

33 coaching Drogba lol!
    I thought we were supposed to bring down the age of the squad, not the manager! Almost half the age of Guus!

Drogba 144 goals in 7 years

We also need new scouts so its truly revoultion time!

Will all this change pay off quickly methinks?

(Deep breath!)

Antonio Reis claims Villas Boas is only 2 hours away from being appointed. Things moving fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Think this will be a very astute appointment he knows the players too, the question is will be bring the incredible Hulk with him? This shows RA's intent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭melb

Well done on the new coach. Great record even though not managing that long. Be interesting to see how we works with the star men around his own age-ala Drogba, lampard, Terry, etc Bit of a step up in ego management from Porto.

Andre Villas Boas: Headed to a dug-out near you...
    Nurtured by Bobby Robson and battle-hardened by Jose Mourinho, André Villas Boas is now strutting his stuff at Porto and playing attacking football to die-for. Here’s what Chelsea fans will be getting if the he replaces Ancelotti…
    The path to football management is a pretty well trodden one. First you start out as a player, graduating from academy to reserves to first team, battling against form, fitness and fatigue to try and carve out a name for yourself. Then you might move around a few clubs, picking up experience and honours along your way, possibly even become captain somewhere as your leadership attributes become steadily more apparent to those around you.
    Eventually it’s time to hang up your boots, attend the two day course and seek gainful employment from the relative safety of the dug-out, where you’ll replace sports cars and five-in-a-bed porn star orgies with explaining to Garth Crooks why you can’t defend set pieces.
    But cast an eye over to the Portuguese Liga this season, where Porto have just won their 25th League title, undefeated all season and with five games to spare, under the leadership of one André Villas Boas, a man who had never kicked a ball professionally in his entire life.
    It could quite easily be the script to some terrible ‘Goal’-esque made-for-tv movie, but it’s true. Growing up within ear-shot of Porto’s then coach Bobby Robson, Villas Boas, no more than an enthusiastic 17 year old football fan with near flawless English (his Grandmother is from the North-East), would occasionally attempt to bend the great man’s ear and pick his legendary footballing brain.
    So impressed was Robson with this young mans knowledge and insight into the game, he pulled a few strings and sent him off to a coaching course in Scotland to obtain his badges, despite being over 10 years too young. At 21, after comfortably waltzing through the course, he was given temporary charge of the British Virgin Islands national side before Robson again recommended him for a job that just opened up in his native Portugal. That job was working as an assistant to the cocky young upstart who had just taken control of FC Porto, a certain Mr Jose Mourinho.
    It didn’t take long before Villas Boas talents became obvious to the special one and within months he had elevated himself to what Jose referred to as “his eyes and ears”, scouting, compiling match reports and generally seeing patterns in the game that us mere mortals would have missed. After successive league titles and one Champions League crown, Mourinho dragged his young protege with him to Chelsea and, later, Inter Milan.
    After one season at Inter, Andre decided it was time to try and make it on his own. He didn’t have to wait long. Portuguese side Academica, who after 4 or 5 games were without a win and flapping around the bottom of the table like a wounded seal, needed a miracle. He rode into town, got them organised at the back and expressive going forward and by the end of the season had dragged them from near certs for relegation to a comfortable 11th place finish a Portuguese cup semi-final. Speculation for a bigger appointment was rife and, although it caused some controversy in the boardroom, Porto decided to take a gamble on him.
    So as the bandwagons roll on and the Mourinho comparisons are brutally drilled into your face by an overly-enthused Soccer Saturday panel, sit back and have a smug grin with yourself, you now know better. Forget about him aspiring to be the new “Special One”, the man’s after a Knighthood.
    Less than a year later and they’ve just won the league without defeat, smashed Jose Mourinho’s consecutive win record, play some of the most entertaining attacking football in Europe and have just romped through to the Europa League semis with a 10-3 (yes, ten) aggregate win over Spartak Moscow.
    That’s no small potatoes either. Having finished a disappointing third in the previous campaign and spent the summer sacking their manager and selling off their prize assets in Bruno Alves and Raul Meireles, even the most optimistic of fans would have labelled this as a “transitional period”. Not so it would appear.
    Inevitably the press have fallen over themselves to label him “the next Mourinho”. It’s an understandable comparison, a young, confident Portuguese manager who, following unprecedented domestic success is on the verge of a move to one of Europe’s elite clubs. He’s well-groomed, an eloquent speaker of multiple languages and your missus will definitely fancy him. But that’s where the comparisons with the Real Madrid boss should end, on the surface.
    Porto, Chelsea, Inter and Real Madrid all had one thing in common under Mourinho, a pragmatic, cerebral approach to the game that, whilst not always brilliant to watch, was incredibly effective at chipping away at the opposition until a weakness was found. An approach Villas Boas has no interest in implementing.
    Instead, he has his Porto side playing a delightful brand of attacking football that’s seen them top all the scoring charts this season with a goal difference of +50, already a much better return than they managed last year. Put simply, they’re one of the most exciting teams to watch in all of Europe at the moment and it’s all down Andre’s approach of well-balanced, fast-paced creativity, with two genuine goal scorers in the brilliantly named Hulk and Falcao.
    Anyone who witnessed Mourinho’s masterful conversion of Samuel Eto’o from Barcelona’s deadly finisher to a virtual right-back at Inter will know he’s not one who prioritises breathtaking forward play.
    Compare this to the late, great Sir Bobby Robson, who at the time of meeting Villas Boas was known as “Bobby Five-O” for the amount of games Porto won 5-0, and it’s clear where his footballing influence, as well as his tactical inspiration have come from. Future stints at PSV, Barcelona and even Newcastle Untied all exalting goal-scoring well above defensive solidity.
    He even says it himself. “I see myself more in the image of Robson. Like him I’ve got English heritage, a big nose and I like red wine”. So, with Carlo Ancelotti under increasing pressure in the Stamford Bridge electric chair and Abramovich demanding attacking football, don’t be surprise if Andre returns to Stamford Bridge as top dog.
    So as the bandwagons roll on and the Mourinho comparisons are brutally drilled into your face by an overly-enthused Soccer Saturday panel, sit back and have a smug grin with yourself, you now know better. Forget about him aspiring to be the new “Special One”, the man’s after a Knighthood.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Some of you's might know my opinion of Villa Boas already, and if not, in short I rate him VERY highly. Watched Porto an awful lot last season. Betting on them was a dream innit :D Anyway, consider yourselves very lucky. The man knows his football from every facet. Very knowledgeable, likable individual who will get you's playing entertaining football but has the tactical nous to adapt if need be.
    If he can bring names like Falcao, Hulk, Guarin, Rodriguez and Otamendi in, all the better for Chelsea. They're classy players who will strengthen you're starting XI.

Before Kenny took over after Woy, Villa Boas and Jurgen Klopp(Dortmund) were the first names on my list to take over at Liverpool. Would have taken them in a heartbeat. I have a feeling if Kenny didn't do as well as he did, Villa Boas could very well be our coach.

As I said, consider yourselves very lucky :(

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Should have put a fiver on then :(

15/1 last week and all.

Had a feeling he'd end up at Chelsea once Kenny was awarded a full time contract, so much so I stuck a tenner on him at the start of the month. Fairly confident up until Inter decided to be morons once again with Leo.

Rather it was a losing bet though. A mate (Chelsea fan) of mine has 50 euros on it, lucky bugger :pac:

2ugeakp.png

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SimpleLogic

Here is a long article about Villas-Boas from January, when he was in the frame for Liverpool job. Everything I have read about him is encouraging.

http://www.level3football.com/royhendo/article/andre_villas_boas_would_you_back_him_as_the_next_liverpool_manager

cahiers_dusportBen Shave

Porto release a statement to the CMVM, declaring they have not received any communication that any release clauses are to be exercised.

I think i killed the thread :D
    Or have more of you put me on Ignore?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Wow lads what a mornig. Nothing happens for a month and then this. So its looking like villa boas for manager and hiddink as dof.

Museist likes this:D

cahiers_dusportBen Shave

Porto release a statement to the CMVM, declaring they have not received any communication that any release clauses are to be exercised.

http://aeiou.express...as-boas=f656663

It just says they haven't had communication of the clause being exercised yet. Which is true.

FCP haven't denied anything, they've just issued a statement of current fact. Benfica did the same when we were trying to sign David Luiz. As a public company they are obliged to keep shareholders informed as to how the ground lies, and they're not going to give much else away other than the current state of affairs are they?

Maisfutebol says Porto are just waiting for Chelsea to deposit 15m euros before officially announcing the departure of André Villas-Boas

Places like A Bola don't normally get things that wrong....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

cahiers_dusportBen Shave

Sounds similar to what Benfica did with David Luiz. For the benefit of the shareholders perhaps.

I think i killed the thread :D
    Or have more of you put me on Ignore?:p

Whos this, I cant see anything. :p

Just back from lunch, and I offer you this good sir. :P

buzz_killington_191x300_RE_So_troll-s191x300-152037-580.jpg

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Wow lads what a mornig. Nothing happens for a month and then this. So its looking like villa boas for manager and hiddink as dof.

Museist likes this:D

Wait until "He" is appointed - transfer crazy time then!

So far its just means EMS IV

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Macroseismic_Scale :D

SSN reporting that the offer is too low for ABV, FFS Chels pay the money.

But Portugeese guy on SSN saying he's definitely gonig to CFC and money is not the issue, deal has gone too far now to stop.

smuckers wrote: »
    SSN reporting that the offer is too low for ABV, FFS Chels pay the money.

If the reported price of 13Million is whats offered, thats only 2Million short of his buy out clause. Surely Roman can have a dig arounf the back of one of his couches on his yachts and stump up the 2Million.

Surely???

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Willie Stroker

Could be a complete misunderstanding like converting euro to pound lol.

Porto are reporting to the Stock Exchange that no release clause has been met.
    They are legally obliged to tell thetruth on such things

Could be a complete misunderstanding like converting euro to pound lol.

Well I think £13 Million pound works out to be about 624Million Euro, could be slightly off but not by much I reckon. ;)
    Porto are reporting to the Stock Exchange that no release clause has been met.
    They are legally obliged to tell thetruth on such things

I think they are lying. I have no evidence to base this on though.

What I think may have happened is we bid and they wont let him go until the minimum fee is stumped up so we could be a few million short at the moment.