Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slipped disc experiences

• 12-02-2015 5:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭

Not looking for medical advice in this thread, just peoples personal experience with slipped discs.

Has anyone had multiple slipped disc episodes and make a full recovery without surgery? For example steroid injections, physio, oral medication and so on?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I had a few bulging discs and a very successful epidural.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

I am curious about this too

Just been told I have displaced discs in 2 parts of my back, and have Spinal canal stenosis
    Will be keeping an eye on the thread to see what peoples feedback is.

The radiographer of my MRI scan finished with the words " Spinal Surgical opinion advised" :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

I had a herniated disc a few years ago. The initial treatment was to try physio and TENS but that didn't help and, after pushing, I eventually got referred to the speicialist and had a MRI scan. After that it went fast - he saw the problem immediately and referred me further to the surgeon who brought me in for surgery. Having the surgery was amazing - after months of agony, it was as though someone had flipped a switch and removed the pain.

My advice is to have a MRI scan to allow accurate diagnosis: without that it seems to be pure guesswork. It may be possible to treat it using physio and other more traditional methods, although I'd recommend staying away from healers, chiropracters and other quacks.

From my experience, there's no need to worry about surgery although it does, of course, have its risks - my surgeon pointed out that he had performed that particular procedure many times before, so it was pretty much routine.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

I've had back trouble all my life and have explored every kind of intervention short of surgery. Last MRI showed multiple disc profusions and significant stenosis. Explored possibility of surgery but when the consultant first signed me up for an expensive further diagnostic procedure, then lost my results and couldn't provide much comfort about prognosis I declined surgery. I manage the situation now with lots of Pilates, stretching, antiinflammatory etc. I can manage day to day but have always to be conscious of it.

I always remember that one doctor said if you took MRIs of a random 100 people the vast majority would show disc bulges and stenosis!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13 axri

Ive had a long histroy of back trouble also, had a partial disectomy L4 L5 when i was young, got back to normal activity, playing football and soccer etc, then it went again, had an epidural, did nothing, and i now think the best way out of them is to bear it keep up light activity and try and stretch. then slipped a disc in my neck, that was really sore, and had a replacement, still in recovery 12mths on but i can see it comeing round, once again, just takes time to build back to normal. however, i believe that some people just have inherint technical defaults that cause these things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭KaaaaaaPOW

I always remember that one doctor said if you took MRIs of a random 100 people the vast majority would show disc bulges and stenosis!!

This was actually done in a UK study, they stopped people on the street to see would they have an MRI.

Some of them had really fu*cked up backs and not a bother with them and vice versa, some had tiny bulges and were crippled. Just depends if it's hitting a nerve or not really.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

I had a bulging (slipped) disc 3 years ago - happened suddenly, no warning, no reason other than un-diagnosed scoliosis & pre-disposition. The agony :eek:, I couldn't move at all without help. I was bedridden for 5 weeks. I had epidural spine injections, and I'm grand now.

It took a while - and a lot of that was probably in my head. It was hard not to 'careful' of my back.

Best advice:If you are advised to by your consultant, do the core exercises, 3-4 times a week minimum - they really really help, despite being boring as hell. I've since taken up weights in the gym - and I've no problems unless I overdo it :o

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭livemusic4life

Having radio frequency denervation of the affected pinched nerves was fairly easy. Home in my own bed a few hours after the procedure. Few weeks of the site being sore but great outcome. Try to get an appointment with your local pain management clinic. Don't get me wrong with painful to have done but 20 minutes of pain and 45 minutes in recovery is a very small price to pay. I even learned to drive finally at the age of 32 after 20 years in pain :)

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭konline

Just found this thread when I was searching for something.

I had gone through same Physio and other exercises, nothing got changed, finally I was referred to a MRI. I was diagnosed for L5-S1 slipped disc, had gone through lot of pain for around 10 months and had taken many pain killers.
    I have consulted a surgeon two months ago, since then I had two ESIs - Injections.
    I would say that my pain has gone down but not completely. If pain continues Surgeon's next recommendation is go for a surgery but I want to avoid it as far as I can.
    At the moment I am doing a couple of stretches at home and do a walk regularly. I would appreciate if any of you share your experiences and have any recommendation.
    I will keep an eye on this thread. Thanks.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Core strength is very important, as is your posture. You'd be surprised if you start looking closely at your posture, I list to one side (long story) and if I am on a one-side bad day, it drives my back nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Hi folks,

I'll share my current experiences with a similar issue. Locked facet joint in my lower back over stretching during running training about two years ago and have suffered on and off with facet joint problems which would be resolved by physio pretty quickly.

About 5 weeks ago now I had a relapse and while showering I reached for shampoo and doubled over in pain. Anyway got some pain killers and Valium from the Doc but the pain increased dramatically and I was diagnosed by physio and Doctor agreed that I have probably slipped/prolapsed a disc at L4-L5 and am going for MRI this week to confirm.

Pain has got increasingly worse and I would be literally immobile on couch and floor having been warned not to sit at all. Painkillers barely took the edge off. Week later pain now in left leg so now sciatic symptoms to boot.

Just to warn people if you do need strong pain killers I take tylex when needed that you will become constipated :o so get some duphlac and senokot.

Have been doing some stretches as advised by physio. I'm hoping that the disc will resolve itself rather than surgery.

Keep moving and take pain killers so you can move to keep muscles locking and going into spasms. Take the Valium to relax everything.

Will report back on MRI and let ye know how I get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭katana1

I have bad back for twenty years .....I am 47..getting worse as i get older.about ten years ago my neck started giving trouble and i had to demand to see specialist ..low and behold two more discs damaged
    Tally ..three damaged in lower back..two in neck..
    no surgery option as too close to nerves.
    As pain increasees you learn to live with it.lhad to give all my hobbies up...motorbikes...sea kayaking were my main ones.
    five years ago had to resign from work.
    Due to other crazy sports i also have joint problems.
    ive had all the ct..mri scans..i have tried several recommended physio.cyros.quacks with magic hands...ect...no luck.
    now its the meds and the injections keeping me sane.
    they all come with side effects as mentioned in above post.
    each day i push my body as far as i can ..somedays too much and really pay for it.
    i just accept it as part of me...this took me a while as i was always very active.
    people ask me jow i fill my days..mornings i have a couple of hours trying to free out.afternoon ..a bit of media first..then see what i can do ..depending on how bad or good i am.
    i am lucky i didnt get depression but i do get fed up when i am unable to do something.ie..washing car or walking my dog but i just find something else.
    this is the first time i gave full account of my situation.
    basically..it is what it is.
    oh..by the way ..im not living in luxury with a claim.
    my condition was progressive and no employers fault
    well...thats me.
    EDIT..as mentioned in another post keeping posture is so important. If u let yourself slump and give into it down the line you will suffer far worse. It isn't easy..that's for sure but you may subject yourself to premature osteoporosis.
    Also I stretch when I can..waiting for the kettle..stretch off countertop.

I tried Meditens machine ..actually bought one for back and neck and one for my knees..sadly back and neck didn't work too well epically your male and have a few hairs.the one for knees is great.
    Main thing is keeping positive..and just doing what I am able to do.
    Thanks for taking the time to read the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    Hi folks,

I'll share my current experiences with a similar issue. Locked facet joint in my lower back over stretching during running training about two years ago and have suffered on and off with facet joint problems which would be resolved by physio pretty quickly.

About 5 weeks ago now I had a relapse and while showering I reached for shampoo and doubled over in pain. Anyway got some pain killers and Valium from the Doc but the pain increased dramatically and I was diagnosed by physio and Doctor agreed that I have probably slipped/prolapsed a disc at L4-L5 and am going for MRI this week to confirm.

Pain has got increasingly worse and I would be literally immobile on couch and floor having been warned not to sit at all. Painkillers barely took the edge off. Week later pain now in left leg so now sciatic symptoms to boot.

Just to warn people if you do need strong pain killers I take tylex when needed that you will become constipated :o so get some duphlac and senokot.

Have been doing some stretches as advised by physio. I'm hoping that the disc will resolve itself rather than surgery.

Keep moving and take pain killers so you can move to keep muscles locking and going into spasms. Take the Valium to relax everything.

Seen similar happen to two fellas because of stretching.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

katana1 wrote: »
    I have bad back for twenty years .....I am 47..getting worse as i get older.about ten years ago my neck started giving trouble and i had to demand to see specialist ..low and behold two more discs damaged
    Tally ..three damaged in lower back..two in neck..
    no surgery option as too close to nerves.
    As pain increasees you learn to live with it.lhad to give all my hobbies up...motorbikes...sea kayaking were my main ones.
    five years ago had to resign from work.
    Due to other crazy sports i also have joint problems.
    ive had all the ct..mri scans..i have tried several recommended physio.cyros.quacks with magic hands...ect...no luck.
    now its the meds and the injections keeping me sane.
    they all come with side effects as mentioned in above post.
    each day i push my body as far as i can ..somedays too much and really pay for it.
    i just accept it as part of me...this took me a while as i was always very active.
    people ask me jow i fill my days..mornings i have a couple of hours trying to free out.afternoon ..a bit of media first..then see what i can do ..depending on how bad or good i am.
    i am lucky i didnt get depression but i do get fed up when i am unable to do something.ie..washing car or walking my dog but i just find something else.
    this is the first time i gave full account of my situation.
    basically..it is what it is.
    oh..by the way ..im not living in luxury with a claim.
    my condition was progressive and no employers fault
    well...thats me.
    EDIT..as mentioned in another post keeping posture is so important. If u let yourself slump and give into it down the line you will suffer far worse. It isn't easy..that's for sure but you may subject yourself to premature osteoporosis.
    Also I stretch when I can..waiting for the kettle..stretch off countertop.

I tried Meditens machine ..actually bought one for back and neck and one for my knees..sadly back and neck didn't work too well epically your male and have a few hairs.the one for knees is great.
    Main thing is keeping positive..and just doing what I am able to do.
    Thanks for taking the time to read the post.

would you not seek a 2nd opinion from a different Neurosurgeon ? OH has had 2 microdiskectomies done due to unbelievable pain, spasms etc by Paraic O'Neill in the Mater Private and while she is not perfect, her life is 95% better with only the occasional bad day, I cant believe that in this day & age that someone should be in that much pain

Spook_ie wrote: »
    would you not seek a 2nd opinion from a different Neurosurgeon ? OH has had 2 microdiskectomies done due to unbelievable pain, spasms etc by Paraic O'Neill in the Mater Private and while she is not perfect, her life is 95% better with only the occasional bad day, I cant believe that in this day & age that someone should be in that much pain

Hello .Thank you for your cocern.I have been told the story that a lot of people have discs that look as if they are pushing on nerves .and have no pain.
    I am now in public health service and it takes an age to get anything done.
    I have seen a specialist for second opinion..this wae private .He did not agree with the road i was on.Thing is i do not have vhi ect...so anything from there on was out of my own pocket..i simply have not got it to spend.
    I am seeing a pain specialist but he gives me nothing but botox..helps with muscle spasms but the core pain is still hurting.
    I will say it to my gp about seeing someone else but i am not holding my breath.
    Again my sincere thanks for your suggestion.
    I will take it on board and see what way my Gp goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I had surgery in August and it was the best decision I have made.

Back in the gym now about 4 months, and most days genuinely forget i ever had any pain.

Hello .Thank you for your cocern.I have been told the story that a lot of people have discs that look as if they are pushing on nerves .and have no pain.
    I am now in public health service and it takes an age to get anything done.
    I have seen a specialist for second opinion..this wae private .He did not agree with the road i was on.Thing is i do not have vhi ect...so anything from there on was out of my own pocket..i simply have not got it to spend.
    I am seeing a pain specialist but he gives me nothing but botox..helps with muscle spasms but the core pain is still hurting.
    I will say it to my gp about seeing someone else but i am not holding my breath.
    Again my sincere thanks for your suggestion.
    I will take it on board and see what way my Gp goes.

Where are you located? someone here may be able to recommend someone.

Have you thought about writing to your Pain Management guy? I'm not joking. I've done it myself when in desperation, and to his credit his exceptionally good with the funding they have. And like you, i am a public patient. Sometimes doctors won't refer you to someone else because it reflects badly on them, but all you want is someone to take a second look.

Where are you located? someone here may be able to recommend someone.

Have you thought about writing to your Pain Management guy? I'm not joking. I've done it myself when in desperation, and to his credit his exceptionally good with the funding they have. And like you, i am a public patient. Sometimes doctors won't refer you to someone else because it reflects badly on them, but all you want is someone to take a second look.

That is an excellent suggestion.When I get a date to see him there is always a room full
    I find it hard to explain things to him and always think of something very relevant afterwards that should have been told to him.
    I am due to see him at the end of march.
    If I put a letter together explaining everything that I go through,he may take a different approach. I see him in the south infirmary in Cork city.
    He is a nice man but seems to be run off his feet..
    Again my sincere thanks for your great suggestion,
    My kindest Regards.
    K.

That is an excellent suggestion.When I get a date to see him there is always a room full
    I find it hard to explain things to him and always think of something very relevant afterwards that should have been told to him.
    I am due to see him at the end of march.
    If I put a letter together explaining everything that I go through,he may take a different approach. I see him in the south infirmary in Cork city.
    He is a nice man but seems to be run off his feet..
    Again my sincere thanks for your great suggestion,
    My kindest Regards.
    K.

Ah, same clinic as me. If you ever want to meet up for a coffee and a rant just let me know

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hi folks,

Jeez youve been through the mill. im mid thirties. Already had one Microdisectomy. Epidurals didn't work. Thats was over a year ago. Still get daily pain in my buttocks and toes and in my lower back if i take the mick. Had an mri there lately. Have lost a half cm off the length of my spine from disc degeneration. L4 disc is still rubbing off my nerve.
    Not too bad though, but when i her stories like yours it puts the chills in me. Thankfully i have private med insurance. Sure got my moneys worth from that.
    Annoys me when people give you that look/attitude as if your lazy or just 'complaining' about 'simple' back pain.
    Never realised how important the back is to your whole body, its the core of nearly all your activities. Would gladly have taken two broken legs instead, at least they'd heal.

Theres my rant. :o

Hi folks,

Jeez youve been through the mill. im mid thirties. Already had one Microdisectomy. Epidurals didn't work. Thats was over a year ago. Still get daily pain in my buttocks and toes and in my lower back if i take the mick. Had an mri there lately. Have lost a half cm off the length of my spine from disc degeneration. L4 disc is still rubbing off my nerve.
    Not too bad though, but when i her stories like yours it puts the chills in me. Thankfully i have private med insurance. Sure got my moneys worth from that.
    Annoys me when people give you that look/attitude as if your lazy or just 'complaining' about 'simple' back pain.
    Never realised how important the back is to your whole body, its the core of nearly all your activities. Would gladly have taken two broken legs instead, at least they'd heal.

Theres my rant. :o

Had my MRI in the vista Naas yesterday morning, excellent in and out in 45mins.

Phone call from Doctor (never good when they ring, was due in next week anyway) and not great. One very bad disc, bulge is pressing against nerve root which is causing the pain. Another one has a tear. So next visit is to Physio tomorrow and Doctor is referring me to an Orthopedic Surgeon.

Should have given some of my background. I'm male 46, not overweight (BMI 25.5) and run regularly (well did :( ) have done some full marathons and regularly do 10k's. I thought I was doing everything right at my age to avoid trouble later in life.

So a couple of questions for those of you who have already traveled they road I'm about to take.
    1/ Is the sciatic pain a permanent thing or does it ease or even go away?
    2/ Is surgery the only option re this problem?
    3/ How many opinions did ye get as in Doctors, Physios etc?
    4/ Big one costs. Made the decision when we had to, that it was either the mortgage and some quality of life or mortgage and health insurance and quiet nights in (herself lost her job)?
    4A/ Can you pay privately to see an Orthopedic Consultant and wait on the public for an operation if needed (does this move the process along quicker), have seen figures of €5,000 for operation (if needed)?

Big one; what is your quality of life like, are you constantly waiting on a flare up? Do you refuse to bend down or even sit again, lying on floor as I type? Am still in a bit of shock and am worried to be honest.

Had my MRI in the vista Naas yesterday morning, excellent in and out in 45mins.

Phone call from Doctor (never good when they ring, was due in next week anyway) and not great. One very bad disc, bulge is pressing against nerve root which is causing the pain. Another one has a tear. So next visit is to Physio tomorrow and Doctor is referring me to an Orthopedic Surgeon.

Should have given some of my background. I'm male 46, not overweight (BMI 25.5) and run regularly (well did :( ) have done some full marathons and regularly do 10k's. I thought I was doing everything right at my age to avoid trouble later in life.

So a couple of questions for those of you who have already traveled they road I'm about to take.
    1/ Is the sciatic pain a permanent thing or does it ease or even go away?
    2/ Is surgery the only option re this problem?
    3/ How many opinions did ye get as in Doctors, Physios etc?
    4/ Big one costs. Made the decision when we had to, that it was either the mortgage and some quality of life or mortgage and health insurance and quiet nights in (herself lost her job)?
    4A/ Can you pay privately to see an Orthopedic Consultant and wait on the public for an operation if needed (does this move the process along quicker), have seen figures of €5,000 for operation (if needed)?

Big one; what is your quality of life like, are you constantly waiting on a flare up? Do you refuse to bend down or even sit again, lying on floor as I type? Am still in a bit of shock and am worried to be honest.

Hello,
    This is from my own experience and your condition may differ.
    The sciatic pain will ease ,I have it down my right leg .It comes and goes with me.A good physio will show u exercises that will keep it at bay. Like yourself I was fairly fit and that will be a great asset to your recovery.
    Neurosurgery is usually done when the doc thinks that it is best option.They take doing the surgery very seriously and would not recommend it unless they thought it was best for you.
    It is not an option for me but my brother had it done and recovered well after it with no lasting problems.
    I would ask if surgery is your only option.I am not trying to scare you but in some cases you will be fine like my brother.Other cases you will still have same pain and you need to speak to your doc about all possible outcomes.
    I lost my health insurance as I had to resign from work over my spinal issues.
    If you go private...The op will be private but also any aftercare that you may need from that consultant.
    Just one piece of advice ...this is a life changing decision for you.If it were me I would pay the 140 euro and see a different consultant for peace of mind.
    In my case I don't know from one day to the next how bad the pain will be..I have to accept it's there all the time in different degrees.
    I wish you the best and pray that you will be fine and look back on the situation you are in as a bad memory.Feel free to p.m. me if you need anything.
    My regards and best wishes on your recovery.
    K.

Another update folks, between the Doc, Physio and my MRI results some concern was expressed re loss of power in my left foot. Considering my lack of medical insurance my Doctor thought it was best I attend A&E in Beaumount. My physio had remarked that had I have had insurance I would have been seen privately that afternoon and have gotten surgery (if required) within a week. This shows the advantage of insurance if you can afford it.

Anyway I presented myself to A&E with a referral letter along with MRI report and images on disc. I'm not going to sugar coat it, I was waiting, the staff were excellent but A&E itself is another story.

Was seen by neurosurgeon, there and then after seeing the A&E Doctor because I had the MRI results and a good letter from Doctor. Lesson here is folks, pay for the MRI if you can afford it, would have to have gone on waiting list to get MRI and then be seen by neurosurgeon so might have been weeks or months rather than hours.

Heel of the hunt is, there is some loss of power, in the opinion of Neurosurgeon SHO and Consultant it will hopefully return as the bulging disc recedes off the nerve, this may take up to 6 months. I was prescribed extra strong medication for the sciatic pain in the leg and told to rest and get as much physio as possible after a couple of weeks rest.

No running and only swimming or non impact exercise is allowed in the short term.

So my main points of advice would be, don't ignore the pain. Mine gradually increased and went from lower back to the leg. It can be just the leg or foot that is sore or indeed numb. The numbness is a danger sign of nerve damage. Get good medical advice, double check with a good sports Doc and take the advise of your physio. Get an MRI if it is advised, pay for it if needed as the wait publicly is...... mine set me back €160 some of which I'll get back in tax, but so well worth it.

So folks, slipped disc can cause pain in your neck, lower back and legs or arm. There may be no pain at all but a numbness or pins and needles type feeling in arm or leg. Don't ignore the numbness. If this numbness increases or more importantly you lose bowel or bladder control or stop waking up with morning glories get to A&E straight away.

I was relatively fit and healthy, not overweight so it can happen anyone and for the simplest of reasons. I'm going to be honest and say the pain on occasion was unbelievable in its intensity, it then reduced and went to my leg. Take your painkillers and anti inflammatories.

Once I'm fully recovered I'm going to work on core strength, be more careful lifting everything, dogs, shopping and shampoo in showers.

Please feel free to PM me with any questions, worries.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

I was quite active, looking back maybe a little too active (Badminton, gym, running). My pain started as what I felt was a pulled hamstring and developed over time quite some time.

I had the microdiscectomy almost two tears ago now. My pain was quite bad, I couldn't walk more than 10 minutes, stand up for more than a couple of minutes etc. I had pins and needles in my left foot and large parts of my left leg and left buttock were numb.

After the operation the pain went almost straight away, as did most of the numbness (and the pins and needles). I still have an area which is numb though, I think its decreased in size, but I suspect that I will always have it now.

Can you tell us Ping were you treated publicly or privately. Just asking as to waiting times if you went public.

How long were you experiencing the symptoms before they decided that surgery was the best option for you. I know some of us might like an estimate as to costs etc, if not too personal a question, apologies if it is. Your procedure was the one touted as the one I may or may not have to get if my symptoms don't improve.

Not to scare you or anything, they told me that depending on the length of time and severity of blood flow restriction to the nerve being pressed on by the bulge, that some damage may occur and so any loss of feeling or power be permanent. Now what was said to me based on my MRI pictures and so you hopefully might into that bracket is that eventually all feeling and power should return.

Considering it has been two years since the Op have you been able to return to an active life again and what lifestyles changes have you made re, and this is probably going to sound silly, simple things like sitting for extended periods like flights etc and how careful are you lifting things.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

I spent around 9 months from my first GP visit (when to be fair I first thought I had a pulled hamstring that would not get better) till getting to seing a consultant after my MRI Scan on the NHS. When I saw him, his opening gambit was that the bulge was so large he was suprised I could walk, but as I hadn't put down that I was in so lots of pain (in the questionaire you get in the hospital) he couldn't operate. Looking back he was doing his best to get me to say I was in alot of pain, but I get frightend at hospitals. The consultant even said he normally operates striaght away with a bluge my size, and that the pain will go right away, but I got scared, I have never had a big operation before.

I then went back to my GP, explained I had private cover through work and one week later I was being operated on.

I now play badminton as well as I did before (though not quite as often) Gym is OK (though I am more carefull now) and I did a 10K run last year. I have cut back on the running though, I am sure it is a confidence thing though. I think that the biggest thing is that I had a year where I didn't do any sport and it's a habbit that you get out of.

The costs, well work paid for it all. I seem to remember it being right on the limit for the outpatients (1,500 pounds) and a few K for the operation itself.

This is all in England by the way.

As for day to day - I wouldnt like to drive long distance as that is when my back finally went - but I have been on longhaul flights to Canada OK and been a passenger on a 5 hour drive to Scotland. I do get days where I can feel a little bit of pain, it is normally around the numb area of my buttocks, so I always hope it is a bit of feeling coming back. I am more carefull picking stuff up, but thats just good practice.

I do my back exorcises most days and do yogo most weeks, I feel this helps alot (though always make sure your doctor is OK with you doing this after your operation).

Previous to the MRI I had NHS physio (which wasn't great) a private chiropractor, who I thought was great. around 4 visits to the GP and even sent to the A&E one day.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Well saw the Consultant
    Basically said yeah you have a few bits and bobs a bit wonky, but nothing worth working on, if anything the post surgical pain would only add to the issues.

Basically do some physio, Pilates and back to playing football etc and get on with it.

Mentioned degenerative, and he said we all have that. Last words were that my back was as good as his

So NO OP required which is good and just try to get on with life

chef wrote: »
    Well saw the Consultant
    Basically said yeah you have a few bits and bobs a bit wonky, but nothing worth working on, if anything the post surgical pain would only add tot he issues.

Basically do some physio, Pilates and back to playing football etc and get on with it.

Mentioned degenerative, and he said we all have that. Last words were that my back was as good as his

So NO OP required which is good and just try to get on with life

Good news Chef. Keep an eye on it though and don't push it. Proper lifting etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

I started having lower back problems three years ago. Roughly every three months or so I would have a flare up usually caused by something simple, eg a sneeze or twist movement.

I consulted an acquaintance who is a chiropractor, they said I likely had a prolapsed disc and that there was little they could do for me & advised resting & spinal decompression exercises. Following the next flare up I went to my GP who sent me for an X-Ray. The X-Ray came back with no obvious issues so I was then sent for a Dexa scan to rule out osteoarthritis. The dexa scan came back clean also. The GP then referred me to a physiotherapist.

I found the physio a great help. She helped me stay pain free for almost nine months as well as helping me keep playing sports. I followed her plan of exercises / stretches three times daily. Eventually another flare up occurred and the physio tried her best to help but this time the pain did not subside. It was her opinion that I may have a Facet joint problem. She insisted that I go to my GP and demand a diagnosis.

I took the physio's advice, so the GP referred me to an Orthopaedic consultant. After his examination, the consultant's opinion was that I had a dislocated facet which was causing one of the small muscle groups to spasm constantly. He scheduled an MRI. The MRI results showed an S1 spondylolysis as well as L5-S1 disc herniation.

At this point the pain was quite severe and constant but was localized on one point of my lower back. The consultant performed a transforaminal facet epidural steroid injection. The injection was successful & I was completely pain free, I felt like I was just learning to walk again, I had forgotten what it was like to walk with a normal gait. After thirteen days the pain returned, this time with mild pain radiating down my right leg. The consultant then scheduled a Caudal ESI. The caudal injection relieved the pain in my lower back, however, the pain down my leg got worse as days went by.

I sit here now in what I would describe as agony, the darts of excruciating pain down my leg are sometimes unbearable not to mention a constant pins & needles sensation in achilles and foot. I am going for another MRI in a few days after which the Consultant is likely to schedule me for a discectomy. For the meantime my head is woozy with medication which really only relieves about 20% pain.

I was concerned about the risks involved with a discectomy but at this stage I just want the damn thing out, surely the after effects cannot be worse than this. One of the worst things is that people have no idea how disabling and painful this condition is. Most of the time I feel that they just think I have a very poor pain threshold which I know is not the case.

Anyways, I keep my chin up knowing that there are many others who suffer with terminal illness and other serious ailments. At least I have an opportunity to recover.