Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World's oldest animal killed by scientists

• 22-11-2013 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/ming-the-clam-worlds-oldest-animal-dated-as-507-years-old-after-being-accidentally-killed-by-scientists-8942102.html
    A team of researchers from Bangor University have announced that the oldest animal in the world, a species of Icelandic clam known as an ocean quahog, was 507-years-old.

Known as Ming, the bivalve mollusc was ‘born’ in 1499, meaning it was swimming in the oceans before Henry VIII took the English throne. It was named after the Chinese Ming dynasty, which was in power when it was alive.

Ming was unfortunately killed by researchers when they opened its shell to find out how old it was. The unlucky mollusc was picked up from an Icelandic seabed back in 2006, but scientists were unaware of the creature's record breaking age.

It was originally thought to be 405 years old, but advantages in aging methodology means that this age has recently been revised upwards to 507 years.

RIP Ming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,450 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Some wrinkly clam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Ah Jaysus. They couldn't just leave it alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Good job Science!

Ya big jerk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Nearly as old as the Cheese in me fridge

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It had to go....

Tony Soprano

:(

That clam only had one day left 'til retirement.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Mr. Tom

Rest in Clam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,450 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Is a clam a fruit or an animal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

This is the clam before the storm.

Wait until PETA find out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭martinedwards

well, I hope they made chowder!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Thats chowder frenchy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

does it have a use by date ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

507 years, only the good die young

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Mr. Tom

Never look a gift clam in the clam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Clam ye believe it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Bet somewhere Flash Gordon is smiling, Death to Ming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭worded

Didnt the oldest tree suffer the same fate.

Someone used a chainsaw and counted the rings to discover daaaaaaaaaah

It was the oldest living tree

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prometheus_(tree)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

This was un-BEAR-able to read...

Clam pun fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Gandalph wrote: »
    This was un-BEAR-able to read...

Clam pun fail

Clam yourself down. It wasn't that bad. Just shell out a few quid for a decent book on puns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Let's go burn down the observatory so this never happens again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

How merciless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

What an awful pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Very good, Annacoates :D

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭dutcher

Must of having some wrinkly balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Can't believe no one said this but

DEATH TO MING.
    Flash Gordon/ TED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Calibos

I hope the Shell to Sea protesters don't get wind of this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

How delicious did it taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Can't believe no one said this but

DEATH TO MING.
    Flash Gordon/ TED

You stole my joke, death to you!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Rest in Pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Absolute PANDA-monium in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

You stole my joke, death to you!:P

RobbingBandit, complaining about theft?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Sounds like something ten year olds would do in the summer, twits.

Now what metaphor we gonna use to signify happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,222 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I hear he told them nothing. He clammed up.
    Hero Ming.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭thunderdog

We really need to CLAMp down on this sort of thing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bad day for Ming, but let's face it the chances that they found the oldest one are very slim, so there are likely loads of Mings out there and some may be a lot older. There's a type of jellyfish that is essentially immortal. When it gets very old or in times of stress, it flicks a few genes and grows younger, back into a juvenile and starts all over again. There are whales out there that are a couple of centuries old. They found one with an early 19th century hunting harpoon stuck in him and he was still plodding along. There are small box turtles in the US that may be centuries old. I strongly suspect in a century's time we'll have figured out a lot of this stuff and will be able to live a lot longer. If we keep on track for the next five hundred years time I can see the day when it will be possible to be as immortal as is desired. After all at it's basics it's an engineering problem. There's no real barrier to why you couldn't remain "25" for centuries.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Clam yourself down. It wasn't that bad. Just shell out a few squid for a decent book on puns.

FYP

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

THANKS OBAMA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Damn, we could have swapped it for Luke Flanagan and seen if the clam might be more useful as a TD...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

of course it would be more useful than politicians . did you ever see the tongues on those yokes