Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What stores does Ireland need?

• 11-10-2011 10:38am

Just a question here to see what people think what kinda stores does ireland need that we dont have like america has walmart and amsterdam has 'coffee shops' haha what shops would ye all like to see in ireland? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Moved from Cool Vids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

home store and more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

We need Ikea in Athlone, it would be quicker for the rest of the country to get there rather than having to travel to the east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

- Dunkin doughnuts - though there may be a few around if someone could inform me

- Taco Bell -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wouldn't be all that excited to see any of the big international chains coming to Ireland. The UK is a bland sea of chain stores, pubs and restaurants. Whenever I travel throughout the UK it feels like I haven't moved at all because everywhere you go it's the exact same shops in the exact same buildings.

Coffeeshops I'm all for though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Globalisation - down with that sort of thing! I hate the idea of the generic Main Street where every town has the same shops and there's no individualism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maoz falafel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

An Apple Store!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

ScumLord wrote: »
    I wouldn't be all that excited to see any of the big international chains coming to Ireland. The UK is a bland sea of chain stores, pubs and restaurants. Whenever I travel throughout the UK it feels like I haven't moved at all because everywhere you go it's the exact same shops in the exact same buildings.

Coffeeshops I'm all for though.

:confused::confused::confused: Every second shop is an Insomnia ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Oranage2 wrote: »
    - Dunkin doughnuts - though there may be a few around if someone could inform me

- Taco Bell -

There was one in Dublin and Limerick. Both closed down. By the way things are going I'd say we'd have more chance of Krispy Kremes at this rate. Tim Hortons are ok...you can get them in Spar.

dunkin donuts

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Off licenses, pawn shops and Mrs. Quinn's Charity stores. You make your money in the second two and then spend it in the first before going home to watch Jeremy Kyle therefore taking your mind off of your unemployment. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mustang Ranch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Id second a Taco Bell.. 99c tacos.. Hmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

biko wrote: »
    We need Ikea in Athlone, it would be quicker for the rest of the country to get there rather than having to travel to the east.

De culchies need to get running water and central heating before dey can get de conveniant flatpack furniture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Has anyone made the token 'what we need is jobs/bankers in jail/bleedin' dizgraze' type comment yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Oranage2 wrote: »

- Taco Bell -
    bluewolf wrote: »
    dunkin donuts

In Dublin on O' Connell street theres a lil donut hut place

sugar and choclate donuts 6 for €3 !

they are pure sex :D

so glad i work right across the road from it now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭barrmur

ASDA. the only way we can ensure that Tesco stop taking the piss. Seriously the differance in prices between Tesco here and in the UK is a feckin joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

A Mortgage Store

Functional banks

And somewhere to store all the bodies.

some great replys guys and girls in a question thats close to my original post is there any items you buy here thats ridiculously overpriced (no posts with cigs or beer hahah):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,107 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Soup kitchens R'us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭giveth

Late night coffee shops

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I really like Pret a Manger. Insomnia is the most vile coffee IMFHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Asda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

more 24 hour coffee shops

24 hour gyms.

Ireland needs a decent full time amusement park !

closest thing we have is funderland once a year !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Louthdrog

biko wrote: »
    Maoz falafel
    Great shout.
    Used to work in the new york stores. Would love to see them open up here. Going to London next week and I cant wait to go to the maoz there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Book shops, both new and second hand - fast disappearing from our streets.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Head Shops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,107 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Knocking Shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Banks that open on weekends. Late chillout bars that stay open till about 3am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Asda and Wetherspoons.

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Asda and Wetherspoons.

Ireland already has them. Oop North though. :(

The Complaint Shop.

Pay €5 for 10 minutes. or €10 for 20 minutes.

Someone will sit, listen and nod in agreement as you spout off about, the banks, immigants, bertie, jedward, religions etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

foxyboxer wrote: »
    The Complaint Shop.

Pay €5 for 10 minutes. or €10 for 20 minutes.

Someone will sit, listen and nod in agreement as you spout off about, the banks, immigants, bertie, jedward, religions etc etc.
    Are you familiar with liveline at all? :pac:

Prefer the personal one-to-one rant meself.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭barrmur

Talk to JOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

JD weatherspoons for the cheap beer and Spearmint Rhino for the cheap boobies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was in Las Vegas a few weeks ago, it was basically Bray on smack. A couple of super casinos might help sort out some of our mess.

Where as in Vegas, most of the city is roofed to protect the consumer from the heat, we could roof most of Bray to protect from the rain. We set up some strip clubs and some casinos, and some pawn shops so people can sell their possessions to keep on playing.

To make it even more authentic we could import some Mexicans to hand out the fliers for the hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Kasabian wrote: »
    A Mortgage Store

Functional banks

And somewhere to store all the bodies.

Ah, I knew it wouldn't take long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

Proper computer shop like Scan or Aria.

Scan

Aria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

FEBO

Don't know if it'd catch on here but handy as hell, and eliminates the "Dya want froies with da?"...would probably need to alter some of the recipes for Irish tastes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

We need more Mom & Pop stores. I'm tired of having to go abroad whenever I want to buy some elderly parents. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Wertz wrote: »
    FEBO

Don't know if it'd catch on here but handy as hell, and eliminates the "Dya want froies with da?"...would probably need to alter some of the recipes for Irish tastes though.
    Especially when stoned, you don't have to deal with people. The best market research ever undertaken by anybody to put FEBO's in Amsterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

Wertz wrote: »
    FEBO

There was one (or a copy) at the Moore st entrance of the Ilac just inside the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

syklops wrote: »
    I was in Las Vegas a few weeks ago, it was basically Bray on smack. A couple of super casinos might help sort out some of our mess.

Where as in Vegas, most of the city is roofed to protect the consumer from the heat, we could roof most of Bray to protect from the rain. We set up some strip clubs and some casinos, and some pawn shops so people can sell their possessions to keep on playing.

To make it even more authentic we could import some Mexicans to hand out the fliers for the hookers.

Bray hookers.

Classy.

haha im loving this thread now so does anyone think we need more stores like walmart in ireland i think that would be awesome

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Id second a Taco Bell.. 99c tacos.. Hmmmmmmmmm

Adjusted to 5 euro, ex VAT.

Dem 1/2 pound Bean Burrito's are feckin savage tho, I hafta admit. Nothin like one of these with a crunchy taco after a few smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I remember a few years back both Dunkin' Doughnuts and 7 eleven had stores here, not sure why they shut down, any one else remember these?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Walmart to drive the prices down?

Also a Guitar Center. Chape guitars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

tnynll wrote: »
    haha im loving this thread now so does anyone think we need more stores like walmart in ireland i think that would be awesome
    As soon as you say "Walmart" and "awesome" in the same sentence I shiver and pray to God Walmart never comes here!