Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pronunciations that drive you mad

• 09-05-2012 8:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

One girl I know says "pellow" instead of "pillow". I am pedantic enough that this really bugs me.

She also says "on-velope" for "envelope".

Any other pronunications that annoy you?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

"Arr-T-É," "podato," and, even though it's fairly common here, "th" pronounced as "t."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Defin-eye-tly and when people pronounce a G in tremendous.

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

Gee. Damn yanks can't say it right.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Dead Kennedys

Gaaaaarrrrrdeee....The RTE pronunciation of Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,699 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Eggs-presso
    teeesue (tissue)
    eeesssue (issue)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Gaaaaarrrrrdeee....The RTE pronunciation of Gardai.

The correct way?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Yisterday I heard a fellow say tomorra is Wehendsday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

When vehicle is pronounced Feh-heh-kill :(

Usually done on Crimecall or Crimewatch or whatever the hell its called these days!!

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Typewriter

Lis-bon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I axed him a question. Drives me nuts. You're not in the ghetto or Harlem ffs.

Or sangwich. Though this doesn't quite drive me nuts.. Just yet

Or I folleed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Eck setera.

Anything with a 'th' by Ian Guider.

Window Still

Chimley

Scaff

Damp squid (by Bertie Ahern)

I'll tink of more anon...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Many of the examples so far just sound like Hiberno English to me and that's cool. The pronunciations that would grind my gears are those that the user thinks makes them sound "posh". Riiindabite for roundabout, adding aitches where they don't exist out of a fear of dropping them where they do. HeightH a good example, throatH instead of throat another. TBH I'd rather hear someone say tirty tree and a tird than those examples.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Supernanny: "asseptable" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

A woman I work with describes herself as "volumptuous" and she also pronounces pyjamas as "perr-jarr-merrs".

This bothers me immensely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

thongue for tongue. (+invariably misspelt tounge or something like it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Gord as in: "Gords.. Gords protect them!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Yea. The Gore Thee. It's an Irish word ffs!

Pacific
    Expresso
    Ek Cetera

Everyone says amount of people and less people whereas it should be number of people and fewer people.

It doesn't annoy me when general peons speak like this because many of them don't know any better, but I would expect broadcasters on our national media to be able to speak properly, and many of them can't. Some of them even have atrocious speech impediments like the one with the lithshp on R1 who reads out whash itsh shayshs in the papersh.

There are a great number of smart people who can speak out of work now. Why not give them a shot?

Pisses me off it does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Tissss- ooooohs when saying Tissues:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,031 ✭✭✭✭bnt

People saying "en-velope" (rhyming with "pen") instead of the correct "on-velope". It's a French word, like "entourage" or "ensemble".

Plus: there is no "x" in "Espresso" (coffee).

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

Sky King wrote: »
    Expresso
    bnt wrote: »
    Plus: there is no "x" in "Espresso" (coffee).
    Snap!

Another one is a "h" on the end of "height", so it becomes "heighth". Does not compute. :rolleyes:

— Kingsley Amis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Thighland really bugs me.

And I have a friend that doesn't say fab-uuuuuu-lous, she says fab-a-lus. Really irritiating for some reason.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Roish, and D4 accents in general.

Also, those stupid ****ing man-bags and scarfs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

People who don't know the difference between 'then' and 'than' and just pronounce them the same when they are speaking.

'its better then buying it in the shop'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Million is not Millen

The A to Z is not Ah to Zed

If you want to be specific, please do so but don't be Pacific

If there is an obstacle in your way, calling it an oxtable will not help

Off course I've often mispronounced things myself. Only recently when trying to ask my ex-girlfriend "Would you like to go out for dinner tonight dear?", I mispronounced it to sound like "You've ruined my life you manipulative bítch".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

People who don't know the difference between 'then' and 'than' and just pronounce them the same when they are speaking.

'its better then buying it in the shop'

This one really annoys me, moreso when its written than anything because I dont really notice it much when its spoken. How in the name of christ do people not know the difference between these? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

My old boss could not pronounce secretary and instead pronounced it sec-ertary!! Did my head in.

Also people who are trying to be "pacific" about something!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,522 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the kiwis pronounce mullet as mouleé :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

ash-hume instead of assume :(

Apperantly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

I blame the parents!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Yer one on RTE who says fin-ance instead of fy-nance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Wibbs wrote: »
    Many of the examples so far just sound like Hiberno English to me and that's cool. The pronunciations that would grind my gears are those that the user thinks makes them sound "posh". Riiindabite for roundabout, adding aitches where they don't exist out of a fear of dropping them where they do. HeightH a good example, throatH instead of throat another. TBH I'd rather hear someone say tirty tree and a tird than those examples.

Is that not another effect of Hiberno-English, to some degree at least? In Irish, when Ts are next to a broad vowel, it's not pronounced as a hard T. It's sounds somewhat like a TH - maybe halfway between a hard T and a TH, if that makes any sense?

I wouldn't know how to write this phonetically, but for words like "Tá", "Taoiseach", "Tóg" etc., when you say the T part, the tip of your tongue should be hitting off the bottom inside of your teeth. It creates a sort of a TH sound, but not as strong as what it's like in English (here, the flat top part of your tongue seems to hit off the very bottom, narrow/sharp part of the teeth).

A similar "process" is done when Ds and Ns are next to broad vowels. That's why, when RTÉ say "na Gardaí Síochána", it sounds more like "Gore-thee" (the Ns in the first and third words are also affected), rather than "gore-dee".

Not sure if that makes sense to you!

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭Dub Ste

Why can't people on the radio/tv pronounce the rather simple word OFF.

OFF is spelt OFF,that's why it's OFF,not ORF,as in kick ORF is at three.

OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF !!!!!!

Shower of feckers :mad::mad:

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

Oym Moykull McMullen and oym going to get my head kicked in if i keep talking like that.

Car-pen-ter
    Cal-en-der
    Pass-en-ger

Electreeeeshan
    politeeeeeshan

Mote Cotrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Curcle instead of Circle.
    Wan instead of One.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Forehead pronounced forit. Our your for it i.e your getting it pronounced for et.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Wibbs wrote: »
    The pronunciations that would grind my gears are those that the user thinks makes them sound "posh"... aitches

'dafuq's an aitch??
    Do you mean haich?:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

English pronunciations of Irish names especially football players. A lot of Irish people are starting to use the English pronunciation now ffs.

KAY-HILL instead of Cahill.

Dough-herty instead of Doherty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Oym Moykull McMullen and oym going to get my head kicked in if i keep talking like that.

I HATE his voice, accent and being!
    The worst is when he tries to say Aironi (rugby team) in his fake accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

turty tree and a turd!!

Nearly all Irish people are guilty of pronouncing a three (3) as 'tree'
    Newstalk radio is worst for this.

Oh and the Marathon Sports ad. on newstalk - 'Mariton sports'

- why does the whole country speak like they've got stones in their mouths('moutts')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Scone - when the cone part is pronounced like gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Comm-i-tae instead of committee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Chicargo... drives me bananas!

Also when Dubs say words with a short vowel where there should be a long one:

FÁS = "foss"
    Audit = "oddit"

I heard one particular journalist on RTE call the new president of France François "OllANday". :eek:

omahaid wrote: »
    Hate to break this to you, but that is the correct pronunciation in Scotland, where Scones were invented. The "s-cone" pronunciation is an English affectation.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

omahaid wrote: »

Ah here now. If you pronounce it your way then this joke doesnt work.

What's the fastest bun in the world?

Scone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭silverwood

People who call the iPod Touch an iTouch. Drives me bonkers, but then that's not too difficult :mad:

Dub Ste wrote: »
    Why can't people on the radio/tv pronounce the rather simple word OFF.

OFF is spelt OFF,that's why it's OFF,not ORF,as in kick ORF is at three.

OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF !!!!!!

Shower of feckers :mad::mad:

how orkward

i'm off to drink some larger in chicargo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

bnt wrote: »
    Hate to break this to you, but that is the correct pronunciation in Scotland, where Scones were invented. The "s-cone" pronunciation is an English affectation.

Hate to break this to you, we're not in Scotland