Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fat blues band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Rigsby

kimnjess wrote: »
    I don't know if I have the time Rigsby, there are so many involved :D, we even have an audience member now :D, it's a tenner at the door by the way Frank11 :D:D. I'm amazed at the response.
    I'll PM shortly.

There's no hurry kimnjess. :) Anytime before the 9th would do.

Do we have a door man BTW? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Probably best to keep posting in here for details on where and when to meet etc.

So anything booked yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭kimnjess

Still waiting for a PM back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Sounds very promising dudes...Hope it works out for yiz :)

Thanks "Fingers". It does look good does n't it. :)

You can have a free ticket kwhen we play the House of Blues...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Bassplayer72

Hey guys,
    Do you still need bass? PM me if this is a runner.

Hey Bassplayer we do have bass but there's been so much interest in this that if another drummer comes along there would be enough musicians for 2 separate jams.

Ok guys I've booked http://www.jamfactory.ie It looks like an ok place, I booked one of the big rooms because there could be a lot of us. I contacted the other two places but they are slow to get back and I don't want to leave it too late. Anyone been to The Jamfactory before??

Whats the date of the booking?

Keyzer wrote: »
    Whats the date of the booking?

.................. and the time ?

The date is the date we agreed on Feb 9th. There is only one evening session and it's from 5.30 - 10.00. Cost is 80 yoyo's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

This sounds good. Let us know how yis get on.

The date is the date we agreed on Feb 9th. There is only one evening session and it's from 5.30 - 10.00. Cost is 80 yoyo's.

Superb - I'll be there but might not make it till about 6PM.

Really looking forward to this now.

Whats the lineup so far?

The people that have confirmed that they are definitely coming are:

Kimnjess - Guitar
    Keyzer - Guitar
    Rigsby - Bass
    Standunnecv - Vocals/guitar
    Mixd98 - Drums

The others that have shown interest have not confirmed that they will be there, it would be great if they could let us know before Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 mixd_98

I wont be able to get to Naas road before 7pm, sorry bout this.

mixd_98 wrote: »
    I wont be able to get to Naas road before 7pm, sorry bout this.

No worries - but you'll defo be there right?

We can tune up, compare instruments and chat in the meantime...

Lads The Jamfactory is not the Naas Rd venue it's on James St., check the link I put up for directions.

Here's the link again so there's no confusion.

http://www.jamfactory.ie/

sax wrote: »
    Hey, am a 42 y/o saxophonist (alto, soprano), based in Swords. Would be interested. Marek

Marek,
    I sent you a tect earlier.

Can you make the jam?

Hi, if its James's street that should not be a problem for about 6 bells, dont know where i got Naas rd.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 1952

will be there at 5 oc see you then 1952.

And is it a bodhran, a tuba, a ukelele or spoons you'll be bringing along 1952? :)

There's a vacancy for a washboard ! :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 StanDunneCV

alrite lads,
    Whats happenin...just checkin in with ya's. Learnin the songs at the mo, well I knew em b4 but just want to know em inside out! How are uz gettin on with them?
    I was lookin there at the other posts - is the harp player in too? ANd the saxaphone man? Christ this will be great, I used to play sax years ago - but sold it in my youthful stupidity b4 I got into the blues! Be great to have them in.
    Anyway, hope uz are all well...talk soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mremanuelepisu

thre is place for a slim man ? ;)
    www.myspace.com/mremanuelepisu

thre is place for a slim man ? ;)
    www.myspace.com/mremanuelepisu

You are more than welcome. :) This is just a casual jam BTW. We are not playing the "House of Blues"............. just yet. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mremanuelepisu

ok,i will be there on 9 Febr. at 18 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Tommy the Cat

Sounds like the making of a great band, good luck chaps.

Stan, like Rigsby says this is a casual jam, don't be killing yourself learning the songs note for note. I just kinda know the songs, there'll be a lot of improv from me.

probably ill sound like all of them.

Really looking forward to this I have to say...

Was listening to La Grange yesterday - cool song.

1952 wrote: »

Yes, but playing what instrument :confused: We still dont know. The suspense is killing me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Guys if you want a brilliant blues number try...I would rather go blind.

Original by Etta James but covered by loads of guys. Have A listen and tell me what you think. 2 simple chords. with loads of riffs.

C'mon 1952 giz a hint? Dya bang it, strum it, pick it, pluck it, blow it, suck it, or slap it :confused:. Does it come in a case, can you fit it in your pocket, can you play it with one hand :confused:........................

not yet wrote: »
    Guys if you want a brilliant blues number try...I would rather go blind.

I love that song. I had n't heard it for years and it was played at a blues gig last night. Here's my favourite cover of it by Chicken Shack.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ohx9Ve7-GS0&feature=PlayList&p=30B63D2E6757DFD2&playnext=1&index=45

Rigsby wrote: »
    I love that song. I had n't heard it for years and it was played at a blues gig last night. Here's my favourite cover of it by Chicken Shack.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ohx9Ve7-GS0&feature=PlayList&p=30B63D2E6757DFD2&playnext=1&index=45

Great tune...

Paul Weller does a great version of it...

C'mon 1952 giz a hint? Dya bang it, strum it, pick it, pluck it, blow it, suck it, or slap it :confused:. Does it come in a case, can you fit it in your pocket, can you play it with one hand :confused:........................
    i play drums sorry reply is late internet is not great up here at moment. see you all monday.....

i play drums sorry reply is late. internet is not great up here at moment. see you all monday.....

At last.....!!! :p

Looking foreward to seeing you all on Monday. :)

Marek,
    I sent you a text earlier.

Can you make the jam?

Keyzer : Did you hear back from Marek :confused:

Nothing yet from Marek...

Ok well looks like y'all have a drummer in 1952, didnt realise he was a drummer either, good luck with it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭freshcream

I am so jealous of you guys now:confused: I hope it all works out.

freshcream wrote: »
    I am so jealous of you guys now:confused: I hope it all works out.

There's nothing to stop you joining us. :) What do you play ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 terry groves

hi drummer here age 36 email tergroves@hotmail.com.

We could do an Allman Brothers Band setup - two drummers playing simultaneously...

Turn up anyway, why not...

BTW if anyone has the nominated tracks on cd ect and a player, it might be a good idea to bring them along. I can bring "Have you heard.."

Rigsby wrote: »
    BTW if anyone has the nominated tracks on cd ect and a player, it might be a good idea to bring them along. I can bring "Have you heard.."

I have them all on my laptop/ipod, I can hook it up to the PA system in the room and play them through that.

Looking forward to this - evryone better turn up or you officially have a vagina...

I have them all on my laptop/ipod, I can hook it up to the PA system in the room and play them through that.

Perfect !

sax wrote: »
    Hey, am a 42 y/o saxophonist (alto, soprano), based in Swords. Would be interested. Marek

Marek, are you ok for tomorrow's jam :confused: